Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
10 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
30,100 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2013 Honda Accord steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2013 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 4 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #67

Jun 082015

Accord 4-cyl

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The steering wheel was unable to turn when backing up for parallel parking after a few times, when practicing right before my daughter's driving test. Then I tried myself a couple time without luck that I had to pull it off. I was unable to tell anything was wrong since there are no any error lights on the instrument panel. I was able to turn it while driving forward, though. After being parked in the parking lot for some time, it began to work ok again, and it did not fail my daughter's driving test - a good thing. It really raised a big concern for me that a hidden issue of the steering wheel failure exists with my car. I really need Honda to recall it and fix it before it is too late with horrible consequences. Your help with this is greatly appreciated.

- Richmond, TX, USA

problem #66

Jul 022015

Accord

  • 49,500 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Accord. The contact stated while driving approximately 30 mph, the steering wheel seized and the power steering warning light illuminated. The failure recurred several times intermittently. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 49,500.

- Fort Myers , FL, USA

problem #65

Jun 112015

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,000 miles
Power steering failed. Updated 9/25/15 the consumer stated the vehicle failed 3 times while driving between 10 and 35 mph. Updated 12/28/2015

- Pitman, NJ, USA

problem #64

Jun 222015

Accord

  • 36,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving S on I-55 a few miles N of West memphis. As I attempted to change lanes my steering wheel was very hard to turn. I looked all over the dash & found a small light shaped like a steering wheel on the far left of the dash. Fortunately I was near an exit and was able to get to a station. Turning in & parking was almost impossible. The owners manual said to turn car off and on. This corrected the problem and I drove the approximate 200 miles to my home. I planned to get it checked out at Honda. Two days later the keyless ignition failed about ten times before finally starting. The dome lights had come on but no dash lights came on & it just beeped at me. Previously I had a low battery (listened to music too long) which failed to start but even then the dash lights lit up & flashed. It seemed like both incidents indicated an electrical or ECU problem. I drove to the dealership and reported the problem. I was told they would have to recreate the incidents. They have had my car 3 1/2 days with no word. I finally called today. Was told they couldn't recreate it so couldn't do anything! I told them I didn't feel safe driving the car. I pointed out the number of complaints listed on the arfc.com site. The service manager talked to Honda engineers who continued to contend it had to be duplicated in the computer to solve it. I stressed the safety issue and that I would not feel safe driving the car again without solving this. They are going to do more testing. An hour earlier in my trip I was on a very curvy hilly 2 lane road. I feel if this had occurred there I could easily have had a terrible accident - while I had 2 grandchildren in the back seat! there are a number of incidents like this reported. Why has something not been done?! my car has 36,500 miles and fortunately I purchased an extended warranty! I just hope we can agree on a solution.

- Jasper, AL, USA

problem #63

Jun 132015

Accord

  • 60,402 miles
Electronic power steering system has failed for the 5th time in the last month. Eps light illuminates on dashboard, total loss of steering control. Vehicle is not safe to drive. Was originally cleared by turning the car on and off, but now fails immediately upon starting vehicle. Dealership quoted $1,700 repair - this should be a recall.

- Belton, TX, USA

problem #62

May 222015

Accord 6-cyl

  • 41,534 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Accord. While driving 35 mph, the steering wheel seized and became difficult to control. The power steering warning light illuminated. The failure occurred once. The dealer diagnosed that the power steering failed. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 41,000. Updated 10/15/15 updated 05/10/16.

- Townsend, GA, USA

problem #61

May 162015

Accord

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

So this has now happened 3 times in the last few months, once about a month ago and twice last week (after having the car dropped off to fix the brake tsb that causes a squeak on turns). I will be driving down the road from aggressive to normal driving and all of a sudden I look at my dash only to see all the warning lights on. Once this happens you can see the mpg indicator has a delay, a change in behavior of the cars controls, ldw switch no longer functions, and ldw and fcw stop working. The car continues to drive but you can tell all electronics are experiencing a delay or issue with the exception of the navi and radio. Some of the lights go away and come back as you drive, and after turning the car on and off a few times all lights turn off with the exception of fcw and ldw with the "fcw system failure" message which remain, that goes away after a few hours.

- Hyde Park, MA, USA

problem #60

Jun 182015

Accord

  • 23,179 miles
The power steering light came on; and lost all power steering power. The incident happened while I was turning left. With great difficulty I was able to steer out of traffic. The symptom went away after the vehicle was turned off and turned on. The symptom again happened after about 5 minutes of driving.

