Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2008 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,001 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Accord engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 2 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #98

Nov 212015


  • 124 miles


Excessive oil consumption of 1 or more quart every 1000 miles. Honda repeatedly fails to uphold it's service warranty extension of vehicles that qualify for excessive oil consumption.

- Pleasant Hill, CA, USA

problem #97

Apr 182016

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall, I took my car to the Honda dealer on April 18,2016 because of noise. They identified the vtc actuator as the problem and started that it is not covered under warranty. My Honda Accord has 37,000 miles on it. There are many complaints for this issue, starting several years back. Please force a recall. Thank you! picture sent from Honda, gold part broken, silver was replaced.

- Woodinville, WA, USA

problem #96

Apr 072016


  • 37,000 miles
Purchased this vehicle in 2012, within 60 days of purchase I reported issues with oil consumption to Honda and also to the dealership in which the car was purchased. Honda gave me a rental for two days while they reviewed the problem. We were then asked to bring our vehicle back for a total of 3 tests once every 30 days to have them measure the oil. In the meantime we kept putting oil in the vehicle in a more than normally expected rate. Even though they noticed it as a problem, the best they offered to do was fix it for $1500, however we never should have been responsible for the oil consumption problem. In 2016 Honda reported a oil consumption recall for vehicles of which mine fit the orginal criteria. Four years latter Honda is still telling us that they will fix it for $1500. This issue should be fixed without us having to pay for it considering this was a late identified problem of which we have had to foot the cost for even while having a car note. Honda should be responsible for fixing the oil consumption problems on the vehicles recalled.

- Euclid, OH, USA

problem #95

Jan 282010


  • miles


Purchased my Accord new off the lot.1st problem came exactly 1 month later 2 sensors had to be replaced. Oil light consistently stayed on I was having to change or add oil all the time. Ive been to every Honda dealer in san diego. Mission valley finally agreed to a oil consumption test but they assured me nothing was wrong. Their solution was anytime I needed oil I could stop by any Honda dealership & they would be happy to top it off for me. Because of this oil problem & the sensor consistently staying on the car began to lose power & shot out the timing belt. My car has been in my driveway since last july2015. After sending Honda numerous letters ron from Honda motor co finally contacted me. Final result his recommendation was to take the car back to the dealership for another oil consumption test to be done & if theres any other problems I would have to pay out of pocket. Because the car was only covered for 60,000 miles. I'm so over this car & Honda. I no longer feel safe driving a Honda!

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #94

Aug 152015


  • 920,000 miles
Aug 2015 heard a rattling noise from the engine. Checked the dipstick and the engine was almost out of oil. This was in between oil changes at 3700 miles. I took the car in and had an oil change. I received a notice from Honda about oil consumption issues. I began the oil consumption test with the dealer. So far, twice it has been down.75 qts. Over 5K miles that would place the engine down 3.75 qts or almost dry, but Honda says that's normal and I should be adding oil myself. That is ridiculous!!! why send out the notice and extend the warranty then. Honda knows that this is an issue, but does nothing to fix the issue. I've read that it is worn piston rings do to a vcm timing issue. Why is that the customers problem? the settled this owners of the V6, but told owners of the 4cyl to pound sand. This issue requires a recall. This is my first and last Honda Accord.

- Snellville, GA, USA

problem #93

Mar 262015


  • 32,000 miles
The engine of my Honda Accord 2008 started to having the rattle and scratching sound when it reached 32000 miles. The engine also started to fail as the rattle sound gets serious. I called Honda usa multiple times, but they said that they will not cover this issue because the car was made in 2008 and I'm filing this complaint in 2016. I think Honda usa is trying to avoid this defect of Accord 2008, since numerous people have had the same issue.

- Bloomington, IN, USA

problem #92

Mar 012016


  • 92,000 miles


Makes a loud noise on a cold start and then it goes away. Call the dealer and he said it was the vtc actuator issue.

- Keller, TX, USA

problem #91

Feb 242016


  • miles
"takata recall" I purcahsed a 2008 Honda Accord in 2013. About a year and hald ago I started noticing that the car was burning alot of oil. On top of oil changes, I had to add 3-4 quarts a month. In Sept 2015 I rcvd a warranty ext from american Honda for sticking pistonsrings resulting in high engine oil consumption. I took the car to my local Honda delaership and was told 3 failed attempts for a oil consumption test had to be done first before Honda would fix rings problem. Took the car to Honda in Oct 2015 to start test 1. after that the car started acting funny. I would jerk alot, engine light would start flashing, it wouldnt accelerate properly. In Feb 2016 it happened again and I got stranded because the car wouldnt accelerate. American Honda wouldnt honor the warranty ext because I was over the allowed miles. They know there was an issue with these model cars and had only recently sent me a letter regarding it. I found out that a few of the cylinders were misfiring and after reserach found out it was due to the rings. They provided terribel customer service and they put a crappy on the street and did everything to avioid fixing it. And then informed customers so late after the case was settled.

