Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,378 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Honda Accord steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Honda Accord Owner Comments

problem #18

Jul 012016

Accord

  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Honda Accord. While driving various speeds, the vehicle accelerated independently without warning. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was braking independently without warning. In addition, the steering wheel stiffened and turned right and left independently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the cause of the failure was undetermined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 18,000.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #17

Jun 132016

Accord

  • 60,000 miles
The power steering stopped working after parallel parking making the vehicle inoperative. At highway speeds this would have been extremely dangerous

- Benton, KY, USA

problem #16

Apr 222016

Accord

  • 26,975 miles
My 2014 Honda Accord ex-L was parallel parked in a neighborhood, I turned it on and started to turn the steering wheel to the left to exit the parking space. The first turn of the steering wheel had no problem, but as I pressed on the accelerator I moved 5 feet forward and then I heard a series of clicking noises coming from the dashboard and the steering became impossibly difficult to turn, and the electronic power steering (eps) light on the dashboard illuminated. I tried to turn my vehicle off and on again, but every time I turned the car on, there were a series of clicks and the steering would remain extremely difficult to turn with the eps light staying lit. I had to have the car towed, and the Honda dealership told me the eps control unit failed and was replaced. I had driven over 100 miles that day on busy highways at high speeds and if this failure would have happened any other time throughout the day I most certainly would have gotten into an accident.

- Saint Charles, IL, USA

problem #15

Apr 072016

Accord

  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Power steering failed had to while taking a turn. I had to turn off engine & restart it to make it work again

- Irving, TX, USA

problem #14

Sep 022015

Accord

  • 12,000 miles
Loss of power steering while turning at a curve. Well known road, in my neighborhood, up a hill. Drive it daily. To avoid hitting, climbed on curb, , took entire strength I had to put vehicle back in straight line. As a result car suffered minor damage, I pulled some muscles I never knew I had. I barely avoided hitting the a billboard sign head on. I am grateful for there being no pedestrians on the sidewalk, as it is close to an elementary school. Fluid leaked from car afterwards. I never had issues with the car prior, had it for a year, a brand new lease. Honda dealership said all the damage is from the impact to curb. Cannot find faults. Dangerous situation.

- Laguna Niguel , CA, USA

problem #13

Sep 092015

Accord

  • 20,100 miles
The power steering failed while driving almost causing a collision. Had to restart the car to have the power steering kick back on. Has failed multiple times since requiring multiple restarts to (5 or six restarts of the car to kick on) took it to the dealership (grainger Honda-savannah ga) on 9/10/2015. Told me they could not reproduce the symptom through 50+ miles of driving. No further action would be take and they would wash the car and give me a tank of gas for my trouble. This is a huge safety concern for my family.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #12

Jul 122015

Accord

  • 18,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I started my car in park while on a hill with emergency brake on. The car started moving a second or two before I released the emergency brake. Immediately, I lost my power steering and brakes. I stopped the car by putting on the emergency brake and putting the trans mission in park. The total trip was about 100 yards. I noticed that 5 or 6 warning lights were on including the battery. Then I quickly turned the engine off. I waited for about two minutes and restarted the engine and embarked on a 25 mile trip home without further incident.

- East Meadow, NY, USA

problem #11

Jul 072015

Accord

  • 20,220 miles
I was driving home from work and without warning I felt my vehicle difficult to turn as I prepared to make a left turn. I looked at the instrument panel and notice my electric power steering indicator light on. I applied excessive effort to get the vehicle to turn and manage to stop in a parking lot where, I turned the vehicle off and started the engine again correcting the problem for a short period. The next morning while driving to work I encountered the same situation almost causing me to hit a vehicle and crash into a pond. Updated 9/15/15.... updated 09/30/15

