Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2008 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,816 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Accord engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 3 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #90

Sep 012015

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The engine rattles at cold start-up. Since approximately September 1, 2015, the engine on my 2008 Honda Accord ex-L (4 cylinder) has created a loud rattle every time under cold start-up conditions. The noise goes away after approximately 2 seconds and the engine smooths out. I took the vehicle to a Honda dealer for another issue in January 2016 and asked them to investigate the cold start-up noise, but they claimed that the noise did not occur when they started the vehicle. I questioned whether they tried to start it under cold engine conditions and they said they had. I recently took the vehicle to an independent service center and they were able to hear the rattle at cold start-up and suggested that the problem might be caused by a defective variable valve timing control (vtc) actuator. Honda issued a technical service bulletin (09-010) but I have not been able to get a Honda dealer to address the issue.

- Springfield, IL, USA

problem #89

Sep 022015

Accord

  • 173,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that there was excessive internal oil leaking from the engine. The contact stated that the oil was repeatedly changed four or more times. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the piston rings needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 173,000. Updated 04/14/16

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #88

Jun 062015

Accord

  • 118,000 miles
Engine rattling noise vtc issue. It is very annoying especially on clod start in the morning. I live in a complex and many neighbors complained about the irritating noise that my car makes before it starts. I have taken the car to a technician and he mentioned me the problem is a manufactory issue. I found tremendous amounts of Honda Accord from 2008-2012 with similar issue. I would like to complain about the problem that I faced with to Honda. In addition I have not done any repair regarding this problem so far and I was told that only Honda can fix that.

- Longmont, CO, USA

problem #87

Aug 012015

Accord

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

At about 68,000 miles, I began hearing a disturbing mechanical rattle on cold starts. It got worse and worse until a recent trip to my Honda dealer confirmed I have the vtc (?) valve rattle problem, and it is "currently under review by Honda." From my research on Honda owners forums, this affects a large number of models from 2008 on, and has been a known issue for several years now. I was told this issue does not affect engine performance or longevity, but it is disconcerting to have sounds like this emanating from my engine every day (it now happens every time I start the car). A call to Honda confirmed Honda knows about the problem, but they are "still working on a solution" (I don't know for how many years now). And no, they won't do anything for me, no compensation or even a fix I could possibly pay for. I would like to get rid of the car before something else happens, but no buyer will pay market value for it with this condition. I am also worried about safety because this issue could cause an engine seizure while driving. The problem keeps getting worse and I no longer trust Honda is telling the truth.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #86

Nov 182015

Accord

  • 91,300 miles
For 2 yrs my 2008 Honda Accord would make a loud rumble at a cold startup. I took my car to a few mechanics including Honda and unfortunately the problem could not be detected. My car has 91,300 miles consumes excessive amounts of oil to a point of monthly oil changes. I received a recall notice and scheduled an appointment at staten island Honda service center on sat. Nov. 15. I was told that Honda would need to keep the vehicle for 2 days in order to fix the sticking piston recall and the air bag recall. I rescheduled for thur. Nov 19th 7:45 am so that I could get a rental car. I dropped my car off weds. Nov. 18th at 6:30 pm, so that I could go to work on time the next day and Honda accommodated me. However, I was told by the manager that I would not be getting the recalls repaired because I do not qualify for the air bag recall even though when I look up my VIN # on the Honda website it clearly states my car qualifies. I was also told that I would only be getting an oil change which I would have to pay for, they would need to monitor my car for 1,000 miles to see how much oil I consume. I explained that I had already consumed 60% in less than 4 weeks. I feel my vehicle is unsafe to drive my car rumbles on acceleration and jerks hesitantly while the oil light goes on spontaneously. I feel I am entitled to the recall repairs with no hesitance from the Honda service center.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #85

Aug 012015

Accord

  • 90,000 miles
Loud cranking noise when cold starting the car regardless of date of last oil change. Honda informed me it was the vtc actuator, which is a known problem based on online complains, but still no recall. Many people have this same complaint at varying degrees of mileage.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #84

Nov 102015

Accord

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2008 Accord ex-L (4 cyl) started making a rattling sound on cold-starts at approximately 80K miles. Originally thought to be from low oil (seeing how this vehicle burns oil like it is its job), I always kept an extra quart on hand. After closely monitoring the rattle and having several mechanics look at it (including Honda), no one could identify it until I had a mechanic at work look at it. I work for a fleet lessor. He identified it as the vtc actuator. I immediately called a buddy who is a parts manager for Honda and he confirmed this was a known issue. A simple google search blew my mind! this has been a known issue for years and apparently has catastrophic failure results on engines! makes me feel really safe knowing that my Accord has so many safety issues! premature brake/rotor wear, SRS module failure (controls the air bag system), high oil consumption, inadequate battery cranking amps, transmission software recalls, etc. When this car dies, its gone and never to be replaced with another Honda. Honda refused to warranty my car for the recent oil consumption recall because I am beyond their 125K mileage threshold even though they have me on record of the issue going back to 60-80K miles! not a happy Honda owner.

