Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.1

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,225 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Honda CR-V AC / heater problems

AC / heater problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #26

Jul 132011

CR-V

  • 97,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the air conditioner malfunctioned due to a faulty A/C compressor. The contact did not take the vehicle to a dealer or mechanic. The contact called the manufacturer and the manufacturer stated that the air conditioner was not a safety related issue so there was nothing they could do to assist with repairs. The failure mileage was 97,000.

- Ijamsville, MD, USA

problem #25

Apr 222011

CR-V

  • miles
I called Honda about my air condtioning system and did as they said. I brought my car to an accredited Honda dealership and had it diagnosed (which I had to pay out of my own pocket). They quoted me $4,000. I contacted Honda usa and after three month I finally heard back from them, I informed them that I was not the first to have this problem, that I had gone online and found that I was not the only Honda owner who have had there air conditioning system break. The Honda representative told me that they can not go by what I read on the internet. Which is true to a point but I think they had have many complaints about this problem already because the representative use the same description I have read about the air conditioning unit, which was "air conditioning unit has cracked causing shards of metal to plug up the unit, causing a complete replacement of the entire air conditioning unit. Honda usa quoted me $3,991 to fix my A/C with a deadline of 60 days to accept or they would recind the "discount" offer. I know A/C problems is not a safety issue but I feel that Honda knew or knows about this problem and should recall or show there loyal owners that they care. Until such time I am now a former Honda customer.

- Riverside , CA, USA

problem #24

May 102011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
Honda CRV 2002 ac went out about 2 months ago. I was told the ac compressor need to be replace along with receiver drier and orifice tube. It will cost around $2500. Honda of America knows that have a problem with it.

- Murfreesboro, NC, USA

problem #23

Jun 282011

CR-V

  • 133,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that while driving approximately 65 mph, a banging noise could be heard coming from the air conditioner. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostics, where the technicians stated that the compressor was deteriorating internally and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 133,000.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #22

Mar 202011

CR-V

  • 176,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the air conditioner compressor failed causing the serpentine belt to become faulty. While driving 45 mph, the contact stated that the vehicle suddenly stalled without warning. In 2005, the contact replaced the entire air condition system however, the vehicle continued to stall. The dealer advised the contact to bring the vehicle in for diagnostic testing but informed her that she would be responsible for payment. The manufacturer informed the contact that they would not be able to provide her with any additional assistance since the vehicle was no longer under warranty. The current and failure mileages were 176,000.

- Newman, GA, USA

problem #21

Jun 012010

CR-V

  • 138,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the air conditioner would only blow hot air. The vehicle was taken to both a local mechanic and an authorized dealer where the contact was advised to replace the air compressor. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified to report the failure. The failure and current mileages were approximately 138,000.

- Cincinnati , OH, USA

problem #20

Oct 052004

CR-V

  • 160,018 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I've had to replace the airconditioning in my 2002 Honda CRV twice since buying it new in Dec. 2001. The first time I had it replaced at the dealer for over $2800 in 2004; I again had it replaced in May 2009 at a local shop for $1000.

- Guthrie, OK, USA

problem #19

Aug 312008

CR-V

  • 73,000 miles
Driving approx. 25 miles, 85 F. very loud noise from under the hood for about 15 seconds, loud pop, strange smell like something burning. A/C stopped working. Checked under the hood, no visible signs of problem. A/C no longer works.

- Wadsworth, OH, USA

problem #18

Jun 252008

CR-V

  • 95,000 miles
Air conditioning system - complete failure - $2,000 repair.

- Strafford, NH, USA

problem #17

Mar 172005

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,000 miles
On March of 2005 I heard a loud noise and my A/C stop blowing cold air, I took it to the mechanic and the entire A/C unit had to be replaced and could only be done with the original Honda unit because no other fits the vehicle, it was replaced, on August 2005 the A/C stopped blowing cold air again and the clutch had to be replaced but was under guarantee, now September 2007 the A/C has is not blowing cold air and is making a thumping sound.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #16

Sep 062007

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. while driving 50 mph, the contact heard a loud banging noise coming from the front of the vehicle. As a result, the air conditioner began to blow hot air. The dealer stated that the air conditioning needed to be replaced. As of September 14, 2007, the dealer had not repaired the vehicle. The current and failure mileages were 64,000.

