Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,569 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Honda Accord fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Honda Accord Owner Comments

problem #13

May 182016


  • 69,000 miles


I had to tow my car home today. It wouldn't start. I have had trouble with it in the past weeks now but it would start eventually. But not this time. I might lose my job because of this car failure. Weither it was stationary yes but could of been blocking traffic.

- Rosemead, CA, USA

problem #12

May 022016


  • 56,500 miles
Fuel tank leak NHTSA recall number 13V-297, mfr campaign id JA9 Honda has issued a recall for vehicles manufactured from 1/15/13 - 4/5/13. My vehicle was manufactured in 3/13 and they claim it does not fall in the recall. I have the 'check fuel cap' warning and the "malfunction indicator light' coming on which are the indicators something is wrong with the seal. Honda is refusing to address my vehicle for this recall.

- Merrimack, NH, USA

problem #11

Feb 222016


  • 16,100 miles
I have Honda Accord white ex-L since 11/10/2012 with current mileage of 16,300. 1. recently, I went to my mechanic to have air pressure checked on my car, since I was going for a long trip. While, air pressure was being checked, I left the car on in accessory mode for about 3 minutes. When I went on to turn the car on, it wouldn't turn on. Dash board lights, flickered at every attempt, when I tried turning on the car. My mechanic checked the battery, he said, battery is dead. I had the battery replaced. Once battery was replaced, mechanic checked alternator. He stated, alternator is not working properly. I told him, I will take the car to Honda dealer. This reminded me, that same thing happened on 7/4/2014, where I had left the hazard lights on and radio on at the same time in power mode for about 5 minutes. I called Honda care, 1st driver, couldn't jump start my car. 2nd driver came, and he was able to jump start my car. He stated battery was fine at that time. However, I just realized, my driver side window was taking lot longer to open and close than it should. With new battery, I will bring car to dealer to have the car checked. Also, since above instances, I turn off my headlights from auto mode, and also interior lights from dimming or turning off automatically to save battery from draining. 2. since I bought the car in November 2013, I have noticed that, I can hear fuel moving in the fuel tank. In my old 2000 Honda Accord, I never heard such a thing. 3. since 2012, I have gotten alignment done 3 times, but I still feel the vibration through out my car, and car feels like wobbling in the front. 4. not happy with mpg. In city, I get 9 to 11 mpg. Highway, it is just about 32 to 35 mpg as advertised and tested. 5. sometimes, when putting on the driver side seat belt, it gets stuck. I have to retract it and than I am able to secure it in seat belt clip.

- Jersey City, NJ, USA

problem #10

Nov 152015


  • 35,829 miles


The contact owns a 2013 Honda Accord. The contact stated that when the vehicle was started, a fuel odor was noticed. After inspecting the vehicle, the contact discovered that fuel was leaking. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the fuel tank line was leaking and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V297000 (fuel system, gasoline). The failure mileage was 35,829.

- Marrero, LA, USA

problem #9

Jul 222014


  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Accord. After the vehicle was parked, a fuel odor emitted in and around the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, where the technician stated that the vehicle was operating as designed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V297000 (fuel system, gasoline). The failure mileage was 10,000.

- Hemet, CA, USA

problem #8

Jun 152015


  • miles
No accident. Smell of fuel leak at all times but not able to determine source of leak. Especially noticeable after fuel is added to tank.

- Hemet, CA, USA

problem #7

May 022015

Accord 4-cyl

  • 26,111 miles


Started the engine and the message "check fuel cap" was displayed.

- Peekskill, NY, USA

problem #6

Aug 082014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 8,500 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Accord. While driving approximately 20 mph, there was a fuel odor inside the vehicle. The failure occurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 13V297000 (fuel system, gasoline). The approximate failure mileage was 8,500. Updated 01/12/14 the consumer stated the dealer stated there was no problem found. But, the odor persisted at low speeds. Updated 4/26/2016

- Homewood, IL, USA

problem #5

Nov 152014

Accord 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
Backed out of parking spot, upon shifting to drive, the rear view camera display was black except for two red lines. Drove about 60 feet then upon making a right turn I realized there was no throttle response. The engine continued to operate. Removed my foot from the throttle then reapplied my foot and the engine was then responsive to the throttle. The distance was approx. 20 feet and the time 10 seconds that the engine did not respond to the throttle. This car has many intermittent electrical problems, but this problem could be very serious in traffic.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #4

Jan 242014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 19,000 miles
Vehicle does not start easily. 3-5 ignition attempts are needed to start it every time. However, once it starts everything seems fine. The battery was checked by the dealer and found to be fine. The problem is not cold related as it occurs even at 40 F.

- Sioux Falls, SD, USA

problem #3

Jan 162013

Accord 4-cyl

  • 330 miles


On 1/16/2013 while driving the check gas cap light came on and blinked off and on three times and went out. The vehicle was parked and the gas cap was checked it was not loose. The engine malfunction light then came on when the vehicle was restarted. The dealer was contacted over the phone and a technician said this was normal and the malfunction light would go out.the malfunction light did not go out and after a couple days you could smell fuel in the car it was taken to the dealer and was found to have a faulty gas tank that was leaking at a seam. No leakage was noted under the vehicle. Dealer is replacing the gas tank under the new car warranty.

- Hertford, NC, USA

problem #2

Dec 282012


  • 1,000 miles
Came to stop at stop sign. New Honda Accord 2013 4 door suddenly tried to accelerate. I pushed down as hard as I could on the brake to stop the motion forward. It only moved a foot or two and with my wife yelling I was able to get it into neutral. Scared the life out of us. I am 51 and a financial professional. My wife is 52 and a physician. This was completely real.

- New York, NY, USA

problem #1

Nov 142012

Accord 6-cyl

  • 26 miles
2013 Honda Accord sedan, V6, touring model I stopped at the signal light at route 50 and chain bridge road; when the light changed I pressed the accelerator to leave, but nothing happened - the car was not moving or accelerating. Cars behind me honked and I pressed the accelerator more and then all of a sudden the vehicle's front tires spun a little and the car took off. This gave me a scare! this happened again 10-15 miles later as I was arriving near my home in alexandria, va. However, this issue is not causing the car to jerk, surge, or accelerate on its own; during this period of hesitation, when I need the car to accelerate, it appears to momentary die, stall, or run out of gas. I thought this was very odd, so I inspected the accelerator area, floor mats, etc. And everything appeared normal. This same incident happened on November 16, 2012, November 27, 2012, Dec 4, 2012 and Dec 11, 2012. I visited fairfax Honda service department hoping for a quick remedy. Unfortunately they were unable to duplicate the problem until the service manager and I drove the car together during my 11 Dec 2012 visit. The service manager told me this was characteristic of the 2012 Honda Accord sedan. He and I then drove a 2012 Honda Accord and I found this to be obvious when driving the 2012 Honda. I am very surprised this dangerous technical problem/issue has not been highlighted and remedied for the 2013 vehicle. I am very uncomfortable and concerned that due to the hesitation when attempting to accelerate I may be hit from the rear or hit by another vehicle due to this recurring malfunction. My wife feels this vehicle is dangerous and refuses to drive it. I have previously discussed this technical problem with Honda of America and they have opened a case file [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Alexandria, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?