Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: The 2011 Honda Accord has a solid reputation (so far), with one very significant flaw: uncomfortable seats.

Owners have consistently reported uncomfortable seats with the entire 8th generation (2008-2012) of Honda Accords. Complaints range from back pain to leg circulation problems due to bad lumbar support, cushioning, & seat angle. Complaints aren't limited to only a certain body type -- the seat comfort problems are from a wide spectrum of owner height & weight.

The common theme we hear is "we never noticed this during the test drive." Unfortunately for unwary buyers, the seat pain is noticeable after 15-20 minutes.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
20,729 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Honda Accord seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #56

Dec 122016

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am writing because it took my dealer over 60 days to give me an appointment for repair. 7/2016 recv'd recall notice from Honda. Stated "Honda will send you another letter when parts become available to repair your vehicle." (they never did). 10/21/2016 called dealership and was told that I was the one that needed to order the part, so I ordered it. Was told the part would be in in late Nov. And I'd be called. Heard nothing from them. Called 12/12/2016 and was told parts would be in that week. They would call me back (confirmed they had correct phone #) and make an appointment. They never called back. I called today 1/3/17 and was finally given an appointment for tomorrow. The dealership is keyes woodland hills Honda, 6111 topanga canyon blvd., woodland hills ca 91367

- Woodland Hills, CA, USA

problem #55

Jul 012016

Accord

  • miles
Notification for defects of the air bag. It has not been changed by a new one.

- Coral Gables, FL, USA

problem #54

Aug 012015

Accord

  • miles
Warranty extension notification: Piston rings that stick together resulting in high motor oil consumption. And default notification in the air bag.

- Coral Gables, FL, USA

problem #53

Jul 112016

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Honda Accord. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags). The part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Coral Gables, FL, USA

problem #52

Jun 152016

Accord

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Accord. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced any failures. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Winter Haven, FL, USA

problem #51

Nov 282016

Accord

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Homestead, FL, USA

problem #50

Nov 222016

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #49

Nov 222016

Accord

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #48

Nov 142016

Accord

  • miles
Takata inflators, no incident, but, the warning from Honda is there no recall ready and at same time warning to not have a front seat passenger due to a defective bag causing injury. We are a couple so theres always a passenger who is over 6ft and must sit in tbe front. This delay in repair is unacceptable.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #47

Jun 232016

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Accord. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags). The contact stated that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 01/04/17's updated 01/17/17.

- Apple Valley, CA, USA

problem #46

Nov 042016

Accord

  • 46,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the vehicle was involved in a front end collision while being operated at 20 mph. The driver side air bag deployed. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where a diagnosis was not determined. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. There was one injury that did not require medical attention. A police report was filed. Due to the force of the air bag deployment, the contact received a gash on the left arm. The failure mileage was approximately 46,000.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #45

Oct 282016

Accord

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owned a 2011 Honda Accord. While driving 35 mph, the contact rear ended another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained neck and head injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed by the insurance company to a tow lot and deemed destroyed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 98,000.

- Middletown, OH, USA

problem #44

May 102016

Accord

  • 126,000 miles
"takata recall". the initial notice is dated May 2016. It is now 4 Nov 2016 and I have not received the second letter with recall repair info all indicators state that Honda has yet to do anything about this. Yet I am supposed to avoid having any passengers in teh front passenger seat for all this time" this is rendering this vehicle useless for the intent of having it as a family car. Period! this is unacceptable from an auto manufacturer of any kind, much less one as large as Honda. I see there hasn't been any suspension on me paying for the vehicle but when there is a serious safety hazard, then we are to just sit back and take it" this is how class action lawsuits start. I am expecting that someone should be able to do their job, come up with a plan of action and actually get this fixed. The issue is completely unacceptable!

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #43

Oct 182016

Accord 4-cyl

  • 63,955 miles
Takata recall. Nothing has happened so far thank god. But I believe sufficient time has passed since the recall notice and there is still no solution for my recall. They advice to not have anyone on the passenger side as they could potentially be harmed by this issue but how much longer am I supposed to keep this up? this is a two door car so imagine the hassle of asking people to ride in the back. This is a huge inconvenience. I don't feel safe driving on this conditions, is there anything that can be done to speed up a solution or any other alternatives. I've considered to return my car if that's what it takes. Provided they pay a fair value for it since my car is already paid off.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #42

Jun 202016

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Honda Accord. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags). The part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Simi Valley, CA, USA

problem #41

Sep 232016

Accord

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Accord. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags). The contact stated that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #40

May 232016

Accord

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #39

Jul 082016

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 12/20/16 updated 12/21/16.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #38

Jul 052016

Accord

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags) however the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts unavailable.

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #37

Mar 272016

Accord

  • 32,000 miles
Takata recall my vehicle has been out of commission for over 5 months. The air bag installation was scheduled after 2 months, but then a part was broken during installation and I have been waiting for a part ever since. How long is a reasonable amount of time for repair?

- Bellingham, WA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?