Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2009 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.

4.7

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,629 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Honda Accord miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Honda Accord Owner Comments

problem #10

Sep 172015

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought my Honda Accord 2009 about a year back. I really love the care. I am religious about oil changes and maintenance and run synthetics to insure the best engine performance and life. My previous owner confirmed that he was also always doing the synthetic oil changes. What I noticed after about a couple of months of buying my car was that a funny rattling and grinding noise was coming from my car. I also occasionally saw the check engine oil like come on and then immediately go off mostly at stops. My oil change was due soon, so I thought that it might be because of that. Yes, sure after the oil change that rattling and grinding sound was gone. So I felt relaxed not for long though as after about 45 days gain the rattling and grinding noise started coming with the check engine oil sign on and off. I did a few checks and when I pulled the dip stick after keeping the car stationary overnight, I was surprised that I had no oil on it at all. I have now added some oil to bring it to the level but I was really disappointed. Then I did some research online and found the information about the excessive oil consumption. I am still planning to keep this car for another 5 years or so, that's why I bought a Honda in the first place. I figure reliable and trouble free with excellent long lasting engines. After going through some online research, I found Honda Accord oil defect class action lawsuit but I never got the letter in the mail about the recall and warranty extension. I am planning to start working on it and get it resolved. My biggest battle will be that the lawsuit covers the V6 vehicles but I have V4. Truly disappointing, I just hope I get satisfaction. Btw I am also the owner of Honda Pilot 2008, and no complaints so far and I am very happy with that car. I hope this thing gets resolved.

- Rochester, MN, USA

problem #9

Jan 012013

Accord

  • miles
I bought my car in 2012. From 2013-present, I've had to replace my brakes and rotors at least 10 times and now I'm being told my calipers need to be replaced. There is no way that I should have to replace my brakes that many times. In the last year alone, I've had to replace my brakes and rotors 3 times. I currently have to replace my rear brake pads and rotors when I last did it 3 or 4 months ago. I don't have the money to keep fixing this problem, Honda should be responsible! also in July 2015, my ac/heater stopped working, we thought it was the fuse, so we replaced it but its still not working. I am very frustrated and upset with the problems with my car, I will never buy another Honda! I have never had this problem with any car that I've owned.

- Hayward, CA, USA

problem #8

Oct 162015

Accord

  • 4,000 miles
Key fobs only work sometimes on parked car whether locking or unlocking. Have 2 sets of keys and both have stopped working intermittently. Replaced the batteries each time at the dealership. Cannot unlock car doors or trunk or lock or set alarm then later that day it works. I see that others have the same issue so it's not the key fob battery. When inquired at Honda dealership - they said they never heard of this. Has been occurring since purchased new. Currently happening again.

- Fitchburg, MA, USA

problem #7

Sep 142015

Accord

  • 108,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Honda Accord 2009 needed to have both left and right control arms replaced at the cost of $500. My mechanic tells me that this is a very common among Honda Accord, civics and cvr, and my internet search also revealed that this is common problem. Shouldn't a defect like this result in a recall?

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #6

Nov 232014

Accord

  • 56,432 miles
Vehicle suddendly lost all power. This exact same power loss has occurred four to five times since I own the vehicle. I bought the vehicle brand new from a gillman Honda dealership in houston, Texas in late December 2009. The first time that this happened was a few months after I bought the vehicle. Afterwards, I took the vehicle to the gillman dealership that I purchased the vehicle and discussed the issue with a service manger. I also complained about a noise that the vehicle was making. I was told then that there was no such problem similar to what I described reported, I left after getting an oil change. Since the first incident, the same power lost has occurred to me 3 to 4 more times. The last time was on Sunday, November 23, 2014 while I was at a chevron gas station. This time it happened when I tried to start the vehicle after finishing pumping gasoline to the gas tank and finished with the payment. I had to get someone to push the car away from pump station and tried to get help from people who came to the gas station to fill their vehicles with gasoline. My wife eventually came to the gas station with a jump cable and I was able to jump start the vehicle then. Afterwards, I drove the vehicle to an O'reilly auto part store and proceeded to purchase a new battery. However, before I let the store clerk replace my car's battery, I asked him to run a test on the car's battery, and the result indicated that the battery is still in good condition. This reminded me of the exact same situation when I lost complete power to the vehicle, and had to jump start it about 6 - 8 months earlier. I also drove myself to another O'reilly auto part store and the same scenario played out. These experiences told me that something is not normal. Some form of short-circuitry must happen that caused my car to lose its power.

- Bellaire, TX, USA

problem #5

Oct 182011

Accord 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
I bought two Honda's on the same day from proctor Honda in tallahassee, fl. The 2009 Accord has been recalled for a safety defect.. I contacted the dealer I bought them from and was told via E mail they would not have time to make that repair until 11-7-2011 or later. I was just at the dealer getting an oil change and they were working on every kind of car the us makes. It is not a recall if they decide to assign insufficient resources to correct this. It is an unsafe joke! this repair takes one hour or less according to another family member that had it done in jacksonville.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #4

Jan 272010

Accord 4-cyl

  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2009 Honda Accord 4 cylinder, 22K miles-original owner accelerator got stuck and car continued to accelerate on the on ramp to I-64 in louisville, ky. Tried to downshift, even tried neutral. Engaged the brakes and the brakes locked up. Eventually the brakes released and I was able to coast to a median in the middle of the highway. Very thank I didn't hurt anyone. Took car to the Honda dealership and they say that their diagnostic test shows that nothing is wrong. Nothing registered on the car computer. I am 100% certain that the pedal was not caught on the floor mat. One of the most frightening experiences of my life. I will be buying a new car immediately.

- Louisville , KY, USA

problem #3

Mar 032010

(reported on)

Accord

  • miles
2009 Honda Accord. Consumer states continued knocking and rumbling noise when the heat is turned on. Issues persist after being taken in several times for service.

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #2

Nov 012008

Accord

  • 30 miles
2009 Honda Accord 4 cyl 1) car whines at 1300 rpms. Very annoying. Honda says that all of them whine and that it is normal. It sounds like a very cheap car instead of a high end Honda Accord. 2) at low sped and I make a sharp turn, the power steering pulsates. Honda garage said it has a single belt system and that they all persistent like that and it is normal.

- Swansboro, NC, USA

problem #1

Sep 222008

Accord 4-cyl

  • 827 miles
The contact owns a 2009 (na) Honda Accord. When the air conditioner is activated, the headlights move up and down intermittently. The lights also dim and flicker without warning. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer and they stated that all the 2009 Accord performed in that manner. The failure mileage was 827. Updated 10/16/08. Updated 10/17/08.

- West Springfield , PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?