Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,424 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Honda Accord engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #28

May 082014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 13,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I recently had a very serious issue with my 2013 Honda Accord regarding unintended acceleration. While pulling into a parking spot at a garden nursery I applied the brakes but they did not respond in anyway, the engine then revved up making a loud noise, the car lunged forward over several railroad tie barriers, bushes, hit a truck that was parked in the lot and came to rest in a mulch pile. Luckily the truck and mulch stopped the car and I was able to put it into park and turn it off. There is considerable amount of damage to the side of my car and the property of the nursery. This happened on May 8, 2014 at 5:00 pm. It was a gravel parking lot, dry sunny day. This Honda was purchased new in 2013 and is a 4cyl with cvt transmission and has approximately 13,000 miles. The car had to be towed to the dealership where it sits now waiting for a Honda representative to investigate this issue. It was a blessing that no one was standing in front of my car. Much of my decision to purchase a Honda was because of reliability and safety; however, I do not feel safe driving this vehicle. This is my first Honda and I am thoroughly disappointed and alarmed after this incident.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #27

Apr 162013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 2,326 miles
After Accord ex-L with 2.4L engine & cvt sits overnight in garage it does not back out normally. Must press accelerator to get movement. Normal just taking foot off brake & vehicle to roll out on own. Press accelerator to get car to go, RPM's increase & transmission feels like slipping when backing into the street. Shift to drive & cvt slips until travel ~100 feet. Then cvt seems to respond normally to accelerator. We have to back into street with blind hill so this is definitely a safety issue. Took car to Honda dealer for this sporadic, recurring problem on 4/16/13, on 11/12/13 & left w/ dealer for few days & on 02/10/14 & left w/ dealer 9 days. Car was driven by service personnel & service mgr. They could not get car to duplicate problem. I opened case w/ Honda in ca on 02/07/2014 and discussed w/ their rep, [xxx] opened case no. [xxx]. as dealer could not duplicate problem, [xxx] closed case &said Honda would keep on file & reopen if necessary. [xxx] said he had checked with their engineers & claimed they have no record of this issue with Accord. If all other complaints about this problem were closed when they couldn't duplicate problem it makes sense they have "no record" of problem. Also seems very convenient to fall back on "no record" and "couldn't duplicate" excuses to relieve Honda of any liability for what could cause accident. My wife also had same problem. Internet search yields sites that reference same problem in 2013 Accord. Carcomplaints.com 5 complaints listed for cvt slipping. Edmunds.com forum section on Accord has a report of owner of 2013 Accord who got cvt to "slip" w/ the svc mgr with him. Owner said he & mgr took a brand new Accord off lot & duplicated problem. Yet when svc dept put his Accord on computer it would not show a code so svc mgr told him it was "normal". same as I was told. Most importantly this is a safety issue. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Avon Park, FL, USA

problem #26

Jul 092013

Accord

  • 20,000 miles
At slow speeds the Honda would stall. Also happened when initially shifting from park to drive. Rpms would just cut out. Happened 5-6 times. Stalled out while moving through intersection. Called tow company and had them tow to dealer. Dealer replaced computer sensors. I'm not really sure what it was. Vehicle has not had problem since however gas mileage is down significantly since fix. Not happy with mileage. Was getting 35 mpgs on my commute. Now getting 31 mpgs. Over 10% reduction.

- Salem , MA, USA

problem #25

Feb 172014

Accord

  • 11,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

In general I like my Accord 2013; however, I have been noticing hesitation and/or abrupt downshift of gear when I drive below 25 miles. I was searching for this issue, found numerous other people has the same problem. Shame on Honda for not fixing this issue. I just recommended two of my relatives to buy Toyota, they are quick at recall.

- Queens Village, NY, USA

problem #24

Jan 242014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 19,000 miles
Vehicle does not start easily. 3-5 ignition attempts are needed to start it every time. However, once it starts everything seems fine. The battery was checked by the dealer and found to be fine. The problem is not cold related as it occurs even at 40 F.

