Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2008 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,545 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Accord engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 6 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #23

Jun 162010

Accord

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2008 Honda Accord purchased new at gary force Honda bowling green ky. First issue: Cold start rattle, dealer replaced atc actuator, problem corrected. Have replaced brakes on the car 4 times. Most recently replaced approximately 1 year ago and now when brakes are applied the steering wheel vibrates worse than a road wagon. At 70,000 miles oil light came on, checked oil and none was on the stick. Added oil, took the car to dealer, they replaced vtc actuator but it did not correct the problem. Complained again and they performed oil consumption analysis only to tell me it was using less than one quart per one thousand miles and that was the industry standard. A few months later I became more irritated about the problem and complained again. They performed another oil consumption analysis to tell me it was using more than it was previously but less than one quart per 1000 miles and wouldn't do anything. Currently the car has 100000 miles on it and yes, the warranty just expired and it's using one quart per 1200 miles. I wrote Honda of America a letter and complained. They called but other than kind words, they did nothing. Oh and have I mentioned the head lights.... they blink when the heat or air is on. I must not forget that the leather on both the arm rest and console has bubbled up but no signs of wear or damage around the bubbles. And let me not forget the most recent issue: Now often times while setting completely still at a stop light and/or going down the road I hear a clicking sound in the steering column. I am not turning the steering wheel when I hear this noise. It just starts clicking, kind of like an electronic click coming from the steering column. Oh what a piece of junk Honda made when it built the 2008 Accord. Paid 30,000 for it and I'm sadly disappointed.

- Morgantown, KY, USA

problem #22

Jun 172013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
Engine makes noise when starting up that goes away after around 5 seconds. Was told atc actuator was bad.

- Roslyn, PA, USA

problem #21

Jun 012011

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
Excessive need for oil, between oil changes. Oil indicator does not show that vehicle is low on oil, but vehicle starts to run with problems, if oil not replaced.

- Eugene, OR, USA

problem #20

Jan 162013

Accord

  • 74,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When driving the vehicle (2008 Accord) in morning, I noticed a small rattle on inclines. Later there was a rattle when starting the car that has gotten progressively worse. I am hearing it constantly now and very loud.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #19

Apr 292013

Accord

  • 40,000 miles
The vtc ( variable timing control ) actuator on our 2008 Honda Accord sedan 4 door model was found to be defective and required immediate replacement by the Honda dealership. The 4 cylinder engine is exhibiting high oil consumption and poor gas mileage. Odometer reading is approximately 40,000 miles.

- Columbia, MD, USA

problem #18

Jan 022012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
Our 2008 Honda Accord LX (4 cylinder) has been burning oil at a rate of 1qt / 1000miles. I am the second owner of the car. A lot of other Honda Accord owners (2008-2010) have reported the same problem online in multiple forum: www.carcomplaints.com/Honda/Accord/2008/engine/excessive_oil_consumption.shtml my biggest concern is that the engine would stall during a long road trip across country which we've done in the past with other cars.

- Hayward, CA, USA

problem #17

Feb 072013

Accord 6-cyl

  • 95,851 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Back in August I took my car to southeastern Honda dealer like I routinely do to have my oil changed. It was suggested by service rep to change my transmission fluid, which I did. On my way home from work one night my engine light started flashing and my car was driving like it is going to shut off. I took my car to the dealer and they hooked it up to a machine and said it was 2 of my spark plugs, it's a common problem with the Accord V6 so it's best to change all of plugs which I agreed too and this will solve the problem. On 2/7/13 I took my car to southeastern Honda for my routine oil change and again the service rep suggested my power steering fluid and brake fluid needed to be changed which I agreed too. On my way home the vsa, brake light and ABS light came on in the car. As so as I was able to I took it back to southeastern Honda, the same service rep said they hook it up and it was the spark plugs which was change back in August and it should not be occurring because all the plugs were changed and it's a defect in the engine. He will speak with the good will Honda person because the car needs an engine. He called back a couple of days later and say it's the engine and I will be required to pay half for the engine. I left my car at the dealer for a week, paid a few dollars short of $3000 dollars and my engine vsa, brake and ABS lights is still coming on. I googled this problem and alot of the Honda have this problem. I will like to know what is the status of this problem.

