Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
105,007 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Honda CR-V electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Honda CR-V Owner Comments

problem #14

Oct 182016

CR-V

  • 172,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Honda CR-V. while driving 25 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The failure recurred when driving over a bump. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The technician stated that the vehicle was previously serviced per NHTSA campaign number: 02V120000 (electrical system). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 172,000.

- Rochester, MI, USA

problem #13

Sep 022016

CR-V

  • miles
When vehicle is running, and in motion, the engine will suddenly stop. Once stopped, I can start it right back up. Touching the keys in the ignition switch may cause the same behavior.

- Lincoln, NE, USA

problem #12

May 012016

CR-V

  • 200,000 miles
See this link for full detail: www.visualimpressions.ca/switch/ my car cut out without warning on the freeway--repeatedly. After much false repair and frustration, I found above link describing faulty ignition switch that Honda apparently knows about but does nothing about. I contacted local Honda dealer and they said no recall.

- Salinas, CA, USA

problem #11

Aug 252014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 121,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am filing a formal complain due to I have brought my car onto the dealership Aug 7, 2014 due to my car will stall in the middle of the road. I just replace the battery 07/26/2013 I have brought my car onto the dealership and they are claiming that there is nothing wrong. They keep it overnight and when I picked it up after 5 days it will stall again, I am trying to call the service manager in diamond Honda glendale and they said manager is on vacation. I called corporate over Honda in torrance ca. According to the case manager who will handling my case they will do further investigation. In my experience I have never been neglected by the dealership. They check on the system that there is nothing wrong. But I keep telling them to check it carefully what if something I got involve in an accident. Would I just be a part of NHTSA statistics when fatality results. My car has a problem and my impression I have the car maybe it is the car itself. It will not show yet in the system, because I am not yet filling a formal complain. I am addressing you this issues due to prevent further accident can happen on the road. I cant battle this dealership by myself I just need you helped and letting them know or Honda corporate that there is a problem in my car. Thank you

- Los Angeles , CA, USA

problem #10

Aug 302012

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 175,000 miles
This letter is a follow-up to Honda regarding a letter I had submitted on February 26, 2014. June 10, 2014 I was contacted by a Honda customer service representative regarding the letter outlined below and was told that there was no assistance available from Honda despite safety concerns. I was also told by the local Honda dealership that there have been issues with ignition/igniters with Honda crvs (especially the 98 CRV which included a recall in 2002 for this very issue) and that I can go ahead and replace the ignition switch at a cost of approximately $200 plus labor (for a known defect). I had this work done approximately a year and a half ago and the issue continues as the vehicle will shut down while driving and will restart after sits. Unfortunately, this is a vehicle that not only do I drive on open highways but my daughter drives as well. In light of the recent events with a similar issue with GM vehicles, I would ask that my situation be given additional consideration.

- Chalfont, PA, USA

problem #9

Mar 052012

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
Night time driving hazard this is a definite electrical safety problem: I experience a complete loss of lights when I switch to high beam: >(1) my headlights turn off >(2) the hi-beam never turns on a complete black-out I was on a sharp curve in my first incident when I flicked to hi-beam. Fortunately my driving experience kept me out of an accident.

- Birmingham, MI, USA

problem #8

Dec 102011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

1.-3. have been happening slightly for years...when I asked, it seemed I would get the same old answer, older cars have quirks, don't use a big key chain(I never have)... 1. has happened on & off for years...my will get stuck in the ignition, not going left or right 2. driving & the gauges( speedometer...)jump, drop than go back to normal. 3. will start up for a sec, then turns off. Occurred on Saturday evening 12/10/2011. Had car towed after trying to have it jumped to no avail 4. engine wont turn on/over. On Sunday, 12/11/2011 in the morning, I tried my CRV to see if would turn over, & it started right-up. While driving back to an auto shop by my house the following happened. 5. stalls when idling...stuck in traffic, then got it run again. 6. stalled when driving! very scary!...to be safe got another tow.

- Springfield, VA, USA

problem #7

Dec 012010

CR-V

  • 146,000 miles
My wife called around 8:15pm on Wednesday 12-01-2010. She told me her car just stopped on the road. She gave me info of her whereabouts. I was only about 5 minutes away thank goodness. As I approached her vehicle I saw in my horrified state her car stalled 30 to 40 feet from the nearest stop light on the far left lane. She was able to stay on an island in the middle of the busy street with my 5 year old daughter!. I parked my car to their right and ran across the street when it was cleared. My brother was behind her with his car with emerg. Lamps on. My wife also had her emerg. Lamps on and I tried starting the car. You could hear it start up but the engine would not kick on. With the help of my brother in law I finally put car in neutral through that bypass switch and we pushed it to the other side of the lane to the right where we could be out of harms way of the violent on coming traffic. I had a close call on the last lane on the right when a on coming car nearly hit the car and my brother in law who was pushing in the back. I called a mechanic I knew a he showed up about 10-15 minutes. He asked for what exactly happened and my wife told him the car just stopped and stalled out of no where. She said the engine and battery indicator lights went on as well. She turned off the ignition and tried to start the CRV again and she says alot mort indicating lights turned on but can't remember which ones. My mechanic looked under the hood and told me to start up the car. I started it and low and behold it started up! from the story my wife told him he instantly blamed the ignition wire>>">". I told him to come with me to kragens but he said "no, you can only get it at the dealers. I had talked to co-workers and classmates and one said to look for safety issues online while I had one classmate say he had a similar problem with his Acura, the luxury brand for Honda! my wife's ride is a Honda CRV 98. Very unsafe situation that my wife and my 5 year old daughter survived! }: [[

