Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: 2011 Honda CR-V owners are reporting problems where the engine revs when braking.

Our data is showing early signs of a defect trend, so that's why we've flagged the 2011 CR-V with our "Beware of the Clunker" rating. Time will tell whether this continues to be a problem, & if so, whether Honda will be able to identify the problem & fix it.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,144 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Honda CR-V seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 1 of 13)

problem #241

May 232016

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Brook Haven, MS, USA

problem #240

Mar 312016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced any failures. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Maples, FL, USA

problem #239

Nov 142016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Greensboro, GA, USA

problem #238

Apr 252016

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Last spring time at the end of April 2016 I received a notification from Honda saying that my vehicle was in the list of "recall" for defect of the air bag. The letter says that the part " will be available in the summer of 2016". it never happened, later at the end of August, I called Honda complaining about the the promise they told me to to repair my car airbag on summer as they L said in they letter. The she promise to do in the month of September 2016, it never happen. Today 11/01/2016 around $11.45 I called again and the customer service told me now they don't know when they will have the airbag available. I told her I need my car, especially now on winter is when I need it most because I suffer from asthma and it's too difficult to me going around walking. She proposed I take a car from a Honda dealer free of charge but I have to pay the insurance cost. I refuse to pay any money for any other expenses except for gas usage. I'm paying already insurance for my car sitting in a garage without usage. Please see what could you do in order to speed the waiting process that is taking longer than what the promised. Thank you. Note: I writing a date of the Honda notification

- Jersey City, NJ, USA

problem #237

Oct 272016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall...nothing happened as yet but concerned it could happen while driving as others have experienced. I have not been notified about replacing my defective airbag as yet from any Honda dealer.

- Troy, OH, USA

problem #236

Aug 222016

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall on 08/22/2016. For oil change auto nation costa mesa ca. Advisor mentioned recall, he orders the parts and it will take two weeks to sixty days and will call once parts arrives. After I got in my car I read the paper copy that I signed and it stated that ¿while they wait for redesigned parts to become available, customer has elected to retain possession of their car and has signed the ¿Honda takata airbag inflator retention/storage owner indemnification agreement¿ I said does agreement mean that I am willing to drive my own car" he said yes. I said if I feel uncomfortable to drive my car because of safety issue what can be done. Then he said you can get rental car for me. Why not mentioned that I am signing an agreement about recall fix and explain it to me? why customer automatically gets signed to agreement when they sign for regular maintenance service without knowing what options are available to them? why mentioned about rental car before I signed agreement? what happens to other customer who don¿T even read their oil change service paper that they signed? I left with my own car, as I didn't want to change into rental car, thinking they will call me within sixty days. 3-4 days before sixty days I called the dealership. They never called. Made an appointment for 3-4 hrs of recall work. Asked him does Honda provide rental car for a day? he said no Honda stopped renting car for airbag recall from September 15th. Since last I was there on August 22nd they might have stopped rental cars for recall fix after that. Went there for recall 10/26/2016 I asked same person rental car Honda stopped providing rental from August 1st !! I was here on August 22nd for my oil change and they said yes. Why not contact me within sixty day if the part was there? why flip-flop on rental car" not providing transparent information.

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #235

Aug 022016

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V061000 and 16V346000 (air bags). The parts needed for the repair were not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Kissimmee, FL, USA

problem #234

Oct 232016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall the dealership has not provided a safe temp transportation and has not fixed my vehicle after receiving the notice in March 2016. They have not fixed my vehicle in a timely manner and winter is approaching in mn.

- Apple Valley, MN, USA

problem #233

May 232016

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
NHTSA recall number: Opens new window takes away from VIN lookup section> 16V-346 recall date: May 23, 2016 manufacturer recall number: KA6 still no word from Honda!

- Roswell, GA, USA

problem #232

Oct 182016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V346000 (air bags) and 16V061000 (air bags). However, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts unavailable.

- Blountstown, FL, USA

problem #231

Jul 262016

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. Local Honda dealership was called in July, 2016 about need to replace passenger airbag per letter received July, 2016 from Honda automobile division. We were told it would be about six weeks. It is now over 9 weeks and we are still waiting. We were told not to allow anyone to ride in the passenger seat. This is definitely a problem for us. At least when it was the driver side airbag, Honda rented a car for us until the airbag could be replaced. This time they will not. What are our options per the NHTSA.

- North Port, FL, USA

problem #230

May 232016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V346000 (air bags) and 16V061000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Hacienda Heights, CA, USA

problem #229

Oct 032016

CR-V

  • miles
2011 Honda CR-V. consumer writes in regards to replacement parts not available to repair airbag recall 16V-061.

- New City, NY, USA

problem #228

Feb 122016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V346000 (air bags) and 16V061000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Mooresville, IN, USA

problem #227

Feb 282016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall - I am told that my airbags are faulty and need to be replaced. But the recall status is "recall incomplete. Remedy not yet available". there are all kind of articles and reports on the news about how dangerous this is. How can they not have a remedy" what do I do in the meantime"

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #226

Jul 012016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Frankfort, KY, USA

problem #225

Jul 292016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #224

Jun 292016

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #223

Mar 312016

CR-V

  • miles
NHTSA recall 16V-061 received notice in March 2016. Contacted dealer and was told parts would be available until May. Contacted dealer in May 2016. No parts this has gone on all summer. In my last call, I was told that the parts have been ordered, but have not come in. They will call me when they receive them. In the meantime, am I supposed to quit diving this vehicle? why has both the NHTSA and Honda left all of us in these circumstances.

- Luray, VA, USA

problem #222

Mar 082016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V346000 (air bags) and 16V061000 (air bags). The part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Columbia, SC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?