Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2009 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,378 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Honda Accord brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Apr 152011


  • 29,326 miles


Rear brake pads having to be replaced along with resurface of rotors, both front and rear.

- Battle Creek, MI, USA

problem #21

Nov 012010

Accord 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
I am leasing a 2009 Honda Accord ex coupe. I was informed at less than 15,000 miles that I was in need of new rear brake pads. While I fully expected to pay for general maintenance and reasonable "wear items" during my lease. There is no reason that I should need to replace my brake pads at 15,000 miles. In speaking with the service center at my Honda dealer, they informed me that it is not uncommon for 2008 and 2009 Accord to experience premature rear brake wear but that Honda nor the dealership would pay for the service. I was then informed of a class action lawsuit that could reimburse $150 of the $239 it would cost to replace the brake pads. While this does help with the financial burden, it does not cover the entire expense. Nor does it excuse Honda's unwillingness to fix this quality/safety issue and spare their customers the hassle of the up-front expense and additional paperwork required to take part in the suit. I even contacted Honda U.S. directly regarding the issue and they directed me back to the class action hotline and said there was nothing more they could do. Although Honda does not take responsibility for the faulty product, they have released an "improved" brake pad which, supposedly, has a longer lifespan. Clearly, however, there is a defect with brakes that wear down so quickly with normal use. One of the reasons I chose a Honda product was due to what I thought was a superior quality and safety rating. In light of the current situation, I will likely not lease or purchase another Honda vehicle when my lease runs out.

- King Of Prussia, PA, USA

problem #20

Jun 102010


  • 16,000 miles
2009 Honda Accord brakes, made terrible noise and my car was shaking on freeway.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #19

Apr 102010


  • 23,000 miles


I had brand new car bought in March 2009, later in April 2010 I had accident and airbags didn't blow out and I hit my head, sent it to dealer by insurance company and figured that sensor was defected and they exchanged, later on they flights for ABS and vsc come on intermittently, sent it to dealer, they figured sensors are defected and will exchange, my concern is how come car with defected parts released to market, and Honda company didn't do any thing for me, the car cost over $ $20,000 it's better to buy a $ $2000 car.

- Titusville, FL, USA

problem #18

Jul 082010


  • 32,000 miles
Premature wear of my brakes on my 2009 Honda Accord. During braking my car would shake. Only 32K miles on my car, and the front rotors needed to be resurfaced, which was covered under warranty. My rear brakes were not covered and I had to pay $250 out of pocket to replace the brake pads which had been worn down to the brake squealer, and to resurface the rear rotors.

- Corry, PA, USA

problem #17

May 232010


  • 20,000 miles
The rear brakes of my Honda Accord 2009 began making a terrible scraping noise. Honda claimed I had left the parking brake on while I drove it. I had never used the parking brake. I had driven 20,000 highway miles on the vehicle. I do not think I wore out the rear brakes. It was repaired 5/24/2010. The following day, I rec.'d a notice of a class action suit against Honda for rear brakes. Why is Honda not repairing the brakes for free?

- Congers, NY, USA

problem #16

May 242010


  • 24,300 miles


Rear brake pads worn out at 24,000 miles while front pads are fine. Service bulletin 09-096 proves Honda is aware of the problem but insists on charging me for replacement pads pending the class action lawsuit settlement.

- Goodlettsville, TN, USA

problem #15

May 182010


  • 20,000 miles
I needed to change the rear brake pad of my 2009 Honda Accord which only has 20,000 miles. The front brake pad was fine. Clearly this is a defective design or manufacturing fault. Honda needs to recall the car to fix the brake problem.

- Danville, CA, USA

problem #14

Sep 242009


  • 18,200 miles
Purchased a 2009 Honda Accord full loaded. After 18 thousand miles, I needed to change the rear brakes. According to dealer it was a defect on the pads and that is why I ran with the problem. I saw online all the complaints on the same issue and is incredible, I believe the 2008 and 21009 should be recall on all brakes since it looks like people are changing their brakes every 7-8 month and Honda is not doing anything about fixing the problem. I had to pay for my brakes and had such a big problem addressing it to the manager at Honda mission valley, he keeps saying that is no the dealers problem, but once I send him the link with all the problems people have on their brakes, he said nothing else. I am concern on my family and my self safety. How many times would I have to change in a year my brakes. Is that something normal? I don't think so. Please let people know the problem that all Honda are having right now. Something needs to be done. Is not fair that we pay thousands of dollars and before 1 year old of purchasing the car, now I am having problems with brakes, accessories inside the car and tire pressure. One of my tires leak tat I have to put air every month. I am very disappointed on how Honda handles the issue. I trusted their opinion and what do I get a piece of crap. This will be the last time I will purchase a Honda, I have had the worse experience. I will love for someone to really investigate the problem on the rear brakes, on why they ran out so quickly.

