Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
18 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
17 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,435 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Honda CR-V seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 5 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #21

Nov 222011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 86,972 miles


My daughter was involved in a one vehicle collision. The vehicle left the roadway and struck a culvert head on. The vehicle sustained significant front end damage, but neither the driver or the passenger side airbags deployed. There was also some damage to the side of the vehicle and the side air bags did not deploy. The vehicle's actual speed is unknown to this writer, an estimate has been provided above.

- Malone, NY, USA

problem #20

Nov 182011


  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the driver's seat would shake abnormally and the SRS air bag warning light would illuminate on the instrument panel sporadically. The contact made an appointment with the dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was not contacted and the vehicle was not repaired. The failure and the current mileage was 140,000.

- New City, NY, USA

problem #19

Sep 012005


  • miles
Purchased the car in 2002. Starting in 2005, the seat belt wouldn't engage into the buckle. Had to force and force the buckle in for the buckle to lock in the insert. Recently, the SRS light came on. Honda tells me that the seat belt must be replaced because the air bags may not deploy upon impact but there is no warranty. An independent mechanic tells me that the seat belt may in fact be warranted, but Honda made no mention of that.

- Davenport, IA, USA

problem #18

Jul 012011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles


2002 Honda CR-V. consumer states issues with recall service the consumer stated he received a recall notice in the mail. The consumer stated when he took the vehicle to the dealer, they only kept it for 45 minutes. The consumer stated he didn't think the dealer did anything to the vehicle as the air bag light was still on.

- La Puente, CA, USA

problem #17

Jun 132010

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 64,500 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CRV. While the contact was driving approximately 65 mph, the supplemental restraint system warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The warning indicator remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated that the failure was contributed to the opdf unit which was replaced the following day under the service warranty. The failure persisted after the vehicle was repaired. The vehicle was taken back to an authorized dealer twice. The estimated repair cost was $600. The manufacturer suggested to the dealer to trouble shoot with an identical part from another vehicle. The dealer was unable to provide that recommendation from the manufacturer and advised that the owner would be responsible for the parts and the labor expense. The vehicle had not been repaired when the complaint was filed. The failure mileage was 64,500. Updated 07/21/10. Updated 8/2/10 the consumer stated when the SRS light stays on, there is a fault somewhere in the SRS. The system is disabled at this point. In case of a collision, the air bags will not deploy and the seat belts will not tighten. Updated 08/06/10 updated 10/28/10 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired on July 23, 2010. The SRS unit was replaced at a a cost of $ $617.72. Updated 11/01/10

- Erie , PA, USA

problem #16

Apr 052004

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 26,816 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the SRS service light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer seven times. Each time, the vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred. The contact was informed that the when the SRS light was illuminated, the air bags would not deploy in the event of a crash. The failure mileage was 44,697. The current mileage was 134,126. Updated 07/08/10 the dealer always replaced the driver or passenger side seat belt buckle, or belt tensioner. Updated 07/09/10. Updated 07/16/13

- Santa Ynez, CA, USA

problem #15

Dec 042008


  • 300 miles


Repeated mechanical failures of the 2002 Honda CRV that I bought brand new have been occurring since August of 2002. The car was bought in July of 2002. The odor from the inside cabin filter first occurred in August. The fuse to the warning devise that would alert the driver to lights being left on, etc. Went out within 3-4 months. Then major items which had to be replaced: Differential, 2004(though still under warranty, Honda refused to replace it for 2 years), neck of fuel tank broke, 2006, air conditioning system, 2007, driver-side window fell off track because the plastic clamp cracked, 2008, catalytic converter, 2009, O2 sensor, 2009, driver's seat unstable since 2003, SRS slowly went out beginning with intermittent warnings about side door air bag being turned off beginning in 2003 which dealerships ignored as just an occurence from something or someone bumping against the closed door from the inside. Finally in 2008, when the light came on to stay, I was told that it was a failure of the sensor motor__now my problem to again pay for a major repair.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #14

Jan 162008


  • 90,000 miles
SRS light on dash, diagnosed by dealer as SRS control failure, $700 to replace. There was a service bulletin regarding a different part of the system, checked out ok, but seems like quite a coincidence that the bulletin and the failure were so close in time. It's hard to accept that a part costing so much and so critical to safety "just goes bad" for so many of us - complaints are circulating out in the internet and on the NHTSA site dating back to 1 -2 years. Mere mortals cannot tell what or whether there is actually anything wrong, only those who have the computer (those who stand to profit a lot) can know. It's the fox guarding the henhouse. Happily I haven't needed the airbags and seatbelt tightener, but this could happen any time. Is NHTSA sure there isn't a systemic problem here, that Honda should be attending to?

