Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,798 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Honda Accord electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Honda Accord Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #22

Nov 062014

Accord

  • 530 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine cranks but fails to start, or starts sluggishly with rough idle after a few seconds of cranking in cold weather. I believe this to be a fuel pump pressure problem.

- Reading, PA, USA

problem #21

Jan 102012

Accord

  • 2,200 miles
The engine seized just froze and died. This was happening intermittently when I was making any kind of sharp turn. On the second to last occurrence 4/12/15 it failed to start and was completely dead when I turned the ignition key 5 times. On the 6th, it miraculously started. When I was pulling into the dealership the following day to have it looked at the engine seized again and it was stuck for a scary moment. The service dept immediately open the hood and pointed out*** a known common manufacturing flaw near the battery, where the bolt for the battery randomly loses contact with the source. He showed me were it "wobbles out of place- seizing the entire car completely!! this happened several times when I made uturns, turned corners, and pulled in or out of parking spots. How could this potentially deadly flaw be ignored??!! I was terrified! the real horror is that this very dealership did an oil change the week prior and no one corrected this problem!!! I bought this car brand new from them in Nov. 2014.!!! this is true negligence. I am furious. I had brought the car in twice prior to this to have the car looked over because it is my fourth new Accord, and I new it was not right within the first month. Please help. I am afraid for my safety and life. I am terrified to drive this car. [xxx] car was leased in late November 2014 from cramer Honda of venice and they have been unwilling to address my complaints in a satisfactory way. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Venice, FL, USA

problem #20

Nov 092014

Accord

  • 5,700 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while driving at 45 mph, the check electric warning light illuminated. The contact noticed that there was damage to the wiring system on the motor caused by squirrels. The vehicle was towed to a dealer. The technician stated that the motor needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 5,700. The VIN was unavailable.

- Lutz, FL, USA

problem #19

Jun 302014

Accord

  • 100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a new Honda Accord in May 2014 in austin, tx. About one month later, the forward collision warning and lane departure warning systems failed. The service department at the dealer told me the cameras were not able to handle the heat in Texas. They suggested a fix of turning the ac on to cool the front window. After several tries that seemed to fix it, but it was only very temporary. These systems are advertised to be life-saving safety features, but they still don't work after more than 6 months. Is there a recall in the works?

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #18

Oct 192014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 3,002 miles
We smelled fuel when driving to church on a Sunday. Thinking it was some leftover fuel splashed, we continued but then the smell became really intense. So we turned around and returned toward home. Upon entering our street, suddenly the vehicle stalled totally out and came to a stop in middle of the road! we rolled it over to the side, it is a neighborhood street; then started car again and went slowly downhill to the house; car stalled again just outside our house, we could not get it into driveway, very strong fuel smell; we pushed it to get it parked on the street. Tried again later that day to start the car but it wouldn't start, very strong fuel smell and gasoline leaking onto the street. Car towed to Honda dealer next day; after technicians examined the car they concluded "rodent damage" to the fuel line leading to the fuel tank. They would not cover any of the damage as it "wasn't manufacturer defect." Also called national Honda customer service and opened a case; but they would not agree either to cover anything. We were very lucky we weren't on a highway or interstate when this suddenly stalled out, we could have been rear ended as the car suddenly stopped with no warning! the fuel line last portion leading into the tank is made of rubber, it is not metal or hard plastic like the rest of the line and therefore subject to something sharp puncturing it--which is a defective design in our view. The new part they put on is same as the old, the same thing could happen again. There is no shield under the fuel tank area to keep things from underneath getting up in there. Honda should at least cover the cost of the repair (we paid $684.09), car is almost brand new. And we believe this is a safety hazard, car can shut off with no warning. Thank you for your help.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #17

Feb 142014

Accord

  • 1,200 miles
On multiple occasions (roughly once a month), I have come back to my parked car to find that the trunk is open. This has happened in multiple locations, including at home where my key is hanging on a hook and not in my pocket (eliminated accidental presses as a cause). Honda service center replaced the trunk latch and cable, but the problem persists.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #16

Aug 052014

Accord

  • 150 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Trunk lid pops open shortly after driving off...red light on dashboard comes on...I have to stop the car and close the lid manually. Same thing happens erratically in parked condition..have noticed trunk lid open after returning to the parking lot happens randomly but fairly often....have checked my key for proper operation. It opens the trunk lid after pressing for a second or so.

