Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 7
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
132,399 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Honda CR-V electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #10

Mar 082011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The connector to my headlight dimmer switch over heats, melts and causes my low beam headlights to not turn on. High beams still work. Switch is damaged as a results. This is the second occurrence in the last 6 months. It is a safety issue.

- Athens, AL, USA

problem #9

Jun 132010

CR-V

  • 83,500 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the instrument panel failed and none of the gauges functioned or lit up. The failure began as intermittent but the panel no longer functioned at all. The contact called the dealer who stated that there were no related recalls. The failure mileage was approximately 83,500 and the current mileage was approximately 84,000.

- Pioneer, CA, USA

problem #8

Jun 132010

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,500 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CRV. While the contact was driving approximately 65 mph, the supplemental restraint system warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The warning indicator remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated that the failure was contributed to the opdf unit which was replaced the following day under the service warranty. The failure persisted after the vehicle was repaired. The vehicle was taken back to an authorized dealer twice. The estimated repair cost was $600. The manufacturer suggested to the dealer to trouble shoot with an identical part from another vehicle. The dealer was unable to provide that recommendation from the manufacturer and advised that the owner would be responsible for the parts and the labor expense. The vehicle had not been repaired when the complaint was filed. The failure mileage was 64,500. Updated 07/21/10. Updated 8/2/10 the consumer stated when the SRS light stays on, there is a fault somewhere in the SRS. The system is disabled at this point. In case of a collision, the air bags will not deploy and the seat belts will not tighten. Updated 08/06/10 updated 10/28/10 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired on July 23, 2010. The SRS unit was replaced at a a cost of $ $617.72. Updated 11/01/10

- Erie , PA, USA

problem #7

Dec 102009

CR-V

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Honda CR-V --- fire hazard in Honda CR-V --- low beam headlights stop functioning... high beams and turn signals remain functional... cause was found to be melted wires and burned / partially melted connector to switch in steering column... 1.5 years earlier the switch had to be replaced for same symptoms... Honda has issued recalls on other models with same type of lights but not on the Honda CR-V... small electrical fire must have occurred to cause the melting and black marks on the connector...

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #6

Sep 202009

CR-V

  • 50,000 miles
2002 Honda CR-V driver side door does not open with remote or from inside with electric switch. Door can only be open manually. This creates safety issues both when approaching the car from outside and inside if one gets trapped.

- Plantation, FL, USA

problem #5

Dec 152008

CR-V

  • 48,000 miles
All interior gauges flicker and stop working (I.e., fuel, speedometer, odometer, engine temperature, dash lights) and some warning lights flicker (parking brake, maintenance required). It is now happening daily and lasts longer and longer. Car also makes a scary "ticking" sound. Honda dealer stated that instrument cluster has gone bad (shorted out?)

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #4

Apr 012008

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Honda CR-V door sensors are not working. Consumer states that this is the second time the door sensors stopped working. She states that the sensors do not recognize the driver door being opened. The consumer stated there was no warning or indicator light when the lights were left on after removing the key or when the driver's door was partially opened while moving. The overhead light did not come on when the driver's door was opened. Also, when the consumer unlocked the door and opened the driver's door the vehicle did not recognize that the door was opened and locked by itself. The bulbs started burning out, there was no warning signal or indicator light when the lights were left on after removing the key or when the driver's door was partially open while the vehicle was moving. The overhead light didn't come on when the driver's door was opened. The dealer replaced the door lock actuator. Updated 11/19/14

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #3

Apr 252007

CR-V 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,500 miles
The SRS light came on in my 2002 Honda CRV which has only 35000 miles. I took it to the dealer who informed me that the SRS must have went bad and it would cost $700 to fix. I asked if the light on could be caused by the front passenger seat belt locking up regularly which temporarily does not allow you to get enough seat belt to actually reach the buckle and the dealer said that might be the problem but I still would need to replace the whole SRS system. I asked if this was a recall and he said not at this time. I now have checked the recalls and see that the seat belts as well as the air bags have been recalled and I have not been notified of either by the dealer and I would think this would be immediately corrected especially since the SRS light came on which is directly related to both of these safety devices.

- Canonsburg, PA, USA

problem #2

Apr 282002

CR-V 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
I own a Honda CRV 2002 ex with automatic transmission and ~12,000 miles. My wife drives the car and it has stalled twice while slowing down to turn in our drive way, the exact spot. It's hard to start afterwards. She does start to undo the seat belt right before the car dies. This is not reproducible. This is dangerous and could cause a fatal accident.

- Nesbit, MS, USA

problem #1

Mar 062003

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,961 miles
2002 Honda CRV purchased at brickell Honda 12/02 in miami, fl. On 3/6/2003, as car was traveling at approximately 50 mph on a busy highway (palmetto expressway) during rush hour, the car turned off, steering locked. Thankfully I was able to get out of the way of oncoming traffic. It was a miracle I didn't get hit by others traveling at even faster speeds. I took the car, same evening to braman Honda, the closest dealership, where the following day it was repaired. Supposedly, the computer had not been programmed at the time of purchase. This is unacceptable and irresponsible. I could have died, caused significant damage to myself, the car and many others on the same road that day.

- Miami, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?