Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
82,922 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Honda CR-V cooling system problems

cooling system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Honda CR-V Owner Comments

problem #19

May 122010


  • 100,000 miles


The ac started to make banging noise, then ceased to work. This started at about 100,000 miles, just after the warranty expired. In 90-100 degree weather this is extremely dangerous -- I find myself falling asleep behind the wheel in the heat, even when windows are open. I can't afford $2000+ for repairs. Apparently lots of CR-V owners are experiencing this problem with ac compressor. Honda should be recalling this vehicle and pay for its repairs.

- Old Saybrook, CT, USA

problem #18

Aug 182010


  • 76,000 miles
Air conditioner failed cost is $3000 to fix.

- La Porte, IN, USA

problem #17

Jul 152010


  • 114,000 miles
Air compressor in my Honda CR-V went out. Needs to be replaced. Cost $3300.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #16

Jun 142010


  • 86,000 miles


I am the original owner of a 2002 Honda CR-V which has an air conditioner failure at 86,000 miles. All components need to be replaced. It was first noticeable with a rattling noise under the hood - needs compressor, dryer, receiver, condenser etc replaced for around $1000-2200 at an independent mechanic. Dealer is approx. $2500-3500 which I have not pinned down yet. Am. Honda will do nothing. Mileage should not be a factor here; Honda manufactured a defective part and should pay the entire repair amount. I am sure if am. Honda rep. Was faced with same situation, he would be demanding payment as well. Hope for definitive class action lawsuit. Also, oxygen sensor needs to be replaced and door locks will no longer work therefore you cannot lock the car. Have replaced tail lights 3X in a year and now Honda says it needs a socket replacement. These are very expensive repairs on what should have been a reliable vehicle.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #15

Jun 262010


  • 60,000 miles
I have a 2002 Honda CRV with 60,000 miles and I was driving with my air conditioning running and came to a stop light. As soon as I pulled away the car starting making a very loud clanking noise. I pulled over to try to figure it out and realized that when I turned off the air it stopped. I drove by the Honda dealership immediately and was told that the sound was from the failed air compressor that we about $1200-2500 to replace. I have called american Honda motor company and they refused any goodwill assistance.

- Modesto, CA, USA

problem #14

May 262009


  • 135,000 miles
I have a 2002 Honda CR-V that had 135,000 miles at the time the compressor imploded. American Honda is aware of the issue. The compressor implodes, shooting shards of metal throughout the ac system, resulting in expensive replacement of parts other than the compressor. Essentially the entire ac system needs to be rebuilt at a cost in the neighborhood of $2500-3500 (my bill came to $3100). American Honda refused to pick up the tab on any of the parts or labor associated with this repair. If you google "Honda+air+compressor+failure" you will find many, many reports of this issue, all reported to american Honda.

- Coppell, TX, USA

problem #13

Aug 122009


  • 44,336 miles


My auto A/C was blowing hot air. Mechanic determined the compressor was frozen and the clutch damaged. Repairs were done at a cost of $1250.15. It appears to be an ongoing problem with Cr-vs which Honda refuses to acknowledge as a defective part. I have retained the defective compressor.

- Laguna Hills, CA, USA

problem #12

Aug 132009


  • 44,300 miles
Vehicle is 2002 Honda CR-V with 44,300 miles A/C compressor had to be replaced at great expense. After reading all the posts online, it appears to be a defect that Honda refuses to acknowledge. I want to join any class action lawsuits regarding this matter.

- Laguna Hills, CA, USA

problem #11

Jul 122009


  • 94,500 miles
I purchased my 2002 Honda CR-V ex new & have had all of the recommended services performed by my local Honda dealer. Around 7/12/2006, my A/C stopped working at 57,023 miles. The power switch made a strange clunking noise & the A/C failed to start right away. I immediately turned the switch off & back on. The fan came on, but only blew out hot air. I took it to my regular Honda dealer & paid $153.40 to have them check the A/C system out. The diagnosis was the A/C system was dead & it would cost me another $1,600 to replace the compressor, coil set & clutch set. I shopped around & had another shop that only works on Honda and Acura do the same work recommended by my Honda dealer at a cost of $1,203.52. They used genuine Honda parts to make the repair & gave a 12 month, 12,000 mile warranty. My car now has 95,000 miles. On 7/11/2009, my A/C was working fine when I parked my CR-V. the next afternoon, the A/C was only blowing warm air when I turned my car back on. I started looking on-line to see if there had been any recalls for this particular problem. That is when I realized I have a serious problem on my hands. There are numerous complaints for the same problem. On 7/30/2009, I called american Honda to see if there were any recalls. They basically do not acknowledge any problem. Because my car is out of warranty, they can't do anything for me. I explained this is the second time in 95,000 miles the A/C has gone out. He said they can't help me because I did not have the 1st repair done by my Honda dealer, even though the mechanic who did the work was certified by macs & ase in refrigerant recycling & service procedures and used genuine Honda parts. On 7/30/2009, I took my CR-V to my Honda dealer to get an estimate. The compressor is dead again. The estimate is approx. $1,600 to fix it. The service mgr. Is going to try to work with his district manager to see if they can get american Honda to help me. I am still waiting to hear.

