Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2008 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,058 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Accord brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 1 of 22)

problem #440

Apr 182016

Accord 6-cyl

  • 83,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving, the ABS, the vsc and brake warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the vehicle was unsafe to drive. The contact was also informed that the repair parts needed to be ordered. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 83,000. Updated 06/15/16 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 06/27/16.

- Mc Calla, AL, USA

problem #439

Nov 022015

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
2008 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to brake, engine, electrical, air bag light, seat belt, light problems and radio problems. The consumer stated the pistons were replaced a couple of years ago. The engine has been misfiring since July 2014. The coils, spark plugs and fuel injectors were replaced and the check engine light continued to stay on.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #438

Apr 022012


  • miles
I bought a new 2008 Honda Accord exl-6 vehicle. I have 72,000 miles on it, mostly highway driving. I've had my rear brakes replaced twice. The dealer tried to tell me 30,000 is average for brakes. Also had all my spark plugs replaced. # 3 went bad and they suggested I replace all of them. Again, telling me 70,000 miles is average for spark plug replacement. I was charged full price for all work done, I've even paid for the extended warranty and that didn't cover the spark plugs either. I wouldn't even take my car to the Honda dealer but since I foolishly paid for the extended warranty, I'm afraid that will become null and void if any other mechanic touches my car for any reason. First and last Honda I will ever purchase. I'd like to know if there is anyway I can find out if I'm entitled to a refund for brakes & spark plugs. Just spent almost $600 having the two replaced.

- Wallington, NJ, USA

problem #437

May 102011


  • 35,000 miles


Rear brake pads completely worn out. Front brakes pads still@ 75% good. This is unheard of due to the fact that most of the braking is on the front pads.

- Elko , GA, USA

problem #436

Apr 112012


  • 20,800 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while having routine maintenance performed on the vehicle, he was advised that the rear brake drums were defective. The dealer stated that the drums were wearing prematurely and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure and current mileage was 20,800.

- Elmsford, NY, USA

problem #435

Apr 032012


  • 52,000 miles
2008 Honda Accord according to repair records has had the front brakes repaired twice since I bought the car 7 months ago. Being told all 4 rotors are warped but it is not a safety issue. I only noticed it because of the excessive shimmering and shaking when I applied the brakes. The fix was to refinish the rotors, but at some point this option will no longer be able because of the specs of the rotor so then I will be forced into replacing them at an approximate cost of $150 a rotor. How is it possible that any part of a system designed to stop your vehicle is not a safety issue.

- Bellingham, MA, USA

problem #434

Apr 012009


  • 18,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact was driving approximately 50 mph when the brakes were abruptly applied and the vehicle exhibited an abnormal grinding noise. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where they advised her that the front and rear brake pads needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. Approximately 15,000 miles later, the failure recurred when decelerating. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where they advised the contact that rear brake pads needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired a second time but again, the failure recurred while the contact was driving approximately 40 mph. The vehicle would shutter and the grinding noise had become increasingly louder. In addition, while attempting to start the vehicle the contact noticed a loud noise for approximately two seconds. The contact checked the oil dipstick and discovered that there was no oil in the engine. The dealer advised having an oil consumption test performed and driving the vehicle for an additional 1,000 miles before confirming the failure. The contact was concerned about the oil consumption and the engine failing. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 18,000 and the current mileages were approximately 43,000.

- Lafeyette, LA, USA

problem #433

May 272010

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
My Honda rear brakes were not working properly. I had difficulty stopping my 2008 Honda Accord. I had my brakes replaced at cramer Honda of venice on 05/27/10. I was told about Honda brake recall. I was also told that the new brakes I had installed in May 2010 for would last for at least 80,000, I was paying for the improved brakes. Well close to 40,000 miles later the "new improved brakes" are causing the same safety problems, difficulty in stopping. On 3/14/12, I was told by the by the Honda service employee that when Honda redesigned their brakes, for a smoother stop, they did not redesign the brake pad, causing them to wear much quicker and causing concerns. I bought Honda for safety for my 3 young children. I feel the 2008 Honda Accord brakes still create a serious safety and liability concern. How many other Honda Accord owners are facing the same safety concerns?

