CarComplaints.com Notes: 2011 Honda CR-V owners are reporting problems where the engine revs when braking.

Our data is showing early signs of a defect trend, so that's why we've flagged the 2011 CR-V with our "Beware of the Clunker" rating. Time will tell whether this continues to be a problem, & if so, whether Honda will be able to identify the problem & fix it.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
4,919 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Honda CR-V seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 5 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #172

May 022016

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall, have been trying since may to have my air bags fixed. Called up 3 dealers with no results, said they are coming in very, very slow. Called up Honda Aug, 8/8/16 they have never called be back, why has our government let this slide. I am on vacation in NY, what can be done.

- Englewood, FL, USA

problem #171

Mar 052016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V346000 (air bags) and 16V061000 (air bags); however, the parts for the recall repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Union City, CA, USA

problem #170

Aug 112016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and previously provided a loaner vehicle; however, failed to provide another vehicle. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Modesto, CA, USA

problem #169

May 272016

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Coral Springs, FL, USA

problem #168

Jul 012016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. Replacement parts still not available and Honda refuses alternate transportation.

- Fort Payne, AL, USA

problem #167

Mar 252016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #166

Mar 012016

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 10/05/16

- Prairie Village, KS, USA

problem #165

Mar 012016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V601000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 11/01/16

- Brookland, NY, USA

problem #164

Aug 092016

CR-V

  • 74,500 miles
Takata recall I received a notification about my car from Honda usa in the spring. I contacted the Honda dealership and they told me that the parts would be available in the early summer. I contacted them again yesterday,8/9/2016. A service tech scheduled an appointment for 8/14/16 and told me that the repair would take about 90 minutes. Less than a hour later I received a message to call the dealership back. The man did not leave his name. The receptionist told me his first name, peter. He did not anwer his direct line. I was transferred to someone else, nancy. She told me that Honda had not yet provided the part and that "summer" was a vague timeline. She told me that the reported incidents all took place in the South where it is hot and humid and that I had no reason to be concerned. Massachusetts has been very hot and humid this summer. I commute in and around boston, MA where traffic is terrible. I am very concerned about my safety in the event of an accident. The woman told me to call around other Honda dealers to see if they had the parts. She said that the dealership will not notify me when the parts are available, I have to keep checking. I know other Honda owners who have had their cars repaired 2 months ago. They were provided loaner cars until the parts were in stock without question.

- Littleton, MA, USA

problem #163

May 242016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available....updated 11/01/16

- Murray, KY, USA

problem #162

Mar 012016

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall- the contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags) was received in March of 2016. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 10/19/16 updated 11/03/16.

- Middle Island, NY, USA

problem #161

Aug 092016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts unavailable.

- Safety Harbor, FL, USA

problem #160

Jul 152016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #159

Mar 102016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Millersville, MD, USA

problem #158

May 062016

CR-V

  • miles
"takata recall". received recall notice in March of 2016. Went into lynnwood Honda for appointment for airbag recall in May 2016. Was informed that airbags not available at that time. Name and information was then taken so that I could be contacted when available. Now it is August 2016 and past the 60 days. Concerned about safety and driving vehicle. Did have a service done in June 2016 for other maintenance and did double check that name was on the list, however airbag replacement still not available at that time.

- Mountlake Terrace, WA, USA

problem #157

Feb 032016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was unknown. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #156

Jul 302016

CR-V

  • 78,008 miles
Takata recall 7-21 - we scheduled to drop off our vehicle at valley Honda regarding driver and passenger airbag recall. Received rental. No contact with anyone from Honda until 7-30 - received message in the middle of the day saying the vehicle is repaired arrived at dealer at 3pm, where they minimized the fact that only the drivers airbag was replaced, and advised "there was nothing they could do" and I had to contact Honda directly, (Honda dept that handles this, is closed weekends) was forced to take unsafe vehicle or pay for the rental at the end of the day on a Saturday. Contacted Honda and spent an hour on the phone, was told it would be escalated and I would hear back. 8-2- called Honda, no resolution, was told it was not escalated, had ticket escalated. 8-5 - still no contact from Honda, called them, was told nothing has changed, but they will escalate to management 8-5 1pm - heard back from Honda that someone will review it and get back to me possibly in the next 1-2 weeks. Honda is intentionally misrepresenting the repair process, pushing my family into a corner and forcing us to take our vehicle, dealers are doing nothing to stop this nor to resolve the issue. They are hoping by prolonging this process that customers will go away. Hondas own site advises that loaner or rental will be provided if the driver airbag needs to be replaced, and only separates out if the passenger only needs to be replaced. My situation was both driver and passenger until I was forced to take it. Service manager signed document acknowledging delivery of unsafe vehicle. I currently have a Toyota passenger only airbag recall, that they are providing alternate transportation no questions asked because I also do not feel safe driving it.

- Waynesboro, VA, USA

problem #155

Mar 162016

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the parts for the recall repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Bridgewater, CT, USA

problem #154

Jul 012016

CR-V

  • 59,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the passenger side air bag off warning indicator illuminated sporadically. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 59,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #153

Feb 152016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 09/27/16

- Lake Wylie, SC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?