Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
12 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
34,149 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Honda CR-V seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #22

Apr 092015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Honda CRV. Consumer writes in regards to airbag replacement parts not available to complete recall notice. Updated 09/02/15 the consumer was advised by the dealer the vehicle was not safe to be driven. The dealer would not provide a loaner or rental. Updated 12/7/2015

- Forks Of Salmon, CA, USA

problem #21

Oct 242014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 42,500 miles
The contact owned a 2006 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that an unknown recall repair was performed on the vehicle, but it did not remedy the failure. While traveling approximately 30 mph, the contact's vehicle was involved in a crash. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The driver sustained whiplash, head, and back pains, which required medical attention. The vehicle was taken to a repair shop and an authorized dealer for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer's investigator determined that the air bags did not have a failure. The vehicle was destroyed. The NHTSA campaign number and failure mileage were not available. MA 08/10/15 the consumer stated that the manufacturer advised that the air bags don't always open at a 30 mile front end crash. Updated 1/30/2015

- Hot Springs Village , AR, USA

problem #20

Feb 132015

CR-V 6-cyl

  • miles
2006 Honda CR-V. consumer writes in regards to dealership not responding in a timely manner to complete airbags recall notice. The consumer was informed the parts were not available.

- Jupiter, FL, USA

problem #19

Apr 202015

CR-V

  • 175,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After finding out via the owner's site that my airbag had been recalled I made an appointment with my local Honda dealer to have my airbag replaced. I was told the parts were not in stock and I would receive a call to update me about availability before my appointment. I had to call back for the update and was told that they did not receive the parts. Nearly a month later I called back to check on the status of the parts and was told that they had no estimate of when they would arrive. When I expressed concern at the delay I was told that I shouldn't complain about waiting a month - there were customers who had been waiting more than three months. The recall date is almost a year old and I have still not received a recall notification. It has now been nearly two months that I have been waiting to have my airbag replaced after finding out about the recall. I tried to contact the Honda company but they have limited call center hours.

- Glen Allen, VA, USA

problem #18

Feb 262015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
I was in traffic and rear ended the auto in front of me. Although my car was deemed a total loss, and the front end was damaged into the motor compartment, my airbags did not deploy...updated 05/07/15

- Brentwood, CA, USA

problem #17

Apr 012015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda CR-V. the contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fullerton , CA, USA

problem #16

Sep 202014

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Honda CR-V. the contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #15

Sep 302014

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda CR-V. the contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Brandon, FL, USA

problem #14

Jan 312015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
On the recall email alert enrollment form, there is no Honda or Saab for vehicle make. How do I subscribe when Honda or Saab are not listed as one of the makes?

- Poughkeepsie, NY, USA

problem #13

Jan 272015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 147,000 miles
Complaint is that owner of vehicle (the original buyer) has still not received a recall notice for the on-going problematic takata airbags. The recall notice has now been expanded to all 2006 Honda CRV's, not just location specific vehicles. I have contacted Honda customer service but have still not received an official recall for airbags. Alarming and frustrating, considering people have been maimed, paralyzed, and killed by these very Honda-installed takata airbags. They say they are being "pro-active" which is at best a joke. They need to take responsibility for their defective airbags and replace them in all Honda vehicles with takata airbags. Honda and takata both suck for not doing the right thing!

- Battlefield, MO, USA

problem #12

Oct 212014

CR-V

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Honda CR-V. while driving approximately 35 mph, the contact's vehicle crashed into the rear of another vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. The contact sustained bruising on the chest and medical attention was not required. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and informed that the VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags). The approximate failure mileage was 40,000.

- Hot Springs National Park, AR, USA

problem #11

Nov 072014

CR-V

  • miles
I received from Honda a safety recall notice to have my front airbag inflator replaced at no charge. I took it to auto nation Honda miami lakes 5925 nw 167 St miami, fl 33015. My car was there for 6 hours, when I picked it up they told me that they weren't authorized to perform the recall because they didn't have the original part. I'm sending this information to let you know in case something happens. I can't waste my time missing work to have this fixed when the dealer doesn't even have the original part. I'm pretty sure that if I had to buy this piece then the dealer would have it, but because it's free they don't care.

