Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2008 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
66,816 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Accord engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 5 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #50

May 152014

Accord 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2008 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to repairs on vehicle and seeks reimbursement since vehicle still under warranty. According to the invoice, the fuel and check engine light illuminated. The technician found a misfire in cylinder #5. the cylinder 5 spark plug was inspected and there was evidence of oil burning creating an ashy build-up on the plug.

- Winston-Salem, NC, USA

problem #49

Apr 112012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
2008 Honda Accord ex L 4 cyl burns an excessive amount of oil. Generally I have to put in a quart of oil every 1000 miles. I have taken it to the local dealership where they updated the software, but that did not fix the issue. There is also a loud sound that comes from the engine when the engine is started. I used to only here the sound on cold engine starts, but now it makes the sound every time it is started.

- Layton, UT, USA

problem #48

Jun 022014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 175,000 miles
I purchased this car last year and it had over 150000, as I checked the oil I noticed it was low I have added 1 qt in between every oil change. My second problem was during the winter on the real cold days the starter sounded like it was hanging up as described as the vtc actuator. My third problem is the warning light on the dash for the air bag has illuminated. I contacted Honda today and they told me the light only comes on after it has been to the body shop" also I have received a claim form for a reimbursable deployment prior to Feb 13 2014. I have not been in a accident and neither has the car. So if there is a claim for the air bag deployment why isn't there a recall for the air bag"

- Holly Springs, MS, USA

problem #47

Jun 162014

Accord

  • 115,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that her vehicle consumed an excessive amount of oil. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 115,000. The current mileage was 152,000.

- Castlewood, VA, USA

problem #46

Jun 012012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
I noticed my car was making a strange noise when I first started it up. I took it to the Honda dealership in roanoke Virginia, and they told me I was running the car without oil. They filled it up for me, and change the oil filter. Not even 3000 miles later, the car was making the same noise. I looked up on the internet forums and found the oil consumption concerns. I brought this up to the service manager at the roanoke dealership, and he dismissed it. He said it is common to put a quart of oil in the Accord about every 1000 miles. I am in sales, and I drive about 900 miles a week. When this was first brought to the dealerships attention, I was just over 40,000 miles, and I was still under the factory warranty. I repeatedly brought this up to the same service manager, and he said he can do a consumption test, but it will take many miles to complete. He reassured me there was no problem. I bought this car based on its reputation of being a long-lasting vehicle with very few problems. Now knowing the Honda/the roanoke dealership is lying, my trust in Honda has been shaken.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #45

May 232014

Accord

  • 20,000 miles
Extreme oil consumption 4 cylinder engine several quarts are consumed in less than 3000 miles of travel.

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #44

May 302010

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

General concerns. However I am concerned about the airbag, engine and brakes problem especially. Honda has not made us aware of any problems with this vehicle. Thankfully we have only had premature replacement of brakes. We are aware of consumer complaints only because we are concerned about our product which we assume to be safe and reliable. You can rely on our qualitymaintenance program, we have been alerted by mail of a pending suit we cannot benefit from class action because we have no incident to report. Honda corporate and dealers owe us consumers true and fair information and timely communications. GMC had to kill people before they were found to be irresponsible. Consider this a complaint about brakes, failure to take responsibility, failure to notify, regarding other possible problems especially airbags.

- Old Bethpage, NY, USA

problem #43

May 192014

Accord

  • miles
I have noticed that I am in need of oil changes more frequently than in the past. Historically, I went every 3,000 miles. Now, I notice the vehicle gets "sluggish" around 2,200-2,500 miles. I get an oil change, and everything is usually good..... for about another 2,200 miles. The vehicle is driven daily all open highway. 2 weeks ago, I got a full service oil change from a dealer. On 5/19/14 my check engine light went on, the vsa light, and the (!) light. I immediately pulled over and checked that all hoses were interact, I could not hear any air leaks, etc. I checked the oil stick and it was essentially bone dry! (the engine was warm) no oil slicks puddles in the driveway, parking spaces, nothing! I immediately put 2 quarts in at the gas station, fresh gas, and the everything turned off! is it possible to be burning oil that quickly? I hope not! I'll be monitoring this closely.

- Lake In The Hills, IL, USA

problem #42

May 182014

Accord

  • 79,300 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact was able to restart the vehicle; however, it would not shift into gear. The vehicle was towed to the dealer but they have not diagnosed the failure. NHTSA recall campaign number 11V395000(power train ) was related to the failure; however, dealer stated that the defect was not related to the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 79,300.

- Newark, NJ, USA

problem #41

May 062013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
Car burns excessive amounts of oil. Known problem with piston rings. Honda refuses to address issue.

- Winchester, MA, USA

problem #40

Apr 142014

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Summary: There was a premature failure of the SRS module in my 2008 Honda Accord which, according to a local Honda representative, renders the airbags useless in a crash or can cause premature deployment. The airbag light was on as well as the engine light which the dealership mentioned they were both related. Charging a diagnostics fee when I had already performed the diagnostics through work and associated partnerships (fleet management provider and maintenance vendors). I had to pay out of pocket close to $640 for parts and labor. Seems silly as this was a safety related service. My engine light was on about 4 months ago and they said the light was on due to my catalytic converter, so they replaced and now the engine light is back on and this is due to airbag issue...updated 05-27-15

