Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2009 Honda Accord has several serious defects: poor brakes, excessive oil consumption, & uncomfortable seats.

BRAKES: There was a class action lawsuit against Honda in 2010 for premature & excessive brake wear. See our page on Honda's brake problems for more info.

OIL CONSUMPTION: Honda issued a TSB about this in late 2011, claiming it could be fixed through a software update to the VCM (variable cylinder management). There are class action lawsuits pending. See our page about the Accord oil consumption.

UNCOMFORTABLE SEATS: Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight. The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,520 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Honda Accord steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #23

Mar 292016


  • 34,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while going for a routine oil change, it was informed that the power steering rack was leaking fluid. The dealer diagnosed that the power steering rack needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 12V5222000 (steering). The approximate failure mileage was 34,000. Updated 05/18/16

- Celebration, FL, USA

problem #22

Jun 102014


  • 28,000 miles
Whenever I turn my steering wheel in either direction, it makes a noise. Took it to Honda dealer and they are now replacing the steering wheel column and asking me to pay some $800. I see that this is a regular Honda Accord problem, not sure why I have to bear the cost.

- Nyc, NY, USA

problem #21

May 062015


  • 133,244 miles
While endeavoring to make a slow speed maneuver, the steering wheel was not responsive by power assistance. It eventually came back to normal. Concerned I took the car to a mechanic who suggested replacing the power steering pump. Replaced the power steering pump with a Honda remanufactured and flushed system with genuine Honda power steering fluid. Never was anything found in the fluid that would contaminate the fluid or cause system blockage. Problem seemed corrected for several days. It resumed again. Went back to my Honda dealer. At the Honda dealer it was suggested that I needed to replace my rack and pinion setup. This is a costly repair! I have had 15 Honda and never had to have this done. The problem is progressively becoming more pronounced. It comes at varied times during the operation of the vehicle.

- Stroudsburg, PA, USA

problem #20

Oct 122014


  • 120,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while making a slight right turn, the steering wheel seized. In addition, the contact stated that the brakes seized and the vehicle violently jerked forward. As a result, the contact drove over a curb and crashed into a stop sign and a gravel road. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries reported. The vehicle was towed to a collision center. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Yuma, AZ, USA

problem #19

Oct 112011

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 18,378 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda Accord. The contact stated that when turning and reversing, an abnormal noise was coming from the steering column. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure was unable to be replicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 18,378. Updated 09/02/14 the consumer stated the manufacturer was made aware of the failure and replace the steering column. This resolved the problem. Updated 11/12/2014

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #18

May 012014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
I have a 2009 Honda Accord and recently noticed a clicking sound in the wheel when I turn either direction. The clicking has become progressively worse. I took the car to the Honda mechanic and they noticed the noise as well but did not know what it was. Since then the clicking continues.

- Lawrence , KS, USA

problem #17

Jul 022013

Accord 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,000 miles


The contact owns a 2009 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while turning the steering wheel in either direction, a popping noise was heard. The contact notified the local dealer and was informed that the defect was due to defective bearings in the steering column, which would require the entire steering column to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified, and they stated would take no responsibility in the matter. The failure mileage was 70,000. Updated 05/12/14

- Annandale, VA, USA

problem #16

Aug 272013


  • 57,800 miles
When you turn the steering wheel there is a clicking noise coming from the bottom of the steering column, I called Honda and they said there is a tsb on the problem and that it is covered under standard warranty,3 years or 36000. My Honda has 57800 on it and is not covered!!! I searched the internet and found that may Honda Accord owners are very unhappy with the response from Honda with this problem that they know they have. Can the ntsb bring this potential safety problem to the publics attention.

- Ebensburg, PA, USA

problem #15

Sep 072013

Accord 6-cyl

  • 56,000 miles
There is a knocking noise coming from the steering wheel. Took it into the dealership and the service manager says the steering column needs to be replaced. He further commented that there is a service bulletin on the defect but Honda has not issued a recall. This is a safety issue due to the fact it can over time affect the steering of the vehicle. There are many complaints online about this issue and obviously Honda knows there is a problem. There is no reason for a car less than 4 years old to need the steering column replaced.

- North Charleston, SC, USA

problem #14

Dec 262012


  • 50,000 miles
In Dec/12 I noticed a clicking noise in my steering when I was driving and turned left or right, I contacted Honda and they said bring it to the dealer and that it was not a safety issue. Since I was not home I decided to wait until I returned since it was not a safety issue ( more of an annoyance). I went to the dealer and found out they need to replace the steering column and a couple of bolts at a costs of $800. Now while I am not a mechanic if you need to replace the steering column it would definitely sound like a safety issue to me. There is even a tsb on it from Honda.and while I am out of warrantt Honda ( after complaining did agree to cover the costs of parts approx 50% but the bigger issue is that they issued this tsb in 09 and there must be a flaw in the mechanism.

