Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2008 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,058 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Accord brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 8 of 22)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #300

Dec 152009

Accord 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles


Brake pads on 2008 Honda Accord sedan (4-cylinder engine) needed to be replaced at 25,000 miles, which I feel is premature. The brake pads should last at least 50,000 miles.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #299

Apr 082010


  • 24,985 miles
I own a 2008 Honda Accord. My rear brakes were worn down and squeaking, so I brought my car to pacific Honda. Pacific Honda informed me I would be liable for the repair cost, since it was not covered under the car warranty. Failure mileage was 24,985 miles and repair cost was $269.04.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #298

Jun 112009


  • 24,000 miles
Premature brake wear on 2008 Honda Accord. Had them replaced by own mechanic and found out months later Honda was aware of the problem. Contacted them in 1 day they agreed to reimburse us in full. They said Honda was working to see how to correct the problem but would not to a recall because they do not consider it a safety issue. They said for now Honda will continue to replace up to 3 years unlimited miles.

- Plainview, NY, USA

problem #297

Jul 152009


  • 17,000 miles


I purchased my Honda 2008 Accord LX 4dr/4cyl in January of 2009. While driving it after 17,000miles I had odd brake noises from the rear of the car. When I took it to the dealership they told me my rear brake pads had worn to nothing. This is an alarming rate for rear brake pads. On all other cars I've owned I haven't had rear brake pads wear out before 40,000 miles. I had to have these replaced again at 32,000 miles. I believe there is something wrong with the rear brakes that is causing premature wear. My car has 37,000 miles on it, and the front brakes still have 8mm on them (only a wear of 2mm). Shouldn't a front wheel drive have the front do most of the braking" why is the rear brake pads wearing so quickly while the front are still fine" this is incredibly frustrating and makes me fear for the safety of my wife on the road, as the rear brakes could be worn to nothing at any time.

- Federal Way, WA, USA

problem #296

Apr 082010

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,420 miles
Premature rear brake failure I purchased a new 2008 Honda Accord V6 automatic transmission coupe on 8/2/08. I had the car serviced on 4/8/10 to change the oil, rotate tires, and a brake inspection. On this date, the car has 17,420 miles on it. The dealer informed me that the rear brakes had reached their service limit and had to be replaced immediately. The dealer reported that the front brakes did not need replacing and had "9.0mm to sensor" remaining. The total cost of rear brake replacement after a 15% parts and labor discount was applied was $229.46. I was shocked because I have never driven the car in a manner that would warrant premature brake failure. On my previous 1999 Honda Accord coupe, I did not have to replace the brakes until 65K miles. The dealer explained that Honda is aware of the problem and that Honda had issued a technical service bulletin for the rear brakes. I contacted Honda customer service by calling 1-800-999-1009 and was told that no technical service bulletin has been issued for rear brake problems. I was given a reference number and was advised that a Honda representative would be in contact with me within 2 business days. By chance, I found an article in U.S. news and reports dated April 8, 2010 "Honda settles lawsuit over Accord brakes." The article states that the brakes of 750K late models of Accord and Acura tsx are wearing out twice as fast as they should. The article also states that the NHTSA has received 350 owner complaints to date. There is no mention that the root cause of the premature brake failure has been addressed. I am requesting that the NHTSA investigate to determine if this is a brake distribution issue, design defect, poor quality, or any combination of the above. I am deeply concerned about the safety of this vehicle.

