Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.4

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,137 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Honda CR-V lights problems

lights problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Honda CR-V Owner Comments

problem #11

May 202016

CR-V

  • 114,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Honda CR-V. while driving the vehicle, the headlights failed to illuminate. The failure recurred numerous occasions. The manufacturer was notified. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 114,000.

- Torrey, CA, USA

problem #10

Apr 142015

CR-V

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda CR-V. while driving 30 mph, the driver side low beam headlamp dimmed. Two days after it was replaced, the passenger side headlamp dimmed. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer, but was repaired. The failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 105,000.

- Camdenton, MO, USA

problem #9

Nov 012011

CR-V

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the low beam headlights failed to operate. The contact replaced the bulbs on several occasions but the failure persisted. The dealer was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000.

- Houston , TX, USA

problem #8

Jul 022012

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 57,510 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Both front low beam headlights suddenly went out while driving the Honda 2006 CRV. It was quite dangerous as suddenly could not see anything in the dark. The front low beam headlight bulbs were replaced several times since 2010 as they surprisingly only lasted half to a year. The last time only last two month! we have not experienced any of this light bulb problems with our civic and Odyssey. Something might be wrong with the Honda 2006 CRV.

- Rockville, MD, USA

problem #7

May 132009

CR-V

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda CR-V. the contact was traveling 40 mph when the headlights failed. The contact failure was experienced six times, sporadically. The dealer informed the contact that the bulb was replaced each time the failure recurred. The manufacturer advised that they would look further into the issue but the contact had not received any results. The failure mileage was 40,000. The VIN was not available. Updated 05/17/12 Honda informed the consumer they were not responsible and there were no recalls. The consumer stated the lights continue to blow out. The dealer was unable to find a problem. Updated 05/22/12

- Columbia, CT, USA

problem #6

Apr 012011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the low beam headlights stopped illuminating. A local mechanic inspected the vehicle but was unable to diagnose the failure. The low beam bulbs were replaced numerous times. The failure was not corrected. The contact had to use the high beams while driving at night. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000 and the approximated current mileage was 66,000....updated 07/19/12

- Slotsburg, NY, USA

problem #5

Mar 082012

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Honda CRV. The contact stated that the headlights would turn on and off while driving. The dealer advised the contact that the headlight failure could be caused by a failed switch or wires. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The current and the failure mileage was 60,000. Updated 03/23/12 updated 04/13/12

- Herdon , VA, USA

problem #4

Jul 272011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
Excessive burnouts and shorting of driver's side low beam headlight. Replacing bulbs every six months on my 2006 Honda CRV. Occasionally, bulb would work intermittently after replacement. Now, even new bulbs don't work. In last instance, both low beams appear to have burned out at same time (fortunately during daylight hours). Updated 08/24/11 the dealer informed the consumer they often have to slightly bend the head light housing with the bulb to get the proper metal to contact, which was the case with the consumers head light. Updated 08/29/11

- Reisterstown, MD, USA

problem #3

Jul 202011

CR-V

  • miles
Bought certified used 2006 Honda CRV in 2009. About 6 months after one of the headlamps burnt out, replaced it then about 4 months later it went out again. It stated averaging going out every 4-5 months, we just keep replacing the bulbs.

- Sunnyvale, CA, USA

problem #2

Apr 012011

CR-V

  • miles
2006 Honda CR-V. email transmitting letter to the administrator from re fraudulent concealment by Honda of material defects in Honda CR-V vehicles 2003-2008 the consumer stated he has spent over $900 in the past three years to constantly replace the low beam lights in his vehicle which constantly failed. The consumer stated a recall was issued for earlier models, but it needs to be extended to 2003-2008 models

- Schaumburg, IL, USA

problem #1

Jun 092008

CR-V

  • 92,000 miles
I purchased a 2006 Honda CR-V 2 years ago. My trade in vehicle was a 1997 Honda CR-V. since shortly after purchasing my car, I have had a recurring problem with the headlights blowing out, and sometimes the dome light inside the passenger area of the car. The headlights are blowing out on average, every two months. During the last year or 2 before trading the 1997 CR-V, I had similar problems with the headlights blowing on that vehicle also. I purchased my car from hendricks Honda in charleston, SC. I have most of my service, including oil changes, done at that dealers service department. I have repeatedly asked that they investigate the problem, and have been told repeatedly that there is no electrical problem with the car. I visited superior Honda recently in orangeburg South Carolina. The service department manager there told me that in recent months, he was aware of at least one CR-V owner and several owners of civics who have come back and forth to their dealership because of similar problems with headlights blowing out. Hendricks Honda advised against contacting the corporation and said it would likely refer the matter back to them. I commute to work 120 miles round trip daily. I have been stopped on numerous occasions by police officers and highway patrolmen regarding one of my headlights being out. I now carry copies of the service requests showing that I reported the problem with the headlights during my visits to the dealership. I show these to the office as proof that the problem is recurring and I have been attempting to resolve it. I have been unable to get the service department at the dealership where I purchased the car to take the issue seriously and/or to try to determine the source of the problem. I have check to see if there are any recalls related to this problem, or any service bulletins, and have found none. Post script: There are numerous "incident dates". the one listed is the most recent.

- Summerville, SC, USA

Not what you are looking for?