Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2008 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
24 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
33 / 0
Average Mileage:
42,109 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda Accord seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 12 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #25

Oct 132012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 55,900 miles


I purchased my 2008 Honda Accord brand new and I have had no accidents. Approximately 2 weeks ago my SRS light remained on after starting my engine and has remained on since. I took my vehicle in for an inspection today at my local Honda dealership and they told me that it detected a code in which there was an internal failure of the SRS unit. This would require me to replace the unit at a cost of $455.15 as this was not covered under warranty. How can a vehicle that is 4 years old with less than 60,000 miles and no prior accidents already have a system failure regarding the airbags?

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #24

Oct 082012


  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated while driving 65 mph the side curtain air bag deployed without impact or any warnings. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 26,000.

- Morrisville, NC, USA

problem #23

Jul 202012


  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact and the front passenger exited the vehicle and as the front door was closed, the front passenger and side curtain air bags deployed erroneously. The vehicle had not been involved in a crash nor impacted by any type of object. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who advised the contact that the vehicle could be repaired. There were no recalls for the failure. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- Winchester, KY, USA

problem #22

Jul 282012


  • 60,000 miles


Side airbags deployed when door was closed. Car was parked, and turned off.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #21

Jun 292012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
The warning light on the dashboard panel is warning that the passenger airbag as deployed. At the same time the "fasten seatbelt" warning stopped working and the seal around the passenger window is loose. Coincidentally, a relative also has a 2008 Honda Accord and the exact same things are happening. According to many internet entries, the same thing is happening to many 2008 Honda Accord. I cannot find information on a recall. It is a safety hazard, because some owners have reported the airbag deploying while driving.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #20

Jun 182012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 32,500 miles
SRS indicator light came on the dashboard while driving. Took the vehicle to a local Honda dealer and was told that they were not able to perform any diagnostic as the SRS unit has failed and was not communicating with the system. I had to pay $482 to replace the SRS unit. Although the vehicle is out of warranty, it has less than 36,000 miles on it and the SRS unit replacement should have been covered by Honda.....updated 05-27-15

- Houma, LA, USA

problem #19

May 112012


  • 80,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the passenger air bags deployed while she was closing the front passenger door. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for a diagnosis. The dealer stated that the air bag senor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they stated that they were not responsible. The failure and current mileages were 80,000.

- Disputanta , VA, USA

problem #18

May 062012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 30,620 miles
SRS indicator light on dashboard came on and subsequently the passenger airbag off indicator also came on. Vehicle taken to Honda dealer for service where SRS control unit was determined to be inoperative. Replacement was authorized at a total cost of $616.49. Similar premature SRS control unit failures for 2008 Accord were noted on the NHTSA website...updated 05-27-15 updated 9/17/2015

- Spokane, WA, USA

problem #17

Aug 192011

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
I entered my 2008 Honda Accord in my driveway and after closing my drivers door, my side airbags and drivers seat airbags deployed. The key was not in the ignition nor was the engine running. Honda is giving me the royal run around and will not take responsibility to fix this. They want me to go through my insurance company to get this repaired, when in fact there was no accident. They are blaming it on a sensor that is under the car, which they say may have been damaged. This car is still in showroom condition with 22,000 miles. They just had an airbag recall on 2002-2004 models, their customer service dept in California were very rude and advised if there is a recall in four or five years then I can be reimbursed. There have been numerous complaints of this happening to many 2008 Honda Accord owners looking through the internet. It is time that someone makes them accountable, as loyal Honda customers we should be taken care of if their reputation is quality and excellence. We should be treated properly and have this repaired. It is time Honda recalls their 2008 Honda Accord and fixes this issue now, before it deploys and someone gets killed. Why must it take someone losing their life before anything is done.

- Hauppauge, NY, USA

problem #16

Aug 042011

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
Air bag light suddenly appeared on in August I had to pay for diagnostic to find the problem results were SRS module is bad. They want me to replace this safety issue, $405 to replace. Shouldn't this be covered by american Honda.

- Clinton, NC, USA

problem #15

Mar 312010


  • miles


Passenger side curtain airbags & passenger side seat airbag randomly deployed.