- Alexandria, LA, USA

problem #15

Aug 132007

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles
In 2006, the air conditioning compressor failed in our 2002 Honda CRV. The car had about 63,000 miles at the time. Our Honda dealer said the warranty had expired and the part was not covered by a recall. We purchased a new Honda replacement compressor and had it installed at a local shop because Honda's labor price was outrageous...over $3000! this repair cost us about $2500. In 2007, the compressor failed again at 78,000 miles. We checked with the Honda dealer again, and were told that the part was not covered by a recall. They said there was metal pieces in the lines and the entire air conditioning system had to be replaced. It would cost $4000 to have the system replaced. Again, I purchased Honda replacement parts and had a local shop install the new air conditioning system. This time I paid $3200, which included a discount on the labor rate because they had replaced the compressor before. We were without our CRV for over two weeks during the hottest time of the year (temps above 100 F). This was a terrible inconvenience, and a financial burden. Many other Honda CRV owners have had the same problem, so this is clearly a manufacturing defect. I suspect there is, or will be, a class action suit against Honda. I haven't found a way to join the suit, but I am looking. Something should be done about this problem.

- Huntsville, AL, USA

problem #14

Nov 092004

CR-V 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 58,780 miles
Air conditioner system failure. A safety concern in that this locks up the compressor pulley and possibly the entire engine belt. Also, defroster not working properly. Replaced by Honda.

- Greenfield, IN, USA

problem #13

Apr 012006

CR-V 4WD 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 116,000 miles
- the contact owns a 2002 Honda CRV. The air conditioner stopped working. The dealer diagnosed the vehicle as needing a new air conditioning system. The failure mileage was 116,000. The contact stated that because the air conditioner did not work the windows fogged up. The contact has an estimate of repair invoice. The current mileage was 142,000. Updated 10/03/08 upated 10/07/08.

- Middleburg, VA, USA

problem #12

Aug 062006

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,946 miles
I have a 2002 Honda CRV. While I was driving last week it suddenly began making a loud racket under the hood and the A/C stopped putting out cold air. I turned off the A/C and the noise stopped. I took it to the dealership and they said the compressor, condensor and dryer must be replaced because it had exploded. This cost $1900 to repair. After reading on the internet I saw where several Honda have had this problem. It seems to be a manufacturer defect of some sort. I'm very disappointed that Honda has not turned out to be as reliable a vehicle as I expected.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #11

Sep 102004

CR-V 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles
2002 CRV ordered and bought new in 2004 and 2005 replaced whole air conditioning unit first time had to wait as parts were not available. In 2006 have to replace cooling fans as both not working. Honda helped with part of cost for first two repairs but this should not happen this car is a lemon.

- Ridgeland, SC, USA

problem #10

Aug 022006

CR-V 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,900 miles
2002 Honda CRV ex 4WD: At 45000 miles the oxygen sensor went out; one week later the entire A/C compressor body had 1 inch long crack and leaked. Unbelievable.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #9

Aug 022006

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,900 miles
While driving down the highway, I heard an odd, continuous noise that made me think that it was my ac. I immediately switched off the ac, but the noise continued briefly and then was followed by a loud bang from the engine compartment and the sound of something breaking loose and flapping around the engine compartment. When I could safely stop, I turned the ac back on. The fan ran but the air was not cold. When I called Honda service, the representative told me he knew what the problem was as he had the same thing happened to him. He said the compressor clutch broke and because of the system design, the breakage sent metal shards throughout the ac system, requiring replacement of the entire ac unit except for a couple of hoses. He quoted $2900 for the repair. My vehicle has had the recommended service maintenance and had in fact been serviced just prior to the breakage. As failure seemed premature and the ac design flawed, I searched the internet for similar complaints. I found a discussion topic at edmunds.com devoted solely to this problem (townhall-talk.edmunds.com/direct/view/.F0D3fbb.F0D3fb5/0). as Honda has offered a courtesy repair to some customers, they are obviously aware of the defective compressor.

- Melrose, FL, USA

problem #8

Jun 232006

CR-V

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,786 miles
There was a loud rattling noise coming from my air conditioner. My husband took a look at it. When he turned the air conditioner on and went around to the front of the car. The ball bearings in my compressor failed and the compressor exploded. Shards of metal flew from under the car. From the research I have done there have been a lot of Honda crvs doing the same. If anyone was standing near the car at the time of explosion, they could have been hurt.

- Beaufort, SC, USA

problem #7

Feb 212005

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 62,212 miles
Heard a clunk type noise in engine area of car. Reported this to mechanic and he diagnosed the compressor of the ac had locked up, the shaft had twisted off, & the outer clutch plate was missing. This was a 2002 Honda CR-V with 62,212 miles with a repair bill of $1729.83. The car had not been abused or wrecked.

- Huntsville, TX, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?