Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
12,728 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Honda Accord drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #31

Aug 012013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 10,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

First incident was approx in Aug, 2013. Driving on the highway accelerating at 36-40 mph, car starting shuddering and lunging forward, loud noise coming from car and it wouldn't accelerate. Slowing down didn't help- it made it shudder more. Pulled off road thinking, maybe a flat tire" I stopped the car checked and nothing.I was shaken up because the car was jerking and shuddering and you couldn't control it.I let it sit, while driving home, it had difficulty accelerating to the speed limit of 50. It then shuddered as the car slowed down when you took your foot off the gas, let it coast to a stop w/O applying the brakes. Trying to accelerate, it was very sluggish, then it kicked in and took off. As if the A/C was on, straining the engine. I called the dealer and of course, couldn't duplicate it. They insisted nothing was wrong and it was just some odd incident. I know what the car did. I drove it for almost a year, experiencing this off and on but not to that degree the first time, with the shuddering when you slowed down and the lack of acceleration and then the "kick in"... it got pretty bad in the mid part of July, 2014. This was happening more frequently. The lack of acceleration - big problem with expressway driving. Took it to the dealer, they indicated a service bulletin had been issued. They ordered a kit (valve") and replaced the hardware and adjusted the software per the recommendation of Honda.it seemed to be fixed, for five days. It started losing acceleration on the highway, I could barely get to 70 mph in very heavy traffic. Dangerous! I took the vehicle to the dealer again 10 days later and told them it wasn't fixed. The head service tech drove it, wont duplicate. They are trying to troubleshoot. I'm concerned that driving this vehicle for a year with this problem has caused permanent damage to the transmission. I notified american Honda.

- Plainfield, IL, USA

problem #30

Jan 282014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
When car has been sitting for a long period (overnight or during the day while at work) the cvt transmission initially does not engage. The tachometer shows increased engine revs but the car barely moves. After ~ 30 seconds transmission starts to work normally. This happens intermittently (~ 3 - 4 times per month). Dealer could not reproduce problem (not surprising given frequency of occurrence) and claims there is no problem whatsoever. I'm concerned about the reliability of the transmission and whether this problem will manifest itself in a more dangerous situation.

- Vernon Hills, IL, USA

problem #29

Sep 162013

Accord 6-cyl

  • 100 miles
Problem began almost immediately after purchasing my new Accord ex V-6 coupe. Especially when driving the vehicle in the morning (e.g. haven't driven since the prior afternoon/evening), the vehicle will stutter when transitivity from first to second gear. This is particularly evident when accelerating after stopping at a stop sign/stoplight. I reported this issue to my local dealer and was told it was a "known issue". updated 4/24/2015

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #28

Jan 242013

Accord

  • 13,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When attempting to go into reverse after the car has sat in the garage overnight it does not want to move. The RPM's go up but no movement. Have to put the car in park, turn it off and restart the process over again. When it does engage, it will begin moving very slowly almost like the transmission is slipping. Once it gets far enough out of the garage and am able to put in drive it appears to work normal for the rest of the day. This has happened a number of times after the car has sat overnight.

- Byron, GA, USA

problem #27

Apr 142014

Accord

  • 26,000 miles
Initially car drove fine and I didn't have problems. Over the last three months I started experiencing hesitation in the acceleration. Sometimes while trying to accelerate from a standstill position I have to depress the accelerator all the way down to board for several seconds before the car would move. The hesitation may last approx 5 to 8 seconds & then jerkingly the car would get into proper gear to move forward. The dealership changed a kit on it a least twice which initially seemed to have corrected the problem but after about a week or two the same problem keeps recurring. On June 14th, just before merging on the highway, going at about 40mph & car suddenly began a quick forward jerking motion & not go above 40mph. When accelerator was released the jerking motion would decline as speed declined. This continued for about 10 minutes to the dealership. After speaking with the service advisor we went out on the road but the problem never manifested itself. They've kept the car to try and figure out what"S going on. Meanwhile I am car-less. The car is no older than 16 months and I've been back and forth to the dealer several times already since April and they keep saying, it's normal or nothing happens when they drive or hook it up to their computers or we can't diagnose or fix a problem that isn't happening when we drive the car. The supervisor further stated that even if someone from Honda headquarters came they would say the same thing if nothing happened and would give the key back to them because they cannot fix a problem that doesn't manifest. I am not alone with this problem. Honda need to fix it. Honda knows this problem is happening with the insertion of the cvt transmission on their 2013 Accord. What are they doing to fix it" this is my very first Honda experience and I'm totally dissatisfied.