- Lake In The Hills, IL, USA

problem #83

Nov 022015

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
2008 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to brake, engine, electrical, air bag light, seat belt, light problems and radio problems. The consumer stated the pistons were replaced a couple of years ago. The engine has been misfiring since July 2014. The coils, spark plugs and fuel injectors were replaced and the check engine light continued to stay on.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #82

Oct 022015

Accord

  • 92,000 miles
Ever since I purchased the vehicle in 2010 I quickly realized that there was a high oil consumption problem with it because I have had to constantly put it more oil before the next oil change. Finally, in 2012 I took it a Honda dealer to have it checked. But I was told there was nothing wrong and no recall. Again December 2014, last year, I had an oil consumption test done at the suggestion of Honda bu the corporate gatekeeper told me I was out of warranty and my problem will not be covered. Guess what? September 2015, I received warranty extention notice for high oil consumption due to a sticking piston. The catch is that it was only for 125000 miles when I have already reached 153000 miles. I believe they should cover my vehicle because I was already in the system.

- Edison, NJ, USA

problem #81

Oct 222015

Accord

  • miles
Rattling noise when I start my car I was looking and there's a lot a complaint an videos on the web with the same noise and is the same just when you cold started the car and I find out is the vtc is defective and I can affect the whole engine and there's no even a recall due the problem

- Jersey City, NJ, USA

problem #80

Oct 232015

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Several years ago back in 2011, when purchasing the car from another owner, still under warranty, L complained to the Honda dealership about the car running out of oil miles before the next oil change at 3000 miles. I did not know where the oil was going, there were no leaks. I was told that there was nothing on record, and there was nothing that they could do. I left the issue, changed my own oil, because, L could not afford to have the oil changed every 200 miles. I had to add a quart every 1000 miles, until the limit was meet to change the engine oil completely. Basically L left the problem alone. In August 2015, L received a letter from Honda extending the warranty to 125,000 miles due the an oil consumption problem cause by bad pistons. Basically a manufacturers defect. I contacted Honda usa and was told that even though out of warranty, L should do a oil consumption test. I did this. The car burned 2.2 quarts in 1975 miles. It was determined by the dealer that the pistons needed to be repaired. On 10-23-15 at 11:47 am, Honda contacted me and told me that since my car is now 8000 miles out of warranty, that there was nothing they could do, and the repairs was on me to do at my expense. I find this to be very troublesome since it is not an issue that L started, but it is a problem from Honda, when the car was made. I am very upset over this, and L am contacting you to see if L have any grounds to fight this matter. I use my car for work, and L love in the South, and have to drive to work every day. So mileage does accumulate. However, this issue should not have been an issue had Honda would have recognized this problem earlier or done something before the cars that were purchased in 2008, could have been covered since the time goes back the furthest. I thank you in advance for whatever you can do in this situation. Attached is the letter from Honda.....updated 12/02/15

- Burlington, NC, USA

problem #79

Oct 172015

Accord

  • 172,000 miles
I have always had a love/hate relationship with my 2008 Honda Accord ex-L (4cyl). Besides being recalled for the automatic transmission control module software update, premature brake/rotor wear (more than I care to count, honestly), battery/electrical issues, SRS module failure that Honda refused to fix/address/recall (I had to pay $600 out of pocket on that one), I am now battling with high oil consumption.... consistently. Although, this has recently been voluntarily recalled for the issue, I am outside the 125K mile warranty term. I am currently at 172K miles. I religiously get an oil change every 3K miles. Every 2K miles I need to add a quart of oil. This has been an ongoing issue since around 60K miles. Honda and multiple mechanics confirmed there is no oil leak and Honda insisted the car is not burning it..... despite what other mechanics have told me. Yet, here I am "burning" a quart of oil every 2K miles. Just recently, after a few minutes of driving and after about 1500 miles after an oil change, my engine started making a "pinging sound." Then the oil pressure light started flashing. I immediately pulled over and turned the engine off to find that the oil (per the dipstick) was low again! I understand the car is getting up there in mileage but the thing looks brand new and I have always kept up on the maintenance. There is no reason it should be "burning" the oil as quickly as it is for as long as it has. Very disappointed in Honda not addressing the issue when I brought it to their attention several times in the past. Now they issue a recall and cut the mileage off at 125K? like I said, love/hate. I will not be purchasing another one.