- Hartsville, SC, USA

problem #59

Jun 132015

Accord

  • 32,688 miles
Had gotten back in my car after a stop at a retail store. When I turned the car on the tire pressure light was blinking, the electric power steering light was on, and the vehicle stability assist light was on. I pulled over at another store within a half mile. I got out and checked the tires for a possible flat - no problem. Turned car back on and same scenario with the 3 lights on. Only difference was the tire pressure light stopped flashing but stayed on continuously. I looked in car manual, page 6 of Honda technology reference guide, under the heading of malfunction indicators and it said, "if an indicator remains on, there may be a problem; see your dealer". I will call my car dealer in the morning. I want to state that I still had full control of my power steering. I read of others losing the power steering but mine was okay. After the second stop the 3 malfunctioning indicator lights went out.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #58

May 312015

Accord

  • 30,100 miles
I had parked the car in a parking space at dollywood in pigeon forge, Tennessee. When I came back out and started the car the light for the steering system came on and I could barely turn the steering wheel. I looked in the manual but starting and restarting the car did not solve the problem. The car was unsafe to drive. Had this occurred at speed I could not have controlled the car. I called Honda roadside assistance and they had a tow truck sent out to get the car. The tow truck company is going to take the car to a Honda dealership Monday June 1st so I will not know any more till than. I do see on the internet of people with similar complaints. I do not know if I should have reported this till after the dealer checks the car or not but after seeing similar complaints I wanted to report it if similar problems reoccur.

- Etowah, TN, USA

problem #57

May 082015

Accord

  • 33,600 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2013 Honda Accord. While driving at 30 mph, the steering wheel jerked multiple times. In addition, the steering wheel became difficult to turn. The contact had to apply force to the steering wheel in order to turn the vehicle. The power steering warning light illuminated. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 33,600.

- Groves, TX, USA

problem #56

May 132015

Accord

  • 27,452 miles
Started car, put in reverse and could not turn steering wheel in either direction. Could only steer straight. Information display issued this warning: Power steering system problem (eps). Tried the what to do when the indicator message comes on in the owners manuel several times. Didn't work, car is sitting disabled in driveway. Now it is up to us to have it towed to local dealship to find out if there is a problem with the car according to Honda Motors.

- Salyersville, KY, USA

problem #55

May 072015

Accord

  • 7,000 miles
While traveling at approximatley 45 miles per hour, my streeing wheel became very stiff and then completely locked. I turned the vehicle off and back on again which corrected the problem.

- Bayside, NY, USA

problem #54

Apr 042015

Accord 6-cyl

  • 19,500 miles
On two separate occasions my steering has gone out. 1st time was on April 4 2015 going approx. 20 miles per hour, was about to turn into a parking lot. Was totally unaware of what happen but steering got extremely hard. Had to turn the car off, pull out the manual and see what the indicator light on the dash meant. Then on April 24 2015, going approx. 75 miles per hour on the interstate it went out again. Could have caused a serious accident. I had to pull over and turn my car off and restart it. Needless to say I was a nervous wreck driving home. After this second incident is when I decided to research and see if others were having this problem and wow there are several. Its a shame this has not been a recall by now. I am more appalled by the number of people that have brought their vehicles in and have been told by the service people they cannot recreate the problem so nothing gets done. Will people need to be killed like the others car issues before this is resolved? my car just turned to 20,000 miles. I should not have issues. My car is going in on Monday for service. Lets see how this is handled.

- Luling, LA, USA

problem #53

Mar 092015

Accord

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the power steering failed and the power steering light illuminated. The failure recurred multiple times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer three times; however, the technician was unable to duplicate or diagnose the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 20,000.

- Seally, TX, USA

problem #52

Apr 112015

Accord

  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Accord. While driving at approximately 35 mph, the steering wheel seized without warning. The vehicle was towed to a dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 17,000. The VIN was not available.

- Chesterfield, NJ, USA

problem #51

Apr 132015

Accord 4-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
While exiting off an interstate highway, the power steering tightened up making it difficult to make turns especially at lower speeds. I arrived to my destination narrowly avoiding an accident. I searched for other similar failures on the internet and noticed many more incidents, hence this complaint.

- Robstown, TX, USA

problem #50

Apr 092015

Accord 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
I was driving on I 75 North near miramar exit and I felt the steering wheel hard, then I looked at the dashboard and the esp light was on. I was able to reduce speed and use all my strength to go the the side isle. Turned off the car and on again and the esp light was not there anymore. I got back my exit was less than a mile away. I exited on miramar pkwy East and the esp light came back again, I was able to stop but I couldn't turn right or left. I waited turned on and still had the problem. Waited again and still have the problem. I called triple a and had the car towed to the nearest Honda dealer and they showed what happened in their computer but it is not happening to the service techs now they are keeping the car but I suspect they won't do anything and I am really scared to drive the car now. I was lucky did not have an accident but not sure if I will next time it happens.

- Hialeah Gardens, FL, USA

problem #49

Mar 182015

Accord 6-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2013 Honda Accord. While driving at 40 mph, the steering wheel seized and excessive force on the steering wheel was required. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 41,000. Updated 5/4/15

- Youngsville, NC, USA

problem #48

Mar 162015

Accord 4-cyl

  • 19,000 miles
The electric power steering on my 2013 Honda Accord sport suddenly fail. Two of which occurred at speeds of less than 10 miles per hour, while making a left/right turns. After coming to a complete stop I was able to successfully turn off the car and restarted it to clear the problem. The third time it happened I was driving straight at 45 miles per hour, a power steering warning message flashed as the failure occurred. However on the third recurrence I tried the same the act without a correction. I then realized the car was not safe to drive and had it tow to the dealer. I also notified Honda of North America on 3-18-15 at 3:15 hrs.

- Naples, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?