- Viera, FL, USA

problem #16

Jan 232013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
Subject: Sudden unintended acceleration at about 9:25 pm, on Wednesday January 23, 2013 I was parked in the North parking lot of the vienna metro station, in fairfax, Virginia, awaiting arrival of my wife. I had parked in the first parking space, across from the waiting area in front of the metro station entrance. When I saw my wife emerge from the entrance of the metro station, I started my car and shifted to drive. The engine suddenly revved up and the car lunged forward, accelerating at high speed and out of control. I remember reacting by applying the brakes with all my might and engaging the hand brake without much effect.the car lunged forward about 100 feet and hit a concrete barrier which smashed the front and engine and totaled the vehicle. Luckily there were no other cars or pedestrians in the vicinity otherwise there would have been more severe consequences. When I regained consciousness, I had been transported to the fairfax hospital and had suffered severe trauma to the neck, throat, larynx and mouth area and was bleeding from a cut on the chin. Two days of intense examination at the hospital and several follow-up medical exams found no evidence of any physical or medical condition that could have possibly contributed to the accident. It must be noted that I did not receive any citation for the accident from the fairfax police.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

problem #15

Jan 042013

Accord

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda Accord. The contact stated that she started the vehicle and heard a rattling noise near the engine. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection and they stated that the vt actuator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified but provided no assistance. The failure mileage was 120,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Elmo, TX, USA

problem #14

Jan 012013

Accord

  • 115,000 miles
Engine has a loud rattling noise at a cold start up.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #13

Jun 202012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car cut off while in store for five minutes was told that if you leave keys in ignition while off it drains the battery. No car in my life that ever happened after leaving the radio in the car on and drained the battery. Had a problem within 3 months of buying a 2008 Honda. Car cut off and wouldn't start. And it did it again last night took it in before and the first time I took it in battery was fine and they check the battery today and they said it was no good but it happened a total of 4 times and there was a recall on the car and it happened to other people and which shouldn't happened cut off last night and no key in the ignition and battery died. Spoke to [xxx] store manager and spoke to service manager and refuse to change the battery. All they did was charge up battery. Cause they wanted me to purchase a battery for $159 which there is a problem. Because there was a problem few months after I bought the car. And brought in for same thing now less than a year. Honda told me that if you leave key in car that the car still is drawing power even though key is off. I kid you not my mom was in the car for five mins and battery died. Honda of roanoke rapids don't care about customer service and doing what is right to satisfy the customer. Battery was going bad before. I will never buy a car again from them. And I have the power train warranty and american Honda forced me to get it and wont cover squat. I was forced to take it by american Honda or else they would approve my loan. This was Honda of roanoke rapids. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Roanoke Rapids, NC, USA

problem #12

Dec 122012

Accord 6-cyl

  • 79,500 miles
Driving on the highway, felt a slight hesitation and then check engine light came on. Immediately exited and when I came to a stop, the car was idling very rough. Did research and it's very evident that this is a known issue by Honda because several people have complained that cylinder #3 spark plug is so damaged that ceramic pieces are completely missing! I can't believe that there hasn't been a recall with so many incidents. I am being told that Honda will not cover this as my car is no longer under warranty! this should be a recall! there is also an issue with engine oil being low but yet there are no leaks. This too appears to be a known issue. I was told at my last oil change that my oil level was extremely low but yet there were no signs of any leaks. This too should be a recall!

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #11

Dec 062012

Accord 6-cyl

  • 38,300 miles
Unintended acceleration. Driving slowly in a parking lot looking for a space, the car suddenly took off, accelerating, the engine racing, heard a clicking noise. Stepped hard on the brake, the engine stopped racing, the car stopped, but not before the car rammed some bushes, scratching the paint.

- Rye, NY, USA

problem #10

Nov 272012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
Noticed vehicle using excessive oil. Needed 3.25 quarts within 4,000 miles. Engine noise on cold start up. Honda dealership confirmed and said a computer update is required to resolve oil consumption and a defective vtc actuator, timing chain, and tensioner with updated parts are required to resolve engine noise. $1125 for repairs. Dealership acknowledged frequent issues with the defective original vtc actuator.

