Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,842 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Honda Accord electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #70

Apr 142016

Accord

  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The starter in the car is not starting until 3rd attempt to start or not starting at all. We have had to wait and try again minutes later then on the third attempt it starts, the battery has been replaced and the connections to the battery are good. This has been happening for about 3 weeks now.

- Orange Park, FL, USA

problem #69

Mar 312016

Accord

  • 58,303 miles
Car won't start, about a month ago I bought a 2013 Honda Accord exl V6, it worked fine for about a week, but soon after that I started experiencing starting problems. I have taken it to the mechanic many times, I have had the electrical system checked, replaced starter, the battery etc. The problem still persists, after doing much research I have learned that this is a problem that is very wide spread, there are several you tube videos, and posts of frustrated owners unable to start their cars constantly having to replace the started in most cases. Every car from 2013-2016 is suffering from this problem, of being unable to start, as a college student I don't have that much money to constantly fix it as it happens. This was supposed to be a reliable car, to replace my old car which was developing major problems, but at least the car started every time. Please, address this issue with urgency many people depend on these vehicles, to get to work school etc.

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #68

Apr 102016

Accord

  • 64,102 miles
My family and I were stranded due to our 2013 Honda Accord not starting. We just came out of the movies and the car was stationary in the parking lot. I turned the key and it would just click. I had to pay for towing and over $800 to have the starter replaced at the Honda dealer. It would have been more, but I called another dealer and they price matched the starter. I drive a lot of mile to work so I have over 60K miles in 2 years. After doing a little research I found that this problem is happening to a lot of people. The problem can be seen on forums and youtube videos. This problem seems to affects new cars, base models, push buttons, V6's etc. I think the starter should be recalled because many people are being forced to replace starters that the dealer seemed to know was bad.

- Accokeek, MD, USA

problem #67

Apr 192016

Accord

  • 50,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2013 Accord is having problems with the push start button. Three separate times in one week our car had trouble starting. It would make a sound of hesitation before starting for 3-5 seconds. We had the battery replaced this past winter. We took the car to our local Honda dealer for a check on the electrical and starting systems. They could not find anything wrong. We might have to wait for the car to not start in order for Honda to find out what is wrong.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #66

Apr 112016

Accord

  • 25,000 miles
Keyless fob has two times opened all four windows and sun roof while in my pants pocket a couple of inches. The last time on April 11, 2016 it rained two inches and the car was left in the rain. The following morning the car would not start. The lights on the dash were flickering like crazy. You can not tell the sun roof is open because the sliding cover is closed. I think Honda should remove this feature that allows you to open the sunroof from pressing a button from your fob. This cost me a lot of money and I didn't even know the sun roof was left open.

- Mccalla, AL, USA

problem #65

Apr 012016

Accord

  • miles
In November 2015 I parked my car in the driveway. Went out an hour later and it wouldn't start. Jumped the car and it drove fine. In janary 2016 I pulled up to get gas. After fueling the car wouldn't start. Had to push my car out of the way and have someone jump it again. Had battery tested at two different shops and it is fine. Came home from work tonight April 1, 2016. Went to leave two hours later and it won't start again.

- Molalla, OR, USA

problem #64

Mar 282016

Accord

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Intermittent issues with the car not starting. Once you stick the key in the ingnition and turn the key the car will not start. I have full power to all the electronic in the car but the car will not start. I have to turn the key multiple times for the car to start. The car only has 40,000 miles on it and I have replaced the battery but the problem persist