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #15

Mar 032014

Accord

  • 1,000 miles
I bought my 2014 Honda civic exl new in Feb 2014, and ever since new the TPMS light has been turning on, even though the vehicle has been updated several times with the latest software at the purchasing dealership. Each time after the vehicle was serviced, the lights came back on. The TPMS light comes on at different intervals, at different speeds and over different types of roadways. I then contacted Honda America to resister a case number with them. Honda America instructed me to have my vehicle serviced again by the original dealership, overnight, so their technicians can work in concert with the dealerships technicians. Whatever they did, did not correct the situation as the light came on again within a week. Honda America then had me bring my vehicle to a different dealership, again overnight. Once again the light came on within a week. Honda America now tells me, after 10 months of ownership and numerous attempts to remedy this issue, there is nothing they can do to remedy the malfunctioning TPMS system in my vehicle.

- Wadsworth, IL, USA

problem #14

Oct 232014

Accord

  • 6,300 miles
On October 22, 2014 I drove from my home to my office, approx 30 minutes. The temp outside was about freezing or high 30's. by this time the car would not get hot even on highest setting of heat. It was blowing cold air. I called gwinnettt place Honda where I purchased the vehicle on June 1 2014. The dealer had the vehicle for over two hours only to tell me there is nothing wrong with the car. On Thursday November 6, the heating system was blowing cold air again. On Saturday I still felt cold air, so I called gwinnett place Honda. They advised me to go to any dealer, so I was closet to Honda mall of ga. They said they could not find anything but, would need to have the car for a longer time. I took it back to gwinnett place as it was closet to my home. On the ride in which is about 20 minutes or so, the heat was still not hot.. Honda has had the vehicle since Monday Nov 10,2014. At the time of this complaint, I have not heard from Honda regarding the status. It's 8:30pm est on Thursday Nov 13' 2014.

- Johns Creek, GA, USA

problem #13

Aug 072014

Accord

  • 5,234 miles
When a car has air bags you never know if they work unless you have a crash. With fcw, if you drive safely the alarm should never go off. With our car the fcw alarm rarely sounds but sometimes it will if you were going about 25 mph or less and a car close ahead would be stopping or turning right. Most times our fcw would not sound but sometimes you got false signals and you wondered why. After two dealer visits and one for 3 1/2 days there has been no change except now we do not get false signals. The Honda literature says of fcw "..can sense the presence of vehicles in front of you and issues alerts if it calculates you are at risk of a collision.." that is why we bought the car and what we expect. After the second dealer visit and there was no change, the dealer service manager and I drove our vehicle and at times dangerously close to a vehicle ahead including large trucks and the fcw alarm did not sound. We tried a very similar new car off the lot like mine and drove it the same way. The fcw did not work as expected. Per a sheet the dealer gave me for fcw, it states that it uses radar with a range of up to 393 ft. If a car is going up to 75 mph with a car length (20') for every 10 mph fcw should sound the alarm up to 150' and going faster than the car ahead. Ours will not do that at any speed below 75 and getting too close going faster than the one ahead until going about 25 or under then not always. I say our fcw does not work. When discussing this with the dealer and a factory rep the service manager now says "it is your perception fcw does not work." I say fcw does not work consistently and at higher speeds and buyers are being deceived. With self driving cars and acc is should be possible for Honda to fix or replace our fcw so that it does work and purported. There should be a recall to warn others and fix it. I welcome inspectors to test our fcw system.

- Ferndale, WA, USA

problem #12

Sep 012014

Accord

  • 2,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Push-button start/stop type vehicle ("keyless") when vehicle is turned off in drive, the car rolls.

- Orland , CA, USA

problem #11

Mar 192014

Accord

  • 240 miles
The car is not getting the advertised gas mileage. I am only getting 21 to 22 mpg which stink. The car backs up when in park also. Please look into this please. The bottom under the car is not finished off. One other thing is that the backup camera is not very clear and you cannot see properly and have to get out of your car to check all the time. The back end is up too high.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #10

Aug 262014

Accord 4WD

  • 33 miles
Just purchased my 2014 Honda Accord LX. I live in a rural area with many small hills. While driving home I noticed the low beam headlights seem to be out of Focus, not illuminating objects on the side of the road within 25 feet from the vehicle, nor can you see street signs within that distance. Worse, when going up and down the small hills the roadway visibility changes rapidly depending on the angle of the car, often dropping the visibility to a scary 10-50 feet at 55 mph. Yes, you can use you high beams to help "if conditions permit". nevertheless, when this happens it is very unnerving and undoubtedly unsafe! I did notify Honda America and open a case #N012014-08-2801669, however, I was informed that nothing could be done, as that was the design of the headlights. This is very unsafe and needs to be addressed quickly!!!!