- Angleton, TX, USA

problem #39

Mar 192014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 62,450 miles
8/11:certified pre-owned purchased from Honda dealer at 35787 mi oil changes: 3/15/2012: 41659mi; 9/6/2012: 48687mi 7/1/13: 54340mi-oil pressure warning light and rattling noise appears;vehicle immediately taken to Suburban Honda dealer (farmington hills, mi);no diagnostic codes given. Only explanation was the oil level was too low and the noise disappeared when oil was filled. No explanation for suspected leak/excessive consumption despite last oil change being just 6000mi back 3/18/14:oil pressure warning light flashes once and car was not started until I made an appointment with Suburban Honda on 3/20/2013 3/20/14: 62450 mi- within 0.25mi of my way to dealer, the oil pressure light flashes in the middle of a signal intersection and engine fails amidst heavy traffic thereby, compromising my safety. On 1st notice(7/13), dealer completely neglected my concerns for oil leak/malfunction which led to massive engine damage (estimate $8000). Negligence led to engine failure on road causing massive compromise to my safety. Death could have been imminent if my car stalled on a freeway. Honda has a design flaw resulting in excessive oil consumption noted by multiple customers.dealer did not recommend an oil consumption test despite oil levels reaching critical levels within 6000mi of previous oil change.I was informed Accord consumes 1 quart of oil/ 1000mi and since my mileage was beyond Honda limits, I'm to be held responsible. Dealer mentioned that ¿¿apology¿ is what they can offer and that ¿¿no cost will be on dealer since it is not their responsibility¿. official rep of american Honda stated that this is purely a maintenance issue and that they do not possess ownership of dealer and have nothing to say reg irresponsibility of the official Honda dealer. Honda's design flaw&irresponsible dealers neglecting this issue could result in severe bodily injury or death.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #38

Jan 252013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
I bought this Accord used with 95,000 miles on it. When I went to change the oil after 3000 miles, it was very, very low on oil. I might have taken two quarts out, maybe less. I started watching the oil consumption, which has gotten worse. I now add about 1.5 quarts every 1000 miles. It emits no blue smoke from the exhaust and has no oil leaks. It's getting worse. After owning a very reliable 2005 civic, this car has been a complete disappointment. My Honda dealer won't even return my call (I've called them 18 times) and when I go in person, they tell me they will have to consult with the manufacturer's specialist, who only stops in the dealership every 2 weeks. I've going in person to ask about this 4 times. Honda has offered a horrible customer service experience thus far.

- Medina, OH, USA

problem #37

Nov 252013

Accord

  • 74,280 miles
I have the 2008 Honda Accord with the 4cyl engine and drive approximately 8 miles per day. Within the last few months I have noticed significant oil loss in between oil changes. Approximately 3-4 quarts needs to be added in between oil changes. There is not a leak to be found and I am not blowing smoke out of the tailpipe. Upon additional research, I've found that multiple other owners of the exact same make and model vehicle are having this same issue. I've taken the vehicle to a local shop to have it looked at, but still don't have a resolve. Honda just recently lost a class action suit regarding the V6 models, but still won't admit to the issue with the 4cyl model. I have had estimates anywhere from $500 on up to a complete engine overhaul, which is far more than I can afford. Honda needs to take responsibility for this and fix the problem. I've owned many other Honda's and this is the first I've ever seen do something like this. Please help! thank you

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #36

Jul 072011

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
My vehicle burns about a quart of oil every 1000 miles. My engine makes knocking noises when starting vehicle because of the lack of oil. It seemed to start after dealership performed recall. I have taken to dealership several times regarding this issue and they claim normal for the vehicle.

- Hudsonville, MI, USA

problem #35

Nov 012012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
When starting the car a loud clicking noise is heard. Oil consumption is 1 qt every $1230 miles.

- Weirton , WV, USA

problem #34

Nov 072012

Accord

  • 97,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the vehicle exhibited a loud, rattling noise when started. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the vtc actuator was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 97,000 and the current mileage was 102,000.

- Garden Grove , CA, USA

problem #33

Nov 252013

Accord

  • 78,000 miles
2008 Honda Accord vtc actuator has gone bad now twice and each time I have paid out $700 +. this is all within a 12 month period. So in order to drive my car I have to pay an additional 700 a year on a newer car?

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #32

Nov 122012

Accord

  • 50,000 miles
Hello, I have a 2008, V4 Honda Accord. I started having problems back October 2012 with the oil. When I get an oil change, I would need to add at least 2 quarts of oil before the next oil change is do. It started off with adding oil the very next month after a new oil change! that is so ridiculous. The only way I would know that I needed more oil was there would be a burning smell coming from the car and a knocking noise. My oil light indicator would never light up-which is another malfunction. I took the car to Honda for servicing and told them what the car was doing. They told me that they did not see anything and that if it persists to bring it back in. So immediately I"M thinking that maybe they are not changing the oil correctly"! so the next few months I kind of kept track of the oil and took my car somewhere else for the oil change to see if that made a difference. Within the past year since then, I have had 4 oil changes with the other place and they did tell me that there is probably a Honda malfunction going on because the car is not supposed to keep losing oil within oil changes and having to add oil!! I am going to take my car in again to Honda and see what they are going to do. I just do not want to have the car engine blow up on me because of something Honda should have repaired. If someone else has had any resolution to their Honda place, please contact me at [xxx]thanks. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #31

Oct 012013

Accord 6-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
For the 2nd time since 2008, I've had to replace the sparkplugs due to PCM issues. The engine light will come on and gives an error code of P0303. Unfortunately you can only go to Honda to have the computer updated, and they will try to sell additional services. Today they refused to update my computer stating the only way to fix was to replace all the sparkplugs despite the service bulletin stating otherwise. Despite this being a manufacturer issue Honda has forced car owners to pay for this repair with no true fix existing.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?