Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: The 2010 Honda Accord has a solid reputation (so far), with one very significant flaw: uncomfortable seats.

Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight.

The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,416 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Honda Accord suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Honda Accord Owner Comments

problem #13

Jun 092015


  • miles


6/9/15, and 5/20/16--Honda replaced rt front axle ist time 5/20/16 taking it in for exact same reason"?!! no accidents or trauma, shook bad. Noticed on line others with a crosstour has had this same problem. Shaking on freeways when slowdown especially. If I need replacement-it should be covered but what is causing this within a year???" scary. This must be looked into as a recall-I have had many cars never ever an axel problem ever on even older cars.

- Arnold, MO, USA

problem #12

Mar 262015


  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Honda Accord. The contact stated that there was excessive rust to the entire subframe and the front axles. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000.

- West Haven, CT, USA

problem #11

Aug 012011

Accord 6-cyl

  • 10,013 miles
August 01, 2011. Whirling sound coming from right front of car. Increased sound with speed increase. Honda dealer replaced right front wheel bearing in warranty. 2010 Honda Accord 10,013 miles. October 20 2014 left front wheel bearing reported bad by Honda. No warranty 29,000 miles. Same car what a joke.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #10

Jul 232013

Accord 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles


[xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Elizabeth City, NC, USA

problem #9

Apr 212014


  • 45,450 miles
Issue: For past 6 months these issues has been observed in my Honda Accord V6 ex-L and has increased in past 1 month and has been seen at least 3 times in past month. While driving between 65-70 miles/hour on a gradient roads, the power train RPM increases to in excess of 4000 RPM and the car stalls, causing the steering wheel to lockup. Yesterday this happened suddenly while driving in normal road condition, and had to park the car, is it related to these recalls ?#11V395000, #11V004000, #10V640000 apply.

- Camarillo, CA, USA

problem #8

Feb 132014


  • 70,530 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while reversing at various speeds, a banging noise was heard and the vehicle failed to accelerate. Upon inspection, it was found that the front driver's side tire was protruding awkwardly from the wheel well. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was found that the ball joint had failed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 70,530.

- Renton, WA, USA

problem #7

Dec 012010


  • 300 miles


Steering wheel and front end shakes when driving over 60mph. Issue started when car had a few hundred miles on it. Dealership replaced tires, balanced tires many times, performed alignment, replaced front rotors. Problem still exists. Seems unsafe to drive at times. Car now has 21000 miles.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #6

Dec 172010

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
2010 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to wheel vibration issues. The consumer stated her husband noticed a strong wheel vibration while driving on the freeway. When her husband applied the brake, the vibration could be felt. Updated 11/04/13

- Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #5

Oct 012012

Accord 6-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Highway speed vibration at various intensities, mostly at speeds over 60. Car shakes and vibrates. Honda dealership evaluated situation and noted no problems with suspension, replaced front and side motor mounts without solving problem. Factory tech stated these problems have been evaluated as "bad tires". car had problem with prior tires and current tires had less than 2,000 miles on them. Tires were rebalanced, aligned and rotated - no improvement. Same problem with second car (same make/model 2008). Internet searching indicates this is a problem with 2008 through at least 2012 vehicles. Dealer tried to test the tire issue by swapping tires from another used vehicle on the lot. They test drove 3 vehicles to find one but all three had the same vibration issue. I think there is a design issue with this model and the problem is being ignored by Honda (must be a huge issue and/or a very expensive fix). I have seen statements that this is a "characteristic of this vehicle" and noted other similar explanations. In my mind this is a safety issue. It is very distracting to experience serious vibrations at high speeds. It is also unsafe to be driving on high speed roads at lower speeds to avoid the issue.

- Bethel Park, PA, USA

problem #4

May 152012


  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Honda Accord. While driving approximately 20 mph the contact noticed a metallic snapping sound coming from the front end of the vehicle. The sound could be heard at all speeds and more so with more weight in the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer seven times. The technician replaced the struts and the sway bar but the failure continued. The technician stated the failure was caused by the ball joint assembly which was faulty. The technician stated there were no repairs available to remedy the failure and stated it was not a safety issue. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 59,000.

- Haverhill, MA, USA

problem #3

Jul 112012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 14,059 miles


The front suspension is making a knocking or thumping sound. The noise can be heard inside the car but not outside the car. The noise appears on hot summer days after the car has been driven for about 30 - 60 minutes. The noise is primarily heard at low speeds and when the brake is applied. Sometimes it can be felt in the steering wheel or brake pedal. The car was taken to a Kansas City area Honda dealer but the noise was not duplicated because the car sat for a while and was not driven for 30 - 60 minutes. There are two similar complaints on A texan recently reported the same problem on the He reports the Honda dealer service representative said they had three similar reports and the fix is to replace both front knuckles and bearings. He said the Honda tech line is aware of this problem. He wonders why a service bulletin or recall has not been issued because it could lead to loss of steering. I believe this is a common problem and that something should be formally done to correct the problem. Request NHTSA initiate a defects investigation.

- Lenexa, KS, USA

problem #2

Apr 022010

Accord 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
At 20,000 miles the vehicle had a failed wheel bearing (noise/vibration), passenger-side front. Driver-side front wheel bearing failed at 34,000 miles. Dealer replaced the hub/bearing assemblies under warranty. This is a defect, as the bearings should not fail at such a low mileage. How long will the replacement bearings last ?

- Harrison City, PA, USA

problem #1

Feb 012010


  • 52 miles
I bought a new 2010 Honda Accord at marin Honda in larkspur, California on Sunday 1/31/2010. But I did not pick up the car until Monday 2/1/2010 because the car was "not prepared" on Sunday evening. I drove the car home from the dealer in the afternoon on 2/1/2010 and I began to notice a rattling noise coming from the hood on driver side. I brought the car back to the dealer on Tuesday morning where a mechanic suggested that the noise maybe coming from the defective housing unit of the windshield wiper. The mechanic ordered the new part but it will not be available until next week. The noise has been persistent and getting stronger/louder when I applied the brake and when the car is idling at intersection. The steering wheel also appeared to shake whenever this loud rattling noise came out. I am afraid that this problem maybe more that just a defective housing part of the windshield wiper, hence I am reporting this to assure that electrical problem or brakes problem are not the issue for Honda (in lieu of what is going on with Toyota cars at the present time). Please let me know if you had similar complaints for the new model Honda Accord. I had been a loyal customer of Honda but this incidence is making me very concerned about their quality assurance service before releasing new cars into the market. I thank you for the important work that you do to keep consumers like me safe on the road.

- Mill Valley, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?