Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,466 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Honda CR-V engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Honda CR-V Owner Comments

problem #17

Jul 222016


  • miles


I purchased this car on 3/26/10 based upon performance ratings boasted by Honda. There have been manufacturers defects from the start. Currently about 118,000 miles. Early on I started hearing pinging sounds under the hood. Honda dealer said I was low on oil, put a quart in, and the sound stopped. He advised to put oil in whenever the sound occurred. This was before my first oil change. I continued to add oil as the sound re-occurred, 2-4 quarts between oil changes. I repeatedly questioned the consumption but no malfunction was found. July of 2011 Honda acknowledged the problem with (tsb#11-033). In November 2011, the dealer did an oil consumption software update. At this time there was no recall. The continual cost for synthetic oil remained and the oil light never came on. An oil consumption recall issued in 2015. The car failed the oil test Honda did required service as per recall protocol. The tech indicated the catalytic converter needs to be replaced but was out of warranty. Honda agreed to pay 50% of the cc repair. I declined since I have no money for this due to unemployment, nor should I put one cent into a car that has been defective from the start. My car was also recalled for takata airbags. Honda provided a rental car for 2.5 months. I picked up the car and now the engine light is on, brakes malfunctioning and compromised cc. It is not safe to drive. I have been driving a car with a substantial defect from the day one. I have spent countless dollars on oil. There have been two recalls. The car is no longer safe or dependable due to cc and brakes. I am concerned about engine longevity. I will never be able to drive this vehicle without being fearful. I feel it is Honda's responsibility to make me whole and provide the type of vehicle I signed up for. Please advise next steps to bring about a resolution in the immediate future.

- Basking Ridge, NJ, USA

problem #16

Feb 142014


  • 55,915 miles
High engine oil consumption - my car ran out of oil in 2014, the red light came on and I added 4 qts of oil. This was between oil changes with "20% oil life" still indicated in the car. I reported it to Honda and not until they sent me the warranty extension required by the court order did anything happen. Then they (mcgrath Honda elgin il) made me bring the car back 4 times for the oil consumption test. They told me the test would only take 3 trips. Even though it continues to burn oil (1qt per 800-1000 miles) they deny a problem.

- Geneva, IL, USA

problem #15

Jun 092015


  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Honda CR-V. while driving 20 mph, the check engine warning light illuminated. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where an oil change was performed, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 80,000.

- Darby, PA, USA

problem #14

Dec 152014


  • 69,000 miles


I first noticed excessive oil consumption in Dec 2014 when driving across West Texas (speed limits are 80 mph). My oil light went on and the car was making noise when I arrived in tucson. I went to a dealer who said I had run out of oil but he didn't know why. I then went to where I purchesd the car but no reason for excessive oil found. I went to another mechanic- again no reason. In August 2015 Honda sent a letter explaining that 2010 and 2011 Cr-vs had a problem with sticky piston rings that could lead to excessive consumption. I contacted Honda and went through an oil consumption test. Although I documented 1.5 quarts of oil burned in 1700 miles of highway, the average was less than Honda defined as excessive. I feel that this level of consumption is excessive, especially on longer highway drives and I am worrying about damaging the engine. Honda should do the warranty work. My local dealer suggested I continue to do my own oil consumption testing. The warranty is valid until Nov 2017 and for another 35,000 miles.

- Sturgeon Bay, WI, USA

problem #13

Sep 172012


  • 45,000 miles
CR-V 2010 excessive oil consumption. Bought the car new. My husband drives the car to work every day for an hour. We start hearing a cranking noise coming form the engine in the cold mornings. We follow recommendations on oil changes and use synthetic oil. I check the oil regularly and add some when it needs it. I was amaze at how much oil it burn. I have had problems with excessive oil use and check engine light on two (2) dealerships recommended to replace timing belt timing chain tension and cam shaft. 62,000 miles car was driving very bad so I did the repairs $ $1,212.40. The dealership is telling me that's "normal". I have a mini van Toyota with 273,000 miles never chance the timing belt/chain still running. Honda of America saying that burning a quart of oil every 1,000 miles is normal. That is unethical. I have done the 1,000 mile oil consumption tests when I went to the dealership and they said that my CRV can burn up to a quart of oil every 1,000 miles and is nothing that they can help me. Now the car start smelling oil and gas when I check the oil level. They send a letter but Honda is not willing to do the repairs.

- Lebanon, NJ, USA

problem #12

Jan 222016


  • 33,000 miles
Engine stalls while driving time to time. It lasts a few minutes. The problem was reported to a dealer after purchasing the car (new). Honda dealers cannot find the cause of the problem. Recently I found a youtube video that shows that it is a common problem in Honda and that the cause is a faulty ignition key part. If it is true, then Honda must recall it to fix the problem. It must be investigated since many Honda cars are reported for the same problem, but Honda seems not to know what the cause of the problem is.

- Lexington, SC, USA

problem #11

May 122010


  • 450 miles


My car engine stalled mostly in ther morning at 50 mph or above. It lasts about a few minutes, and disappears. It happens in the afternoon again. It seems that engine speed and transmission are mismatched. I reported this several times after I purchsed it; dealers updated softwares under factory warantees. The problem has not been fixed. My car has now about 32,000 milies. I am not sure if this has anything to do with the recent recall on engine oil ring problem.