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #63

Mar 262016

Accord

  • 32,400 miles
I parked my car in our home garage after driving 15-20 miles. An hour later, when I tried to take the car out, at ignition it just refused to start. I got many dashboard chattering indicators on but no engine cranking. Tried couple of times but same results. Checked head lights and found them bright and ok indicating no possible battery issue. Then I jump started from our other car parked next to it. It started almost immediately. But the dashboard indicators remained 'on'. I used vehicle setting menu and selected factory default reset. But the indicators remained 'on'. I took the car for a short drive. As soon as I drove some 15-20 feet, the indicators went off. I drove for some time and tried to stop the engine and restart it couple times without any problems. In my case, I was fortunate to have this happened at home garage and not middle of the road. But when I tried to research online about this problem, I found many such similar complaints and some of them were indicating possible 'bad' starter issue which required $800-1000 for the replacement and repairs. My car is around 18 months old with clean records of regular maintenance. The car has logged around 32,400 miles and maintained with care. As a concerned owner, after reading those online complaints and reports, I thought of sharing my issue here and record it too. I see there are enough similar complaints to arrive at there could be a faulty component (may be starter or something else, I am not an expert) which might need attention and possible recall repairs by the manufacturer

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #62

May 012014

Accord

  • 40,000 miles
I bought my 2013 Accord sport new. Almost immediately I noticed that after I start it and put it in drive, it would not go anywhere. Slight press of the acceleration pedal and slowly it would move forward, however within approximately a minute the acceleration pedal press and the vehicle moving would work as they should. Since I only considered this an inconvenience, even though this is not " normal", I ignored the issue. In mid 2014, while driving on the freeway, in los angeles, the vehicle's electrical system and the dashboard went completely out, only to flicker back to life within the next two seconds. A few months after, with no warning and for no apparent reason, while I attempted to start the vehicle, I discovered it to be completely dead. No clicks, no flickering lights. I replaced the battery at about 25K miles. Over the next year, the sudden electrical short, where the dashboard electronics and everything electrical on the car would turn off suddenly, continued. Every two months on average I would experience an episode, some while driving, some when I was stationary, with the engine running for couple of minutes. Beginning of 2016, I attempted to start the vehicle, again no sign of life, out of the blue. I jump started it, had it checked, no apparent problems or issues with the battery. End of March 2016, same problem. I went to start the vehicle, it turned the dashboard lights on, then it died...no clicks, no lights flickering. I had it checked by a mechanic, could not find anything wrong with it. I don't know what to do.I liked what Honda used to represent, I am not sure anymore about its reliability.

- Encino, CA, USA

problem #61

Mar 032016

Accord

  • 42,000 miles
2013 Accord sport is starting to have a starting problem. Sometimes engine does not turn over when first turning the key. And from what I have read on this site it sounds like it is progressively going to get to the point of having to replace the starter. Not happy. I was hoping on having a reliable car when I bought this car however I have had multiple issues two being major but thank god it was under warranty. One being transmission replacement at around 8,000 miles and the timing belt/tensioner issues.

- Ventura, CA, USA

problem #60

Mar 122016

Accord

  • 42,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A few months ago, my 2013 Honda Accord sport with 42K miles became hesitant to start. A turn of the key and I just heard clicks, after 3-5 tries it usually started on up. The problem progressed, yet I continued to "make due", I started putting the car in neutral to start it, and even had to be jumped off a few times. Eventually in early February my battery went bad, and I purchased a new one. On March 12,2016 my car refused to start. I had to have it towed to the dealership I purchased the car from - in 2013 with 18 miles on it...on 3/14/16 I was just informed that my starter is bad. To replace the starter it will be $850....not including the diagnostic fee of $110 and the towing cost of $80, all because this doesn't fall under the 3/36K warranty that is standard with Honda. Seems like a ridiculous price to pay, especially after seeing the other complaint on this site of other Honda owners with the same issue. I personally feel this should be a recall on Honda part. 2013 was the first year they made the Honda Accord sport edition ( I was told at the dealership), obviously something went awry at the factory. When I called the dealership to explain my problem, I gave the year, make, and model of my car. The technician that answered the phone replied with "oh, yes MA'am, I just spoke with you 10 minutes agoi?" it was the first time I had called. That tells me there are other 2013 Honda Accord sport owners experiencing the same problem. Make it right Honda!!