- Loganville, GA, USA

problem #14

Nov 192011


  • miles
My fiance and I were on our way to the hospital to take our daughter to the er. I pulled in a parking spot and put the car in park. The key was still in the ignition and when my boyfriend got out of the car and shut the door the passenger side air bags deployed. There was no accident just him shutting the door. How is this possible"?" I did some research and noticed that not all ins companies will pay for this and Honda is not paying for it either. I find this hard to believe as this is a safety issue. I went to the Honda dealer today and was told I need to come back in the morning and speak to the service manager. What can I do about this as this is not my fault but a defect with the car.

- Ventura, CA, USA

problem #13

Oct 162011

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
Certified 2008 Honda Accord purchased from in Georgia. Driving on I-85 at 55-60mph heard a loud explosion and then hit in the side of the head (at high speed) by the side airbag. Side airbags deployed for absolutely no reason. Could have been in a serious accident or killed. Honda does not want to fix defective part on car and wants over $5K. This is a very serious problem and I see that many other 2008 Honda Accord have had the same problem. These airbags should not go off unless there is an impact! contacted and they did a story last night on the news. Wrote to all the bigwigs at american Honda as well this morning. Was contacted by a case manager at american Honda this morning and they are towing my car down to a dealership South of where I live to be "looked at" with no guarantee of being fixed. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Gainesville, GA, USA

problem #12

Oct 072011

Accord 6-cyl

  • miles
My 2008 certified used Honda Accord (sdn/4 dr, ex-L) was hit hard from the front left side and none of my airbags deployed. I was at a stand still (at a stop sign), the fast oncoming vehicle crashed into me causing me to skid 10 feet, knocking my front bumper off, shattering my windows, and I have been told my front axle is broke. The Oklahoma highway patrol recommended I file a complaint since none of my airbags deployed.

- Mesquite, TX, USA

problem #11

Apr 102011

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,108 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the supplemental restraint system warning lamp illuminated and the vehicle was taken to the dealer. The dealer diagnosed that the unit was defective and would need to be replaced. The manufacturer was contacted who filed a complaint on the contacts behalf but provided no further assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 48,108. Updated 06/01/11 updated 06/20/11

- Sumter, SC, USA

problem #10

Feb 112011


  • 36,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord ex. The contact stated the air bags deployed without although there was no crash. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that the failure was not a mechanical failure. The manufacturer was contacted who did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 36,000.

- Apopka, FL, USA

problem #9

Mar 092010

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,200 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord exl. The contact was driving approximately 5 mph, approaching a stop sign. Suddenly, an opposing vehicle crashed into the drivers side and the force caused the contacts left shoulder to strike up against the door which resulted in an injury. The contact and the passenger sustained abrasions and suffered pinched nerves. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The vehicle was severely damaged and towed to an auto body collision center. The estimated repair cost was $9,000. In addition, the front and rear rotors had prematurely worn which was unrelated to the crash. The failure mileage was 5,200. Updated 02/08/11 updated 04/21/11

- Mountainside , NJ, USA

problem #8

Nov 012010

Accord 6-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
2008 Honda Accord. Consumer writes regarding airbag not deploying during accident the consumer was hit on the left side by a small truck. The driver of the truck was traveling twice the speed limit. The consumer stated the brakes on his vehicle were defective. An engineer suggested that the front and rear brakes be replaced. But, when the consumer took the vehicle to the dealer, the rotors were cut down, which had already been done twice in the past. And the front was cut down once. The consumer stated the rotors are extremely thin now. The consumer stated at 5,000 miles, the brakes began to grind and rumble with a loss of braking ability. Updated 01/14/11.

- Mountainside, NJ, USA

problem #7

Jun 102010


  • 38,000 miles
2008 Honda Accord, drive less than 3 yrs, airbag light is on while driving. Called Honda North America office & Honda dealer in houston, they refuse to give a free diagnosis, because the mileage is over 36,000 mile. I told them this is a safety issue, should carry a lifetime warranty.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #6

Jul 312009

Accord 6-cyl

  • 12,855 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda Accord. When the contact attempted to close the passenger side door, the passenger side air bags suddenly deployed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and they stated that the failure was caused by the door being closed too hard. The current and failure mileages were 12,855. Updated 09/14/09. Updated 09/15/09.

- Smyrma, TN, USA

Read the next 5 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?