- Apple Valley, CA, USA

problem #9

Jul 222014

Accord 6-cyl

  • 3,000 miles
I had just left the dealership after they cleared a "fcw system failed" message and I entered the interstate. While traveling in the lane adjacent to the far left at a speed of approximately 68 mph, the car violently jerked, the fcw system failed message returned, all emergency icons were illuminated on the dash, and my car lost acceleration in traffic. Despite repeated attempts to accelerate the vehicle, the engine had no response and was sitting at idle while I decelerated in the middle of traffic. The vehicle was returned to the dealership where it underwent 3 days of service for what was determined to be a failed accelerator position sensor. The day after picking the car up from the service department, the vehicle was being driven on the highway at approximately 65 mph. The car, without symptoms or warning, again violently jerked, lost acceleration, and displayed the same system failed message. The car has been at the dealership for 8 days and the ECU and main wiring harness are being replaced.

- Saint Peters, MO, USA

problem #8

Jul 082014

Accord

  • 2,255 miles
Came out one morning to go to work and found all four car windows and sunroof slightly opened. The w J nodes and sunroof opened by themselves. Unfortunately, there was a severe thunderstorm that night which rain entered the car. It's a 2014 Honda Accord. I googled the problem and found out that this has been happening going back 7 years that people windows and sunroof were opened without them doing so. It's been occurring in Honda and Acura models. They try to say that we must have done it by the remote; but I don't use the remote, I use the car handle to open the door and the black button to lock and secure the door. I believe this is a manufacturer issue and not a consumer issue.

- Fairmount Heights, MD, USA

problem #7

Feb 122014

Accord

  • 0 miles
I can't hear the turn signal clicker. Dealer said all of these Honda Accord are like that. If I make a wide type turn, the turn signal will not shut off and I may have driven a mile or two before I realize the signal is still on. I do wear new hearing aids. I have never had this problem with any other car I have owned is there a gov't standard for the clicker sound?

- Little Canada, MN, USA

problem #6

Jan 072014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 300 miles
Honda Accord ex-L 2014 will shut-off and coast to a stop if the "start push button" is pressed while driving. The car should be in park before pressing the start button has any affect !! while driving with the automatic transmission in drive, I placed my hand on my right knee and accidentally hit the "start push button" and to my surprise the car shut-off and coasted to a stop. I could not restart until I put the transmission in park.. dangerous !! I was leaving my house with the automatic transmission in drive when my hand going to my right knee hit the start button, the car stopped!. fortunately I was going less than 5mph so no accident. I spoke to the dealer and was told, that's the way it is - just like if you remove your keys while driving. However you can not remove your keys unless the car is in park and the key is turned from run.

- Mason, OH, USA

problem #5

Jun 032014

Accord 6-cyl

  • 5,373 miles
Accident occurred at South high school road and West 25th St. Indianapolis, Indiana. I was driving North inside lane of 5 lane high school road. Driver at fault crossed 2 North bound lanes for South bound middle turning lane from w 25th street which tees into high school road. I broad-sided driver in back side door/fender/trunk areas. The airbag exploded and sheared the skin off my right under arm. I was taken to the hospital and continue receiving treatment from my doctor. This crash incident should be included in the takata air bag investigation conducted by NHTSA and Honda should be notified of this safety defect. Updated 1/22/2015

- Avon, IN, USA

problem #4

Mar 162014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 65 miles
Cars forward collision warning system is not working consistently, nor correctly. When it works it goes off at about half a car length only, no matter how you adjust the alarm to go off, one car length, two car length, or three car length. I have reported this to Honda, and I do have a case number, and Honda did send a area manager to check this out. I still feel that the system does not work, it is not a dealer problem, this is our fifth Honda. If more cars with this system are produced and let out on the highways there will be some massive accidents. Please help us correct this problem.

- Winters, CA, USA

problem #3

Jan 012014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 600 miles
TPMS light comes on regularly. Tire pressure is inflated to specs. Dealer has had the car four times and resets the setting. Service manager informs me this 2014 CRV model has a well known history of this malfunction and they have not been able to resolve the problem. I told him Honda should provide owners with a loaner auto until they come with a fix, but he says they have not authorized this interim solution. Have had the car four months. Too long to drive a car with this serious defect!

- El Paso, TX, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?