- Sioux Falls, SD, USA

problem #23

Jan 012014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 6,000 miles
As my vehicle was accelerating onto a highway on-ramp, I lost almost all power to my vehicle, and it became more difficult to steer. The check engine light came on, the electric power steering light came on, the traction control light came on, and my tire warning light started flashing. Was barely able to make it into the emergency lane, and probably would have been rear-ended had a car been following close behind. Once in the emergency lane, a burning odor could be smelled by all 4 passengers in the car. There was nothing wrong with my tires. Car had to be towed to dealership for repairs which are pending. This vehicle has the new "cvt" transmission, and I suspect this may be part of the problem. This should not be happening in a brand new car, this is a safety issue for sure.

- Washington, UT, USA

problem #22

Jun 012013

Accord

  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought this Honda Accord LX 2013 in Aug 2012. About a few months later, I notice the car engine oil level keep decreasing. Then I see there are oil leak marks at the overhead cover where it is tightened to the engine block. In August 2013, I brought my car to nearby Honda dealer. They kept my car for two days and said they replaced the gasket. But after one month, I still see oil leaking out at the same spot. Today, Dec 16, 2013, I bring my Accord back to the dealer. They told me I had to leave my car there until tomorrow (Dec 17) while they are ordering another new gasket. I am extremely disappointed a persistent oil leak has happened with a brand new Honda Accord 2013 !!! I research on line and see this issue also happens with some other 2013 Honda Accord owners.

- Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #21

Nov 062013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 7,200 miles
At 11:00 a.M. on Nov.6 I was driving my 2013 Honda Accord. I pulled into a store parking area at about 5 miles per hour. I put my foot on the brake and turned to enter the parking space when my car accelerated with my foot on the brake. I heard the car rev-up and pushed on the brake more. The revving stopped, but the car continued to move forward slowly. The car moved over the parking barrier and headed for the store wall. It broke through the store wall and I pushed the transmission into park and pushed the button to turn the car off. The car stopped immediately. I was not hurt and left the car to let the owner of the store know what happened. My car has the cvt transmission.

- Las Cruces, NM, USA

problem #20

Sep 032013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 4,000 miles
Ongoing issue. Sometimes when I start my car in the morning, or when leaving the office in the evening, and put it in reverse and give it gas the engine revs, rpms go up, but the car won't go. I will roll down my driveway (it's on an incline), put the car in drive and still have the issue. Then, without warning, the car will respond to me giving it gas and take off. This is a very dangerous issue! I have almost collided with my neighbor before because of this. Took it to the dealership where I was told that they can't duplicate the issue so they can't check it. If the car won't go, how can I take it to them while I am experiencing the issue?

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #19

Apr 032013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 7,000 miles
On cold starts the car intermittently fails to drive with full power. Is happening about 10 times a month. Feels like car operates with only 20% power & feels like cvt tranny belts slipping. The engine revs up, whines and the car barely moves. Honda says "they are aware of problem but have no fix for it at this time." Vehicle bought new, has been in for service on this issue 5-7 times with various Honda repair centers keeping the vehicle for 25+ days. Have dealt with service personnel, managers, general managers and regional managers. The bottom line is this expensive car is broken while Honda is unresponsive to resolving this problem.

- Port St. Lucie, FL, USA

problem #18

Jul 012013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 3,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased 2013 Honda Accord on Oct 2012. The car has only 3,000 miles on it. Recently my car has engine oil leaking from engine gasket seal. Honda has serious problem with engine oil leaking.

- Mukilteo, WA, USA

problem #17

Aug 072013

Accord

  • 5,800 miles
Hi. I've notice oil leak on my brand new 2013 Accord V6 this morning. I already made an appointment with the dealer, but I'm disappointed to see brand new car (especially Honda) with this type of problem. After researching this online, looks like more people are having similar issue. I hope this is nothing major and they don't have to replace an engine block like mentioned below. www.driveaccord.net/forums/showthread.php?T=80981 [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Gilberts, IL, USA

problem #16

Jul 092013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 2,600 miles
There is a hesitation/jerk/shudder when accelerating at various speeds.

