Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Honda redesigned the CR-V for the 2007 model year to kick off the 3rd-generation of the popular SUV. Unfortunately that redesign came with malfunctioning door locksand shoddy tires that wear out fast.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,832 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Honda CR-V electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 6 of 11)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #117

Jul 022012

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Failure of the door lock actuator. The rear driver's-side door continually unlocks, even despite the automatic lock feature. With small children in the back, I am unable to ensure their safety with an unlocked door while driving, or even while parked. Also, our belongings are at risk of theft because that door is constantly unlocked, even when locked by hand. Despite our efforts, the door unlocks itself immediately after we lock it.

- Fullerton, CA, USA

problem #116

May 152013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
First issue was related to front passenger-side door lock. The lock can only be unlocked from the driver's side or with the keyless remote. Several weeks later, the rear passenger lock on the driver's side began locking and unlocking when I went above or below 10 miles per hour. My mechanic said it was probably the door actuator and that I should take it to the dealer. I have not done that to date because I viewed it as more nuisance than safety related. After reviewing some online information I realized my first assumption may be incorrect. I called Honda national to see what they had on this issue and possible remedies. I was informed that there was only a three year window for electrical issues; however, since the car is six years old, I will be financially responsible.

- Burke, VA, USA

problem #115

Sep 052013

CR-V

  • 32,213 miles
Passenger door locks and unable to open in emergency.

- Bremen, ME, USA

problem #114

Aug 282013

CR-V

  • 46,650 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My first incident the last week of August 2013 my keyless lock would not lock my car and would beep 3X when I went to lock it. It would still stay open. After a few times of opening and closing my door it was fine but still did it over a 2 day period then it stopped and was fine. Today is Wednesday, September 4th and I pull in my driveway, turn off my car and the door unlocks as usual, then it locked itself immediately after that. I used my key to unlock it and opened my door quickly to get out. As I exited my car the door locked itself before I could even close my door and use the keyless remote. Even if I manually unlock my door it will lock itself immediately right after. I searched on the internet and found others are having the same problem with their 2007 Honda CRV. This is a safety issue and could result in death. Let me remind you it is September and very hot outside and hotter in the car. This could trap me or my passengers in my car and I am afraid.

- Orange, CA, USA

problem #113

Dec 122012

CR-V

  • 42,000 miles
This is complaint for the Honda CR-V 2007 LX model. The passenger door would not lock, after locking the car. So every time I lock the car, the door lock would re-open.

- North Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #112

Aug 272013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 121,500 miles
Rear passenger door would not lock causing automatic locks to try to re-lock every time I resumed driving after a stop light/sign. I was unable to lock the door with the driver's door lock button, remote, or manually. The problem has continued and the majority of the time the door is unlocked, but occasionally, the door will lock itself and I am unable to open it via remote, driver's door button, or manually. This is a safety issue regardless of whether the door is permanently locked or unlocked, putting passengers at risk either way.

- Hillsborough, NC, USA

problem #111

Aug 012013

CR-V 4WD 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My rear passenger door locks started to make a whirring noise when the automatic 9mph designed lock system engaged and also anytime I locked my doors. I disengaged the automatic 9mph designed lock. But it still does this when I lock the vehicle with my key. At times it also locks and unlocks when I am driving. Since my inspection was due shortly I waited to have it repaired. When I took it to the Honda dealer they quoted me approx $350 to repair. Since I did not have the money at that time I ask if it would hurt to leave as is for awhile, they advised me no, but at some point I may not be able to lock on unlock the passenger door. I then looked online and saw all the problems everyone was having with this same issue. I confronted the dealer and he said it was the actuator and I ask him when Honda was going to have a recall. He said it is not a safety issue, so most likely there will be no recall. I have 38, 000 miles on my vehicle and do all the maintenance as required. Honda should acknowledge this problem and do right by their customers. This is a safety issue especially for small children and if you need to lock your doors for your own safety.

- Middletown, PA, USA

problem #110

Jun 252013

CR-V

  • 101,000 miles
Passenger door lock actuator(s) engage and disengage on their own - locking door within seconds on door being unlocked and unlocking passenger sporadically while driving with no ability keep door locked when car is in motion. A serious safety hazard has emerged as a result of the door actuator malfunction.

- Lithia, FL, USA

problem #109

Aug 202013

CR-V

  • 70,000 miles
Rear hatch will not unlock. Unable to unlock rear passenger door. I've been told it is an defective door lock actuator. A class action suit was filed in April 2013 regarding this issue. I called Honda who said there were no recalls and that I should take it to my local dealer to evaluate the situation. Perhaps Honda should consider recalling the defective actuators. Being unable to unlock car doors on a vehicle is completely unsafe.

- Seaford, NY, USA

problem #108

Jul 122013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The passenger door lock will not stay unlocked no matter whether I unlock it from outside with the remote or from the inside driver lock button. It unlocks then a couple seconds later, it locks itself. This happens every time I unlock the door - not sporadically.

