Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2008 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,545 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Accord engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 3 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #83

Nov 022015

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2008 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to brake, engine, electrical, air bag light, seat belt, light problems and radio problems. The consumer stated the pistons were replaced a couple of years ago. The engine has been misfiring since July 2014. The coils, spark plugs and fuel injectors were replaced and the check engine light continued to stay on.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #82

Oct 022015

Accord

  • 92,000 miles
Ever since I purchased the vehicle in 2010 I quickly realized that there was a high oil consumption problem with it because I have had to constantly put it more oil before the next oil change. Finally, in 2012 I took it a Honda dealer to have it checked. But I was told there was nothing wrong and no recall. Again December 2014, last year, I had an oil consumption test done at the suggestion of Honda bu the corporate gatekeeper told me I was out of warranty and my problem will not be covered. Guess what? September 2015, I received warranty extention notice for high oil consumption due to a sticking piston. The catch is that it was only for 125000 miles when I have already reached 153000 miles. I believe they should cover my vehicle because I was already in the system.

- Edison, NJ, USA

problem #81

Oct 222015

Accord

  • miles
Rattling noise when I start my car I was looking and there's a lot a complaint an videos on the web with the same noise and is the same just when you cold started the car and I find out is the vtc is defective and I can affect the whole engine and there's no even a recall due the problem

- Jersey City, NJ, USA

problem #80

Oct 232015

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Several years ago back in 2011, when purchasing the car from another owner, still under warranty, L complained to the Honda dealership about the car running out of oil miles before the next oil change at 3000 miles. I did not know where the oil was going, there were no leaks. I was told that there was nothing on record, and there was nothing that they could do. I left the issue, changed my own oil, because, L could not afford to have the oil changed every 200 miles. I had to add a quart every 1000 miles, until the limit was meet to change the engine oil completely. Basically L left the problem alone. In August 2015, L received a letter from Honda extending the warranty to 125,000 miles due the an oil consumption problem cause by bad pistons. Basically a manufacturers defect. I contacted Honda usa and was told that even though out of warranty, L should do a oil consumption test. I did this. The car burned 2.2 quarts in 1975 miles. It was determined by the dealer that the pistons needed to be repaired. On 10-23-15 at 11:47 am, Honda contacted me and told me that since my car is now 8000 miles out of warranty, that there was nothing they could do, and the repairs was on me to do at my expense. I find this to be very troublesome since it is not an issue that L started, but it is a problem from Honda, when the car was made. I am very upset over this, and L am contacting you to see if L have any grounds to fight this matter. I use my car for work, and L love in the South, and have to drive to work every day. So mileage does accumulate. However, this issue should not have been an issue had Honda would have recognized this problem earlier or done something before the cars that were purchased in 2008, could have been covered since the time goes back the furthest. I thank you in advance for whatever you can do in this situation. Attached is the letter from Honda.....updated 12/02/15

- Burlington, NC, USA

problem #79

Oct 172015

Accord

  • 172,000 miles
I have always had a love/hate relationship with my 2008 Honda Accord ex-L (4cyl). Besides being recalled for the automatic transmission control module software update, premature brake/rotor wear (more than I care to count, honestly), battery/electrical issues, SRS module failure that Honda refused to fix/address/recall (I had to pay $600 out of pocket on that one), I am now battling with high oil consumption.... consistently. Although, this has recently been voluntarily recalled for the issue, I am outside the 125K mile warranty term. I am currently at 172K miles. I religiously get an oil change every 3K miles. Every 2K miles I need to add a quart of oil. This has been an ongoing issue since around 60K miles. Honda and multiple mechanics confirmed there is no oil leak and Honda insisted the car is not burning it..... despite what other mechanics have told me. Yet, here I am "burning" a quart of oil every 2K miles. Just recently, after a few minutes of driving and after about 1500 miles after an oil change, my engine started making a "pinging sound." Then the oil pressure light started flashing. I immediately pulled over and turned the engine off to find that the oil (per the dipstick) was low again! I understand the car is getting up there in mileage but the thing looks brand new and I have always kept up on the maintenance. There is no reason it should be "burning" the oil as quickly as it is for as long as it has. Very disappointed in Honda not addressing the issue when I brought it to their attention several times in the past. Now they issue a recall and cut the mileage off at 125K? like I said, love/hate. I will not be purchasing another one.

- Lake In The Hills, IL, USA

problem #78

Jul 262014

Accord

  • 130,000 miles
I purchased a used 2008 Honda Accord ex-L 4 cylinder. Unknown at the time that these specific model cars have a history of excessive oil consumption. Although a class action lawsuit covered the V-6 models the 4 cylinder models were not. After purchasing before I even put 2,000 miles on vehicle it was almost out of oil with no signs of leaking. Finally took it to dealership and had oil consumption test done in August 2015. They decided the piston rings were bad. They did give me a 10% discount on the repairs. Shortly afterwards I received a warranty extension for 2008-2011 Honda Accord for 8 years of original purchase date or 125,00 miles. When purchased it had 135,000 and at time of repair 150,000. I tried calling dealership to complain since Honda new about this problem long before the extension since they issued a service bulletin 12-087, 2012. This is my second Honda I have owned and probably will be the last if they do not cover my repair bill of $1727.75. It is sad that a car company that makes a faulty car to take three years to issue a warranty extension that probably has about 50% of vehicles affected that do not meet the mileage criteria. Honda should issue a recall. I am a working man with a family and cannot afford to buy a new car with less than a 100,00 miles and then have a $1727.75 repair bill that I had to max a credit card out on, not to mention the extra money spent adding oil every 1,000 miles before repair was completed. If Honda cares about their product they should resolve the issue not issue an extension after most of the cars are over the criteria for the warranty extension. I will be submitting my paperwork to see if they will resolve my case. I surely hope so. I will never purchase another Honda after reading all the complaints and the class action lawsuit.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #77

Sep 152011

Accord

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I check my oil on a regular basis. My engine was not shifting as normal and stopped to check the oil level and after 2000 from my last oil change I had lost over 2 quarts of oil. I called my Honda service department at jay Honda where I bought my car and they said this was normal for my car and that there is nothing to worry about. I looked for leaks on the pavement around my car and there was none. The engine showed no signs of burning oil of any kind. The service department said this was normal for this car and that there was nothing at all that they could do.