- Laurel, MD, USA

problem #10

Jun 122009


  • 139,000 miles
The ac air compressor clutch on my 2002 Honda CRV fell out while I was coming to a stop at a light. Fortunately, no one was hurt. I do not know if there was any other damage to the car from this incident especially any other internal components or parts. I took it to a Honda dealer. They want to charge me over 1200 to install new one air compressor. I asked whether their was any recall on this part, they said no because it did not fall under emissions or safety. He also mentioned that since I'm not the original owner of the car and it has over 130,000 miles, warranty won't cover it. I'm going to get a second opinion from another auto mechanic.

- Carmichael, CA, USA

problem #9

Sep 102008


  • 80,900 miles


My 2002 Honda CRV 4WD, 81000 miles, has a defected ac compressor that is locked up. American Honda knows about the problem with ac compressors in the CRV 2002-2005 models and will not issue a recall to fix the problem.

- Kingsport, TN, USA

problem #8

Aug 212008


  • 100,191 miles
On a trip to merced, ca.summer of 2008. My 2002 Honda CRV air condition compressor failed. It required replaced every part for entire A/C system. The system failed without any warning. Total cost $3500. I do think if compressor failed it should not ruin the entire. This is the clear case of defective designed system.

- Monterey Park, CA, USA

problem #7

Sep 222008


  • 73,343 miles
I have a Honda CR-V 2002. On 09-22-2008 the A/C compressor exploded. I went on-line and checked this issue. It was a Honda factory defect which cause a lot of compressor failure. I read a lot of Honda customer reports from in many cases Honda paid from 80%-100% of cost. I called Honda America (800) 999-1009 and opened case number # N 012008-09-2300147. My case person is a Mr. Darrell harville and his boss is Mrs. Holly muhammed. I have talk to them many times and told them that I know this on going defect issue with A/C compressors. I asked them to pay 100% cost because of Honda factory defect. They offered pay $ 1800 and I have to pay $ 1200 to the ed morse Honda dealership. I told them "no" because I am not paying for Honda factory defect. I requested 4 times to talk to Mrs. Holly muhammed (general manager) but she didn't responded to me yet. I live in South Florida. It is 85-90 degrees and some time raining. I am having hard time without A/C. please, help me with this situation. Thank you

- North Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #6

Jul 192008


  • 63,000 miles
Failure of A/C compressor on 2002 Honda cr/V ex. Compressor froze while in traffic on busy street causing engine to stall. My wife had to coast, in the vehicle over to the side of the street and into an off-street parking lot.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #5

Jul 172008


  • 99,955 miles
I was driving home from work on 7/17/08 and heard a low grumbling noise coming from my air conditioning vents in my 2002 Honda CRV. Thirty seconds later this sound stopped and about a minute later only hot air came out of the vents. I've taken the CRV to a non Honda repair shop and they advised replacing the air compressor, clutch, dryer and expansion coil for approx $1235. The Honda delivership advised replacing the entire cooling system for $3350 and then offered a 30% discount ( good will ) dropping the repair cost to $2350.

- Anderson, SC, USA

problem #4

Jul 142008


  • 43,000 miles
We own a 2002 Honda. The air conditioning compressor and other parts involving the air conditioning went out in 2005 (Oct) just after the warranty expired. We had it all replaced. They called it "goodwill" and we did not have to pay for it. Yesterday July 14, 2008 it appears to have gone out again, the same way as before. I went to an online board on edmonds and read up on all the complaints that they have had with the 2002-2004 (maybe later) compressors blowing up and shooting pieces of metal all over causing other parts to break. There is obviously a serious condition with Honda air conditioning compressors! they have not done a recall on them, but from what I hear some get them replaced for free (as did we) but only the first time, after that it costs them apx $3,000 to replace everything involved. This is happening too frequently to be normal. Some said it was every 40,000 miles. Ours went longer. Please help as we can not afford to replace it again and we live in hot country!

- Albemarle, NC, USA

problem #3

Jun 262008


  • 61,000 miles
My 2002 Honda CRV with 61K miles suddenly began making a very loud sound which stopped when I turned off the air conditioning. I immediately drove to a nearby Honda dealer. A service technical looked under the hood and told me that the a.C. compressor has exploded. I was handed an estimate of $4001 to repair. I took it to 2 independent repair shops and was told that the compressor had "imploded" and "was grenaded". I don't have $4001 so I am continuing to drive without the a.C., hoping that nothing important was damaged that will put me in danger.

- Rosemount, MN, USA

problem #2

Nov 082005

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 87,000 miles
2002 - 2004 Honda CRV's have a history of problems with air conditioning. Specifically the unit disinegrating. This has happened to me twice at a cost of $3500. Auto web forums (for CRV's) have received many complaints about this problem.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #1

Sep 102004

CR-V 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,000 miles
2002 CRV ordered and bought new in 2004 and 2005 replaced whole air conditioning unit first time had to wait as parts were not available. In 2006 have to replace cooling fans as both not working. Honda helped with part of cost for first two repairs but this should not happen this car is a lemon.

- Ridgeland, SC, USA

Not what you are looking for?