10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
78,216 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Honda CR-V electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 2 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #134

Mar 252016

CR-V

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the vehicle was included in a manufacturer's recall for the electrical door locks. The contact stated that the passenger side door locks were inoperable. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the door locks were repaired under the manufacturer's recall. After the repairs were performed, the passenger side door locks initiated independently and the failure progressed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer a second time and repaired, but the failure occurred. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 95,000.

- Farmington Heights, CO, USA

problem #133

Jan 202016

CR-V

  • 140,000 miles
I took vehicle in for safety recall last year on door lock actuator. Dealer told me my vehicle was not affected so nothing was done. Recall ended Nov 7 2015 and now I am having serious issues with door locks. Doors lock immediately after unlocking whether using key fob, door lock on door, or when the doors self unlock when the car is stopped and put in park. The door unlocks as it is supposed to but immediately relocks all doors. Passenger unlocks their door and if they don't catch the latch to open the door quickly, it will automatically relock. I can't take my car to the carwash in fear that someone will lock my keys inside. Keys in ignition, engine on and I get out to close my gate, the doors relock. If I didn't hear it lock and shut my door, my car would be running in park with doors locked. Think if I had my grand children inside with the engine running and I can't get inside. This is a huge safety issue. This started happening regularly around January 2016 past the recall. To fix this myself will cost hundreds of dollars.

- Marana, AZ, USA

problem #132

Feb 012016

CR-V

  • 14,000 miles
Electrical system or motor that controls doors locking and unlocking makes noises and sometimes does not lock the doors. Also, when I am driving drivers side doors in front and back lock and unlock them selves. " 2 years ago I had to pay to have the passager side motor for the door locks repaired, now the drivers side is going out. I would like Honda to fix this at no cost to me. Is there a recall for this"

- Riverside, CA, USA

problem #131

Feb 012016

CR-V

  • 105,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have key with door locks on it, when I unlock the car, it automatically locks again, without pushing the other button to lock it. Also, the A/C has been fixed 4 times and within a week, just blows out warm air, have taken to several mechanics, Honda dealer/garage says they wont fix unless there is a recall

- Oregon City, OR, USA

problem #130

Jan 232016

CR-V

  • 315,000 miles
The contact owned a 2008 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that while driving at approximately 35 mph, the vehicle in front made a sudden stop causing the contact to crash into the rear of the vehicle in front. The air bags failed to deploy and the computer system failed. The vehicle was deemed destroyed. The contact injuries were not yet determined however, medical attention was required. A police report was not filed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 315,000.

- Temecula, CA, USA

problem #129

Oct 072015

CR-V

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that while attempting to utilize the windows of the vehicle, the windows failed to open, with the exception of the driver's window. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 60,000.

- Braintree, MA, USA

problem #128

Aug 152015

CR-V

  • 88,408 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2008 Honda CR-V. while the vehicle was stationary in my driveway and I attempted to lock all the doors. However, the left side rear door behind the driver's side did not lock. I think this will be a safety issue especially if I have young children as my passengers. Also, knowing that my car was locked already but not, there will be a potential danger of bad guys coming inside either to take valuable items or damage my car. I am planning to bring my car to the dealership to fix this problem but wondering if the charges would be covered by any service bulletins to give extended warranty. Please help to fix this problem as soon as possible. The approximate failure mileage was 88,408.

- Merced, CA, USA

problem #127

Aug 142015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 121,000 miles
There was a loud banging sound and the air conditioner, which was on and working great, stopped blowing cold air. I researched the problem and found that this has been very common on Honda Cr-vs. From my experience and the four different failure modes that have been identified, it sounds like the ac compressor exploded or imploded and could have left shards of metal on the highway I was driving on. Two other failure modes of this problem include the clutch axle shaft shearing and the clutch itself melting. Here are the ridiculously high number of complaints that I've found within 15 minutes of researching: 1. https://www.youtube.com/watch"V=fldx1wvjqsc 2. https://www.youtube.com/watch?V=Q4ajblxnh2E 3. https://www.youtube.com/watch"V=asy6stixtq4&feature=youtu.be 4. www.ebay.com/gds/the-Honda-CRV-S-problematic-ac-compressor-black-death-/10000000018634628/G.html 5. repairpal.com/air-conditioning-is-blowing-warm-air-497 6. forums.edmunds.com/discussion/5273/Honda/CR-V/Honda-CR-V-ac-compressor-problems/P71 7. www.topix.com/forum/autos/Honda-CR-V/tu0okfjgv9V3F3fgl/P64,

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #126

Jun 012015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 112,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Honda CR-V. while the vehicle was stationary and attempting to unlock the doors, the doors immediately re-locked. The contact did not take the vehicle to an independent dealer or mechanic. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 112,000....updated 11/13/15 the consumer stated the dealer resolved the issue with the locks. Updated 11/18/15.