- Chula Vista`, CA, USA

problem #13

Sep 302008

Accord 6-cyl

  • 200 miles
On Sept 22, 2008, we purchased a new 2009 Honda Accord V6 and started experiencing brake problems within the first week of ownership. The car has been serviced by Honda 12-15 times. Honda has replaced the brake pads, machined the rotors, replaced calipers, installed new ABS modulator and we are still experiencing brake problems. After having all these repairs, the car still has brake issues. We feel as if Honda isn't taking this seriously. Not only is the car still experiencing brake problems, the passenger safety restraint & air bags indicators come on in the car when a passenger is in the car. These brake problems and indicator lights do not happen every time the car driven and that is why we believe Honda won't correct the problem. Honda is aware that there is an issue with the brake pads, however our car's brake pedal will go to the floor, making it extremely hard to stop the vehicle on occasion. We have had very close encounters to crashing due to this problem. We would like to know if you are aware of these problems with Honda?

- Hanover, PA, USA

problem #12

Jan 042010


  • miles


I purchased a new 2009 Honda Accord in November 2008. The day after I pulled off of the lot I noticed extreme squealing coming from the brakes. I reported the problem to my dealer and they said it would just need to break in. 1 year, 14000 miles, and 3 complaints later it was still making the noise. I found a service bulletin number online and mentioned this to my dealer who finally replaced the front brakes and retooled the rotors. I am reading of many premature failures of the rear brakes on 2008-09 Accord also. I feel this should be looked into by the government.

- Doylestown, PA, USA

problem #11

Dec 092009


  • 12,789 miles
We just had to replace the rear brakes on our 2008 Honda Accord, with only 12,789 miles on it.

- Lake Forest, CA, USA

problem #10

Nov 232009


  • 9,000 miles
Excessive brake noise-Honda 2 door coupe dealer stating that Honda is working on solution each time I take it in for maintenance. Brakes started making noise at less than 12000 miles. Problem is progressing and will be a safety issue.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #9

Nov 082009


  • miles
I have 15,576 miles on my Accord and it's making a screeching sound in my rear brakes. I called the service dept, only to find out that the rear brakes already need to be replaced. Isn't this a little pre-mature to already have to replace brakes?

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #8

Jul 252009


  • 11 miles
Rear frame was not bolted down to spec in the factory causing the car to be unsure while driving. Numerous bolts were loose. Transmission has a shredding and tearing noise when put in reverse and then drive. Brakes are grinding and cause the car to possibly lurch forward while foot is on brake. Noise in the passenger side door panel and in the rear of car.

- Thousand Oaks, CA, USA

problem #7

Jan 062009


  • miles
I bought my 2009 Honda back in October, after a 1000 miles my brakes were squeaking I ignored them until the noise started to get louder at about 1,000miles I took in my car to the dealer and they told me they had to change front and rear brakes which I thought it was ridiculous, after 2 weeks of changing my brakes I could hear the squeaking again I brought in my car and they keep telling me its normal, the squawking is getting louder and louder and I really believe there has to be a recall to replace the brakes, Honda has been known for their safety but having problems with brakes can be potentially very dangerous. I hope you take care of this matter and help a lot of people solve this problem.

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #6

Aug 282009


  • 22,000 miles
I purchased a 2009 Honda and had it service every 3000 miles. Upon my second servicing of the car I had the dealership to check my brakes cause they were squeaking; the representative stated that the brake rotors tend to rust and the reason why I was hearing the brakes upon compression. So, me being a woman and all I thought the representative being honest with me however, I drove the car for another week and I could hear this grinding noise while driving as if metal and metal was rubbing together. I thought maybe it would go away but it didn't it kept on and then it suddenly stopped. However, the brakes started scrubbing real bad so I took it for servicing same story...they cleaned off the rotors and nothing else. So it was getting close to my 25K check so I simply prayed and ignored the annoying sound until I was able to take it in. When I did the representative tells me that my rear brake pads need to be replaced I was like that doesn't make any sense - why would I need to replace the rear pads when I drive a front wheel drive automobile. I was extremely messed up about it and complained so they offered to pay half and I the other I told I wasn't going to pay anything. Well, I decided to do a little research on the matter and I found this website - there people all over the us complaining about premature brake pad wearing as well as premature rotor warping both of what I'm dealing with. I told my husband I will be trading this car in as soon as we're right side up on our loan; I'm thinking one more year unless you can create a recall for this and have correct this problem. I just pray that it's not that big of a problem where I - myself, or someone gets hurt. Please look into this matter asap. Cordially, deborah - a concerned Honda owner

- Horn Lake , MS, USA

problem #5

Aug 172009


  • 20,200 miles
I have an Honda Accord ex purchased on Oct 2008. Ever since 3000 miles I have been hearing a squealing noise when I deploy the brakes. In August 17, 2009 the squeal turned into a grinding noise and I had to replace both rear brake pads. My car has only 20,000 miles. I suspect the quality of the part is below par if not defective. Also I suspect that the right part is not being used on the new generation of Accord (2008, 2009) thereby causing excessive wear and tear. Please investigate this issue.

- Hamburg, NJ, USA

problem #4

Jul 202009

Accord 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
I have a brand new Honda Accord 2009 ex-4 cyl and the brakes are squeaking I only have 10K miles and the dealership says the brakes are fine and I just have to deal with the squeaking. This is insane the squeaking and the fact that the brakes feel like there grinding. Please help!

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #3

Jan 192009


  • miles
2009 Honda Accord ex-L model with brakes that squeak. I contacted Honda consumer relations and they state at this time, it is nothing they can do to resolve this problem.

- Fairview Heights, IL, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?