Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
12 / 0
Average Mileage:
38,875 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Honda CR-V seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #64

May 012015

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Honda CR-V. consumer writes in regards to airbag replacement recall notice issues. The consumer was unable to get an appointment.

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #63

Jan 012015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V351000 (air bags) and 14V349000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Cumberland, MD, USA

problem #62

Feb 042015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
We have been waiting for airbag replacements for the Honda recall since early February. Our dealer, has received one of the two airbags but has no idea when the other will be in. Was told today that possible release date for part was late June or July. Honda has provided a rental car but will not cover the insurance. I have to exchange the car every 30 days so that my private insurance will cover the rental car. Otherwise it would be ~$40 a week. That is over $500 for their problem. I feel that 5 months is an excessive amount of time to have to wait for repair of these critical safety components!

- Danville, CA, USA

problem #61

Apr 282015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 85,058 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On 2/14/2015 I took my Honda CRV to my local Honda dealership to repair the front airbag inflator. I was told the replacement parts were not available at that time and I would be notified as soon as they were received at the dealership. I have made several calls to the dealership and these parts are still unavailable with no known availability date. I no longer feel comfortable driving my CRV realizing that a serious accident could occur at any time. The information I would request from Honda is: What is the timeline for replacement of the airbag inflators ( it now appears that the drivers side is also involved) and if this is excessive what would be the interim solution. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #60

Jan 292015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V349000 (air bags) and 14V351000 (air bags); however, the parts needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/14/15 the consumer stated the recall was rectified. Updated 07/21/15

- Kenmore, WA, USA

problem #59

Apr 272015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.....updated 07/22/15

- Mullica Hill, NJ, USA

problem #58

Apr 272015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 6/22/15

- Venetia, PA, USA

problem #57

Jan 292015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags) and NHTSA campaign number: 14V349000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the part needed was on national back order. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Lombard, IL, USA

problem #56

Jan 282015

CR-V

  • miles
We have been waiting for airbag replacements for the Honda recall since January. Our dealer, jl freed in montgomeryville, pa has received one of the two airbags but has no idea when the other will be in. Over 90 days of waiting seems excessive for a recall requirement.

- Perkasie, PA, USA

problem #55

Jan 022013

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V349000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- West Yarmouth, MA, USA

problem #54

Mar 132015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2003 Honda CR-V. the contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 05-26-15 updated 6/30/2015

- Lexington , KY, USA

problem #53

Feb 032015

CR-V

  • miles
On 2/3/2015 I rec'd letters from Honda motor co stating that both front air bags possibly had life-threatening probs. I called local dealer, jeff wyler Honda, and new parts were ordered that day. Today, 4/17/15, the dealer still has not rec'd them. My complaint is that Honda co tells customer that their life is in danger if car is driven but doesn't fix prob! it's been 2 1/2 months! the dealer's hands are tied as Honda co tells them parts are back ordered- with no estimated delivery date. Maybe you can light a fire under Honda co!

- Villa Hills, KY, USA

problem #52

Apr 142015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #51

Apr 142015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V351000 (air bags) and 14V349000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tip City, OH, USA

problem #50

Jan 302015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda CR-V. the contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V349000 (air bags) however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #49

Mar 032015

CR-V

  • miles
Received NHTSA recalls 14V-349 & 14V-351. Called local dealer who said they had to order parts. It's been over 6 weeks, and today I was told it would take another 4-8 weeks to get parts. This recall is for airbags, which makes it a big safety concern. Not only are the airbags in my car faulty, but the company who issued the recall can't supply the proper parts to the local dealers. Honda should be fined big time!!! if I get in a crash and I am injured, Honda will have a huge lawsuit!

- Woodburn, OR, USA

problem #48

Feb 052015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available for an extended period of time. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Davis, CA, USA

problem #47

Apr 082015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 156,000 miles
There are 2 recalls for my vehicle. I have been calling irvine norm reeves Honda to setup an appointment for these recalls. However, irvine norm reeves Honda has been telling me they have not been able to get the parts for the recalls for the last 6 months. I called in monthly and I am not sure I am wasting my time trying to get the car fixed. ///////////////////// www.normreeveshondairvine.com/ 16 auto center dr, irvine, ca 92618 (949) 830-7600 ///////////////////// NHTSA recall number: 14V-351 mfr campaign id: JG8 recall date: 06/19/2014 recall status: Recall incomplete NHTSA recall number: 14V-349 mfr campaign id: JJ8 recall date: 06/19/2014 recall status: Recall incomplete

- Buena Park, CA, USA

problem #46

Jan 012015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
Since I received the recall notice in January, I've been calling almost all Honda dealers in our area in san diego ca and they've been telling me that they don't have the parts necessary for the recall. I received a tentative service date on April 11, 2015 with the Honda dealer in mission valley but when I called today, they apparently have not received the ordered parts yet, so my schedule was cancelled. Same thing with the Honda dealer in el cajon. They said that they have no parts as of yet. We highly depend on this vehicle for travel and with the recall issue still unresolved for more than 3 months now, god forbid that we don't get into any accident. In case we do, again god forbid, I demand full responsibility from whoever is not acting fast enough in resolving this dangerous situation with our vehicle!

- National City, CA, USA

problem #45

Apr 072015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2003 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V351000 (air bags) and 14V349000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Muskegon, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?