- Miami Gardens, FL, USA

problem #10

Nov 122014

CR-V

  • miles
Hi, I am filing a complaint against Honda motor corporation on NHTSA campaign number: 14V-351. I living in long island New York. I live on a island surrounded by water and in high humid conditions. In the summer high humid conditions exist in about 4 months a year here on long island. But because Honda does not list my location as part of the recall campaign I am not entitled to the takata air bag replacement. When I contact Honda they cannot confirm if my vehicle even contains one of these affected air bags but just that I am not part of the recall campaign because of my location. I think this unfair that NHTSA is even allowing Honda to make that decision and is putting my family at risk in one of these vehicles. Please pressure Honda to make them repair all the affected vehicles and to not put cost above peoples safety. They made the error with takata and why should we pay the price on safety. Thank you [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Mastic, NY, USA

problem #9

Oct 202014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
I have two of these 2006 Honda CR-V the one that I purchased and registered in Florida was recalled and repaired by the crown Honda co. Pinellas park, fl however, the one that I purchased and registered in Michigan; and is now used in Florida nine months out of the year was not recalled and they could not set up an appointment to make the repair. The recall of just those vehicles registered in hot and humid states is ludicrous. It is usually just as hot and humid in mich. During June, July and August. There are also millions of "snowbirds" with tanacka airbags in Florida 75-80% of the year. They need to recall these vehicles. I dont want to drive it in Florida until it is repaired.

- Seminole, FL, USA

problem #8

Jun 102014

CR-V

  • 73,000 miles
Car pulled in front of me on highway. No time to stop nor was I able to change lanes to avoid him. Hit at between 35 and 40 mph. No airbags deployed and the seat belt actually broke and was hanging loose out side of car when they removed me. Only my bracing with my arms into steering wheel and legs stopped me from going thru the windshield.

- Casselberry, FL, USA

problem #7

Jun 112012

CR-V

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda CR-V. the contact was driving 45 mph when a vehicle crashed into her vehicle. None of the air bags deployed. The contact sustained minor injuries. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and advised the contact that if she was able to have the destroyed vehicle towed to the dealer, they would attempt to determine the cause of the air bag failure. The failure and current mileage was 70,000.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #6

Nov 112010

CR-V

  • 50,000 miles
I have had two accidents in my 2006 Honda CRV and the air bags have never gone off. There is obviously a problem, but Honda will not admit to it. One accident was in July of 2009, the second November of 2010 I also had to replace all 4 tires at 34,000 miles.....they were rated for 60, 000..... so far I'm not happy with my purchase my second issue is that the heat shield has rusted off, again called Honda and they say that it's a routine repair. My Honda only has 50, 000 miles on it. Nothing should be rusting on a 4 year old car....

- Landing, NJ, USA

problem #5

Aug 152010

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
Air bag light is on indicating that it is not working. Looked up my year and model and found a recall. Took it to dealer. Dealer said yes recall for your model but not your VIN. My car is was manufactured in 2005 but sold to me as a 2006. This is potentially life threatening.

- Whittier, CA, USA

problem #4

Apr 202010

CR-V

  • 34,000 miles
Someone hit me from back on a freeway while I was at stopped position due to traffic jams. I was injured by steering wheel but no air bag deployed. Doc told me I have to suffer few years or longer or whole life. If air bag deployed. I could have been saved.

- Milpitas, CA, USA

problem #3

Oct 102008

CR-V

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Honda CR-V. while driving approximately 30 mph on normal road conditions, the vehicle came to a stop in slow traffic. The vehicle was rear ended by another vehicle, which caused the contact to rear end the preceding vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained severe injuries and was transported to the hospital. The police and ambulance were called to the scene. A police report was filed. The vehicle was completely destroyed and was towed to a collision repair shop. The contact was in the process of notifying the manufacturer. The VIN was unknown. The failure and current mileages were 20,000.

- Genoa, WI, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?