If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,810 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Honda Accord electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #50

Feb 062014


  • 27,000 miles


Drivers window would go half way up stop on it's own then go back down and stick, drivers door would not open from either inside or out. Could not get out of car, had to crawl over to pass. Side and get out. Passenger side door started exhibiting the same behavior, still not resolved. Doesn't happen all the time but it does happen, safety issue. Back up camera went black, they replaced camera, still the color is off at times, other times it is black or becomes distorted, color at night is in negative at times. Showed them the pics. And I was told it does what it was designed to do. Bought the car brand new, it shouldn't have these prob. The door is the most concerning part, if my child is in the pass. Side seat and I have to get them out, and the door decides it doesn't want to open, then we have a very serious safety issue. I have had the car to the dealership 8 to 10 times since Feb. 2015, I have called customer service, they don't seem to help, I am out of options. This is only July 2015, I need help in resolving this matter with the door, I can live with the camera even though it is not working properly.

- Kirtland, OH, USA

problem #49

May 082015


  • 35,989 miles
The vehicle has an electronic power steering problem. The car was being driven and the car eps light came on while I was driving at about 30 mph and coming of the highway ramp. I lost control of all steering and almost caused an accident. This car cannot be considered safe at all. I was not able to drive my car afterwards and was forced too without power steering because I have to drive to work. If this is not a safety hazard I dont know what would be considered then.

- Apo, AE, USA

problem #48

Jun 132015


  • 60,402 miles
Electronic power steering system has failed for the 5th time in the last month. Eps light illuminates on dashboard, total loss of steering control. Vehicle is not safe to drive. Was originally cleared by turning the car on and off, but now fails immediately upon starting vehicle. Dealership quoted $1,700 repair - this should be a recall.

- Belton, TX, USA

problem #47

May 162015


  • 12,000 miles


So this has now happened 3 times in the last few months, once about a month ago and twice last week (after having the car dropped off to fix the brake tsb that causes a squeak on turns). I will be driving down the road from aggressive to normal driving and all of a sudden I look at my dash only to see all the warning lights on. Once this happens you can see the mpg indicator has a delay, a change in behavior of the cars controls, ldw switch no longer functions, and ldw and fcw stop working. The car continues to drive but you can tell all electronics are experiencing a delay or issue with the exception of the navi and radio. Some of the lights go away and come back as you drive, and after turning the car on and off a few times all lights turn off with the exception of fcw and ldw with the "fcw system failure" message which remain, that goes away after a few hours.

- Hyde Park, MA, USA

problem #46

Jun 142015


  • 25,000 miles
When I started my car today I got a blinking light on the dash that looked like a battery. I looked it up in the owner's manual and it said "battery not charging" and to "contact the dealer immediately for repairs". I'll call them tomorrow. About a month ago, my car wouldn't start. I had to get it jumped and later took it in. They replaced an under dash relay. My car has been ok otherwise.

- Springfield, IL, USA

problem #45

May 132015


  • 11,600 miles
During three hour night drive the dash display dimmed to black at interstate speeds. After an hour or so the panel lights came back on. After a few minutes they went out again. The next day during the return drive in daylight panel seemed normal.

- Miamisburg, OH, USA

problem #44

May 022015


  • 24,000 miles


I got off work and the horn was honking. It had been honking so long the battery was dead. And then when someone jump started it and I started to drive off, it honked some more. A few minutes later entering the freeway it started honking once again! each time the honking stopped when I turned the wheel. 3 times in one morning it honked and would not stop until I turned the wheel. Since I have had this vehicle the honking comes and goes about every 6 months. But this latest incident has been the worst by far. I took it to the dealer and the fella behind also had the same problem..he called it random honking.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #43

Apr 212015


  • 38,000 miles
My vehicle shut down while parked in an plaza on pembroke road at the beginning on March 2015. This happened again X 2 while the vehicle was parked (engine running) on separate days. The last time it happened I was driving along pines boulevard in peak hour traffic (Tuesday April 21st 2015), as I approached the intersection of hiatus road and pines boulevard, I started slowing down for a red light. The vehicle then shut down/stalled again. The fact that there was a red light helped to prevent and accident, as everyone driving in the same direction had to stop. This time I had to call for a police cruiser to stand in place until I was able to get a tow or get it started again. After about 30 minutes, I finally got it started again and made it home. I took it to a Honda dealer on Wednesday April 22, 2015. They were able to replicate the issue but after replacing the battery (4-23-2015), fuel pump (4-24-2015) they said that the issue still persists and is now getting more frequent. They (autonation Honda in miami lakes) have been trying to 'fix' the problem but they have not yet succeeded. Today is May 3rd 2015 I am asking that the ntsb looks into this issue, as the last time it happened I was in peak hour traffic, this issue can lead to an accident.. I also contacted Honda corporate customer service and reported the issue. Christopher morrison

