Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,636 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Honda Accord electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #53

Sep 282014

Accord

  • 35,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the engine failed to start. The failure had recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000. The VIN was not provided.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #52

Mar 162013

Accord

  • 10 miles
Since delivery date of vehicle from dealer my vehicles navigation and stereo have not worked. I brought it in the service dept could not figure out what was wrong, they replaced the navigation and stereo and the problem still to this day exist. When this radio is on sometimes it freezes and the nav unit states the radio is off and other times it just stays on, volume increases on its own, cannot use touch screen, cannot change stations and then the lights on the dash go on and off and car shuts off. I have gone online and see that there are many other people reporting the same problem and when I take it to the dealer if it goes back to working the service dept tells me that they cannot diagnose the problem to keep driving it and bring it back. On Sept 21 I brought it in to dealer and it shut off at dealer 3X's making them jump start it and I have once again received my car with no assurance that it works. They said the battery and computer test come back ok but they changed the battery in hopes that that will resolve the issue. It is 9/24/15 and same thing happened this morning. But since after 3 hours of trying to turn it back on it did and I cant go back to being without a car because I have a 2 year old daughter, have to work and know the dealer will say its working again I have to just pray it will not happen while on the road

- Bloomfield, NJ, USA

problem #51

Dec 302014

Accord

  • miles
I purchased my 2013 Honda November of 2013 at rock Honda in fontana, ca. When I first purchased the vehicle it had to be jump started, which I thought was from the car sitting so long & it being so cold.(this should have sent a red flag). After a few months & then the car began to act like it did not want to start. I was then stranded on the freeway. I called Honda care. The first driver came to my car took two minutes tried to start it, said there was something else wrong (as he was rushing & did not have time to look) he asked to use my phone charger, left my hood up (which caused dents in my hood from being on the freeway with strong winds) & left. The second driver came & had to give me a jump start & do something with the gas. I brought my car to the dealer upon getting my oil change, explained the problem, & they said they found nothing. Then my car died again. I called Honda again & they were sending someone out to jump start it but I walked over to the sears next door & they jumped it. Then it happened 2 days in a row. The first day, the Honda care driver had to use two sets of jumper cables to jump my car. The second day the driver had to jump my car again, but this time I recorded it. I then again brought my car to penske Honda in Ontario where I explained to a service technician what happened & I called Honda corporate offices while at the dealership. I told Honda corporate about my hood & how many times I had to call Honda care. They supposedly opened a claim but never called me back & gave me the run around when I called them. The dealership then did my oil change & checked the car out & found nothing. I then goggled the symptoms of my car & found recall with the fuel system which shuts down the battery on this site. I believe rock Honda sold me the vehicle without remedying the recall prior to sale. Honda corporation did nothing.

- Moreno Valley , CA, USA

problem #50

Feb 062014

Accord

  • 27,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Drivers window would go half way up stop on it's own then go back down and stick, drivers door would not open from either inside or out. Could not get out of car, had to crawl over to pass. Side and get out. Passenger side door started exhibiting the same behavior, still not resolved. Doesn't happen all the time but it does happen, safety issue. Back up camera went black, they replaced camera, still the color is off at times, other times it is black or becomes distorted, color at night is in negative at times. Showed them the pics. And I was told it does what it was designed to do. Bought the car brand new, it shouldn't have these prob. The door is the most concerning part, if my child is in the pass. Side seat and I have to get them out, and the door decides it doesn't want to open, then we have a very serious safety issue. I have had the car to the dealership 8 to 10 times since Feb. 2015, I have called customer service, they don't seem to help, I am out of options. This is only July 2015, I need help in resolving this matter with the door, I can live with the camera even though it is not working properly.

- Kirtland, OH, USA

problem #49

May 082015

Accord

  • 35,989 miles
The vehicle has an electronic power steering problem. The car was being driven and the car eps light came on while I was driving at about 30 mph and coming of the highway ramp. I lost control of all steering and almost caused an accident. This car cannot be considered safe at all. I was not able to drive my car afterwards and was forced too without power steering because I have to drive to work. If this is not a safety hazard I dont know what would be considered then.

- Apo, AE, USA

problem #48

Jun 132015

Accord

  • 60,402 miles
Electronic power steering system has failed for the 5th time in the last month. Eps light illuminates on dashboard, total loss of steering control. Vehicle is not safe to drive. Was originally cleared by turning the car on and off, but now fails immediately upon starting vehicle. Dealership quoted $1,700 repair - this should be a recall.

- Belton, TX, USA

problem #47

May 162015

Accord

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

So this has now happened 3 times in the last few months, once about a month ago and twice last week (after having the car dropped off to fix the brake tsb that causes a squeak on turns). I will be driving down the road from aggressive to normal driving and all of a sudden I look at my dash only to see all the warning lights on. Once this happens you can see the mpg indicator has a delay, a change in behavior of the cars controls, ldw switch no longer functions, and ldw and fcw stop working. The car continues to drive but you can tell all electronics are experiencing a delay or issue with the exception of the navi and radio. Some of the lights go away and come back as you drive, and after turning the car on and off a few times all lights turn off with the exception of fcw and ldw with the "fcw system failure" message which remain, that goes away after a few hours.