- Upper Marlboro, MD, USA

problem #26

May 032014

Accord

  • 18,000 miles
Pulling into a parking space, stopped before I could put the car into park, the vehicle lunged forward into a brick wall before stopping. Prior to this incident on 4/28/14 the windshield was replaced due to a crack in the windshield after this the ldw (lane warning device) didn't function properly. 4/30/14 another windshield was installed and the ldw did not function properly. I was told to have the camera on the rear view mirror recalibrated, before I could have this service performed the accident occurred.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #25

Apr 012014

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2013 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to transmission problems. The consumer stated he experienced transmissions transmission problems, right from the start. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times. The transmission had a bad shudder at times, and sometimes the vehicle would stall where there was no engagement in the transmission. The dealer realized there was a problem and installed a kit in the transmission, which only seemed to fix the problem for a short time. It also created a leak in the transmission as a seal wasn't properly installed. A Honda representative informed the consumer the shudder and stalled were normal. However, the dealer rode with the consumer, and stated perhaps, the transmission needed to be replaced. After getting no satisfaction from anyone, the consumer traded the vehicle on February 10, 2014.

- Richland, WA, USA

problem #24

Jan 212014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 2,600 miles
When you come to a rolling stop then press on the accelerator there is a 2-3 second delay before it will accelerate. The service adviser says this is common in all 2013 Accord. The problem is intermittent.

- Ormond Beach, FL, USA

problem #23

Jan 172014

Accord 6-cyl

  • 9,500 miles
After stopping at a traffic light or sign, accelerating from the stop results in a sudden jolt (jerk) forward. When the light turns green or it's your turn to go, slowly pressing on the accelerator does not cause the car to move. Instinctively you press a little more. As this is occurring, the RPM will steadily increase, but again no forward movement occurs. At some point, typically around 2500-3000 RPM's, the transmission grabs (kicks-in) and suddenly hurls you forward. The jolt can be so severe that you temporarily lose control of the car. I owned the car 8 months before this problem started occurring. Now it occurs once or twice a day. The Honda dealer says that this is normal. This cannot be normal - it is unsafe.

- Winnebago, IL, USA

problem #22

Apr 162013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 2,326 miles
After Accord ex-L with 2.4L engine & cvt sits overnight in garage it does not back out normally. Must press accelerator to get movement. Normal just taking foot off brake & vehicle to roll out on own. Press accelerator to get car to go, RPM's increase & transmission feels like slipping when backing into the street. Shift to drive & cvt slips until travel ~100 feet. Then cvt seems to respond normally to accelerator. We have to back into street with blind hill so this is definitely a safety issue. Took car to Honda dealer for this sporadic, recurring problem on 4/16/13, on 11/12/13 & left w/ dealer for few days & on 02/10/14 & left w/ dealer 9 days. Car was driven by service personnel & service mgr. They could not get car to duplicate problem. I opened case w/ Honda in ca on 02/07/2014 and discussed w/ their rep, [xxx] opened case no. [xxx]. as dealer could not duplicate problem, [xxx] closed case &said Honda would keep on file & reopen if necessary. [xxx] said he had checked with their engineers & claimed they have no record of this issue with Accord. If all other complaints about this problem were closed when they couldn't duplicate problem it makes sense they have "no record" of problem. Also seems very convenient to fall back on "no record" and "couldn't duplicate" excuses to relieve Honda of any liability for what could cause accident. My wife also had same problem. Internet search yields sites that reference same problem in 2013 Accord. Carcomplaints.com 5 complaints listed for cvt slipping. Edmunds.com forum section on Accord has a report of owner of 2013 Accord who got cvt to "slip" w/ the svc mgr with him. Owner said he & mgr took a brand new Accord off lot & duplicated problem. Yet when svc dept put his Accord on computer it would not show a code so svc mgr told him it was "normal". same as I was told. Most importantly this is a safety issue. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Avon Park, FL, USA

problem #21

Feb 172014

Accord

  • 11,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In general I like my Accord 2013; however, I have been noticing hesitation and/or abrupt downshift of gear when I drive below 25 miles. I was searching for this issue, found numerous other people has the same problem. Shame on Honda for not fixing this issue. I just recommended two of my relatives to buy Toyota, they are quick at recall.