- Lodi, CA, USA

problem #13

Jul 092008


  • 60,000 miles
My daughter was driving my 2002 Honda CRV ex and lost control and rolled the car. It ended up lying on the drivers side and hit a guard rail which finally stopped it from sliding on it side along the freeway. The insurance company was sure that they will total the car. The ex model not only had front air bags but also side air bags. Not a one of these went off. The drivers side of the car was very smashed and the drivers side window was broken out along with the windshield. Her arm had glass clear down to the bone along with a 7 inch cut that is stitched in 3 levels. For as much trauma as the car took I feel it held together pretty good (top did not crush in except a little in the back ) and that she is lucky to be alive. I feel that at least though the front airbags and drivers side one should have gone off. Airbags are not like a smoke detector that you can test, you rely on that they will work when you need them.

- Silverdale, WA, USA

problem #12

Jul 182007

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,825 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the air conditioning unit dispenses hot air. The dealer stated that the clutch on the air conditioning was burned. The contact also stated that the driver's seat is wobbly and not attached tightly and the air bag light automatically illuminates when it is bumped against. The dealer stated that a switch may be needed. The contact stated that when she removes the key from the ignition, the vehicle continues to move. She stated that none of the failures have been repaired by the dealer. The current and failure mileages were 71,825.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #11

Jul 142005

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


Dt the air bags sensor is not working properly, the SRS light stays on. Contacted Honda, and they will not warranty it. Consumer had to pay for the labor and rent a car, this started happening July 14th, 2005.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #10

Mar 242003


  • miles
Nar 05/06/2003 mr the consumer was involved in an accident where severe damages occurred to the vehicle, the frame was bent, radiator was defective, and the air bags did not deploy.

- Dumont, NJ, USA

problem #9

Jul 262004

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,030 miles
On Monday July 26th 2004 a man drove through a red light as I was driving through my green light at about 30mph. I slammed on my brakes in my 2002 Honda CR-V when I seen him run the light, I end up smashing into him, he was driving a Silverado truck, much larger than my CR-V. my truck spun slightly and when I looked up not one airbag had deployed in my vehicle, I know that I had side, driverside, and passenger side airbags, that is why I bought the CR-V. I would find out later that the sensor was definatly hit. I took pictures. My insurance agencie decided not to total my vehicle, they are going to fix it. How am I to know they looked into the airbag issue at all? I have told them and they still did not list it on the repair listing. I don't want to take the vehicle back because I may not be as lucky next time if the airbags do not work properly.

- Rives Junction , MI, USA

problem #8

Jun 262004


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While driving 45 mph vehicle collided with a guard rail. Upon impact, both frontal air bags failed to deploy. Driver sustained major injuries, and was transported by ambulance to a hospital. Vehicle was towed to a body shop.

- Windber, PA, USA

problem #7

Oct 022003


  • miles
While driving at 40-mph was involved in a front collision and neither of the air bags deployed, no air bag warning light appeared prior to the crash. Driver was wearing the seat belt.

- Fort Belvoir, VA, USA

problem #6

Oct 202002


  • miles
The SRS light came on so I contacted the dealer. They replaced the sensor. I haven't had anymore problems with it, but it was only 4 days ago. I have been reading other problems with the SRS light and I am concerned that this is gonna be an ongoing problem. I am worried that the air bags won't deploy if I am in an accident. As for the brakes. I keep hearing a popping noise every time I back out of a parking space or the driveway. I have not contacted the dealer, but after reading other complaints, I am going to do this. I have always been a dedicated Honda lover and I am disappointed to hear about all that is wrong with the vehicle I have purchased with my hard earned money.

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #5

Sep 212002


  • miles
While traveling on the highway, the right front tire blewout, causing the driver to lose control of her vehicle. The vehicle went into the median and became airborne (rolling over several times) about 4-5 more times on the ground, hit a semi-truck traveling on the opposite side of the road, finally coming to a rest. Also, with the force of the impact on the sides of the vehicle, particularly the driver side, it would seem to be strong enough to activate the side airbags, yet the saftey feature did not perform, Bridgestone dueler H/T.

- Agoura Hills, CA, USA

problem #4

Oct 182002


  • miles
Consumer states that when hit in the front center of the vehicle the air bag did not deploy causing injuries to the consumer. Dealer notified

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #3

Jul 272002


  • miles
While driving SRS indicator light comes on and stays on, which indicates that there is a serious problem with vehicle, it shouldn't be driven. Had vehicle serviced, but problem reoccurred..

- Takoma Park, MD, USA

problem #2

Dec 012001


  • miles
SRS system light came on and stayed on.this indicates if vehicle is in a crash, air bags will be inoperative. Dealer contacted. Cannot fix problem.

- Apopka, FL, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?