Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
13 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,997 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Honda CR-V seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #74

Sep 012015

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall - I was stopped attempting to make left turn and was suddenly hit from behind causing me to hit a parked car in front of me. Airbags did not deploy and I consequently hit the front windshield. Car was taken in 9/2015 to replace airbag. Have been receiving recall notices right after accident for airbag. Attached is the paperwork for 2015 recall and accident report from this year. Recall notice for 2016 is on phone.

- Bronx, NY, USA

problem #73

Jun 142016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V370000 (air bags) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Newark, OH, USA

problem #72

Jun 092015

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V370000, 15V320000, and 15V320000 (air bags). The part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Wilmington, CA, USA

problem #71

Mar 202012

CR-V

  • 158,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. the contact stated the SRS light remained illuminated. After five trips to the local dealer for diagnostic testing, the failure recurred. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in three different recalls within the past four years. The contact did not provide the NHTSA campaign numbers, but stated that they were all related to the air bags. The local dealer was unable to diagnose or remedy the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 158,000.

- Dacula, GA, USA

problem #70

Feb 192016

CR-V

  • miles
Recall notice arrived 02/19/2016 for a recall dated 06/15/2015. Why was I not notified on 07/02/2015 when I spoke with them, or on 09/24/2015 or on 11/05/2015 when I was at appletree Honda for previous recalls.

- Asheville, NC, USA

problem #69

Jan 202016

CR-V

  • 172,500 miles
The car was in an accident and none of the airbags deployed. This vehicle was brought to a dealership for the takata recall in November 2015 and the accident occurred in January 2016. Since the car rolled over when slowing down quickly taking a turn on the highway, maybe the driver's side airbag shouldn't have deployed but none of the side airbags worked either (see pictures).

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #68

Dec 082015

CR-V

  • 195,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owned a 2004 Honda CR-V. the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 15V320000 (air bags). While driving approximately 60 mph, the contact crashed into the preceding vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 195,000. Updated 2/4/16

- Three Forks, MT, USA

problem #67

Aug 282015

CR-V

  • 140,357 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. while driving 15 mph, another vehicle crashed into the passenger side of the contact's vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. There were no injuries and a police report was filed. An independent mechanic diagnosed that the chassis bottom was fractured due to a missing part that covered the chassis and needed to be repaired. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 140,357.

- Lancaster, PA, USA

problem #66

Apr 022012

CR-V

  • 60,000 miles
For the last 3 years we have had three (3) main issues with this vehicle, 1) air bag SRS light has been on, 2) the front passenger window will not roll down and 3) the air conditioning system has not operated. From the begining I have checked on recalls/ campaigns for these items and the only recall we received for this vehicle VIN # was the air bag recall (btw we took it in for the recal and the SRS light is still on). When you look on Honda's website to check for recalls no other issues come up with my VIN#, yet if you look the vehicle up by the model and year, a whole list of "campaigns" come up under this vehicle. My vehcile has had the same problems as the said make and models for years. I filed a complaint with Honda America (case # 04205532) this morning and spoke with "serinity" of the product concern section of Honda America and basiclly she is telling me because my particilar vehcile was manufactured in Japan (VIN # starting with a "J") that no recalls apply to me. But yet I am having the same issues with my vehicle of the same model and year. Honda basically has stated that they cannot offer any help on this matter. Please note, there are other safety "campaigns" that I never got notices, such as wiring harnessess. I took my vehicle into a non-dealer mechanic for air-conditioning services and they stated to me 2 + years ago that this vehicle is known to have a major defect in the ac clutch on the ac pump was designed too close to the engine and thus heats up and shatters into many pieces and flows though the whole ac system thus requiring that the whole ac system is required to be replaced (Honda service bulletin # 12-072). Honda has issued a campaign increasing the ac system warranty to 10 years/ 100,000 miles, but again this does not apply to my vehicle, yet I have the same exact issues on my vehicle. Please help on this matter.

- Granada Hills, CA, USA

problem #65

Mar 042015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V320000 and 14V353000 (air bags); however, the parts needed for the repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 10/16/15

- San Pablo, CA, USA

problem #64

Jun 192014

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns 2004 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number 15V320000 (air bags) and 14V353000 (air bags). However, the parts needed for the repairs were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mission Viejo, CA, USA

problem #63

Aug 042015

CR-V

  • 66,880 miles
On 7/27 I received recall notice (15V-320) from Honda. I immediately (7/27, 1:26 pm) contacted sussman Honda (215-657-7050) at 1543 easton rd., abington pa 19001, to make an appointment. I was given a 10:00 am appointment for Aug 4, 2015. I was assured they had the necessary parts. When I arrived, I was turned away at the service entrance because, "they had just ran out of the parts". I was dismayed. I had expected that the parts would be reserved for my appointment. This incident wasted my time, energy, money and gasoline, and put me at additional risk for the dangers described in the recall notice. The service assistant took my name and phone number and assured me I would be contacted when parts became available, but gave no indication as to a time frame when that would happen. I expect that in the future, parts targeted for a specific customer (me, in this case) will be reserved for my appointment and this negative experience will not be repeated.

- Ambler, PA, USA

problem #62

Apr 072015

CR-V

  • miles
2004 Honda CR-V. consumer writes in regards to vehicle airbag problems. The consumer received the air bag recall notice in January 2015. The vehicle was taken to the dealer in February to complete the recall. The consumer was involved in a head-on accident in April 7, 2015 and the air bags did not deploy. She received some back and neck injuries. The vehicle was totaled. Jb MA 10/22/2015

- East Point, GA, USA

problem #61

May 242015

CR-V

  • 312,000 miles
My side airbag light off light keeps staying on with no one else in the car.

- Brewster, NY, USA

problem #60

Oct 222014

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V700000 (air bags) and 14V351000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Aguadilla, PR, USA

problem #59

May 212015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:14V351000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Redondo Beach, CA, USA

problem #58

May 212015

CR-V

  • miles
My Honda CRV is within the year range for a recall of the driver side airbag. To date, I have not received any recall notice from Honda......at all. I am concerned about this and came to your website to find out if my vehicle is definitely one that needs to be recalled for replacement of the airbag apparatus. As far as I can tell, it is.....so I am wondering why no recall notice has come to me" what am I to do" the potential effects of this faulty part seem devastating from what I am reading.....please advise what is my best course of action.

- Mount Sidney, VA, USA

problem #57

Jan 012015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Plainville, GA, USA

problem #56

Apr 042015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V700000 (air bags) and 14V351000 (air bags); however, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 09/03/15 updated 12/10/2015

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #55

Jan 072015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 8/19/15 updated 9/30/2015

- Severna Park, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?