- Newburgh, NY, USA

problem #90

Sep 012015


  • miles
The engine rattles at cold start-up. Since approximately September 1, 2015, the engine on my 2008 Honda Accord ex-L (4 cylinder) has created a loud rattle every time under cold start-up conditions. The noise goes away after approximately 2 seconds and the engine smooths out. I took the vehicle to a Honda dealer for another issue in January 2016 and asked them to investigate the cold start-up noise, but they claimed that the noise did not occur when they started the vehicle. I questioned whether they tried to start it under cold engine conditions and they said they had. I recently took the vehicle to an independent service center and they were able to hear the rattle at cold start-up and suggested that the problem might be caused by a defective variable valve timing control (vtc) actuator. Honda issued a technical service bulletin (09-010) but I have not been able to get a Honda dealer to address the issue.

- Springfield, IL, USA

problem #89

Sep 022015


  • 173,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that there was excessive internal oil leaking from the engine. The contact stated that the oil was repeatedly changed four or more times. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the piston rings needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 173,000. Updated 04/14/16

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #88

Jun 062015


  • 118,000 miles


Engine rattling noise vtc issue. It is very annoying especially on clod start in the morning. I live in a complex and many neighbors complained about the irritating noise that my car makes before it starts. I have taken the car to a technician and he mentioned me the problem is a manufactory issue. I found tremendous amounts of Honda Accord from 2008-2012 with similar issue. I would like to complain about the problem that I faced with to Honda. In addition I have not done any repair regarding this problem so far and I was told that only Honda can fix that.

- Longmont, CO, USA

problem #87

Aug 012015


  • 68,000 miles
At about 68,000 miles, I began hearing a disturbing mechanical rattle on cold starts. It got worse and worse until a recent trip to my Honda dealer confirmed I have the vtc (?) valve rattle problem, and it is "currently under review by Honda." From my research on Honda owners forums, this affects a large number of models from 2008 on, and has been a known issue for several years now. I was told this issue does not affect engine performance or longevity, but it is disconcerting to have sounds like this emanating from my engine every day (it now happens every time I start the car). A call to Honda confirmed Honda knows about the problem, but they are "still working on a solution" (I don't know for how many years now). And no, they won't do anything for me, no compensation or even a fix I could possibly pay for. I would like to get rid of the car before something else happens, but no buyer will pay market value for it with this condition. I am also worried about safety because this issue could cause an engine seizure while driving. The problem keeps getting worse and I no longer trust Honda is telling the truth.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #86

Nov 182015


  • 91,300 miles
For 2 yrs my 2008 Honda Accord would make a loud rumble at a cold startup. I took my car to a few mechanics including Honda and unfortunately the problem could not be detected. My car has 91,300 miles consumes excessive amounts of oil to a point of monthly oil changes. I received a recall notice and scheduled an appointment at staten island Honda service center on sat. Nov. 15. I was told that Honda would need to keep the vehicle for 2 days in order to fix the sticking piston recall and the air bag recall. I rescheduled for thur. Nov 19th 7:45 am so that I could get a rental car. I dropped my car off weds. Nov. 18th at 6:30 pm, so that I could go to work on time the next day and Honda accommodated me. However, I was told by the manager that I would not be getting the recalls repaired because I do not qualify for the air bag recall even though when I look up my VIN # on the Honda website it clearly states my car qualifies. I was also told that I would only be getting an oil change which I would have to pay for, they would need to monitor my car for 1,000 miles to see how much oil I consume. I explained that I had already consumed 60% in less than 4 weeks. I feel my vehicle is unsafe to drive my car rumbles on acceleration and jerks hesitantly while the oil light goes on spontaneously. I feel I am entitled to the recall repairs with no hesitance from the Honda service center.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #85

Aug 012015


  • 90,000 miles
Loud cranking noise when cold starting the car regardless of date of last oil change. Honda informed me it was the vtc actuator, which is a known problem based on online complains, but still no recall. Many people have this same complaint at varying degrees of mileage.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #84

Nov 102015


  • 80,000 miles
2008 Accord ex-L (4 cyl) started making a rattling sound on cold-starts at approximately 80K miles. Originally thought to be from low oil (seeing how this vehicle burns oil like it is its job), I always kept an extra quart on hand. After closely monitoring the rattle and having several mechanics look at it (including Honda), no one could identify it until I had a mechanic at work look at it. I work for a fleet lessor. He identified it as the vtc actuator. I immediately called a buddy who is a parts manager for Honda and he confirmed this was a known issue. A simple google search blew my mind! this has been a known issue for years and apparently has catastrophic failure results on engines! makes me feel really safe knowing that my Accord has so many safety issues! premature brake/rotor wear, SRS module failure (controls the air bag system), high oil consumption, inadequate battery cranking amps, transmission software recalls, etc. When this car dies, its gone and never to be replaced with another Honda. Honda refused to warranty my car for the recent oil consumption recall because I am beyond their 125K mileage threshold even though they have me on record of the issue going back to 60-80K miles! not a happy Honda owner.

