Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2008 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
25 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
34 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,102 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Accord seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 12 of 14)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #56

Apr 222014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 89,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While entering my vehicle all of the passenger side air bags deployed when the front passenger closed the front door. As a result my daughter received facial and ear injuries. My daughter was sitting in the back passenger seat. My car was started and in park. After this happened I researched on the internet and found dozens of other frightening incidents similar to mine reported involving 2008 Honda Accord. The next morning as soon as the dealership where I purchased the car opened I called the manager and was informed to immediately bring it in which I did. My daughter is experiencing headaches and ear ringing sensations. I have scheduled a doctor's appointment for her to be seen tomorrow morning.

- Kennesaw, GA, USA

problem #55

Nov 012013

Accord

  • 65,000 miles
My air bag light stays on. My passenger airbag light that says "off" is always illuminated. Recently, my "side air bag light" stays on for about a minute after my car is on. It did not do this before.

- Tallassee, AL, USA

problem #54

Apr 142014

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
Summary: There was a premature failure of the SRS module in my 2008 Honda Accord which, according to a local Honda representative, renders the airbags useless in a crash or can cause premature deployment. The airbag light was on as well as the engine light which the dealership mentioned they were both related. Charging a diagnostics fee when I had already performed the diagnostics through work and associated partnerships (fleet management provider and maintenance vendors). I had to pay out of pocket close to $640 for parts and labor. Seems silly as this was a safety related service. My engine light was on about 4 months ago and they said the light was on due to my catalytic converter, so they replaced and now the engine light is back on and this is due to airbag issue...updated 05-27-15

- Angleton, TX, USA

problem #53

Mar 292014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 74,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I stopped my car to let my boyfriend out of the car. When he closed the passenger side door the side curtain airbags were deployed as well as the one out of the passenger seat. There was no impact to my car whatsoever, no dings, dents or damage. He just closed the door.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #52

Aug 052013

Accord

  • miles
There was a premature failure of the SRS module in our 2008 Honda Accord which, according to a local Honda representative, renders the airbags useless in a crash or can cause premature deployment. At the time, my wife was pregnant and drove 100 miles roundtrip (highway) daily to work. I needed this part addressed asap. Multiple Honda dealerships refused to service the vehicle in a timely fashion (inside a 2 week window), would not offer a complementary vehicle, and insisted on charging a diagnostics fee when I had already performed the diagnostics through work and associated partnerships (fleet management provider and maintenance vendors). Honda refused to warranty the part and I had to pay out of pocket close to $500 for parts and labor. Seems silly as this was a safety related service.....updated 12/15/15

- Lake In The Hills, IL, USA

problem #51

Feb 042014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
My Honda Accord 2008 ex model's passenger side curtain air bag took off without any impact which it was getting parked by a vale driver. There was no damage any where to trigger the same. This occurred when the vale driver parked my car and shut the door of the car. Air bag took off and injured the person. Geico did the repair and could not find any reason what could trigger the air bag. I took my car to Honda dealership (huntington Honda) and they also could not find the reason. Garage denied the claim and no one is able to give confidence that this will not happen again.I have several pictures and detailed report and like to share if there is any way to do that.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #50

Feb 042014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had a car wreck on 2/4/2014 between 10 and 1030 am. It was cloudy and drizzly and I crossed a 2 lane street when a truck hit me and took all the front fender off. The truck shaved all the front of my car. Most of the damage was on the drivers side. I hit my head on window and my chest on steering wheel. No airbags went off, not the side one or the steering wheel one. My car was a total loss and my neck is been giving me some trouble some days more than others but mostly at night time. I went to see my doctor and she put me on muscle relaxants and anti-inflammatory meds. I don't understand why the airbags didn't go off to protect me.

- Burleson, TX, USA

problem #49

Sep 012011

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
I had just returned from the store in my 2008 Honda Accord ex/L. I pulled into my driveway placed my car into park and exited the vehicle as I normally would. But to my surprise when I closed my door I heard a loud pop! I turned around and saw my car filled with dust I opened my door and realized my airbags have deployed. Both driver side curtain airbags and the driver's seat side impact airbags were deployed. I didn't "slam" the door or close it any harder then I normally do. I took it to the dealer where I had purchased the car from and he told me I had to of slammed my door for all of them to blow off like they did "they don't just blow off on their own" " you slammed your door" I know how I close my door. I take care of all of my belongings. Is what I replied with. The service writer told me I was looking at $6,000 to get them replaced. I don't have 6 grand sitting around so after many headaches and the dealer trying to scam my insurance company and getting mad that I tried to contact Honda directly to resolve my issue they finally fixed my car....(it took them 2 months) and cost me a lot of money. I was given no help from Honda even after I had found out that I was not the only person out there with this same exact problem. With that being said you'd think Honda would do something about this. Apparently taking care of customers and doing what's right has fallen low on the pole for Honda. I can promise I will never purchase a car from Honda ever again.