- Hyde Park, MA, USA

problem #46

Jun 142015

Accord

  • 25,000 miles
When I started my car today I got a blinking light on the dash that looked like a battery. I looked it up in the owner's manual and it said "battery not charging" and to "contact the dealer immediately for repairs". I'll call them tomorrow. About a month ago, my car wouldn't start. I had to get it jumped and later took it in. They replaced an under dash relay. My car has been ok otherwise.

- Springfield, IL, USA

problem #45

May 132015

Accord

  • 11,600 miles
During three hour night drive the dash display dimmed to black at interstate speeds. After an hour or so the panel lights came back on. After a few minutes they went out again. The next day during the return drive in daylight panel seemed normal.

- Miamisburg, OH, USA

problem #44

May 022015

Accord

  • 24,000 miles
I got off work and the horn was honking. It had been honking so long the battery was dead. And then when someone jump started it and I started to drive off, it honked some more. A few minutes later entering the freeway it started honking once again! each time the honking stopped when I turned the wheel. 3 times in one morning it honked and would not stop until I turned the wheel. Since I have had this vehicle the honking comes and goes about every 6 months. But this latest incident has been the worst by far. I took it to the dealer and the fella behind also had the same problem..he called it random honking.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #43

Apr 212015

Accord 4-cyl

  • 38,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle shut down while parked in an plaza on pembroke road at the beginning on March 2015. This happened again X 2 while the vehicle was parked (engine running) on separate days. The last time it happened I was driving along pines boulevard in peak hour traffic (Tuesday April 21st 2015), as I approached the intersection of hiatus road and pines boulevard, I started slowing down for a red light. The vehicle then shut down/stalled again. The fact that there was a red light helped to prevent and accident, as everyone driving in the same direction had to stop. This time I had to call for a police cruiser to stand in place until I was able to get a tow or get it started again. After about 30 minutes, I finally got it started again and made it home. I took it to a Honda dealer on Wednesday April 22, 2015. They were able to replicate the issue but after replacing the battery (4-23-2015), fuel pump (4-24-2015) they said that the issue still persists and is now getting more frequent. They (autonation Honda in miami lakes) have been trying to 'fix' the problem but they have not yet succeeded. Today is May 3rd 2015 I am asking that the ntsb looks into this issue, as the last time it happened I was in peak hour traffic, this issue can lead to an accident.. I also contacted Honda corporate customer service and reported the issue. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Pembroke Pines , FL, USA

problem #42

Apr 092007

Accord 6-cyl

  • 2,500 miles
Went to wedding 125, miles away, at the reception noticed my cell phone charger laying in the seat" berried haft way in the leather seat burnt a hole in the seat. Wife not happy her car. I took the first charger to verizon to be check out at the same time I perches a second charger and to let them no a bought the burn in the seat, after verizon checked charger it was determined not to be there charger after coming home from the wedding T went to rock Honda to ask if there was or is a recalls on the electrical the Accord for this year, not that they a where of. I check in to the cost of having this seat repaired, the cost was small but significant. I waited to see F there where going to any more occurrences be for taking the vehicle passenger seat to be repaired, yes there was a third incident. My wife and I where returning from a funeral on 4/21/2015 when the rear view camera froze on the window screen keeping from viewing any in my blind spot or to the rear of my vehicle. I drove from the cemetery to rock Honda with the problem still showing on my dash. The wait was long at the dealer, but be for I turned off the car I took a picture of the of the dash board shoeing it was frozen. I received @ 12:22 4/22/2015 telling me that they were going to replace the rear view camera but not going to do any thing for the charger or the burn /hole in the seat. There words where: I must not have pushed the charger all the way, thus causing the charger to get hot" screen going dark-2 charger melting and camera freezing, its some where in the electrical. Note there was no mention on the dimming or brightening of our dash lights, when I ask' they told me they did a complete reset of the computer and this will take care of the problem.

- Rialto, CA, USA

problem #41

Mar 192015

Accord

  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Accord. The contact stated when driving at low speeds or coming to a stop, the lighting on the instrument panel would dim and the vehicle stalled without warning. Upon placing the vehicle in park and restarting the engine, the vehicle resumed normal function. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician was not able to diagnose the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 18,000.

- Belle Chasse, LA, USA

problem #40

Mar 292014

Accord

  • 1,182 miles
I have been experiencing problems with this 2013 since purchase. Brought it in to mike smith Honda on various occasions for problems such, as the car will not accelerate at times, the brakes something is wrong (makes a noise) car has a suction to it, barely accelerates when leaving a red light or stop sign, one time it accelerated to much and I like to hit the wall of my garage. Fcw lights somes on some time for nothing, , noise from behind and under the vehicle when driving up and about to put in park. And some times when backing up. The fcw defaults. Overall this is not a good running or performance car. Everytime you bring it to the shop the servicemen said I sorry but that is normal when they can not fix or know how to fix something it is easy for them to say I sorry that is normal or you got to bring it to the shop when it is acting up at the time. I told them that is hard to do it may not be doing it when it is there at that time. But I thought that what the machines were for to find the problems. The appearance is good but the performance is bad. Had the car seal for bugs paid over $700 they did not do a good job or did not do what they were paid for at all. Bugs are hard to come off of the vehicle.may be other problems but this is a few that comes to mind at this time. The biggest thing is the brakes and the acceleration and suction of the vehicle.

