Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: 2011 Honda CR-V owners are reporting problems where the engine revs when braking.

Our data is showing early signs of a defect trend, so that's why we've flagged the 2011 CR-V with our "Beware of the Clunker" rating. Time will tell whether this continues to be a problem, & if so, whether Honda will be able to identify the problem & fix it.

4.6

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,314 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Honda CR-V wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Honda CR-V Owner Comments

problem #11

Jun 082012

CR-V

  • 31,463 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I called in a claim/complaint around June 8 2012 for premature wear for Continental 225/65R17-102T tires equipped on 2011 Honda CR-V to Continental &Honda. Continental advertises tires are warranted for 65,000 miles or 6 years. It became necessary to replace all 4 tires 0608/2012 at 31,463 miles or less than half the expected life of the tire because the tires cause my vehicle to fail inspection. The vehicle and tires consistently were serviced by accredited Honda dealer & tire pressure maintained.both Honda and Continental refused to honor the warranty.

- Nashua, NH, USA

problem #10

Mar 192014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 31,013 miles
I filed a claim/complaint April 6, 2014 for premature wear for Continental 225/65R17-102T tires equipped on 2011 Honda CR-V to Continental &Honda. Continental advertises tires are warranted for 65,000 miles or 6 years. It became necessary to replace all 4 tires 3/19/14 at 31,013 miles or less than half the expected life of the tire. The vehicle and tires consistently were serviced by accredited Honda dealer & tire pressure maintained. Additionally, on April 6, 2012 the right rear tire went flat with no cause provided and replaced at a cost of $193. I have received no compensation for that tire. Subsequently, on 4/22/14 Honda representative [xxx] responded to my letter of 4/6/14. He referred me to Continental tire & denied any compensation from Honda. On 4/23/14, "[xxx]? with Continental tires called to confirm they ?never guarantee or warrant mileage on tires". she specifically directed me to adjustment policy, #3. "tread wearout up to a predetermined mileage is not covered under this policy."she, too, refused any adjustment or resolution to the premature tire wear. Additionally, she would not consider the tire replaced 4/6/12 because the dealer did not file a claim. Honda corporation unilaterally contracts with Continental to provide the 225/65R17-102T tires for their CR-V product. The customer cannot substitute the brand of tires. Honda continues to equip CR-V models with Continental 225/65R17-102T tires even though they have been on notice of poor tread performance for years and continue the relationship knowing Continental does not warrant the product. Continental will not give an adjustment and Honda claims they are not responsible. Neither Continental or Honda will provide, in writing, their basis for denial nor would they allow me to speak to a supervisor. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Plymouth, MI, USA

problem #9

Feb 222014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 23,700 miles
With 23,700 miles, Honda dealer informed me that tires would have to be replaced due to "excessive wear and tear". have learned that many 2011 CRV owners have experienced this problem, and that although Honda issued a tsb on the tire matter, they have provided no cause, recall or monetary incentive. Is it suspension, alignment, what? furthermore have been ill all winter and car has hardly moved from the garage, it worries me that something is defective causing this tire problem, and Honda has not stepped up to the plate for resolution or assistance.

- Bay Shore, NY, USA

problem #8

Oct 302013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 18,653 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2011 Honda CRV with 18,657 miles and was told I need a new set of tires. The original tires are Continental 4X4 contacts, M+S, 225/65R17, dot # fdf5 3ah2111. I am the original owner and have had two tire rotations to date. I also check the air pressure every week.

- Middle Grove, NY, USA

problem #7

May 012013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 15,626 miles
Cupping on outermost tread groove producing roaring road noise. 2011 Honda CR-V with 15,626 miles as of 8/9/13. Tires rotated at 7500 and 15000 miles, only seems to be happening on rear.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #6

Jul 012013

CR-V

  • 31,000 miles
This vehicle started showing premature wear at 20000 mi on tires and cupping of tires now have 31000 mi and have to be replaced. Very sad.

- Hannibal, MO, USA

problem #5

Feb 292012

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 22,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that while driving 7 mph, the front passenger side tire blew out with the illumination of the passenger side air bag light. The contact stated that the passenger air bag off light illuminated with the passenger in the vehicle. The vehicle tire was repaired by the contact and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 22,000.

- Washington, NJ, USA

problem #4

Apr 232013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
I was driving to work on the freeway and heard a noise like air rushing. My tire pressure light came on and I pulled over. The tire blew out in two places on the inside of the left rear tire. Road was clear, didn't hit anything, tire just blew out. I was amazed when I saw others with Honda CR-V's had the same problems. I am going to replace all the tires tomorrow. I will not buy another one of Bridgestone tires..ever. I just had the tires rotated at Honda last Friday and the car serviced. Honda wanted to sell me another Bridgestone for $183. They can keep their Bridgestone tires.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #3

Mar 282013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 28,000 miles
Unusual wear (interior edge cupping) and noise developed on the right-rear tire during the first two years of ownership (purchased new - January 2011) resulting in an unsafe tire condition. Mechanic (using computer alignment method) discovered that camber alignment was not within the specified range, however, there is no camber adjustment option on the vehicle. Without the proper camber alignment, tire destruction (in this case interior edge cupping) occurs resulting in an unsafe tire condition. An after-market part is available to provide the necessary camber adjustment, however, it is not a Honda oem part and Honda does not acknowledge responsibility related to the issue. A vehicle should have routine adjustment mechanisms to avoid destruction of parts which creates an unsafe condition without having to replace an original oem part to accommodate a necessary (and Honda recommended - vehicle alignment) adjustment.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #2

Sep 122012

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Honda CR-V equipped with Continental 4X4 tires, size: 225 65 R17. The contact stated that the tires became worn prematurely at 20,000 miles. The contact took the vehicle to a dealer for inspection where they advised that all four tires needed to be replaced. The tires were the original tires that came equipped with the vehicle when purchase. The vehicle was purchased new. The dot number was unavailable. Updated 10/15/12 updated 10/23/2012

- Farmington Hills, MI, USA

problem #1

Feb 222011

CR-V

  • miles
I have two new vehicles that are in need of new tires soon: Vehicle #1: 2010 Honda CR-V with 16K miles vehicle #2: 2010 Toyota Tacoma truck with 14K miles. Both vehicles will need tires within 2-3K miles. This is wrong. When I buy the same brand tire new at the tire store they will sell me that same tire on each vehicle noted above with a warranty of up to 40K plus miles. Why is it when you buy a new car or truck the tires are junk and don¿T last" this is a serious issue. How can the manufactures sell a vehicle with defective tires on it" when you know you can buy the same tire and have a longer wear life when purchase for an official tire dealer. I cannot believe no one in the government has addressed this issue. Please give me some feedback. [xxx] parts of this document have been redacted to protect personally identifiable information pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Binghamton, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?