- Lexington, SC, USA

problem #10

Dec 142015


  • 57,000 miles
The engine makes a rattling (grinding) noise during cold starts. The noise only occurs when the weather is cold <50 degrees F and only when the engine is cold. The noise does not occur when the weather is warm and the engine is warm. The noise is most likely stemming from the vtc actuator.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #9

Jun 012010

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 1,200 miles
Engine or transmittion begines to stall in the morning when driving at 50 mph or higher on highway. It does not happen in the afteroon. I tried to warm up the vehicle for 5 mins before driving, but the simpton remains the same. The software upgrade was done by dealers a couple of times, but the problem continues.

- Lextington, SC, USA

problem #8

Jul 212014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 71,049 miles
I purchased a Honda CRV ex 2010 on July 19 2014 at a long island city Hyundai dealer.. car runs great and smooth but I realized that while the car is idle or stop on any red light the engine seems to vibrate I went to the dealer and they have told me that that's normal in Honda CRV cars. And I'm trying to find out why this is happening. And I went to Honda dealer and they want to charge me a $110 service fee for check up. I can't pay $110 so I can get an answer saying that everything is okay.

- Valley Stream, NY, USA

problem #7

Oct 152013


  • 40,000 miles


A loud start rattling noise at cold start. Now it rattles while driving as well.

- Temple Hills, MD, USA

problem #6

Oct 202014


  • miles
The engine light comes on all the time and the dealer just says to unscrew and re tighten the fuel cap. Sometimes this fixes and sometimes it doesn't.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #5

Apr 152013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 67,111 miles
The 2010 Honda CR-V was not driving properly, felt like the transmission was slipping/shaky. The oil light came on, so I took it to the dealer (less than 70,000 miles). It was almost out of oil, even though I had been properly maintaining service since buying the vehicle new in April, 2010. The Honda dealer serviced the car. I went back shortly after service because we checked the oil and it was low again. They started 'oil consumption' tests. It was down a bit every 1,000 miles but they kept saying it was in the 'normal' range and that it is not unusual to need to add oil between oil changes (I have owned cars for 30+ years and this is the first car that ever need additional oil between changes). I kept taking it in for consumption issues. They would check the oil, top it off, and tell me it was 'normal'. the service person said the service manager presented it to the regional Honda service, but they said it was 'normal' too. I started topping off the oil myself as the dealership is a bit of a drive and I wasn't getting anywhere with the complaints. At 86,000 miles, the check engine light came on. I took it to an Acura dealership. They serviced the car and reset it. Light came on again 3 weeks later. It needs a new catalytic converter @$1,100. Bought Honda care extended warranty at dealer with car, but it doesn't cover the part. Honda is telling me the car is out of warranty and the Honda care warranty is not a Honda warranty, but 3rd party and they don't control it. I'm out $2,300 for the useless warranty and appealing to Honda to replace the catalytic converter. I strongly believe there is a connection between the oil consumption (which the Honda dealer said is not a problem with Cr-vs) and the need for a new catalytic converter at 86,000 miles.

- Rutland, MA, USA

problem #4

Apr 292011

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
Loud rattling noise at cold start up.

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #3

Dec 182013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
The engine is consuming excessive oil. To my calculations (and through an abbreviated oil consumption test through dealer), the vehicle is burning 1/2 a quart of oil every 1000 miles (no leaks). Before noticing between oil changes the car would go almost dry between changes. The oil light would flicker on and then go off, even though there was less than a quart of oil in the car. The dealer claims having to add 1/2 quart to 1 quart of oil every 1000 miles is considered normal consumption. Honda of America claims the same. Honda of America had no answer for me as to why the oil light did not remain on when car was running very low on oil. Honda of America also has no answer as to why if this is considered normal consumption there is nothing in the maintenance manual to warn the consumer that they may want to check their oil between oil changes. They will take no ownership or responsibility for the situation.

- Woodstock, VT, USA

problem #2

Jun 152013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 33,100 miles
**update to complaint made on 6-17-13*** I informed american Honda about the sudden acceleration problem, he said not covered by warranty because dealer could not recreate the issue. I informed him I would not trust my loved ones to this car, I asked if he would let his wife and family use this car, he said 'maybe'. (on what criteria would he decide that I wondered). Long story short, Honda no help, the dealer, on the other hand, gillman Honda of san antonio was most helpful and stepped up by providing a very reasonable discount on a 2013 CRV and gave us the red carpet treatment. We traded in little greeny, sorry to see him go but had to do it.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #1

Jun 152013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 33,100 miles
June 11-13 I had oil changed at my dealer gilman Honda san antonio and had car checked out for problems because I am almost out of warranty, they said all clear, also had new key made and they reset the car to recognize the new keys. June 15 2013 I was backing up in the drive way, I pressed the brakes and car started to rev up severely, I put it in park, confirmed that my foot was off the gas, floor mat not stuck in the pedal etc. I turned off engine, restarting and it ran fine. Next day same thing, in reverse, pressed brakes and sudden acceleration, I will take to dealer this week to report issue, not hopeful as there are 15 of these complaints on and no dealer has yrt found the solution.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?