- Hoffman Estates, IL, USA

problem #48

Jun 302013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
My vehicle was parked at home and I was getting groceries out of my car and pushed the door shut with my behind. Next thing I hear is a huge boom and I look back and my airbags on the passenger side of my car were completely deployed. My curtain airbags and my seat airbag both deployed. I went to the sam swope dealership at 1 swope autocenter dr, louisville, ky 40299 where I purchased my car and explained the issue to them. They told me that this happens all the time in 2008 Accord and that they would take a look at it and get back to me. They proceeded to tell me they saw no default codes so it was not their responsibility to fix it and quoted me $5000 that I would have to pay out of pocket to fix it. I was angry and told them I would not stand for it and I wanted to speak with corporate. I had to then take my vehicle back to the dealership for corporate to look it over. A week or so later I received a phone call from the corporate office informing me there was absolutely nothing they could do and it was my responsibility to fix it. I was livid!!! I pay my car payment on time every month, pay for an extended warranty and gap insurance but obviously Honda does not hold true to treating their customers the way they should be treated. I am 24 years old and single and do not $5000 just laying around to fix the issue, so I have been driving around ever since with no airbags on the passenger side. I truly hope the more people that come forward with this issue will get 2008 Honda Accord recalled. Paying $400 a month for 3 more years of the 6 year loan I have is very frustrating when Honda does not stand behind their products whatsoever.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #47

Feb 082014

Accord

  • 68,420 miles
My fiancÉE got out of the car and shut the door on the right passenger side. When he shut the door, the air bags immediately deployed on that side of the car. No crash took place for this to happen.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #46

Jun 122013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger got out of the car, closed the front ps door and boom out came the side curtain airbags. I went to the dealership and they said there had to have been a collision, it's out of warranty anyway and to make a claim with my insurance. I went to my insurance and they said they couldn't make a claim without a collision. Something has to happen here. This isn't right. Get on it Honda.

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #45

Jul 272013

Accord 6-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
Seat and canopy air bags on passenger side both deployed while parked overnight in the garage. Honda says insurance must pay and insurance company says it's Honda's responsibility.

- Columbus, MS, USA

problem #44

Oct 072013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
Drove into a gas station so my fiancee could buy a beverage our 9 Y/O in back seat with belt on. Fiancee closed door loud boom N my son starts screaming crying I realize once powdery smoke clears that air bags entire side curtain N passenger front seat have gone off thus hitting my 9 year olds in the head he ended up with a concussion and blood behind his ear on the inside I went to Honda. I also called my insurance and Honda berated me in front of their other customers call myself and my fiance a couple of [xxx] my son was in the emergency room and ended up having a cat scan of his brain he ended up missing school for two days now Honda is denying it is their faulty am just quite confused as to how airbag spontaneously deploy when a vehicle is not moving and not in a collision and not driving even and the Honda can say it is not there defect now I have an injured child and the car with about $7,000 damage please help me thank you. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). Updated 02/25/14

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #43

Sep 202013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 79,300 miles
While walking towards my own vehicle with my 2 year old daughter, my fiance got in the driver side door of our 2008 Honda Accord and closed the door. Right after he shut the door a loud explosion was heard. The side air bag (on the top and within the seat) had deployed. The car wasn't even started at the time. Like everyone else Honda does not find it to be their problem. My insurance is helping me investigate the cause of the deployment since there was no accident. I would really like to know how many times this must have happened before someone other than the consumer is held liable. I do not feel safe putting my daughter in the car if this is possible.

- Guttenberg, NJ, USA

problem #42

Aug 212013

Accord 6-cyl

  • 50,052 miles
I came to a stop and my 15 yr son got out of the car and shut the passenger's side door and the passenger side airbags deployed. He was in a hurry so shut the door hard but I would have never expected the airbags to deploy. Also, my front seat passenger's airbag deployed. I took it to Honda dealership that I purchased it from. They said it was not a manufacturer defect. I filed a claim with my insurance company as instructed by Honda. I then got a call that I was responsible for $100. I have now received a letter from my insurance company that it is a manufacturer defect and they deny my claim.

- Ft. Thomas, KY, USA

problem #41

Sep 072013

Accord

  • 58,022 miles
The entire passenger side curtain and passenger side seat airbag deployed when my boyfriend exited the passenger side and shut the door. There was no collision nor outside damage. The airbags just deployed as soon as the door shut. It is obviously a mechanical problem and a safety issue. Honda refuses to cover for the repair.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #40

Aug 252013

Accord

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the passenger's side air bag and the side curtain air bag deployed prior to the failure, the passenger's side air bag warning lamp had illuminated sporadically. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who was unable to determine what caused the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure and current mileage was 65,000.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #39

Aug 012013

Accord

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the air bag warning light remained illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer to have a diagnostic performed, however the dealer advised that the supplemental restraining unit system might have needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 68,000 and the current mileage was 70,000.

- Royston , GA, USA

problem #38

Aug 072013

Accord

  • 158,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the air bag warning light illuminated intermittently. The manufacturer was not contacted about the failure. The contact was informed by the dealer that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number 07V001000 (air bags). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 158,000.

- Augusta, GA, USA

problem #37

May 152012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
In March 2012 I took the car to a Honda dealer because the SRS light was on. I was told I needed a battery and that should make the light go off. I got a battery about six months later and the light stayed on. I took my car back to the dealer in July 2013 and they said the SRS module is out and would need to be replaced because if I were in an accident the airbags would not deploy.

- Sheridan, AR, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?