- Richmond, CA, USA

problem #295

Apr 082010


  • 47,955 miles
Vehicle mileage was 27,637. Dated: 05/25/2009. The rear brakes where squeaking when the brake pedal depressed. I took the dealer. Dealer said the rear brake pads were worn down to 3 millimeters. Dealer resurface rotor and replaced brake pads. The brake repaired cost $194.39. Now the vehicle mileage 47,955. Date: 04/08/2010. The brake has same problem like before. Dealer said brakes need to repair again and cost $194.39.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #294

Mar 142009

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. While driving approximately 65 mph, the contact applied the brakes but the vehicle did not respond immediately. A couple seconds later, the vehicle slowed down. The failure occurred several times. The vehicle had not been inspected when the complaint was filed. The failure mileage was approximately 11,000. The current mileage was approximately 23,000. Updated 06/03/10 the consumer stated Honda replaced the rear brakes free of charge as there have been several complaints of pre-mature brake wear. Updated 06/09/10.

- Stamford, CT, USA

problem #293

Feb 122009

Accord 6-cyl

  • 19,993 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that rear brakes were worn. The rear brakes were replaced twice; at 22,000 miles and the second time the mileage was 37,000. The front brakes were functioning properly. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for repairs on the rear brakes. The dealer informed the contact that the wear on the brakes was normal. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was approximately 22,000. The current mileage was approximately 42,000. Updated 05/18/10. Updated 06/03/10 updated 06/09/10.

- Sea Cliff, NY, USA

problem #292

Apr 062010


  • 32,000 miles
Brake pads wore out prematurely for a second time after a year of being replaced. There's no reason for this when I'm driving 80% of the time highway with little braking. Reparation cost $200 and it is not cover under warranty.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #291

Apr 062010


  • 25,475 miles
I had an oil change on 3/12/10 and was told I would need brakes at my next oil change in approx. 6 mos. In late March, my car had a loud scraping noise. I took it to the dealer on 4/6/10 and had to have my rear brakes replaced. I was given a 50% discount on the repair but think that it should have been repaired under my extended warranty. I have found on the internet that the 2008 Honda Accord has the most problems with premature brake wear. I also have had problems with the leather seats peeling. I have also found that this is a common problem. I would like to have both of these items recalled.

- Glenville, NY, USA

problem #290

Jul 232009


  • 9,104 miles


Rear brake rotors warped prematurely at only 9104 miles, causing the vehicle to shake violently and making it difficult to come to a safe stop. Rotors were not replaced by Honda, but resurfaced instead. They also did not replace the pads. These repairs occurred on 07-23-2009. Rear brake pads will also need to be replaced soon, as noted by the extremely rapid wear that is occurring (current mileage 13,320).

- Beverly, NJ, USA

problem #289

Feb 142010


  • 15,000 miles
Rear and front brake pad wear unevenly and very fast at low mileage. These brakes pad suppose to last about 80,000 miles. Also brakes squeals and makes excessive noise which should not be present on brand new vehicle at low mileage.

- Redmond, WA, USA

problem #288

Mar 302010


  • 34,000 miles
The rear brakes of my 2008 Honda Accord are squealing badly at all times when driving. The car has 34,000 miles on it. The rear pads are almost completely gone. The car has had serious vibration issues with the brakes ever since new. When slowing down from highway speeds the car vibrates badly. One time it almost resulted in the loss of control of the vehicle because the vibration was so bad. I have seen hundreds of complaints about the rear brakes on the 08 Accord. The common thread appears to be that Honda is not admitting to a problem and is blaming the drivers mis use of the brakes as the cause of the wear. Not sure how so many people can be braking incorrectly" I have owned many cars and have never had pads wear out so quickly. Honda has a defect here no doubt about it. Are they waiting to become another Toyota before they admit to using bad parts and/or a bad design of the rear brakes and/or maybe bad programming of the braking system" it appears that repairs have been done for free for many people and at cost for many others. Whether the repairs are done for free/under warranty, appears to depend on the person and their success with negotiating with their dealership. Honda needs to own up to the safety problem on their most popular car and devise a fix. Apparently they are not going to do it without a good swift kick in the pants by a law firm in the form of a class action suit or the government stepping in.