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #10

Jan 102012

Accord

  • 2,200 miles
The engine seized just froze and died. This was happening intermittently when I was making any kind of sharp turn. On the second to last occurrence 4/12/15 it failed to start and was completely dead when I turned the ignition key 5 times. On the 6th, it miraculously started. When I was pulling into the dealership the following day to have it looked at the engine seized again and it was stuck for a scary moment. The service dept immediately open the hood and pointed out*** a known common manufacturing flaw near the battery, where the bolt for the battery randomly loses contact with the source. He showed me were it "wobbles out of place- seizing the entire car completely!! this happened several times when I made uturns, turned corners, and pulled in or out of parking spots. How could this potentially deadly flaw be ignored??!! I was terrified! the real horror is that this very dealership did an oil change the week prior and no one corrected this problem!!! I bought this car brand new from them in Nov. 2014.!!! this is true negligence. I am furious. I had brought the car in twice prior to this to have the car looked over because it is my fourth new Accord, and I new it was not right within the first month. Please help. I am afraid for my safety and life. I am terrified to drive this car. [xxx] car was leased in late November 2014 from cramer Honda of venice and they have been unwilling to address my complaints in a satisfactory way. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Venice, FL, USA

problem #9

Mar 102015

Accord

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Honda Accord. While driving in reverse at low speeds, the power steering would malfunction and the steering wheel became very difficult to turn. The contact indicated that the failure was intermittent. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who was unable to duplicate the failure. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, who was able to duplicate the failure but was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 20,000.

- Goldsboro, NC, USA

problem #8

May 012014

Accord

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

To: NHTSA I had purchased a brand new Honda Accord in March 2014 and soon after I noticed a rattling noise in the steering wheel. I took it for repair to the dealership and they took me on a test drive to hear the noise and they attempted to fix it without success. The rattling noise is not always present and it comes unpredictably therefore every time I go to the dealership they want me to drive it and replicate the noise which is sometimes not possible. I have recordings of the noise and they would not accept that to fix the car. A representative from Honda corporate office had personally told me that it is a defect and they have no resolution for it and they would notify me when their engineering figures out a fix. I hired a lemon lawyer a few months ago to help me. I am infuriated that Honda is offering me to settle by paying me "some monies for my trouble? without going to trial but they still are not willing to fix or replace this defective car. I find it unacceptable that Honda is allowing me to drive this car even though I expressed safety concerns and even worse they try to put a price tag to settle for my safety instead of acknowledging and resolving this issue. I have a trial scheduled for September 22- 23, 2015, I feel like this appointment is too far and the more I drive this car the higher risk it posses for my safety. My experience with Honda has been an appalling one so far and I want to express my frustration with the process. After Honda?S history and penalty of wrongdoing to the public I would assume that they take more aggressive measures addressing safety issues before they cause harm. I would like your assistance and involvement in this battle with Honda and trying to make them realize that they can"T just pay individuals money and brush safety issues under the carpet.

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #7

Mar 092015

Accord

  • 16,000 miles
Upon being handed the keys to my brand new 2014 Honda Accord I noticed a lot of scratches near the doors. I thought it odd since it's a keyless entry car. The salesperson agreed that there shouldn't be scratches, and said those would probably come out, and offered me a courtesy "buffing." After taking possession of my new car, I noticed a clunking noise when backing out of my driveway and pulling onto the street. I also noticed it took more work to steer the car than my other car which I bought new five years ago. I also noticed some tape on both sides of the front bumper that hadn't been removed. In addition, the trunk lid wasn't adjusted properly, so it continually falls down when I'm at the trunk area. Now I am wondering if my new car was not only not "detailed, " but not properly inspected before "delivery." Furthermore, at 16,000 miles, it now has a constant popping noise in the driver's side of the front end. The air conditioning has also stopped working on the driver's side (dual climate control).

- Orland, CA, USA

problem #6

Jan 072015

Accord 4-cyl

  • 7,497 miles
I was getting service done on my 2007 Honda civic recall www.consumerreports.org/cro/news/2014/03/free-engine-replacement-for-2006-2009-Honda-civics/index.htm. I was given 2014 Honda Accord as a loaner vehicle for the period my car was getting fixed at the dealership. I was able to drive this vehicle without any problems for 3 days. However, on Jan 6th 2015, we had snow in our area and the temperature outside was below freezing. I had the vehicle in my garage and when I left for work on Jan 7th, I had backed out the car from the garage and when I turned on to our street, I had noticed the steering wheel a bit stiff. I thought it was the snow on the ground that had made it little difficult to turn. As I proceeded to drive on our street at speed less than 10 mph, I came to the first turn that I make to get to the street leading up to the main street. As I tried to make the right turn, I noticed that the vehicle was difficult to turn and due to snow it started skidding to my left. At speed of less than 15 mph and steering wheel locked, the vehicle skid to the left pavement. It caused minor scratches on the front left rim and caused the alignment to be off. I took the vehicle to the dealership as it was a loaner vehicle and dealership proceeded with getting 'front suspension' and 'steering gear & linkage' replaced through my insurance. It cost me $750 as deductible cost that I've paid to the dealership. Upon researching this event further on the internet, I found that similar complaint is under investigation for 2013 (my loaner vehicle is 2014 model) Honda Accord that had surfaced in Nov 2014 (www-ODI.NHTSA.dot.gov/acms/cs/jaxrs/download/doc/ucm466318/inoa-PE14033-1232.pdf). I feel that this issue with 2013 Honda Accord has/will-be continued with 2014 Honda Accord as the symptoms I had observed were similar to those 2013 Honda Accord.