- Pembroke Pines , FL, USA

problem #42

Apr 092007


  • 2,500 miles
Went to wedding 125, miles away, at the reception noticed my cell phone charger laying in the seat" berried haft way in the leather seat burnt a hole in the seat. Wife not happy her car. I took the first charger to verizon to be check out at the same time I perches a second charger and to let them no a bought the burn in the seat, after verizon checked charger it was determined not to be there charger after coming home from the wedding T went to rock Honda to ask if there was or is a recalls on the electrical the Accord for this year, not that they a where of. I check in to the cost of having this seat repaired, the cost was small but significant. I waited to see F there where going to any more occurrences be for taking the vehicle passenger seat to be repaired, yes there was a third incident. My wife and I where returning from a funeral on 4/21/2015 when the rear view camera froze on the window screen keeping from viewing any in my blind spot or to the rear of my vehicle. I drove from the cemetery to rock Honda with the problem still showing on my dash. The wait was long at the dealer, but be for I turned off the car I took a picture of the of the dash board shoeing it was frozen. I received @ 12:22 4/22/2015 telling me that they were going to replace the rear view camera but not going to do any thing for the charger or the burn /hole in the seat. There words where: I must not have pushed the charger all the way, thus causing the charger to get hot" screen going dark-2 charger melting and camera freezing, its some where in the electrical. Note there was no mention on the dimming or brightening of our dash lights, when I ask' they told me they did a complete reset of the computer and this will take care of the problem.

- Rialto, CA, USA

problem #41

Mar 192015


  • 18,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Accord. The contact stated when driving at low speeds or coming to a stop, the lighting on the instrument panel would dim and the vehicle stalled without warning. Upon placing the vehicle in park and restarting the engine, the vehicle resumed normal function. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician was not able to diagnose the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 18,000.

- Belle Chasse, LA, USA

problem #40

Mar 292014


  • 1,182 miles


I have been experiencing problems with this 2013 since purchase. Brought it in to mike smith Honda on various occassions for problems such, as the car will not acelerate at times, the brakes something is wrong (makes a noise) car has a suction to it, barely accerates when leaving a red light or stop sign, one time it accerated to much and I like to hit the wall of my garage. Fcw lights somes on some time for nothing, , noise from behind and under the vehicle when driving up and about to put in park. And some times when backing up. The fcw defaults. Overall this is not a good running or performance car. Everytime you bring it to the shop the servicemen said I sorry but that is normal when they can not fix or know how to fix something it is easy for them to say I sorry that is normal or you got to bring it to the shop when it is acting up at the time. I told them that is hard to do it may not be doing it when it is there at that time. But I thought that what the machines were for to find the problems. The apearance is good but the performance is bad. Had the car seal for bugs paid over $700 they did not do a good job or did not do what they were paid for at all. Bugs are hard to come off of the vehicle.may be other problems but this is a few that comes to mind at this time. The biggest thing is the brakes and the accelation and suction of the vehicle

- Beaumont, TX, USA

problem #39

Jul 232013


  • 100 miles
This is a keyless car. Drove to store listing to music on the radio. Pulled into parking spot, put the brake on put the car into park and turned of car. I got in the car put foot on brake and touched button to start car. Put car in reverse, backed out of parking spot and after coming to a complete stop put car into drive and my display said there was no cd. I didn't touch any buttons and I was not playing a cd when I parked I didn't have a cd inserted in the cd player. This ame problem happens on and off many times.

- Wintersville, OH, USA

problem #38

Nov 152014


  • 12,000 miles
Backed out of parking spot, upon shifting to drive, the rear view camera display was black except for two red lines. Drove about 60 feet then upon making a right turn I realized there was no throttle response. The engine continued to operate. Removed my foot from the throttle then reapplied my foot and the engine was then responsive to the throttle. The distance was approx. 20 feet and the time 10 seconds that the engine did not respond to the throttle. This car has many intermittent electrical problems, but this problem could be very serious in traffic.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #37

Nov 062014


  • 2,000 miles
My daughters 2013 Honda Accord has been parked for approximately 2 weeks without being driven. About 2 days ago I noticed all the windows were down and sunroof open, and last week my husband noticed the trunk was open. Yesterday and last night the alarm kept going of and lights flashing, F at first we thought it was the wind. But it contiunued throughout the night. At one point the headlights would not turn off. My husband thought it was the battery so he tried to charge the battery but it would not charge and at one point all of the interior electrical lights even on the drivers console began blinking constantly.