- Lake In The Hills, IL, USA

problem #83

Nov 022015

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
2008 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to brake, engine, electrical, air bag light, seat belt, light problems and radio problems. The consumer stated the pistons were replaced a couple of years ago. The engine has been misfiring since July 2014. The coils, spark plugs and fuel injectors were replaced and the check engine light continued to stay on.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #82

Oct 022015


  • 92,000 miles
Ever since I purchased the vehicle in 2010 I quickly realized that there was a high oil consumption problem with it because I have had to constantly put it more oil before the next oil change. Finally, in 2012 I took it a Honda dealer to have it checked. But I was told there was nothing wrong and no recall. Again December 2014, last year, I had an oil consumption test done at the suggestion of Honda bu the corporate gatekeeper told me I was out of warranty and my problem will not be covered. Guess what? September 2015, I received warranty extention notice for high oil consumption due to a sticking piston. The catch is that it was only for 125000 miles when I have already reached 153000 miles. I believe they should cover my vehicle because I was already in the system.

- Edison, NJ, USA

problem #81

Oct 222015


  • miles
Rattling noise when I start my car I was looking and there's a lot a complaint an videos on the web with the same noise and is the same just when you cold started the car and I find out is the vtc is defective and I can affect the whole engine and there's no even a recall due the problem

- Jersey City, NJ, USA

problem #80

Oct 232015

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
Several years ago back in 2011, when purchasing the car from another owner, still under warranty, L complained to the Honda dealership about the car running out of oil miles before the next oil change at 3000 miles. I did not know where the oil was going, there were no leaks. I was told that there was nothing on record, and there was nothing that they could do. I left the issue, changed my own oil, because, L could not afford to have the oil changed every 200 miles. I had to add a quart every 1000 miles, until the limit was meet to change the engine oil completely. Basically L left the problem alone. In August 2015, L received a letter from Honda extending the warranty to 125,000 miles due the an oil consumption problem cause by bad pistons. Basically a manufacturers defect. I contacted Honda usa and was told that even though out of warranty, L should do a oil consumption test. I did this. The car burned 2.2 quarts in 1975 miles. It was determined by the dealer that the pistons needed to be repaired. On 10-23-15 at 11:47 am, Honda contacted me and told me that since my car is now 8000 miles out of warranty, that there was nothing they could do, and the repairs was on me to do at my expense. I find this to be very troublesome since it is not an issue that L started, but it is a problem from Honda, when the car was made. I am very upset over this, and L am contacting you to see if L have any grounds to fight this matter. I use my car for work, and L love in the South, and have to drive to work every day. So mileage does accumulate. However, this issue should not have been an issue had Honda would have recognized this problem earlier or done something before the cars that were purchased in 2008, could have been covered since the time goes back the furthest. I thank you in advance for whatever you can do in this situation. Attached is the letter from Honda.....updated 12/02/15

- Burlington, NC, USA

problem #79

Oct 172015


  • 172,000 miles
I have always had a love/hate relationship with my 2008 Honda Accord ex-L (4cyl). Besides being recalled for the automatic transmission control module software update, premature brake/rotor wear (more than I care to count, honestly), battery/electrical issues, SRS module failure that Honda refused to fix/address/recall (I had to pay $600 out of pocket on that one), I am now battling with high oil consumption.... consistently. Although, this has recently been voluntarily recalled for the issue, I am outside the 125K mile warranty term. I am currently at 172K miles. I religiously get an oil change every 3K miles. Every 2K miles I need to add a quart of oil. This has been an ongoing issue since around 60K miles. Honda and multiple mechanics confirmed there is no oil leak and Honda insisted the car is not burning it..... despite what other mechanics have told me. Yet, here I am "burning" a quart of oil every 2K miles. Just recently, after a few minutes of driving and after about 1500 miles after an oil change, my engine started making a "pinging sound." Then the oil pressure light started flashing. I immediately pulled over and turned the engine off to find that the oil (per the dipstick) was low again! I understand the car is getting up there in mileage but the thing looks brand new and I have always kept up on the maintenance. There is no reason it should be "burning" the oil as quickly as it is for as long as it has. Very disappointed in Honda not addressing the issue when I brought it to their attention several times in the past. Now they issue a recall and cut the mileage off at 125K? like I said, love/hate. I will not be purchasing another one.

- Lake In The Hills, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?