- Punta Gorda, FL, USA

problem #13

Mar 152013


  • 40,000 miles


While driving and turning my wheel I hear a loud clicking noise, took it to Honda and they said that it is my steering column. They refused to cover under warranty. There was a recall on the steering tube but no other recalls. I have heard several other complaints on other websites with this same issue. Honda claims they have reliable vehicles. If you make this claim maybe you should repair a vehicle that has only 40K miles on it and has bad steering column. Poor company. This is my third Honda vehicle and the very last one that I will ever buy.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #12

Jun 052012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, he heard a noise coming from the steering column. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and the manufacturer was made aware of the failure but did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 38,000 and the current mileage was 50,000. Updated 1/23/13 updated 2/12/2013

- Storrs Mansfield, CT, USA

problem #11

Nov 052012


  • 70,000 miles
Secondary shaft bearing broken.

- North Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #10

Jun 242012

Accord 6-cyl

  • 58,000 miles
When driving between 55-75 miles an hour, there is a violent shake from the front wheels. Its even more evident under heavy acceleration as the shaking becomes more severe. I've had the car looked at by pep boys, my mechanic, and the Honda dealership in aventura, fl and no one seems to know what the issue is. I have found others having the same issues I did on the forum.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #9

Feb 022009

Accord 4-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
The driver seat is very uncomfortable to drive. The seat design is kind of pushing and putting pressure particularly on the lower back and causing too much back pain even driven for less than 20 miles. The seat design is also causing neck pain. Did not complain till now because thought it was design issue rather than safety issue. When driven even for few hours (less than 2 hrs), causing a lot of back pain. The steering wheel is not properly designed to hold it causing bad shoulder pain when drove for few hrs, particularly the lower spokes are designed to resemble the Honda logo 'H' which prohibits the driver to hold the steering wheel either at the bottom (or) at the outer end of the lower spokes which has very less space to hold the steering wheel.

- Morgantown, WV, USA

problem #8

Jun 132012

Accord 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
Sitting at red light waiting for turn signal, car begins to rough idle. Upon turn and acceleration, car spits, sputters, jerks, jolts and would not accel properly. Engine light begins blinking. Motor runs/idles very rough. Next morning on drive in to local dealership, vsa light illuminates and stays illuminated. Car still idles and runs very rough, spitting and sputtering etc. Dealership inspects car. Dealership determines the mount of oil in the car is too low. No evidence of oil leaks. Dealership consults with Honda. Oil consumption test is now recommended. I am to return the car to the Honda dealership to check the oil level at 1,000 miles intervals for an unspecified period of time. This consumption will be forwarded to Honda to determine what "fix" will be recommended. Internet search provides endless identical complaints with no resolution from Honda or dealerships.

- Chesnee, SC, USA

problem #7

Feb 112012

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
My mileage is 34,505 I took my car to Honda North, danvers they said to go to ins co geico to have repaired. No one wants to take responsibility please help me![xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- North Falmouth, MA, USA

problem #6

Nov 192011

Accord 4-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
There is a known fabrication defect of the steering column on Honda Accord 2009 model. A service bulletin was issued by Honda corporation regarding this issue in 2009. The lower bearing of the steering column was mis-installed. As a result, the steering column makes a clunk noise when the steering wheel is turned. I first brought this issue to the attention of the Honda dealership soon after I purchased the car in October 2009. They did not do anything about it. Meanwhile the steering became sticky. In other words the bearing in causing binding. I am afraid that at a sudden turn of the steering wheel, the bearing might shatter and lock up the steering column. I consider this to be a serious safety issue.

- Monroeville, PA, USA

problem #5

Jan 152009


  • 300 miles
Brakes on front have been replace 2 times by turning rotors twice and second time pads replaced the fear is now there is a weakness in the rotors and they could fail during a panic stop, also there is a whine in power steering which Honda of America admits to but claim they do not have a fix for, they say it is not a safety issue but have do they know that the power steering could cease working at any time since that the whining is not the normal sound of the Accord up to late 08 and all the 09 Accord 4 cyl.

- Hickory, NC, USA

problem #4

Jan 152010


  • 8,880 miles
While driving my 2009 Honda Accord to work on 1/15/10 the steering malfunctioned throwing me into the left lane the steering wheel moved back and forth on it's on and I had no control of the steering until I hit my brake and the car was thrown to the right. I had no noise but because of the force involved thought I had something break on the front end or blew out a tire. I stopped and inspected the tires and so no problem with the front end. I decided to go on to work about 2 miles down the road the same thing happened. I had my car taken to the dealer and as of yet they have found nothing wrong. They have been unable to duplicate my experience as of 1/22/10 they say there is nothing wrong. I'm scared to death to drive it afraid I will get hurt or hurt some one else. If there had been a car in the left lane that Friday morning I would

- Plainview, AR, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?