- Beaumont, TX, USA

problem #39

Jul 232013

Accord 4WD 4-cyl

  • 100 miles
This is a keyless car. Drove to store listing to music on the radio. Pulled into parking spot, put the brake on put the car into park and turned of car. I got in the car put foot on brake and touched button to start car. Put car in reverse, backed out of parking spot and after coming to a complete stop put car into drive and my display said there was no cd. I didn't touch any buttons and I was not playing a cd when I parked I didn't have a cd inserted in the cd player. This same problem happens on and off many times.

- Wintersville, OH, USA

problem #38

Nov 152014

Accord 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
Backed out of parking spot, upon shifting to drive, the rear view camera display was black except for two red lines. Drove about 60 feet then upon making a right turn I realized there was no throttle response. The engine continued to operate. Removed my foot from the throttle then reapplied my foot and the engine was then responsive to the throttle. The distance was approx. 20 feet and the time 10 seconds that the engine did not respond to the throttle. This car has many intermittent electrical problems, but this problem could be very serious in traffic.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #37

Nov 062014

Accord

  • 2,000 miles
My daughters 2013 Honda Accord has been parked for approximately 2 weeks without being driven. About 2 days ago I noticed all the windows were down and sunroof open, and last week my husband noticed the trunk was open. Yesterday and last night the alarm kept going of and lights flashing, F at first we thought it was the wind. But it contiunued throughout the night. At one point the headlights would not turn off. My husband thought it was the battery so he tried to charge the battery but it would not charge and at one point all of the interior electrical lights even on the drivers console began blinking constantly.

- Camp Springs, MD, USA

problem #36

Oct 092013

Accord 6-cyl

  • 37,500 miles
On October 9 2013 I had gotten up to go to work, as I got up to go to work that morning I noticed that the seat. Did not move up ward. I started to drive to work but I was uncomfortable in my seating position. So as I went to readjust the seat the who seat slammed to the floor of the car. And I felt like a lower whiplash to my lower back and spine. The seat fell back as I was driving and adjusting the seat I also turned my steering wheel almost into the on coming traffic and person next to me. I regained control of my car but now I was sitting on the lowest level of the seats position. I pulled over because my lower back was hurting and looked at the seat. Nothing had been tampered or touched. I then manually put the seat back into its upper position since it now no longer could adjust with the electronic control. Forward, and back and down you could still move but upward no more. Again got back in my car only now to just move forward a few mph the seat again fell back due to the forward motion of the car and gravity. I took this to the Honda because it is a serious issue to shockley Honda only for them to say that it was out of warranty and wanted to charge me $120 to just look at the issue. And then to tell me it will take $1200 to fix it! so safety is not a concern only profit. I since have to put a box under the seat to keep it from sliding back and from hurting my back further more. But time to time the box moved and the seat continues to slide back and further injury to my back or if not address could cause further injury to others due to loss of control of the car. I do not want to drive this car but I have to drive because it is still a car to get me to work.

- Frederick , MD, USA

problem #35

Jul 192013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 2,000 miles
My center console has been getting stuck. The screen itself gets stuck in reverse and has now the side camera has gotten stuck as well. The bluetooth is also messing up and the usb messed up my phone. There is something majorly wrong with the electrical in my car. It all started when I would start my car and the radio would switch to the cd player and I wouldn't touch anything. Then the backup camera screen would get stuck and now the side camera and now the bluetooth. I'm done! this is my 4th Accord out of 5 cars. I know a lot about cars and this isn't right. It has been to the dealership numerous times and they have updated it and said it would be fixed and it isn't. fix the thing or lemon law it. It's going back into the shop tonight, so lets see!

- Lake Katrine, NY, USA

problem #34

Sep 022014

Accord 6-cyl

  • 34,450 miles
The vehicle steering simply 'shut-down', or locked-up out of nowhere. It appears the power steering system simply failed. I was only able to regain control of the steering by bringing the vehicle to a full stop in order to turn it off and then restart it... as though I were rebooting a crashed computer! the issue repeated itself three times the next day, once while driving at full speed on a public street. We resolved to stop driving it, but by reflex I took it out the third consecutive day only to have the issue recur twice, thankfully none of these failures occurred while we were executing a turn, otherwise we may have crashed into something or someone, as some of the other complaints describe. I have now put the vehicle into storage until Honda addresses the issue definitively, as others describe dealership diagnoses across the board, with virtually all admitting the issue was unresolved, even after repair or replacement of the diagnosed component(s). Whether I simply have a lemon, or this is a recall issue in the making, I do not yet know, but what I do know is that this appears to be a very serious safety issue rendering the vehicle too dangerous to drive.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?