Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
55,178 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Honda CR-V AC / heater problems

AC / heater problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Honda CR-V Owner Comments

problem #20

Apr 052011


  • 133,000 miles


The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. the contact stated while driving 35 mph, the air conditioner failed. The contact took the vehicle to a dealer for a diagnostic test. The test results showed a faulty air compressor that needed to be replaced. The contact did not repair the air compressor. The contact stated the vehicle would become extremely hot during warm weather and the lack of air conditioner made it difficult to drive. The failure mileage was 133,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #19

May 172011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
2004 Honda CR-V. consumer states problem with A/C unit blowing warm air. The consumer was informed the air compressor was bad.

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #18

Apr 092004

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CRV LX. The contact noticed oil leakage coming from the transmission and engine area whenever an oil change was performed by the dealer. Recently, the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where they replaced the front passenger's side axle seal. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was unavailable. Updated 10/03/11 updated evoq 10/27/11 updated evoq 11/29/11 the consumer received a class action notice in the mail regarding faulty air compressors on certain Honda models. Updated evoq 12/20/11 updated 3/29/12

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #17

Aug 012010


  • 80,000 miles


2004 Honda CR-V A/C compressor failed @ 80,000 miles, dealer and Honda are aware of the many complaints and failures, but will not stand behind the known problem. The dealer wants $2400 and said that the A/C problem will reoccur again.

- Lincroft, NJ, USA

problem #16

Dec 012010

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
Letter from congresswoman giffords on behalf of constituent regarding problems with her Honda 2004 CRV (attachments not imaged) the consumer experienced problems with the air condition unit freezing, the engine blew spark plugs into the cylinder head, the propeller protection shaft was installed incorrectly, the vehicle would accelerate at times and the hood release latch failed while the consumer was driving.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #15

Jul 172010


  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that while driving approximately 70 mph, the air conditioner compressor exploded. The vehicle was unable to be driven and was towed to a local repair shop where the contact was informed about the compressor failure. The vehicle was repaired but failed again. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000.

- Baker, FL, USA

problem #14

Aug 232010


  • 66,000 miles


The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. while traveling 65 mph, the vehicle began to vibrate excessively and the air conditioner independently shut off. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that air conditioner would need replacing. There were no prior warnings of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The current and failure mileage was 66,000.

- Chatham, IL, USA

problem #13

Jul 182010


  • 133,612 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CRV. While driving 2 mph in reverse, she hear a loud banging noise in the engine. Prior to the noise, the air conditioner functioned as if the heat was on. She turned the vehicle off for four and a half hours. She took the vehicle to a local repair shop in order to have the air conditioner repaired and was advised to take the vehicle to an authorized dealer. The dealer stated that she needed a compressor and air conditioner. The vehicle was repaired by the dealer who confirmed that the compressor had malfunctioned. The vehicle was repaired for $2,646.23. The failure mileage was 133,612 and the current mileage was 133,652.

- Kellseyville, CA, USA

problem #12

Oct 292009


  • 72,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. while driving 35 mph she noticed a loud popping sound followed by a clanking sound in the engine. Moments later, the contact noticed that the vehicle began to wander to the right. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and the mechanic stated that the air conditioner compressor froze and blew out the casing. The contact previously noticed that the vehicle began driving in a sluggish manner. The current and failure mileages were 72000.

- Texas City, TX, USA

problem #11

Aug 062009


  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. when attempting to turn on the air conditioner, the air began to turn hot. There were no warning indicators illuminated prior to the failure. The dealer stated that the air conditioner compressor failed. The contact was not provided with a repair estimate. He was informed that when the air conditioner compressor fails, it sends metal particles throughout the entire air conditioning system. As a result, any area that the particles affect will have to be replaced. The manufacturer stated that no compensation would be provided due to the excessive mileage on the vehicle. The vehicle has not been repaired. The current and failure mileages were 130,000.

- Moorepark , CA, USA

problem #10

Sep 292007


  • 57,049 miles


A/C blowing hot air - initially I thought there was just a need for freon - Firestone diagnosed the A/C compressor went out - I picked the car up without repairing because of the cost. I looked on the internet and found site that suggested I call Honda America - I opened up a case (very rude people there) and then took car to local Honda dealership on 10/1/07 - they told me the entire system was contaminated and repair would cost me $535.66 and they would take care of the rest. I complained about the cost to Honda America (I was a stay at home mom) and they said I should be happy with that cost. Difficult pill to swallow when the car was only 3 years old at the time and I was basically paying for their faulty part.