- Piscataway, NJ, USA

problem #5

Jan 232015

Accord

  • 22,000 miles
As I was changing lane at around 45 mph on a slightly bending ramp (arthursburg rd) to a two-lane highway (taconic state parkway South bound, New York), my power steering suddenly stopped working. The steering wheel has jerked to the left/right for about 15 seconds. My vehicle ran from the ramp lane to the side of the inner lane. I was trying to steer away from the inner lane to avoid a clash with a moving SUV in the inner lane, but the power steering was not working at all. Initially, it seems the brake did not work either. At the final moment, I pressed the brake as hard as I could to avoid a clash with the SUV in inner lane. My car stopped. Luckily, there was not any vehicle at outer lane. All cars behind me noticed the situation and stopped. Otherwise, a major accident would occur.

- Poughkeepsie, NY, USA

problem #4

Oct 062014

Accord

  • miles
This is the fourth time that I have brought my vehicle to the dealer to be inspected. I finally got my car inspected a third time after contacting Honda corporate. The steering wheel had to be reset. However, the vehicle still does not drive straight. After an alignment and the steering wheel reset, the vehicle still pulls to the right. I have contacted Honda corporate and they are really useless. Their motto "helpful Honda" is the biggest load hot air ever. They are having someone from Honda corporate come to inspect the car now. But they refuse to work with me to take the car back, even though this is a major safety issue and this is the fourth time for it to be brought for service. The car is only 7 months old and has 7000 miles. All Honda had to say was to contact a third party. Heplful, was nothing close to the service and treatment I received from Honda so far.

- Canoga Park, CA, USA

problem #3

Jun 232014

Accord

  • 1,000 miles
After a couple of months of driving my new 2014 Honda, I felt the car swaying and pulling to the right. It was difficult for me to keep the car driving straight. I took the car in to be inspected in August because the pulling became very severe even when driving 30mph I could feel it. They said the alignment was off and readjusted the alignment. The car drove much better. A month later now I feel the car start to pull to the right again. Not as bad as before but still noticeable. I tried to take it in and the dealership drove it around the block and said it was fine. I tried to explain it to them but they said its from the crown in the road. None of my other cars have had this problem. I have contact Honda corporate and waiting to be contacted. I had to go into the dealership and request the service director because I felt that this is a major safety issue and was not being taken serious.

- Canoga Park, CA, USA

problem #2

Oct 152012

Accord 6-cyl

  • 300 miles
I purchased this car new. And after a few weeks, I realized that the steering was pulling the car to the left, especially on the highway where it would take left curves in the road unassisted by me. I brought it back to the dealer 4 times, they gave it a few alignments, and since the problem still exists, they deny that there is any problem at all. The car is definitely a lemon, and I am wondering if other 2014 Honda Accord owners are experiencing a similar problem with the steering. This is a dangerous condition as I must be constantly vigilant or the car will go off the road to the left. I am trying to get some justice through the NY lemon law because Honda ha taken my money and delivered to me a defective, dangerous car.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #1

May 032014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 8 miles
Car is pulling to the left at moderate to high speeds and it's driving me crazy because I travel 90% highway and it's not a safe situation. The car is a 2014 Accord ex-L 4 with only 1160 miles. I'm beginning to suspect the Goodyear tires that came with it as I drove the V6 version which comes with michelins and I didn't experience any pulling. I also drove another new ex-L 4 cyl with Goodyear tires and it pulled just like mine does. It's not pulling because of the crown in the road. I've been driving cars for 20 years and never experienced anything like this. Been to shop under warranty three times. 1) adjusted tire pressure 2) full alignment 3) fresh set of Goodyear fuel max tires. I don't think these are good tires but they are oem.

- Eureka, MO, USA

Not what you are looking for?