- Hampton, GA, USA

problem #15

Jul 272013

Accord

  • 1,850 miles
This was instance #3 and worst occurrence. Stopped at traffic light, made a left turn when break in traffic, half way into turn engine lagged with no response like it shutdown, then took off. Almost T-boned by oncoming traffic. Lag between start of turn and then engine response was at least 2-3 seconds. Same issue has happened 2 times before. Both of those instances were right turns on red, with no oncoming traffic. Even though no traffic was coming, the concern is that the lag/dead response worries me and creates a safety issue. Have spoken with 3 Honda service advisors that have not heard of the issue and because it is intermittent don't know what they could do. They stated clearly that unless they could recreate the issue, it would be difficult to trouble shoot it. I have searched the internet forums and found similar occurrences with other Honda owners, not only of the Accord but also the crosstour. I believe this is a serious safety issue and deserves investigation.

- Cicero, NY, USA

problem #14

Jul 252013

Accord

  • miles
When I start up the car it wouldn't start. The light, acc, radio everything turns on but the engine wont start. I try several times but it will not start, I got out the car lock it, them I decide to try again and them it started. I bought the car in May 2013 this is the 3rd time it happen same exact way. Also a buzzing noise coming from the radio or bluetooth. I took it to the dealer they could not found anything wrong with it. The battery was fine according to the dealer.

- Long Beach, CA, USA

problem #13

May 012013

Accord

  • 2,500 miles
When I start my car in the morning and put the transmission into reverse, I have to depress the gas pedal quite far for the car to start moving. I am on a flat surface in my garage when I do this. The rpms go high and I am barely moving. When I place the car in drive, everything seems fine and the rest of the day there are no problems. The weather is not cold or hot when this happens. Around 70 degrees in an insulated garage.

- Whittier, CA, USA

problem #12

May 102013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 1,200 miles
This started off as an intermittent issue but progressively got worse (twice a day) until Honda flashed an update [A2A690] to my car. Now it's intermittent again (once or twice a week). The problem always happens from a cold start. The issue is after cranking my car, when I put the car in gear (reverse or drive) the transmission doesn't engage. I can press the gas pedal and the RPM's will shoot up but the mph doesn't move, it's like the transmission is slipping, if I don't let off the gas the transmission will abruptly engage and can be a serious safety issue. The first time this happened I was in the parking garage at work and this issue almost caused me to crash into a parked vehicle. Now I have to make sure it doesn't do this every time I put my car in gear. I've been to two different Honda dealers for a total of 4 times and they say they can't ever reproduce the issue. Here's a link to a video of the issue when I caught it on video. www.youtube.com/watch?V=mj1qdyjxgte&feature=em-upload_owner#action=share.

- Byram, MS, USA

problem #11

Jun 142013

Accord 6-cyl

  • 4,850 miles
My new 2013 Honda Accord ex-L has a push button start/stop. While driving with my foot on the gas and the car in drive (its an automatic), if you accidentally push the engine start/stop button, it cuts the power to the engine. So you can effectively turn the car off, loose power to the engine and loose the power steering while the car is in drive and you are driving. I believe this is a severe safety issue, since you would not be able to do this to a car with a keyed ignition while you are driving. Additionally, the engine start/stop button is right next to the air conditioning buttons. I was trying to adjust the air conditioning while I was driving and couldn't take my eyes off the road to look at the air conditioning buttons.

- Basking Ridge, NJ, USA

problem #10

Jan 162013

Accord

  • 10 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Accord. The contact stated while driving approximately 10 mph and attempting to make a turn there was a slight loss of engine power. The failure recurred numerous times while driving at low speeds. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who was unable to locate the problem. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 10.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #9

Feb 202013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 50 miles
The sporadic failure of the radio to operate, come on is some instances, or to display presets and the cd player not operating all at the same time is extremely frustrating! the driver seat memory system not reverting when re-entering vehicle and starting, all point to a possible electrical problem that Honda would do good to look into -- there are youtube videos of other owners who have experienced radio malfunctions as well. The previous model Accord I owned, 2011, had no such problem. With regards to another owner complaint on the engine's momentary hesitations upon acceleration, was also experienced. Also, complained by other owner, was the driver side rear view mirror: The 1/4 end will cause you to immediately adjust to right in anticipation of car coming into you. This potential correction accident can be avoided by another left side blind spot device or mirror replacement altogether: I am trying not to pay too much attention to that 1/4 end part of mirror. The horn is annoyingly different from previous year and not as loud.

- Brooklyn , NY, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?