- Highland Village, TX, USA

problem #9

Aug 162008

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. while driving 45 mph, the contact heard a loud noise. She was unable to determine what side of the vehicle the noise originated. Shortly after the noise, the air conditioner in the vehicle stopped working. The following day, the contact took the vehicle to the dealer and was informed that the air compressor and clutch needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired and the contact discovered numerous complaints for the same failure as her year, make, and model vehicle. Due to the amount of complaints on the vehicle, the contact feels that a recall should have been issued. The failure mileage was 65,000 and current mileage was 67,000. Updated 10/14/08. The air conditioner compressor exploded and shot shards of metal throughout the system. Updated 10/15/08. 8jb

- Lakeworth, FL, USA

problem #8

Jun 152008


  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. while driving at an unknown speed, the air conditioner failed. The mechanic stated that the compressor was blown. The contact has an open case with Honda and they stated that this was a common failure with the Honda CR-V. the current mileage was 66,000 and failure mileage was 50,000.

- Camarillo, CA, USA

problem #7

Jul 112008


  • 40,803 miles
The A/C went kaput on my 2004 Honda CRV. Hendrick Honda of charleston told me the entire system was contaminated and needed to be replaced in the ballpark of $3000. My car has 40,000 miles on it and I have learned of a litany of the same problem with other 2001-2004 Honda crvs. I've also learned that the CRV air conditioning system has been redesigned for models after '04. I contacted american Honda and received a case number which I shared with my service representative. He said "I wish you hadn't done that because I could have got things going faster." This is neither here nor there, but I did get the sense I did the correct move. Hendrick Honda of charleston says they can fix it no problem, but I don't want to be on the hook for a major repair on a car that isn't that old with few miles. I'm not looking to cause a stink... I just want the car fixed. Other than this, it's a bang-up vehicle. Thank you for your time.

- Charleston, SC, USA

problem #6

Jul 042008

CR-V 4WD 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 51,100 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CRV. The contact heard a loud noise underneath the hood. He drove the vehicle to the nearest dealer and they stated that the compressor failed and needed to be replaced. The current mileage was 51,310 and failure mileage was 51,100. Updated 07/29/08 updated 08/05/08.

- W. Caldwell, NJ, USA

problem #5

Jun 242008

CR-V 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. the contact heard a loud grinding noise coming from the air conditioning system. The dealer stated that the air compressor caused the clutch assembly to fail, which contaminated the entire air conditioning system. The manufacturer stated that they would assume liability for 75% of the $3,000 repair cost. The contact is in the process of having the vehicle repaired. The failure and current mileages were 51,000. Updated 07/29/08 updated 08/05/08.

- Jacksonsville, AR, USA

problem #4

Jun 282007


  • miles
I was driving along and heard a pop and the air conditioning started making a revving noise and the temperature of the air turned to warm. I turned the air conditioner off and had to drive for the next 7 hours without air conditioning. Unfortunately, I don't remember exactly what was wrong but it was luckily still covered under warranty. However, it was told to me that this wasn't a normal thing to happen.

- Smyrna, GA, USA

problem #3

Sep 202007

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 43,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. while driving 40 mph, the contact heard a popping noise coming from the engine and then the air conditioner shut off without warning. The mechanic noticed that the compressor was leaking oil and stated that there was a hole on the A/C compressor, which was caused by metal pieces from the air compressor housing wall. As of September 25, 2007, the dealer had not inspected or repaired the vehicle. The current and failure mileages were 43,000. Updated 01-14-08. Updated 12/12/07.

- Holly Springs, NC, USA

problem #2

Aug 022007

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I did not receive a recall for "air bags: Frontal" issued in June 2004. Also, the ac compressor went out on my 2004 Honda CR-V. I was told by the dealership I bought the car from that they had been having a lot of trouble reported on the ac compressors. They charged me $395 plus tax to replace mine. I feel it should have been replaced free since the car was only 3 years old.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #1

Aug 142006

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles
I was driving my 2004 Honda CR-V with the air conditioner on, and I heard a pop and then a rattle. Then, my air conditioner stopped blowing cold air. As I tested the air conditioner, I could tell that the air conditioner was not kicking in. I scheduled an appointment with Honda service, and they told me that the compressor shaft was broken, and that the air compressor, clutch, and coil needed to be replaced. This repair was very costly ($1300) and it was not covered under warranty. I was very disappointed that my air conditioner would fail after only 2 years of use. Honda service told me that it looked like normal wear and tear. My complaint lies in the possibility that this part was defective. If not, then this incident could happen again in another 2 years.

- Beavercreek, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?