- Augusta, GA, USA

problem #59

Feb 222016

Accord

  • 16,100 miles
I have Honda Accord white ex-L since 11/10/2012 with current mileage of 16,300. 1. recently, I went to my mechanic to have air pressure checked on my car, since I was going for a long trip. While, air pressure was being checked, I left the car on in accessory mode for about 3 minutes. When I went on to turn the car on, it wouldn't turn on. Dash board lights, flickered at every attempt, when I tried turning on the car. My mechanic checked the battery, he said, battery is dead. I had the battery replaced. Once battery was replaced, mechanic checked alternator. He stated, alternator is not working properly. I told him, I will take the car to Honda dealer. This reminded me, that same thing happened on 7/4/2014, where I had left the hazard lights on and radio on at the same time in power mode for about 5 minutes. I called Honda care, 1st driver, couldn't jump start my car. 2nd driver came, and he was able to jump start my car. He stated battery was fine at that time. However, I just realized, my driver side window was taking lot longer to open and close than it should. With new battery, I will bring car to dealer to have the car checked. Also, since above instances, I turn off my headlights from auto mode, and also interior lights from dimming or turning off automatically to save battery from draining. 2. since I bought the car in November 2013, I have noticed that, I can hear fuel moving in the fuel tank. In my old 2000 Honda Accord, I never heard such a thing. 3. since 2012, I have gotten alignment done 3 times, but I still feel the vibration through out my car, and car feels like wobbling in the front. 4. not happy with mpg. In city, I get 9 to 11 mpg. Highway, it is just about 32 to 35 mpg as advertised and tested. 5. sometimes, when putting on the driver side seat belt, it gets stuck. I have to retract it and than I am able to secure it in seat belt clip.

- Jersey City, NJ, USA

problem #58

Feb 232016

Accord

  • 30,000 miles
Serious engine vibration when cold, began around 30,000 miles. Recently, computer generated mpg numbers fluctuate wildly for same trip. Example, today 10 mile trip, 23.3 mpg going 33.3 mpg returning. Inaccurate oil life reminder, showing 70% left after 7,000 mi. Used to show 20% after 5,000 when I have oil changed. Dealer says all normal, call Honda ifi have a problem. Radio on off problems since new. All occur regardless of vehicle location or moving or not.

- Ellicott City, MD, USA

problem #57

Sep 192015

Accord

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the vehicle experienced a complete loss of power. The failure occurred without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the vehicle needed a new battery. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 45,000.

- Reynoldsburg, OH, USA

problem #56

Nov 132015

Accord

  • miles
I would like to make a complaint about a serious safety concern that happened to me recently while driving my Honda Accord 2013, luckily I was able to avoid an accident.I am afraid to drive my car for fear for my life.I was driving in Pennsylvania on rt 33 South traveling at about 65 mph when my steering wheel locked.I had to lean into the steering wheel with all my body weight to try to get it to turn but it was locked.I was able to stop the car and shut it off.after a few minutes I started it back up and it returned to normal, I was lucky that part of the road I was driving on was straight and curve or mountain section like most of Pennsylvania.I am afraid that this will happen against and I won't be so lucky.please investigate my vehicle and work with Honda to get this fixed so no one has to die. It more than this, I been having problems with the radio, sunroof, kieys alarm go on went I was driving.

