Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2009 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
12 / 0
Average Mileage:
81,207 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Honda Accord seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #46

Jul 262016

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V056000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Antelope, CA, USA

problem #45

May 232016

Accord

  • miles
Takata recall

- Weirsdale, FL, USA

problem #44

Jul 222016

Accord

  • 133,840 miles
Takata recall: I received a letter from Honda on 07/18/2016 informing me of the issue. I brought the car to the local dealer the next day and they told me to call Honda to arrange alternate transportation. I called on 07/19/16 and they told me that my report was received and they would provide alternate Transport as soon as possible. I called again on 07/21/2016 and found out that a case was never opened for me and there is no record of my contact on 07/19. Another case was supposedly opened, and I followed up again on 07/22/16, only to find out that again, my case was never created. I am driving a hazardous vehicle and Honda is refusing to provide alternative Transport. Only on my third attempt was a case opened, and I have not heard a response since. Honda is not allocating appropriate resources to the recall to provide alternate Transport to consumers at risk.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #43

Jul 192016

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Ventura, CA, USA

problem #42

May 242016

Accord

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Glen, MS, USA

problem #41

Jul 182016

Accord

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- San Marcos, CA, USA

problem #40

Jul 212016

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was invalid. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cameron Park, CA, USA

problem #39

May 232016

Accord

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #38

Jul 202016

Accord

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Palermo, CA, USA

problem #37

May 232016

Accord

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Weirsdale, FL, USA

problem #36

May 262016

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Honda Accord. While parking the vehicle, the air bag deployed on the front driver side once the brake pedal was depressed. The vehicle was towed to a local mechanic, but was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #35

Feb 182015

Accord

  • 138,000 miles
About a year ago when I arrived back home, my boyfriend (the driver) put the car in park, got out of my car on the passenger side, the car was still running, I closed the door, and boom! all of the passenger side air bags deployed. My kids were in the back seat immediately frightened. They did not inflate, they only dropped. I contacted american Honda, opened a claim, brought my car to a local dealer, and of course I was told that it was my fault. They are blaming the deployment on an accident that a previous owner had got into many years ago. After leaving the dealership, I tried contacting american Honda again to get further explanation and another inspection I never received a call back.

- Jeanerette, LA, USA

problem #34

Jan 082015

Accord

  • 65,000 miles
I was driving down the road, a city street traveling 30 mph, and my driver side window airbag deployed. They have recently announced recalls on 2008-2009 Honda 4-door Accord for the sensitivity of the side impact sensors being too high. This isn't an issue that's exclusive to their 4-door sedans, and also relates to their 2 door coupe. As a result of my airbag deployment I took my car to Honda and they were unable to give me any explanation as to why my airbag deployed but wouldn't accept responsibility. I also had my insurance company inspect the vehicle and after their thorough examination they deemed it a manufacturer defect. As a result of the incident I wound up having to pay $2600 for my airbags to be replaced. Overall a very frustrating experience for someone who was a loyal Honda owner who wound up accepting financial responsibility without doing anything wrong.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #33

Jan 122016

Accord

  • 30 miles
Takata recall. I own a 2009 Honda Accord 2-dr and the recall is applied to the 4-dr only. However, I wouldn't be able to describe my car's issue better than the recall. I was driving on the highway (I-35) with approx. 65 mph, going straight not turning in any way. I heard a very loud pop noise and my passenger's seat and curtain airbags had deployed. Honestly, it's very hard to tell if I ran over a pothole or if I hit a rock because the loud noise and my shock dominated the moment. Thankfully, I was commuting alone that day and nobody got hurt. I stopped the car to inspect it and I couldn't see anything. I filled a claim with Honda customer service and took the car to the nearest Honda center for a diagnosis ($120). Honda customer service requested that one of their field engineers inspected the car. After his inspection, he determined that an impact caused the airbags to deploy. When I requested to see the impact signs, they pointed a scratch on the frame rail. They said that the scratch seems minor only because it happened on the toughest part of the car, the frame rail. That scratch is almost underneath the passenger's side sensor. I asked for more information, such as the threshold when an airbag deploys, how do they know that this scratch was not there before, etc. They didn't answer my questions, instead they told me that the scratch was "fresh". I'm attaching the pictures of the scratch on the frame rail. It's not very obvious but look at the silver scrape. I decided to take my car to my insurance (progressive). They were baffled with what they saw and they couldn't believe that such scratch would cause the airbags to deploy. The estimator helping me wasn't sure if they'll cover it. He'll elevate the issue and call me on Monday. Honda doesn't recognize this as a defect since they found a scratch. Progressive may not fix it. No car out of nowhere!

- Denton, TX, USA

problem #32

Oct 312015

Accord

  • 90,000 miles
Was in a car accident and hit another car, my air bags did not deploy. Police, ems, and fire department, and insurance company all advised me that they should have deployed on impact. Instead my chest hit the steering wheel causing loss of breath and bruising. I was traveling on a city street...updated 11/13/15

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #31

Sep 072015

Accord

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda Accord. The contact stated that after closing the front passenger side door, the passenger side curtain air bag suddenly deployed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to determine the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was 89,000.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #30

Sep 072015

Accord

  • 90,000 miles
On 9/7/2015, I shut my passenger door to my 2009 Honda Accord and the side air bag deployed. I have been battling Honda North America and have had two independent insurance adjusters verify that the air bag was not deployed due to any type of collision. The car was stationary and parked when this occurred.

- Germantown, MD, USA

problem #29

Aug 172015

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
2009 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to airbag indicator light illuminated. The consumer stated the dealer did not offer a satisfying explanation.

- Spartanburg, SC, USA

problem #28

May 132015

Accord

  • 50,000 miles
Side airbag light, driver's airbag light and passenger airbag light is on. I bought the car new and it's never been in an accident.

- Florence, SC, USA

problem #27

Apr 232015

Accord 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Chain reaction where I was the last vehicle in a stopped line of cars I was rear ended by an usb who was traveling fast and never attempted to brake the SUV struck the rear of my Accord and pushed me into the car in front my car had crushed rear end and crumpled front end while the side air beg went off the front air bag did not deploy....this is my concern since it struck the front of the next vehicle causing damage.

- Sherwood, AR, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?