Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: While the 2009 CR-V still came equipped with tires that wear out faster than my Grandpa after a turkey dinner, Honda did address an electrical problem with the door locks that plagued owners of previous model years.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
10,137 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Honda CR-V seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 7 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #31

Jun 082016

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. the contact was made aware of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 07/27/16 updated 08/02/16.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #30

Mar 252016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. My car has been sitting at community Honda since March 25, 2016. I have been in a rental vehicle ever since. I have talked to my dealer, they don't seem to care. I have talked to Honda corporate and have been told the parts are ordered but they don't know when the dealer will get them. I am tired of this. All I want is for my car to be fixed and returned to me. I told Honda corporate for all the money they are paying out in rental they could put me in a new CR-V. this is ridiculous and I just want resolution to this situation.

- Whittier, CA, USA

problem #29

Mar 012016

CR-V

  • miles
2009 Honda CR-V. consumer writes in regards to time frame to repair airbag recall is unreasonable and rental vehicle cost issues.

- Andover, CT, USA

problem #28

Feb 202016

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. the contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Acton, MA, USA

problem #27

Mar 242016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Palm Bay, FL, USA

problem #26

May 232016

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the parts were unavailable to perform the repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- St Petersburg, FL, USA

problem #25

Mar 072016

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags). The remedy was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Palm Cove, FL, USA

problem #24

May 102016

CR-V

  • miles
Going speed and car almost stutters, feels like looses power, RPM's raise when given gas but car will not increase speed, continues to slow down until vsa light comes on. On other occasions the car abrutly stops, feeling like the brakes lock up once again, until the vsa light comes on. I have read multi post from CRV owners having this same issue as well as a post about a class act law suit already involving Honda for the vehicle stability alert system.

- Wichita Falls, TX, USA

problem #23

May 022016

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
2009 Honda CR-V. consumer writes in regards to problems with the length of time to replace parts for driver side airbag recall and rental vehicle issues.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #22

Apr 122016

CR-V

  • 66,436 miles
Takata recall my car was taken in for the airbag recall for replacement. When I was called to come and get my car I asked if the driver and passenger side airbag had been replaced and was told yes. Upon arrival at the Honda dealership service department I was told they had made a mistake, only the driver's side airbag had been replaced. Needless to say I was very upset, asked to speak to someone and was given the number for the main american Honda office. I called them right at the dealership and was told at this time only the one airbag was on recall, I voiced my serious concern as my car had not been on the recall list a year ago and now it was and I have 2 grandchildren that frequently ride in my car. I requested that they disconnect the passenger side airbag, they said they could not do that, they tried to assure me it was safe for me to drive my car with my grandchildren. I requested that it be noted I was not satisfied. They gave me a case number. Right now I am in god's hands as this is the only transportation I have. It makes no sense that both airbags were not replaced when they had my car and replaced the driver's. when the updated lists come out I imagine since I live in Florida I will eventually receive another recall notification, and this time for the passenger side. Both airbags need to be replaced at the same time.

- Gainesville, FL, USA

problem #21

Mar 042016

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #20

Apr 082016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. My complaint is that Honda will not pay for all expenses related to alternate transportation for my recall Honda CRV. Currently I have heard that my husband's Honda odessey may be recalled also. What will we do for work transportation and all the other life situations we are incurring presently? please help me with this problem. Thank you in advance.

- Woodhaven, MI, USA

problem #19

Mar 162016

CR-V

  • 96,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. while driving at an unknown speed, the contact attempted to make a turn in the vehicle and struck a curb. The driver side air bag deployed. The contact sustained minor injuries that required medical attention. A police report was not filed. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 96,000. Updated 06/21/16

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #18

Apr 282016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts unavailable.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #17

Mar 042016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. the contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the parts for the recall repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #16

Apr 012016

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
Letter from senator nelson on behalf of constituent re defective airbags recall on 2009 Honda CR-V. the consumer was informed the parts were not available.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #15

Feb 122016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. the contact received a recall notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Young Harris, GA, USA

problem #14

Mar 012016

CR-V

  • 80,000 miles
"takata recall" I am a concerned parent of two teenagers that are driving cars effected by the airbag recall. I received a letter for my sons Ford mustang in September 2015, and for my daughters 2009 Honda CR-V March 2016. I have contacted the manufacturer Ford and Honda, and have not been given any information about when parts will be available. I feel that there is a lack of information being provided by the manufacturer, as well as specific information being provided by the NHTSA. I live in a designated high risk area, and would like to know what my options are for keeping my children safe from being killed by a malfunctioning airbag deployment.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #13

Mar 282016

CR-V

  • 73,950 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. while pulling into a parking spot with the brake pedal depressed, the vehicle independently accelerated without warning. The vehicle went over a curb and crashed into a wall. The air bags failed to deploy. A police report was filed. There were injuries that required medical attention. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 73,950. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Frederick, MD, USA

problem #12

Mar 152016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags). The part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Olney, MD, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?