Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.7

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
22,644 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Honda CR-V electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #18

Sep 152014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car wouldn't start required jump.

- Calabasas, CA, USA

problem #17

Aug 292014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 31,918 miles
The battery keeps going dead. The green light in the battery- is green showing fully charged, but it won't turn the motor over. It appears it is under charged, have been stalled 6-8 times. I have to carry a jump battery now. Found out Honda has a service bulletin 12-041 on this problem. It needs to be escalated, too many people getting stranded. There needs to be a recall on this.

- Woodstock, IL, USA

problem #16

Aug 272014

CR-V

  • 22,200 miles
While driving less than 30 mph, the power steering failed on two occasions with my 2012 Honda CRV. It became very difficult to turn the wheel and the power steering indicator light was on, and the only thing I could really do is stop in the middle of the street. When I turned off the vehicle and restarted it, the steering worked fine again. The same thing happened again about one week later. I took it to my Honda dealer in inver grove heights, mn, to have it checked. They could see from the two codes that something happened but could not find anything wrong. They contacted Honda, who indicated it could have something to do with the battery connection so they checked/replaced the grounding wire to the battery and also checked all of the connections. I previously had problems with the battery about 6 months after getting the new vehicle. I had trouble with the vehicle starting even in the garage. I had it into the dealership at least three different times when they determined I had a bad battery. After they replace the battery, I did not have any problems with it starting again. It makes me wonder if the previous battery issue and the steering issue could be related I have only been driving it a few days, but it has not happened again as yet. If it happens again, I will take the vehicle to my Honda dealer and update this complaint. Having steering failure is obviously a very serious safety issue, which I am very concerned about.

- Apple Valley, MN, USA

problem #15

Aug 202014

CR-V

  • 17,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Significant number of vehicles manufactured in 2012, have a battery problem for which a service bulletin has been created internally within Honda. However, the communication was never sent to the owners, an online query does not show any recalls for this vehicle. Due the lack of communication, the owners had to carry a portable jump station to get the car started everytime the battery died.

- Sunnyvale, CA, USA

problem #14

Apr 142012

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 24,000 miles
Electrical wires and sensors are made of soy base which attacks critters to chew on them. On several occasions car was not able to start or failed shortly after. Car was in for repairs twice in a one week period. Repair cost was $500 the first time and over $1500 the second. There is no reason to believe that there will not be more incidents. Honda's customer service department offers no help and does not have any advise to stop this from happening again. Honda needs to recall these vehicles and replace them with plastic coated wires.

- Irwin, PA, USA

problem #13

Apr 092014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 33,714 miles
On 4/9/14 I was driving my vehicle in heavy traffic during rush hour (stop and go) traffic. Suddenly eps indicator light came on, the vehicles steering became difficult to maneuver. I was unable to turn steering wheel without extreme effort, was a very dangerous situation. Upon arrival home, I turned off vehicle and restarted immediately, issue disappeared, vehicle's steering was normal.. on 4/12/14 vehicle taken to burns Honda, marlton, NJ for an inspection of the vehicle steering issue as recommended by Honda America. Honda dealer inspected vehicle for which they indicated that diagnosis of vehicle computer showed eps code came on previously, but all codes are clear and no fault present at time. On 4/14/14 while driving vehicle to work in the early hours of the morning, eps light indicator came on at 8:13 a.M., same situation, heavy traffic, stop and go traffic. Eps (electronic power steering) light indicator returned, I pulled over (as referenced in the manual) turned engine off engine, then re-started, system seemed to reset itself. A few minutes later eps light came on again, steering wheel very difficult to navigate as previously stated. I pulled over, turned engine off and restarted. The same problem/issue continued to persist approx. Eight more times; I was slowly capable to guide vehicle directly to the same dealer (burns Honda). Honda America has been notified of this problem from the first incident of 4/9/14 and most recent incident today 4/14/14. Awaiting response of service procedure from dealer and Honda America to address problem, this is a serious safety issue. Eps system failure.

- Sicklerville, , NJ, USA

problem #12

Mar 172014

CR-V

  • 20,056 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2012 CR-V has customizable auto door lock function. It has couple option. 1. with vehicle speed, 2. shift from P. problem with option 2. I select option 2. because I want to get more secure safety. Not less the secure safety. When I was escaping from close road, I need to drive back. I started engine and open driver door to make sure my rear tire is going right way. Changed gear P to R. and door didn't automatically lock. I guess there is protection for when driver door open and engine running, door didn't lock itself. I understand that. But I escape from there and close door and change gear R to D. and drive up to 40 mph. And door is still unlock. This is an error. They can not advertise they have auto lock function for safety. The function give people to understand for have more secure safety by car. They must watch safety while car is driving more then 20mph over 500 feet. If they think really care about safety, they should lock other doors at least. And keep watch what's car status.

- White Plains, NY, USA

problem #11

Sep 032012

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
I paid cash for a new 2012 CR-V ex L with nav. Within a few months of purchase, the car broke down. I stopped for gas and it would not start. I am a single female and had to walk in the dark to walmart, buy jumper cables and flash someone down for a boost. Took the car to the dealer and they stated nothing was wrong with the car. It keeps happening over and over again. It has broken down several times and each time I take it to the dealer, they say nothing is wrong with it. I've had to pay out of pocket for a tow truck and repairs that still did not fix the problem. I took it to another Honda dealership and it broke down while at the dealer. It would not start. Was completely dead. They ran several test and like the other dealer stated they can not find anything wrong with it. Less than three weeks later, it broke down again. It is still in the shop. Been there for 2 weeks and they still have no clue whats wrong with the car. Honda tried to start the car yesterday and it would not start, completely dead. They have checked everything (battery, alternator, recalls, electoral, etc.) several times and it comes back saying good condition. Something is wrong with this car and Honda won't admit it or take responsibility. It is obviously something wrong with this vehicle.