- North Port, FL, USA

problem #432

Jun 032010


  • 21,000 miles
Rear brake pad wear which ruined the rotors at 21,000. I replaced and repaired the brakes only to have the same problem recur at 42,000 miles. I have not had to replace the front pads yet. This is clearly a safety issue although Honda doesn't seem to agree nor have they fixed the quality of the pads. They continue to put the same defective pads on the cars. I cannot believe a recall has not been required. Toyota had to recall their cars when they accelerated when they shouldn't. Honda should recall their cars for not stopping when they should. Defective brakes should always be considered a safety issue.

- Wolcott, CT, USA

problem #431

Apr 202010


  • 28,096 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the vehicle was exhibiting a grinding noise when the brake was depressed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the failure was located as the rear brake pads wearing prematurely. The dealer replaced the brake pads twice, but the failure was not corrected. The rear brake continued to make a grinding noise and wear prematurely. The contact also stated that the front brakes were exhibiting a grinding noise, but the dealer polished and scraped the front brake pads and the grinding noise was corrected. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 28,096, and the current mileage was 42,920.

- Salt Lake City , UT, USA

problem #430

Jan 102012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 28,000 miles


I am the original owner of this Honda Accord. At 28,000 miles, the rear brake pads are prematurely worn out. I was notified of this problem during annual state safety inspection. The inspector said the rear brake pads will need to be replaced within the next six months. There is no problem with the front brakes.

- Fredricksburg, VA, USA

problem #429

Jan 302012


  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for routine service when he was told that the rear brakes needed to be replaced. The failure and the current mileages were 18,000.

- Scotch Plains, NJ, USA

problem #428

Jul 012011


  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the brakes would squeal and the vehicle would vibrate abnormally whenever the brakes were applied. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer and the contact was informed that there were no failures within the braking system. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 35,000.

- Ahoskie, NC, USA

problem #427

Nov 212011

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
The rear brakes wear out permaturely and need to be replaced every 8,000 to 10,000 miles. This is a safety issue.

- Greenville, RI, USA

problem #426

Nov 222011

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
Premature brake and rotor wear had to replace within 46,000 miles.

- Baldwinsville, NY, USA

problem #425

Jun 012011


  • 25,000 miles
2008 Honda Accord. Got only 25,000 miles. A couple of months ago, some weird noise came up and it is very annoying. I can not brake the car normally. Something is wrong with the brake system and it is very dangerous.

- Yukon, OK, USA

problem #424

Oct 252011

Accord 4-cyl

  • 15,727 miles
It appears that the 2008 Honda Accord was equipped with defective/wrong fitting rear brakes. My Accord was no exception. When your rear brakes are worn out at 15000 miles and they go before the front ones do, something is definitely wrong. Honda will not accept any type of responsibilty. I only hope/pray that no one is injured or killed because of their defective product.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #423

Oct 022010

Accord 4-cyl

  • 9,000 miles
I purchase a brand new 2008 Honda Accord. The vehicle was purchase in December 2008. The vehicle was purchase at paragon Honda in queens, New York. When the vehicle had approximately 9000 miles I had to replaced first the rear brakes at time of inspection, six months later the front brakes were down to the metal. I complaint to brooklyn Honda I was told that they had no other customer complaints. Today is the 24th day of October 2011, the sensor on the rear brakes is giving the warning. The vehicle only has 18000 miles. No thought that Honda made a mistake on the 2008 Accord brakes, they do not want to accept the blame.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #422

Oct 012009


  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a voluntary recall involving the rear brake pads. The technicians replaced the rear brake pads. After the repair the contact experienced a failure with the rear brakes. While driving at any speed and depressing the brakes, the vehicle would hesitate to stop and exhibit an abnormal grinding noise. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the rear brake pads were replaced a second time. The approximate failure mileage was 15,000.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #421

Oct 052010

Accord 4-cyl

  • 17,000 miles
My 2008 Honda Accord only have 25000 miles on it and recently when trying to slow down/braking the RPM/engine revs up and the car accelerate while trying to stop. I drove it last weekend for about 2hrs it happened over 5 times.

- Nutley, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?