- Fairview , NC, USA

problem #125

Mar 282015

CR-V 4WD 4-cyl

  • 70,250 miles
I was traveling at low speed in a parking lot when I noticed that the engine had suddenly turned itself off. At that moment I noticed that the metal part of the ignition key had separated from the plastic key fob, and the plastic part, with the rest of my keys attached, had dropped to the floor of the car. After investigation, I saw that the small screw that holds the plastic and metal parts together had pulled through the thin slip of plastic to which it was attached. The engine apparently turns off if the key fob is not in close proximity to the ignition. This mechanism presumably has anti-theft functions, while also preventing anyone but Honda from selling replicate keys. In this case it had the wholly undesired effect of shutting off the engine of a car in motion. In order to re-start the car, the parts had to be precariously jammed back together, and I was forced to drive home with the fear that they would again re-separate and cause the engine to turn off. Under normal circumstances, it is impossible to take the key out of the ignition when the car is in gear, but under this apparently unanticipated failure mode, if the key fob experiences a sudden structural failure, the engine does turn itself off. This situation represents a safety hazard because of the risk that the car will abruptly lose both engine power and power steering. I was in a parking lot when this happened, but if I had been traveling at highway speed, or in traffic, the situation could have been very dangerous. It seems reasonable for the key fob to be required to start the engine, but once the engine is running, loss of the signal from the fob should not result in the engine turning off.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #124

Jun 012014

CR-V 4WD 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Door locks. When unlocking doors they lock right back.

- Springfield , TN, USA

problem #123

Jun 012014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
All door locks will lock themselves after being unlocked and unlock after being locked. It doesn't matter if it is unlocked by the remote, the door key or the interior locks. The locks will also cycle when either proceeding from a stop or when you begin braking.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #122

Sep 172014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
Rear passenger door lock does not operate correctly. It will stick in the locked or unlocked position. If it is unlocked, it will repeatedly try to unlock when driving about 10 mph.

- North East, PA, USA

problem #121

Jun 012010

CR-V

  • 48,000 miles
Ongoing problem from when I purchased the CR-V in 2010. Many times when shifting into reverse there is an loud, audible clunking as the gears grind. I've been parked next to other CR-V's and noticed the same noise as the CR-V is put into reverse. This must be a common problem. Also the doors were locking and unlocking on their own while I was driving, and I had to have the lock mechanisms on all 4 passenger doors replaced. Lastly there is an annoying whistling noise in the duct work for the heat and A/C. I have to keep the recycle button on to somewhat diminish it.

- Sedona, AZ, USA

problem #120

Sep 192014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 161,121 miles
Electronic door lock solenoid has a mind of its own, locks me in the car and also out of the car, and I have the key fab. Also makes a horrible noise.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #119

Aug 212014

CR-V 4WD 4-cyl

  • 69,768 miles
I first noticed the problem on 8/21/14. After starting the car and putting it in drive, the door locks activated a few seconds after the car started moving, as they normally do. About a minute later I had to come to a stop. When the car started moving, the rear door locks cycled again. This would happen every time the car would start to move again from a stop. I reached my destination and exited the car, locking the doors with the Honda remote. A second after the doors locked, I heard a faint click from the rear driver side door, as if someone had operated the lock button from the inside. I checked the door handle and the rear door opened. I checked the drivers door and it was still locked. I hit the door locks again with the key remote and checked to make sure it was physically locked. When I came out in the morning, I checked the door, and found it unlocked. I checked the drivers door and it was still locked. This started as a intermittent problem, but is now approaching almost a continuous event. I can't have passengers in the back seat because I can't be sure the doors will stay closed in case of an accident, and I fear that the car is now exposed to theft because it's easy to access regardless of the other doors, or the alarm. This is now affecting my safety and my security. Please have Honda fix this issue.

- Middleburg Heights, OH, USA

problem #118

Aug 112014

CR-V

  • 60,112 miles
First: All 4 door locks started to lock and unlock by it self soon after pressing the lock/open door button on car key. At one point when trying to open the car door by pressing lock/open, it would click open and lock just as quickly. It took a total of 5 minutes and was able to open car door while holding door handle and pulling as soon as it clicked. Second: The car accelerates when pressing brake, in order to avoid hitting the car in front the brake must be pressed at a distance of three cars. Both of these problems are very serious and a major safety concern. Honda does not have recall for this problem. NHTSA please issue a recall, don't wait for a serious accident that would take the life of a person/persons.

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #117

Mar 152014

CR-V

  • 82,363 miles
First problem - March 2014 - left rear door start to lock and unlock by itself as driving. Replaced actuator. Second problem - August 2014 - passenger door start doing the same thing lock and unlock by itself. I manually try to lock, unlocks by itself. The rear door does the same thing along with the front door. Third problem - September 2014 - rear hatch will not unlock using the remote. Had to get key in the door lock and turn couple of times until finally opened. This issues are a major safety concern for my family. NHTSA please issue a recall - don't wait until a major injury or possibly a death occurs.

- Kennesaw, GA, USA

problem #116

Oct 012014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Electrical problem.

- Blue Point, NY, USA

problem #115

Oct 052014

CR-V 4WD

  • 50,700 miles
My Honda 2008 CR-V's rear right door unlocks itself 1. after locking it thru the remote, 2. after locking it manually from the lock switch. 3. even after locking it thru the keys. It has a feature of automatically locking all doors from full stop to 9mph but this door will unlock itself in any way. I feel like my car is not secured and me and my passengers safety is being compromised.

- Jersey City, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?