- Solon, OH, USA

problem #76

Aug 162015

Accord

  • 106,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. Whenever the vehicle was started, the contact heard a rattling noise coming from the engine. The contact turned off and restarted the engine, and the noise was gone. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 106,000.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #75

Jul 302013

Accord

  • 80,000 miles
My car burns a quart of oil every 750-1000 miles. It is a 4 cylinder, and there is only a recall on the 6 cylinder cars. Hondas are not supposed to do this! I have a 2002 civic, and it's engine is better than my Accord. What is the problem with this? I've read a lot that this is a common problem.

- Dandridge, TN, USA

problem #74

May 052015

Accord

  • 82,000 miles
The outer race of the secondary shaft bearing is broken according to my mechanic and is causing abnormal noise, the malfunction indicator light is turn on and the car has stalled on me. And once when I have placed the car in the park position it has rolled on me... updated 09/30/15

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #73

Jun 142015

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

First incident was on 6/14/2015. I was driving on the highway as my engine light came on and the car started shaking. I pulled over and turned the car off because it smelled like smoke. As I tried to turn the vehicle back on it would not cut back on. The car had to get towed and repairs had to be done to the tune of $1,500. The battery, gasket, plugs & alternator had to be replaced. Second incident was on 7/17/2015. As I was making a left hand turn the car stalled & I was hit by another vehicle. All air bags deployed and burst. The right front wheel was pushed in.

- Morrisville, PA, USA

problem #72

Apr 152015

Accord

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. While starting the vehicle, an abnormal knocking sound emitted from the engine. The failure recurred multiple times intermittently. Also, while driving at approximately 60 mph, the knocking sound could be heard from the engine. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for an oil change which stopped the knocking sound. After 2000 miles the failure recurred, and the oil warning light illuminated. The contact replenished the vehicle with 2 quarts of oil, and the knocking sound stopped. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000.

- West End, NC, USA

problem #71

Jul 182015

Accord

  • miles
Oil low at oil change.

- Morristown, TN, USA

problem #70

Nov 142011

Accord

  • 35,000 miles
I hear a grinding noise when I start my car.when I accelerate I hear noise too.its not only me complain about this. Almost everybody that have this kind of car.

- Temecula, CA, USA

problem #69

Jun 012015

Accord

  • 111,129 miles
My model year 2008 Accord coupe ex model has been burning oil for a long time. A few years ago I had the tsb completed on it that reprogrammed the computer and was supposed to fix the issue. As of now the car is still burning oil and has developed a new problem. My check engine light is on with error code P0341 which is for the cam position sensor. This is with combination of a loud rattle for a few seconds coming from the engine bay when the car is first started. I am concerned to drive the car and hope that Honda could diagnose and fix this problem for me. I believe Honda extended the engine warranty to 8 years and 125,000 miles.

- Forked River, NJ, USA

problem #68

Oct 292014

Accord

  • 96,000 miles
I purchased this vehicle in February 2015 and the issues which I have face are: Poor(worn) struts, axle(output shaft) seal leak, vtc actuator which the dealer does not want to honor the warranty defect, and poor motor mounts. In addition, the struts caused one of the tires to pop due to a bump on the tire, and the passenger front tire had to be replaced because of the bump on the tire which again is due to the struts being bad.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #67

May 032012

Accord

  • 36,000 miles
Low oil pressure light came on for a couple of seconds. After a week of driving and still getting the low pressure light from time to time went to change the oil and the guy told me that there was almost no oil in the engine. Since than I have to add a quart of oil for every 750 miles driven. That was since 2012... now I end up pouring 4 to 5 quarts between oil changes (6000 miles full synthetic oil).

- Mundelein, IL, USA

problem #66

Jun 072015

Accord

  • 93,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. While driving approximately 5 mph, the transmission shifted into the park position but the vehicle continued to coast. The contact shifted into reverse and noticed an abnormal noise coming from the engine. The contact was then able to park but when the vehicle was placed into the drive position, the engine shut off independently. The vehicle failed to restart. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The technician diagnosed that the transmission and front mask failed needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 93,000. The VIN was not available.

- Rosedale, MD, USA

problem #65

Jan 022012

Accord

  • miles
Excessive oil consumption 1 quart every 1000 miles was told vibration was heat shield. In reality vibration was due to low oil in engine. Oil was changed by dealership M by jiffy lube every 3000 to 5000 miles. Now being told engine needs to be replaced or just keep adding oil till engine fails.

- Algonquin , IL, USA

problem #64

Jan 242014

Accord

  • 115,980 miles
My car rattles severely every time I drive it. I'm so afraid to drive my car because I feel unsafe. The vtc actuator is a problem that all 2008 Honda Accord have and costs so much money to not fix the problem. This issue is needs to be recalled. It can cause major car failure. I'm a hard working student that can't afford to keep paying for the car to be worked on with no solution. This is a huge problem.

- Stockton , CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?