- Macomb, MI, USA

problem #10

May 012012

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
Submission from constituent re 2012 Honda CR-V intermittent problem. The consumer stated the vehicle would pause, when she attempted to accelerate after the vehicle, had been idling. There was zero response for 3-4 seconds, then the vehicle would uncontrollably surge forward. The dealer was unable to duplicate the problem. The dealer informed the consumer, the problem was her using her left foot to brake. The problem has since been resolved. Updated 01/30/14

- Nampa, ID, USA

problem #9

Jan 062014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 20,700 miles
Cars AWD orange lights were on, on cold days (6th and 7th January, 2014, est). Outside temperature was between -5F to -10F (as indicated by cars dash). I do not have a garage. Felt cars front wheels were the only ones getting power. I don't think AWD was working.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #8

Jan 072014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 20,700 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle did not start on a cold morning (Tuesday 07th January, 2014, 9:30 am est). Outside temperature was around -10F (as indicated by cars dash). I do not have a garage. So car was parked outside. I cleared snow on top of car and I tried starting, but it wont start. I gave the starter, 10-12 minutes recovery time between trying subsequent starts. But, car would make clicking noise. Geico emergency roadside was backed up and they said it will take 6 hours to send some one. I had to get it jump started later that evening. Additional facts: (I use the car everyday. I did not leave any electrical appliance/lights on on the above day).

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #7

Dec 242012

CR-V

  • 5,718 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The battery was jump-started and the contact was able to start the engine. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for inspection where a new battery and software was installed. The failure recurred and the vehicle had not been repaired or diagnosed for the most recent failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 5,718.

- San Diego , CA, USA

problem #6

Apr 142012

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
I have had 3 batteries in my CR-V since purchase and was told it was due to a bad cell (car would require a jump after sitting 3-5 days without being started). Just had it in the shop and was told a service bulletin had been issued by Honda that certain CR-V's with certain VIN's needed a software update (pgm-F1) that regulates battery charging/discharge. I realize that this is not a safety hazard but is a definite hassle and wonder why Honda has not issued a general recall to address the problem. I am also unsure if this has fixed the problem. Thank you.

- Medford, NJ, USA

problem #5

Feb 042013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 9,600 miles
Vehicle stalled, and would not start. Battery was dead. Had the vehicle checked by Honda, January 29, 2012, they said no problems were found. Feb. 4, would not start.

- Clinton, IN, USA

problem #4

Dec 252012

CR-V

  • 8,600 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that after several attempts, the engine failed to start. The vehicle was successfully started after having the battery jumped. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was confirmed that the battery needed to be recharged. The manufacturer was contacted and covered the cost of the repairs. The failure mileage was approximately 8,600. The current mileage was approximately 8,800.

- Smyrna, GA, USA

problem #3

Jul 032012

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 4,385 miles
I was driving my 2012 Honda CRV when the door locks started going crazy then the car alarm started going off then me and my wife tried to get out and the door would not open so I drove the 3 month old CRV back to the dealer at sunnyside Honda and they were the rudest people on earth I told them what happened and they tried to get me to sing a paper that said I might have to pay cause it might be my fault not were sorry not are you guys ok no just sing I said no ask for the boss he said same thing so I ask for his boss the head boss at the time no sorry no are U ok well he said you had a remote starter put in its an after market its there fault call them I didn't put it in very rude and leaning in turns me so I said Honda at the time I bought the CRV sad they were out of factory remotes and rec-amended that one it was put on there before I even picked up the car for first time now me and my wife was terrified and all they could do is give us bull not just say wow it a brand new CRV sorry it happened well check it out finally after that and a long time latter they agreed to check it out and said after it was check out well we replaced the door actuator but if it happens gain you need to call the remote people no sorry I loved Honda but not now I am looking into a law suite.

- Brookpark, OH, USA

problem #2

Jul 122012

CR-V 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 400 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Honda CRV. The contact stated that by pushing the lock buttons on the inside of the driver's side door, the engine could be started. The dealer was notified of the issue but offered no assistance. The manufacturer was notified and referred the contact back to the dealer. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure and current mileages were 400.....updated 08-24-12 the consumer stated the dealer replaced the vehicle on 7/28/2012

- Far Rockaway, NY, USA

problem #1

Jun 092012

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 5,550 miles
I was driving into my driveway and put into park. The key would not come out of ignition. Very frustrated it was late at night and I tried wiggling the key. I could turn car off but so it wasn't running but it was on enough for audio to stay on. I drove around hoping I could reset what problem was but did the same thing when I parked. I had to leave key in ignition till the battery died, which took till the next day. We put key in again after it came out and it did the same thing and got stuck again and got hot when we did get it out. We jump started car enough to get to dealership and key did same thing when I parked it there until the battery died and then it was able to come out. They called and said they had to replace the shift assembly. They specifically said in service paper that "the shifter assembly was pinching the wire from the park pin switch causing short electrical dig" and they sent pics and information to tech line.

- Converse, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?