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #6

Jun 212010

CR-V

  • 112,000 miles
Without warning our 1998 Honda CRV (112K miles) died one afternoon while wife was taking kids to the pool. There was no warning signs or dash lights to warn of a problem. The engine stopped. Fortunately she was waiting for the light to change at an intersection with no traffic behind her. Vehicle started again after a minute and she was able to get it to the pool lot. After a few attempts, engine would start, but just caught off. Vehicle was towed to local mechanic who first assumed it was a bad distributor. After reviewing possible causes on internet, our mechanic found complaints about faulty ignition switches. Fortunately this was the problem and could be replaced. Honda dealer said they had replaced 4 of these switches in the last 4 weeks. Prior to this car ran fine, except one morning my wife discovered when she turned the key in the ignition, the dash lights flickered and there was a series of rapid clicks before engine started. This was several months before this incident. Mechanic has replaced the defective switch and car starts and runs fine. Honda should warn owners of older model CRV's that this switch should be replaced after 100K miles. We were lucky car was not moving in traffic when this happened, as you have little control when engine shuts off and steering is difficult and dangerous.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #5

Jan 042010

CR-V

  • 130,000 miles
1998 Honda CRV stalls at highway speeds and at city speeds... highway speeds are particularly dangerous in that should I have been overtaking a vehicle when mine stalled it could have created a horrific accident and fatalities started at about 130,000 km happened 4 times without notice. Ignition switch was failing... replaced at a cost of $65 for the part plus 1 hour labor @ !00. Plus shop supplies and taxes. The old part is available.

- Surrey, 00, USA

problem #4

Jan 142009

CR-V

  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Several years ago on mycarstate.com I found information that was helpful with my 1998 Honda CR-V. but I haven't specifically seen information about this "next" issue. For the past year or so, on occasion, I can't get my car key out of the ignition switch. The car will not turn all the way off. I can't get the key to turn all the way to the left. If I restart the car, put it in any gear, move the car slightly (even an inch), turn the car off again, then I can remove the key. Sometimes it takes a few minutes to do all this, so there is no leaving the car immediately. Where this becomes a big issue is when I valet park the car. The valet's can't get the key out, therefore they either have to park my car near than and watch or park it elsewhere and I take my chances on the car not being entered by someone else. I'm 2 hours away from a Honda dealer, I think. I'll try to find a dealer this week, as the problem seems to get worse in this colder weather. Any help would be appreciated.

- Hayesville, NC, USA

problem #3

Dec 092008

CR-V

  • 124,100 miles
I am the owner of a 1998 Honda CR-V, which I purchased new. The vehicle had no serious performance issues until September 2008. At this time my daughter, who was driving the vehicle, began to experience isolated occurrences during which the CR-V would stall while in motion. These incidents were at first infrequent. My daughter took the vehicle to a local garage. There, the mechanics replaced the battery, believing that to be the problem. However, these incidents persisted, resulting in the CR-V being taken to two different garages in the statesboro, Georgia area. Mechanics had difficulty in diagnosing the trouble because of the irregularity of the quixotic events. During the week of December 8, 2008, the stalling of the vehicle became more persistent, prompting my daughter to return the vehicle to the local garage once again. Upon further research of the matter, the mechanics informed her that the problem was the CR-V's key lock ignition switch, and that the particular item fit the paramters of a Honda recall item. My daughter scheduled an appointment for December 13, 2008 at the nearest Honda dealer, savannah Honda, which was two hours away. However, on December 9, 2008, the CR-V experienced this problem three times. The final stalling-out occurrence resulted in the vehicle's inability to be restarted. The entirety of this event was occasioned on a major highway. The vehicle had to be towed to the nearest garage which, as noted on the attached invoice, was statesboro garage. There, mechanics replaced the key lock ignition switch before the precarious operation of the vehicle could lead to still more disastrous mishaps. This recall item resulted in a total bill of $245.77 plus the cost of towing. Though a Honda owner, I have never received any notification of this particular recall. This particular problem is to be considered very serious, and could have resulted in loss of life. I await your response to this very serious matter.

- Pittston, PA, USA

problem #2

Jun 172008

CR-V

  • 97,000 miles
I am complaining about an ignition problem on a 98 Honda CRV. My car has 97,000 miles on it. I am filing this complaint because Honda should have informed every owner that these switches were failing on almost all of their vehicles. This causes your car to stall randomly in traffic. It is a hazard. We owners deserved to know that this ignition switch was failing on all their cars. I would have replaced it before it stalled permanently in downtown ironwood if I had been informed. It is not expensive to repair but the symptoms are a mystery to any mechanic who has not read about this problem. I was fortunate enough to find a web page posted by a kind soul who explained what was happening to all these Honda. www.visualimpressions.ca/switch/ I hope you can kick Honda in the pants and make them inform their owner and just as importantly their dealers. Can you believe, their dealers have not been informed.

- Ironwood, MI, USA

problem #1

May 172005

CR-V

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 1998 Honda CRV. She states that the mechanic is unable to find a problem with her vehicle. But while she is driving it doesn't matter what speed car will shut off. She has seen other complaints on NHTSA website for this problem.

- Orlando, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?