Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: 2011 Honda CR-V owners are reporting problems where the engine revs when braking.

Our data is showing early signs of a defect trend, so that's why we've flagged the 2011 CR-V with our "Beware of the Clunker" rating. Time will tell whether this continues to be a problem, & if so, whether Honda will be able to identify the problem & fix it.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,144 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Honda CR-V seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 5 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #161

Aug 092016

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts unavailable.

- Safety Harbor, FL, USA

problem #160

Jul 152016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #159

Mar 102016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Millersville, MD, USA

problem #158

May 062016

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

"takata recall". received recall notice in March of 2016. Went into lynnwood Honda for appointment for airbag recall in May 2016. Was informed that airbags not available at that time. Name and information was then taken so that I could be contacted when available. Now it is August 2016 and past the 60 days. Concerned about safety and driving vehicle. Did have a service done in June 2016 for other maintenance and did double check that name was on the list, however airbag replacement still not available at that time.

- Mountlake Terrace, WA, USA

problem #157

Feb 032016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #156

Jul 302016

CR-V

  • 78,008 miles
Takata recall 7-21 - we scheduled to drop off our vehicle at valley Honda regarding driver and passenger airbag recall. Received rental. No contact with anyone from Honda until 7-30 - received message in the middle of the day saying the vehicle is repaired arrived at dealer at 3pm, where they minimized the fact that only the drivers airbag was replaced, and advised "there was nothing they could do" and I had to contact Honda directly, (Honda dept that handles this, is closed weekends) was forced to take unsafe vehicle or pay for the rental at the end of the day on a Saturday. Contacted Honda and spent an hour on the phone, was told it would be escalated and I would hear back. 8-2- called Honda, no resolution, was told it was not escalated, had ticket escalated. 8-5 - still no contact from Honda, called them, was told nothing has changed, but they will escalate to management 8-5 1pm - heard back from Honda that someone will review it and get back to me possibly in the next 1-2 weeks. Honda is intentionally misrepresenting the repair process, pushing my family into a corner and forcing us to take our vehicle, dealers are doing nothing to stop this nor to resolve the issue. They are hoping by prolonging this process that customers will go away. Hondas own site advises that loaner or rental will be provided if the driver airbag needs to be replaced, and only separates out if the passenger only needs to be replaced. My situation was both driver and passenger until I was forced to take it. Service manager signed document acknowledging delivery of unsafe vehicle. I currently have a Toyota passenger only airbag recall, that they are providing alternate transportation no questions asked because I also do not feel safe driving it.

- Waynesboro, VA, USA

problem #155

Mar 162016

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the parts for the recall repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Bridgewater, CT, USA

problem #154

Jul 012016

CR-V

  • 59,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the passenger side air bag off warning indicator illuminated sporadically. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 59,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #153

Feb 152016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 09/27/16

- Lake Wylie, SC, USA

problem #152

Apr 052016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V346000 and 16V061000 (air bags); however, the parts needed were not available. The contact believed that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the repairs. The dealer and manufacturer were made aware of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Augusta, GA, USA

problem #151

Feb 032016

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Akron, OH, USA

problem #150

Aug 042016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall I called Honda dealer and Honda automobile customer service regarding the safety recall notice. The notice mentions "Honda suggests that you avoid having a passenger sit in the front passenger's seat until the recall repair has been performed". so, I talked to Honda carland at roswell, ga service department hoping to get a loaner. But the lady at the repair department told me that it's a suggestion but it's upto me if I drive with someone with front passenger. And the loaner is only for the driver side of the airbag and doesnt apply to passenger side of the airbag replacement. Few days earlier, I was told that I have to only worry if the airbag light comes on and should be ok driving around. In my opinion, this is ridiculous as not all of them have a privilege not to use certain part of the car, while we wait weeks for it to get replacement. Isn't' Honda required by law to provide the loaner in this case" is one's health and life is less important for Honda than saving few bucks"

- Roswell, GA, USA

problem #149

Aug 032016

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received a recall notification for the air bags; however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of issue. The NHTSA campaign number was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Concord, NC, USA

problem #148

Mar 032016

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available....updated 09/14/16

- Bensalem, PA, USA

problem #147

Aug 022016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. The VIN was unavailable.

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

problem #146

Feb 132016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V061000 (air bags) and 16V346000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- St.Augustine, FL, USA

problem #145

May 012016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V061000 (air bags) and 16V346000 (air bags). The parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 09/27/16

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #144

May 232016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Deerfield Beach, FL, USA

problem #143

Apr 042016

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V346000 (air bags) and 16V061000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available....updated 09/14/16 updated 09/20/16,

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #142

Mar 292016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Chicago, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?