- Camp Springs, MD, USA

problem #36

Oct 092013


  • 37,500 miles
On October 9 2013 I had gotten up to go to work, as I got up to go to work that morning I noticed that the seat. Did not move up ward. I started to drive to work but I was unconfortable in my seating position. So as I went to readjust the seat the who seat slammed to the floor of the car. And I felt like a lower whiplash to my lower back and spine. The seat fell back as I was driving and adjusting the seat I also turned my steering wheel almost into the on coming traffic and person next to me. I regained control of my car but now I was sitting on the lowest level of the seats position. I pulled over because my lower back was hurting and looked at the seat. Nothing had been tampered or touched. I then manually put the seat back into its upper positon since it now no longer could adjust with the electronic control. Forward, and back and down you could still move but upward no more. Again got back in my car only now to just move forward a few mph the seat again fell back due to the forward motion of the car and gravity. I took this to the Honda because it is a serious issue to shockley Honda only for them to say that it was out of warranty and wanted to charge me $120 to just look at the issue. And then to tell me it will take $1200 to fix it! so safety is not a concern only profit. I since have to put a box under the seat to keep it from sliding back and from hurting my back further more. But time to time the box moved and the seat continues to slide back and further injury to my back or if not address could cause futher injury to others due to loss of control of the car. I do not want to drive this car but I have to drive because it is still a car to get me to work.

- Frederick , MD, USA

problem #35

Jul 192013


  • 2,000 miles
My center console has been getting stuck. The screen itself gets stuck in reverse and has now the side camera has gotten stuck as well. The bluetooth is also messing up and the usb messed up my phone. There is something majorly wrong with the electrical in my car. It all started when I would start my car and the radio would switch to the cd player and I wouldn't touch anything. Then the backup camera screen would get stuck and now the side camera and now the bluetooth. I'm done! this is my 4th Accord out of 5 cars. I know a lot about cars and this isn't right. It has been to the dealership numerous times and they have updated it and said it would be fixed and it isn't. fix the thing or lemon law it. It's going back into the shop tonight, so lets see!

- Lake Katrine, NY, USA

problem #34

Sep 022014

Accord 6-cyl

  • 34,450 miles
The vehicle steering simply 'shut-down', or locked-up out of nowhere. It appears the power steering system simply failed. I was only able to regain control of the steering by bringing the vehicle to a full stop in order to turn it off and then restart it... as though I were rebooting a crashed computer! the issue repeated itself three times the next day, once while driving at full speed on a public street. We resolved to stop driving it, but by reflex I took it out the third consecutive day only to have the issue recur twice, thankfully none of these failures occurred while we were executing a turn, otherwise we may have crashed into something or someone, as some of the other complaints describe. I have now put the vehicle into storage until Honda addresses the issue definitively, as others describe dealership diagnoses across the board, with virtually all admitting the issue was unresolved, even after repair or replacement of the diagnosed component(s). Whether I simply have a lemon, or this is a recall issue in the making, I do not yet know, but what I do know is that this appears to be a very serious safety issue rendering the vehicle too dangerous to drive.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #33

Sep 012014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 13,000 miles
It's been over 2 moths and 5 visit to dealer still got same problem car is Honda Accord 2013 and it's smart start car won't start sometimes it takes 20 min 40-50 try to start the car lost of same year Honda owners are having same exact problem you can see it in google search or youtube dealer always told us the car got no problem but were having same problem 2-3 times a day we get stuck every where we go since car does not start.

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #32

Aug 222014

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
On Jan 24th, 2013 I took my car to the Honda dealership for a problem with my power steering. The eps (electric power steering) system indicator came on and off several times and lost power steering during those times. The problem has been intermittent. The Honda dealership tried to fix the problem 3 times. On Feb 5th, 2013 the intermittent power steering problem seemed to be fixed. Then on Aug 21st, 2014 the power steer problem started again. I returned to the Honda dealership and Honda tried again to fix the intermittent power steering problem. On Aug 22nd, I drove my Honda Accord out of the dealership and had to turn around and bring it back because the carsżż eps (electric power steering) system indicator light came on and off again and I lost power steering during that time. IżżM now waiting to see if the intermittent power steering problem can be found and fixed. Since I bought my car the smart entry system indicator light has turned on and off intermittently without an adverse effect that I know of. I know an intermittent problem is hard diagnose and fix but IżżM starting have less and less confidence in Honda the company that manufactured my car..updated 11/03/14

- Slidell, LA, USA

problem #31

Jul 132014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 7,500 miles
While driving to Chicago (2 hours away) with my wife and 11 year old my maintenance minder light came on to tell me it was time to get an oil change. Since it was a Sunday I couldn't take it in. I couldn't make an appointment until 7/16 to get in for an oil change. On 7/16 I sat in my car to go home, but my dash lights were all lit up. Brakes, electric steering, ABS, check engine, my speedometer wasn't working and many more lights remained on. I called the dealer and they told me it was safe to drive it over to them although I heard a grinding sound, my brakes were soft and my steering wheel was very stiff. I went very slow since my speedometer or mileage wasn't working at all. The next morning my dealer called and claimed that a rodent was the culprit who chewed on some main wiring harness of the entire car. I find this hard to believe because why didn't it happen after the oil light came 2 days before" why didn't my wife's SUV get affected by this? this is a huge quality control issue that Honda needs to fix. What would have happened if all of these lights came on while I was driving my family on the highway"

- Pewaukee, WI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?