Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2008 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
25 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
34 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,684 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Accord seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 11 of 14)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #65

Jun 292014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 77,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while traveling approximately 60 mph, the air bags deployed without warning. The contact stated that immediately after the failure the drivers side seatbelt locked. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The contact was not included in NHTSA campaign id number: 14V351000 (air bags). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 77,000. Updated 09/22/14 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. The dealer found two impact marks on the undercarriage of the vehicle and states that is the cause of the air bag deployment. The impact that caused the marks occurred on 5/16/2014. The driver hit a double curb. The air bag spontaneously deployed on 6/29/14. Updated 2/11/2015

- Zachery, LA, USA

problem #64

Jun 292014

Accord

  • 106,000 miles
TL * the contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that twhile entering the vehicle, the air bag on the driver side door deployed without warning. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 106,000.

- Raton, NM, USA

problem #63

May 052014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 86,000 miles
My 2008 Honda Accord has never been in an accident. While operating the vehicle on city streets, the air bag light spontaneously came on in the instrument panel. Car was taken in for diagnostic evaluation and I was told that there is a SRS system failure- meaning the air bag system does not work. To replace would cost $487 or I could operate the vehicle knowing that the air bags would not deploy if I were in an accident. I called Honda to explain that this is a safety feature that has failed at 86,000 miles and should be covered. I was told that the vehicle is not covered after 36,000 miles. I was also told that my vehicle is not included in their most recent recall of air bag problems.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #62

Jun 022014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 175,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased this car last year and it had over 150000, as I checked the oil I noticed it was low I have added 1 qt in between every oil change. My second problem was during the winter on the real cold days the starter sounded like it was hanging up as described as the vtc actuator. My third problem is the warning light on the dash for the air bag has illuminated. I contacted Honda today and they told me the light only comes on after it has been to the body shop" also I have received a claim form for a reimbursable deployment prior to Feb 13 2014. I have not been in a accident and neither has the car. So if there is a claim for the air bag deployment why isn't there a recall for the air bag"

- Holly Springs, MS, USA

problem #61

Jun 142014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 153,000 miles
Air bag sensor illuminated while driving rendering the air bags inoperative. The vehicle was taken to the Honda dealer on the next business day. Parts and labor was $697. There should be a recall on this safety issue.

- Brownstown, MI, USA

problem #60

May 072014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to the dealership for a diagnostic test. The dealer stated that the SRS module needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 64,000 and the current mileage was 65,000. Updated 8/19/14 updated 08/27/2014

- Fleming Island , FL, USA

problem #59

May 302010

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

General concerns. However I am concerned about the airbag, engine and brakes problem especially. Honda has not made us aware of any problems with this vehicle. Thankfully we have only had premature replacement of brakes. We are aware of consumer complaints only because we are concerned about our product which we assume to be safe and reliable. You can rely on our qualitymaintenance program, we have been alerted by mail of a pending suit we cannot benefit from class action because we have no incident to report. Honda corporate and dealers owe us consumers true and fair information and timely communications. GMC had to kill people before they were found to be irresponsible. Consider this a complaint about brakes, failure to take responsibility, failure to notify, regarding other possible problems especially airbags.

- Old Bethpage, NY, USA

problem #58

May 172014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 118,000 miles
While driving, the side curtain airbag deployed with out there being any collision.

- Calumet City, IL, USA

problem #57

Nov 212013

Accord

  • 80,000 miles
On or around the 21st of November, as my family and I were getting out of the vehicle, the passenger door is closed and the air bags suddenly deploy. No impact on the car, no accident - in fact the car was parked. I called american Honda corporate offices and was advised to take the vehicle to my local dealership. I went ahead and took it to hudson Honda in West New York, NJ. My local dealership discovered that I had hit a pot hole 2 weeks prior to the incident. I was told because I had hit the pot hole 2 weeks prior that was the reason why my air bags deployed. I called my car insurance company and was advised that this was impossible. I would have had to have an impact in order for the passenger side curtain and torso air bags to deploy. I called american Honda again today and was told again that the reason why my air bags deployed was because they discovered I hit a pot hole 2 weeks prior to the incident. I have read other complaints from other consumers and would like my complaint to be fully investigated. Honda is saying I will need to come out of pocket at almost $4000 to fix the air bag. Why will I need to come out of pocket when I did not have an accident? I believe that this is a Honda issue and not a consumer issue. In the interim I am speaking with my car insurance company to do their own investigation of the incident.

- North Bergen, NJ, USA

problem #56

Apr 222014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
While entering my vehicle all of the passenger side air bags deployed when the front passenger closed the front door. As a result my daughter received facial and ear injuries. My daughter was sitting in the back passenger seat. My car was started and in park. After this happened I researched on the internet and found dozens of other frightening incidents similar to mine reported involving 2008 Honda Accord. The next morning as soon as the dealership where I purchased the car opened I called the manager and was informed to immediately bring it in which I did. My daughter is experiencing headaches and ear ringing sensations. I have scheduled a doctor's appointment for her to be seen tomorrow morning.

- Kennesaw, GA, USA

problem #55

Nov 012013

Accord

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My air bag light stays on. My passenger airbag light that says "off" is always illuminated. Recently, my "side air bag light" stays on for about a minute after my car is on. It did not do this before.