- Lexington, OH, USA

problem #9

Apr 112012

Accord

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that as he attempted to start the vehicle, it exhibited an abnormal grinding noise and the vehicle failed to start. The failure recurred whenever the vehicle was started in cole weather. The dealer was notified but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was 60,000 and the current mileage was 69,000.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #8

Sep 012010

Accord

  • 45,000 miles
The engine makes a rattling sound usually on a cold start. The problem has been documented by Honda and others as the vtc actuator. According to mechanical sources this could cause complete engine failure. See Honda tech bulletin 09-010 for further information.

- Idaho Falls, ID, USA

problem #7

Dec 302009

Accord 4-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
My 2008 Honda Accord ex-L started making a small rattle noise in December 2009, the car sales man said it was because the car needed to warm up and because the car was sitting for a while. A couple years later I brought the vehicle in and had it checked, but the dealer did not hear the sound. This was not documented by the Honda dealership. In June of 2012, I brought the vehicle to the dealer again after I noticed the sound more frequently. They let the vehicle sit over night and informed me the next morning that the vtc actuator needed to be replaced. At this time I had exceeded my extended warranty of 100,000 miles. The vehicle was at approximately 105,000 miles when the dealership diagnosed the problem. On October 3, 2012 my oil light flashed on and then back off. I had my father to check the oil and there was absolutely no oil in the chamber. I immediately went and purchased 3 quarts of oil until the next morning when I was able to bring the vehicle to the Honda dealer. I called sterling mccall Honda and explained the issue that I was experiencing and was scheduled an appointment to have to vehicle checked first thing in the morning. After speaking to the rep, I began researching the issue and found that several complaints were on the exact same issue. (the rattle at a cold start up and oil consumption issues relating the vtc actuator.) after doing more research I obtained a service bulletin about the rattle at cold start up and found a court document relating to a class action lawsuit filed in March 2012 relating to the faulty vtc actuator. The next morning October 4, 2012 I brought the vehicle in, had the oil changed and asked for a goodwill consideration. After speaking to a Honda service rep about the issue he stated that he doubt the possibility of getting a goodwill consideration because of the high mileage on the vehicle. I was not assisted in getting repai.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #6

Jul 292011

Accord 4-cyl

  • 36,320 miles
I bought my 2008 Accord used with 32K on it. Honda had a great record with reliability and quality in the past so this car, I figured, would be no different. After about a month of ownership, I noticed the oil was low. I checked the oil when I bought the car and it was full, and it was now down about a half a quart. I took my car to the Honda dealership and told them about the oil consumption. They topped me off, and put me on an oil consumption test. Interestingly enough, there was an oil consumption recall on my car about a month later. The dealership updated the software to prevent oil consumption and I was sent on my way. About a month later, my car was still consuming oil at about a quart per 2290miles. That was the official Honda tally at the end of my oil consumption test. I contacted Honda through written letter and phone call saying that their recall/software update did not work and that my car was still consuming oil. American Honda was unable to provide me with any documentation about what acceptable oil consumption on a car was, but in their words it was 1qt/1000 miles. No where in the bill of sale or owners manual does it say the owner will have to add oil during regular driving to keep the oil at acceptable levels. Talking with both american Honda and dealerships as well, they refuse to fix the problem and they are unable to provide any proof that consuming oil at this rate will not harm the car. I am currently adding about 1qt/1500miles to keep my car from running out of oil, and under the 5year 60K warranty, Honda still has not fixed the problem. I have all of my receipts of repairs and routine maintenance from the dealership along with dated phone conversations to Honda reps including case numbers. People need to know Honda's malicious and greedy intent not to honor its warranty and fix its cars. Mine still has yet to be fixed.

- Greenwood, IN, USA

problem #5

Aug 132012

Accord

  • 34,794 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the check engine warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to dealer for inspection who stated that a spark plug was misfiring and needed to be replaced. In addition, there was a computer failure that caused the vehicle to burn more oil than normal. The dealer replaced the spark plug and updated the computer. The manufacturer was notified but provided no assistance. The failure mileage was 34,794.

- Wilmington, MA, USA

problem #4

Mar 282011

Accord

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. While driving approximately 75 mph, the vsa and check engine warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle began to jerk forward and shake vigorously. The contact stopped on the shoulder of the road and restarted the vehicle. The failure recurred approximately six times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostics where the technician replaced the valves within the engine. The failure continued after the repairs. The vehicle was not further repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 68,000.

- Brattleboro, VT, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?