- Uxbridge, MA, USA

problem #287

Sep 242009


  • 56,075 miles
The rear brake pads fail prematurely, causing a safety issue and loss of braking power. I've almost had several accidents as a result of not being able to brake properly. I've had the rear brakes replaced several times, each time as a result of lost braking power and substantial increase in stopping distance, including at intersections where my vehicle was almost in the way of opposing traffic. The odometer at the last repair was 56,075 miles, compared to 37596 miles on the previous repair, a difference of only 18,479 miles! then, before that, my mileage for my first brake repair was 18,258 miles, a difference of 19,117 miles! so far, the average difference between rear brake pad changes has been 18,618 miles. I noticed it because suddenly I was unable to stop and almost hit another car in front of me. Currently I fear for my safety as I am nearing the 18,000 mile mark between brake pad changes.

- Lake Elsonore, CA, USA

problem #286

Mar 272010


  • 22,000 miles
Have always held Honda in highest regards when it comes to service and manufacturing, but this within itslef is a travesty!!!!! how many people will have to lose their lives or be injured in a near fatal accident before this issue is addressed? purchased 2008 Honda less than 1 year ago, premature rear brake pad wear, which is definitely a safety issue, heard suttle noises that indicated a defect in 2008 Honda Accord braking system @ less than 20,000 miles, with no indication that rear brakes needed servicing: @26,000 miles rear brake pads worn down metal to metal, two trips to the Honda dealer before actually acknowledging repair needed and replacing pads

- Karnack, TX, USA

problem #285

Mar 262010


  • miles
I have complained to Honda numerous times about the brakes on my 2008 Honda Accord. The brakes were replaced within the 1st year of the purchase of this new vehicle. Months later, they turned the rotors after my constant complaints. The brakes have continued to cause problems (squeeking, etc). I had this replaced today by a brake company. The inside of the pads were extremely worn, and the car only has 28,000 miles. Another Honda owner made me aware that they were replacing the rear brakes on 08 Honda Accord, so I called them and they are refusing to reimburse me as the brakes installed are not Honda brakes. Honda is not considering this a recall; however, they are fully aware of the rear brake problem (to my recent discovery). If these pads are wearing quicker than planned, they have the propensity to cause someone to not be able to stop. They failed to notify customers of this problem. If someone does not complain to them about their brakes, they have no way of knowing about the replacement.

- Macon, GA, USA

problem #284

Mar 202010


  • 18,000 miles
Honda engineers are held liable for the many brake problems on the 2008 Accord model. A front-wheel drive vehicle should not have a rear brake pad wear down to nothing after only 18000 miles of driving. This is a safety hazard that will results in innocent people being hurt over a design flaw. The dealers know there is a problem but they are "sweeping it under the rug" just like Toyota did recently. I fear for my wife and two children who use this car more than I do. How many people have to be hurt or killed in accidents before the NHTSA does something about it. Please respond with suggestions and/or comments.

- Chino, CA, USA

problem #283

Mar 172010


  • 32,000 miles
2008 Honda Accord, premature rear brake wear. At 32,000 rear brakes were replaced for third time, first @12,550 miles and second @ 19,700 miles.

- Laguna Niguel, CA, USA

problem #282

Mar 222010


  • 22,000 miles
I own a 2008 Honda Accord 4 door vehicle with a V6. The car is about 22 months old with aproximately 22,000 miles. The rear breaks failed. Honda is calling it "premature wear" and paid for the majority of the repair. They are telling me they have neither a recall, yet they paid for it because it is known problem with the car. Thye have stated they have no fix for the problem and I can expect the brakes to fail every 20,000 miles.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #281

Mar 132010


  • 15,426 miles
Honda Accord 2008 - rear brake failure after only 15,000 miles. Other cars I had lasted 40 to 70,000 miles. It can lead to brake failure as users aren't expecting brake pads to wear out so soon. If not a recall, at least a warning from Honda to all buyers is warranted, in my opinion, so they can keep an eye or replace with longer lasting pads pronto. Thanks.

- Saratoga, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?