- Norwalk, CT, USA

problem #107

Jul 012013

CR-V

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The doors will lock and unlock on there own at random times. You can unlock the doors with the key fob and they will re-lock themselves within a few seconds. This can be very dangerous as they can unlock while driving or a child could get locked in the vehicle. This is apparently a very widely known issue at Honda.

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #106

Aug 252012

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 104,274 miles
The passenger rear right (R.rr) door lock actuator failed on 8/25/12 in the locked position then eventually would unlock with the remote fob but would immediately relock on its own. The passenger front (R.fr) door lock actuator failed on 12/10/12 with the same symptoms as the R.rr actuator. The passenger left rear (L.rr) actuator failed on 8/15/13 in the locked mode and would not unlock with the mechanical lever or remote fob. In order to get the door open I had to remove the door panel and dissemble the actuator still installed in the door.

- Matthews, NC, USA

problem #105

Dec 192012

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
Door locks normally with key fob or at designated speed of 8mph. However left rear and right front slowly unlock after about 3 seconds. Repeated key fob use is to no avail. Using the door lock switch or the actual door lock mechanism will still not allow door to remain locked. Highly unsafe as there is no way to keep door locked and prevent door from opening. Vehicle is now easily hijackable or can be broken into quickly.

- Rio Rancho, NM, USA

problem #104

Mar 052008

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that while attempting to activate the air conditioning unit, the air conditioner blew hot air. The contact mentioned that the air conditioner would operate normally sporadically. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was unable to be replicated. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was unknown and the current mileage was 100,000. Updated 10/17/13

- Ridge , NY, USA

problem #103

Aug 142013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 61,981 miles
Yesterday, after returning home, I tried to open the trunk of my CRV. It would not release using either the key-based unlocking mechanism or by using the interior locking system. Upon further investigation, I discovered that the left, rear passenger door was also unable to unlock through any means. The trunk and the door were, effectively, frozen in place. I have taken my car into Honda service today (ron tonkin Honda in portland) and they are unable to unlock the left, rear passenger door or trunk through manipulation of the vehicles computer. This will necessitate the removal, and likely braking, of the door's panel, which they estimated will cost over $1000, not counting the replacement of the doors actuator, which is what has likely failed. In an emergency situation, this kind of failure would lead to a situation where someone could not be able to exit the car or someone wouldn't be able to enter the car to assist an injured passenger. My 3 year old rides in the rear of the vehicle every day and this scenario is terrifying to me. Based on my reading, I see that there are numerous complaints of this issue (including a class-action lawsuit in newark, NJ), but no recall or acknowledgement of the problem has been issued by Honda. I am hopeful that my reporting this will result in an acknowledgement of the problem by Honda and a recall of the part and replacement with a proven part which is not vulnerable to the same kind of failure.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #102

Jan 082013

CR-V

  • miles
When I use keyless entry or key entry, I have about 3 seconds before all locks in the vehicle lock back up. When I get out of the car, this also happens. This happens everytime I get in my car or get out of my car. I tried re-programming the keyless entry and this did not work. I have had my keys locked in my car and had to call a towing company to come unlock the car for me. Finally after months and months of this happening, I got into my car on 08/14/2013 using the keyless entry and once my locks locked up and I tried to start my car, the entire car shut down (lights, locks, horn, ignition, car engine.) I had to use the manual restart located on my dash board to get the car to start back up. This all seems like a safety hazard.

- Concord, CA, USA

problem #101

Mar 152013

CR-V

  • 95,000 miles
When locking the front passenger door the door automatically re-opens.the door will not manually lock as well. Honda will not take responsibility for the defect. A very big safety concern for the passenger sitting in that seat.

- San Ramon, CA, USA

problem #100

May 202013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Around time indicated, doors started to lock and unlock by themselves as soon as speed reached 10-15 mph. It was the mechanic from dealership who first paid attention to this problem while on a test drive for another problem. Currently, the rear passenger door lock is the one that gives the most trouble. It locks and unlocks itself with loud noise and rattling. Other locks continue to act chaotically but at least they are quiet. Today, I could not open the trunk door without starting the car.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #99

Feb 052013

CR-V

  • miles
Rear passenger side door slowly unlocks after being key fob-activated or manually locked. This is a serious safety concern, as my child's car seat is anchored on that side of the vehicle. In addition to this concern, my car has recently been broken into and items have been stolen from my vehicle as a result of this manufacturer defect. Unacceptable. I am puzzled as to why Honda hasn't issued a recall.

- Alameda, CA, USA

problem #98

Jul 152013

CR-V

  • miles
2007 Honda CR-V, started with rear passenger door lock not unlocking. Within one week all door locks were not unlocking. Now the driver's door will lock and unlock while driving. I have about 1 second to pull the handle once I press unlock (on remote or within the vehicle) to open the door or it locks itself again. After vehicle it shut off 2 doors will not lock and vehicle is left unlocked. This is a huge safety issue with my children in the car! Honda needs to address, recall and fix this problem immediately.

- Buckeye, AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?