- Queens Village, NY, USA

problem #20

Feb 132014

Accord

  • 8,525 miles
Brought the car in couple months ago because of vibrating problem. Dealer check and said that it was normal. However, it was not normal as I know my car. Now, with the routines check I noted that the oil is leaking between cylinder head and cylinder block where the engine gasket is.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #19

Sep 042013

Accord

  • 5,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Accord. The contact stated while driving and slowing down to approximately 5 mph the vehicle would hesitate and failed to respond when pressing the accelerator pedal before suddenly accelerating. The contact also stated while driving approximately 25 mph and removing his foot off the gasoline pedal the vehicle would automatically down shift. The failure was diagnosed by the dealer and the defects were not duplicated. None of the repairs were performed on the vehicle. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 5000.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #18

Jan 012014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
As my vehicle was accelerating onto a highway on-ramp, I lost almost all power to my vehicle, and it became more difficult to steer. The check engine light came on, the electric power steering light came on, the traction control light came on, and my tire warning light started flashing. Was barely able to make it into the emergency lane, and probably would have been rear-ended had a car been following close behind. Once in the emergency lane, a burning odor could be smelled by all 4 passengers in the car. There was nothing wrong with my tires. Car had to be towed to dealership for repairs which are pending. This vehicle has the new "cvt" transmission, and I suspect this may be part of the problem. This should not be happening in a brand new car, this is a safety issue for sure.

- Washington, UT, USA

problem #17

Dec 022013

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
2013 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to potential transmission defect. The consumer stated the vehicle has defect or malfunction, which created a safety hazard. Specifically, in some low speeds situations, the vehicle lacked immediate responsiveness needed to accelerate out of a tight and potentially unsafe situation. The dealer and american Honda were unable to identify the problem because it was intermittent. Therefore, they were unable to provide any fix and only described it as normal operation of the continuous variable transmission.

- West Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #16

Nov 062013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 7,200 miles
At 11:00 a.M. on Nov.6 I was driving my 2013 Honda Accord. I pulled into a store parking area at about 5 miles per hour. I put my foot on the brake and turned to enter the parking space when my car accelerated with my foot on the brake. I heard the car rev-up and pushed on the brake more. The revving stopped, but the car continued to move forward slowly. The car moved over the parking barrier and headed for the store wall. It broke through the store wall and I pushed the transmission into park and pushed the button to turn the car off. The car stopped immediately. I was not hurt and left the car to let the owner of the store know what happened. My car has the cvt transmission.

- Las Cruces, NM, USA

problem #15

Apr 032013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
On cold starts the car intermittently fails to drive with full power. Is happening about 10 times a month. Feels like car operates with only 20% power & feels like cvt tranny belts slipping. The engine revs up, whines and the car barely moves. Honda says "they are aware of problem but have no fix for it at this time." Vehicle bought new, has been in for service on this issue 5-7 times with various Honda repair centers keeping the vehicle for 25+ days. Have dealt with service personnel, managers, general managers and regional managers. The bottom line is this expensive car is broken while Honda is unresponsive to resolving this problem.

- Port St. Lucie, FL, USA

problem #14

Jan 012013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 200 miles
Noticeable jerk when stopping the car right before coming to a complete stop. Also, the car jerks considerably when accelerating from a stop. This car does not have a smooth acceleration like my previous Honda had. Pretty sure this is an issue with the cvt transmission.

- Fruit Cove, FL, USA

problem #13

Jun 012013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 20 miles
When I step on the brake starting around 20 mph to a complete stop, frequently there is a noticeable jerk to the cvt transmission. It mostly happens when coming to a complete stop. I brought the car back to the dealer and they said nothing is wrong with the car. Other people who drove the car also felt the jerk when stopping. Some people on townhall-talk.edmunds.com and on driveaccord.net have the same problem. Also on these online forums other people say they do not have this problem that there car rides smoothly.

- Richmond Hill, NY, USA

problem #12

Jan 022013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 500 miles
When I step on the brake while slowing down from 20+ mph to come to a stop there is a noticeable jerk before the vehicle comes to a complete stop. This happens every time when I need to bring the car to a complete stop at a stop sign or signal. It feels as if the rotor is warped when it wants to stop then suddenly jerks forward as if something releases. This is probably a transmission issue which Honda needs to address.

- La Palma, CA, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?