- Tallassee, AL, USA

problem #54

Apr 142014

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
Summary: There was a premature failure of the SRS module in my 2008 Honda Accord which, according to a local Honda representative, renders the airbags useless in a crash or can cause premature deployment. The airbag light was on as well as the engine light which the dealership mentioned they were both related. Charging a diagnostics fee when I had already performed the diagnostics through work and associated partnerships (fleet management provider and maintenance vendors). I had to pay out of pocket close to $640 for parts and labor. Seems silly as this was a safety related service. My engine light was on about 4 months ago and they said the light was on due to my catalytic converter, so they replaced and now the engine light is back on and this is due to airbag issue...updated 05-27-15

- Angleton, TX, USA

problem #53

Mar 292014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
I stopped my car to let my boyfriend out of the car. When he closed the passenger side door the side curtain airbags were deployed as well as the one out of the passenger seat. There was no impact to my car whatsoever, no dings, dents or damage. He just closed the door.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #52

Aug 052013

Accord

  • miles
There was a premature failure of the SRS module in our 2008 Honda Accord which, according to a local Honda representative, renders the airbags useless in a crash or can cause premature deployment. At the time, my wife was pregnant and drove 100 miles roundtrip (highway) daily to work. I needed this part addressed asap. Multiple Honda dealerships refused to service the vehicle in a timely fashion (inside a 2 week window), would not offer a complementary vehicle, and insisted on charging a diagnostics fee when I had already performed the diagnostics through work and associated partnerships (fleet management provider and maintenance vendors). Honda refused to warranty the part and I had to pay out of pocket close to $500 for parts and labor. Seems silly as this was a safety related service.....updated 12/15/15

- Lake In The Hills, IL, USA

problem #51

Feb 042014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
My Honda Accord 2008 ex model's passenger side curtain air bag took off without any impact which it was getting parked by a vale driver. There was no damage any where to trigger the same. This occurred when the vale driver parked my car and shut the door of the car. Air bag took off and injured the person. Geico did the repair and could not find any reason what could trigger the air bag. I took my car to Honda dealership (huntington Honda) and they also could not find the reason. Garage denied the claim and no one is able to give confidence that this will not happen again.I have several pictures and detailed report and like to share if there is any way to do that.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #50

Feb 042014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
I had a car wreck on 2/4/2014 between 10 and 1030 am. It was cloudy and drizzly and I crossed a 2 lane street when a truck hit me and took all the front fender off. The truck shaved all the front of my car. Most of the damage was on the drivers side. I hit my head on window and my chest on steering wheel. No airbags went off, not the side one or the steering wheel one. My car was a total loss and my neck is been giving me some trouble some days more than others but mostly at night time. I went to see my doctor and she put me on muscle relaxants and anti-inflammatory meds. I don't understand why the airbags didn't go off to protect me.

- Burleson, TX, USA

problem #49

Sep 012011

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
I had just returned from the store in my 2008 Honda Accord ex/L. I pulled into my driveway placed my car into park and exited the vehicle as I normally would. But to my surprise when I closed my door I heard a loud pop! I turned around and saw my car filled with dust I opened my door and realized my airbags have deployed. Both driver side curtain airbags and the driver's seat side impact airbags were deployed. I didn't "slam" the door or close it any harder then I normally do. I took it to the dealer where I had purchased the car from and he told me I had to of slammed my door for all of them to blow off like they did "they don't just blow off on their own" " you slammed your door" I know how I close my door. I take care of all of my belongings. Is what I replied with. The service writer told me I was looking at $6,000 to get them replaced. I don't have 6 grand sitting around so after many headaches and the dealer trying to scam my insurance company and getting mad that I tried to contact Honda directly to resolve my issue they finally fixed my car....(it took them 2 months) and cost me a lot of money. I was given no help from Honda even after I had found out that I was not the only person out there with this same exact problem. With that being said you'd think Honda would do something about this. Apparently taking care of customers and doing what's right has fallen low on the pole for Honda. I can promise I will never purchase a car from Honda ever again.

- Hoffman Estates, IL, USA

problem #48

Jun 302013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
My vehicle was parked at home and I was getting groceries out of my car and pushed the door shut with my behind. Next thing I hear is a huge boom and I look back and my airbags on the passenger side of my car were completely deployed. My curtain airbags and my seat airbag both deployed. I went to the sam swope dealership at 1 swope autocenter dr, louisville, ky 40299 where I purchased my car and explained the issue to them. They told me that this happens all the time in 2008 Accord and that they would take a look at it and get back to me. They proceeded to tell me they saw no default codes so it was not their responsibility to fix it and quoted me $5000 that I would have to pay out of pocket to fix it. I was angry and told them I would not stand for it and I wanted to speak with corporate. I had to then take my vehicle back to the dealership for corporate to look it over. A week or so later I received a phone call from the corporate office informing me there was absolutely nothing they could do and it was my responsibility to fix it. I was livid!!! I pay my car payment on time every month, pay for an extended warranty and gap insurance but obviously Honda does not hold true to treating their customers the way they should be treated. I am 24 years old and single and do not $5000 just laying around to fix the issue, so I have been driving around ever since with no airbags on the passenger side. I truly hope the more people that come forward with this issue will get 2008 Honda Accord recalled. Paying $400 a month for 3 more years of the 6 year loan I have is very frustrating when Honda does not stand behind their products whatsoever.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #47

Feb 082014

Accord

  • 68,420 miles
My fiancÉE got out of the car and shut the door on the right passenger side. When he shut the door, the air bags immediately deployed on that side of the car. No crash took place for this to happen.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #46

Jun 122013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
Passenger got out of the car, closed the front ps door and boom out came the side curtain airbags. I went to the dealership and they said there had to have been a collision, it's out of warranty anyway and to make a claim with my insurance. I went to my insurance and they said they couldn't make a claim without a collision. Something has to happen here. This isn't right. Get on it Honda.

- Antioch, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?