- Lake In The Hills, IL, USA

problem #78

Jul 262014

Accord

  • 130,000 miles
I purchased a used 2008 Honda Accord ex-L 4 cylinder. Unknown at the time that these specific model cars have a history of excessive oil consumption. Although a class action lawsuit covered the V-6 models the 4 cylinder models were not. After purchasing before I even put 2,000 miles on vehicle it was almost out of oil with no signs of leaking. Finally took it to dealership and had oil consumption test done in August 2015. They decided the piston rings were bad. They did give me a 10% discount on the repairs. Shortly afterwards I received a warranty extension for 2008-2011 Honda Accord for 8 years of original purchase date or 125,00 miles. When purchased it had 135,000 and at time of repair 150,000. I tried calling dealership to complain since Honda new about this problem long before the extension since they issued a service bulletin 12-087, 2012. This is my second Honda I have owned and probably will be the last if they do not cover my repair bill of $1727.75. It is sad that a car company that makes a faulty car to take three years to issue a warranty extension that probably has about 50% of vehicles affected that do not meet the mileage criteria. Honda should issue a recall. I am a working man with a family and cannot afford to buy a new car with less than a 100,00 miles and then have a $1727.75 repair bill that I had to max a credit card out on, not to mention the extra money spent adding oil every 1,000 miles before repair was completed. If Honda cares about their product they should resolve the issue not issue an extension after most of the cars are over the criteria for the warranty extension. I will be submitting my paperwork to see if they will resolve my case. I surely hope so. I will never purchase another Honda after reading all the complaints and the class action lawsuit.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #77

Sep 152011

Accord

  • 30,000 miles
I check my oil on a regular basis. My engine was not shifting as normal and stopped to check the oil level and after 2000 from my last oil change I had lost over 2 quarts of oil. I called my Honda service department at jay Honda where I bought my car and they said this was normal for my car and that there is nothing to worry about. I looked for leaks on the pavement around my car and there was none. The engine showed no signs of burning oil of any kind. The service department said this was normal for this car and that there was nothing at all that they could do.

- Solon, OH, USA

problem #76

Aug 162015

Accord

  • 106,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. Whenever the vehicle was started, the contact heard a rattling noise coming from the engine. The contact turned off and restarted the engine, and the noise was gone. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 106,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #75

Jul 302013

Accord

  • 80,000 miles
My car burns a quart of oil every 750-1000 miles. It is a 4 cylinder, and there is only a recall on the 6 cylinder cars. Hondas are not supposed to do this! I have a 2002 civic, and it's engine is better than my Accord. What is the problem with this? I've read a lot that this is a common problem.

- Dandridge, TN, USA

problem #74

May 052015

Accord

  • 82,000 miles
The outer race of the secondary shaft bearing is broken according to my mechanic and is causing abnormal noise, the malfunction indicator light is turn on and the car has stalled on me. And once when I have placed the car in the park position it has rolled on me... updated 09/30/15

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #73

Jun 142015

Accord

  • miles
First incident was on 6/14/2015. I was driving on the highway as my engine light came on and the car started shaking. I pulled over and turned the car off because it smelled like smoke. As I tried to turn the vehicle back on it would not cut back on. The car had to get towed and repairs had to be done to the tune of $1,500. The battery, gasket, plugs & alternator had to be replaced. Second incident was on 7/17/2015. As I was making a left hand turn the car stalled & I was hit by another vehicle. All air bags deployed and burst. The right front wheel was pushed in.

- Morrisville, PA, USA

problem #72

Apr 152015

Accord

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. While starting the vehicle, an abnormal knocking sound emitted from the engine. The failure recurred multiple times intermittently. Also, while driving at approximately 60 mph, the knocking sound could be heard from the engine. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for an oil change which stopped the knocking sound. After 2000 miles the failure recurred, and the oil warning light illuminated. The contact replenished the vehicle with 2 quarts of oil, and the knocking sound stopped. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000.

- West End, NC, USA

problem #71

Jul 182015

Accord

  • miles
Oil low at oil change.

- Morristown, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?