- East Stroudsburg, PA, USA

problem #55

Nov 212015

Accord

  • miles
Car will not start in the mornings: Within a months 3 times. Engine check light constantly lighting up. Back and butt pain including legs falling asleep

- Moreno Valley, CA, USA

problem #54

Sep 132015

Accord

  • 45,000 miles
It so far has happened to me twice that I need to jump-start the car. There probably has some electrical leakage issues or something related to it. The first time it was more than a year ago that when I came earlier to a doctor appointment waiting for the clinic to open, I turned off the car and left the cd player on. But it only played for about half an hour or so it turned off automatically due to the battery power has already been depleted and the card could not start at all that I had to call aaa after the doctor appointment to jump-start for me. I thought at that time it was due to the cd player took too much power so I did not complain about it. But the second time it was a few weeks ago on Sunday, which give me the concerns that there must be some electrical leakage on my car. After parking for the church meeting and turned off the car, both my wife and I decided to open the window a little bit to let the air flows in the hot weather since we parked under a covered parking and would not worry about possible rainfall. So before we open the doors, we opened both front windows a very little bit and left for the meetings. Then about 3.5-4 hours later when it was time to go home, we found out the car would not start, and we had to ask for help to jump-start it again. This time it gave a definite guess that there must be some electrical leakage in the car. I also complained in early June of this year about the steering wheel lock issue. I received a mail from Honda to fix it, but when I call the dealers, none of them even offer loaner cars for such recall and manufacture failure repairs. Honda is bad for things like this. I don't know whether I should purchase Honda again in the future. I never complained once for my Toyota for years. Even they schedule for manufacture recalls, which I never encounter myself, I did not have to worry about the loaner car.

- Richmond, TX, USA

problem #53

Sep 282014

Accord

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the engine failed to start. The failure had recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000. The VIN was not provided.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #52

Mar 162013

Accord

  • 10 miles
Since delivery date of vehicle from dealer my vehicles navigation and stereo have not worked. I brought it in the service dept could not figure out what was wrong, they replaced the navigation and stereo and the problem still to this day exist. When this radio is on sometimes it freezes and the nav unit states the radio is off and other times it just stays on, volume increases on its own, cannot use touch screen, cannot change stations and then the lights on the dash go on and off and car shuts off. I have gone online and see that there are many other people reporting the same problem and when I take it to the dealer if it goes back to working the service dept tells me that they cannot diagnose the problem to keep driving it and bring it back. On Sept 21 I brought it in to dealer and it shut off at dealer 3X's making them jump start it and I have once again received my car with no assurance that it works. They said the battery and computer test come back ok but they changed the battery in hopes that that will resolve the issue. It is 9/24/15 and same thing happened this morning. But since after 3 hours of trying to turn it back on it did and I cant go back to being without a car because I have a 2 year old daughter, have to work and know the dealer will say its working again I have to just pray it will not happen while on the road

- Bloomfield, NJ, USA

problem #51

Dec 302014

Accord

  • miles
I purchased my 2013 Honda November of 2013 at rock Honda in fontana, ca. When I first purchased the vehicle it had to be jump started, which I thought was from the car sitting so long & it being so cold.(this should have sent a red flag). After a few months & then the car began to act like it did not want to start. I was then stranded on the freeway. I called Honda care. The first driver came to my car took two minutes tried to start it, said there was something else wrong (as he was rushing & did not have time to look) he asked to use my phone charger, left my hood up (which caused dents in my hood from being on the freeway with strong winds) & left. The second driver came & had to give me a jump start & do something with the gas. I brought my car to the dealer upon getting my oil change, explained the problem, & they said they found nothing. Then my car died again. I called Honda again & they were sending someone out to jump start it but I walked over to the sears next door & they jumped it. Then it happened 2 days in a row. The first day, the Honda care driver had to use two sets of jumper cables to jump my car. The second day the driver had to jump my car again, but this time I recorded it. I then again brought my car to penske Honda in Ontario where I explained to a service technician what happened & I called Honda corporate offices while at the dealership. I told Honda corporate about my hood & how many times I had to call Honda care. They supposedly opened a claim but never called me back & gave me the run around when I called them. The dealership then did my oil change & checked the car out & found nothing. I then goggled the symptoms of my car & found recall with the fuel system which shuts down the battery on this site. I believe rock Honda sold me the vehicle without remedying the recall prior to sale. Honda corporation did nothing.

- Moreno Valley , CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?