Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
21,284 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Honda CR-V electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #37

Jul 052016


  • 84,500 miles


Cold start -make metal to metal grinding sound. Replaced starter with no remedy.

- La Madera, NM, USA

problem #36

Aug 272016


  • miles
Vehicle failed to start once in first year gradually increased to 1 weekly. Dealer check could find 0 twice-can't find, can't fix. Now w/60400 mi must jump for any start since dealer tested it this week. Dlr wants to do full diagnostic 2nd time at my expense. Waste of time going nowhere. Honda Inc says work w/ dealer which says can't find problem and it's your problem. I can't trade it like it is. Have had 9 new Accord since 1978 w/ no major problems. Established loyalty to Honda not my case. Disappointed!

- Bradford, PA, USA

problem #35

Mar 242016


  • 30,000 miles
I have a 2012 Honda CRV. I recently had my battery changed when the car would not turn over. Luckily this happened while parked in front of my home. I didn't think anything of it because the battery just turned 4 years old. The mechanic also tested the charging system just to be sure everything was alright. The mechanic found low readings for both the starter and alternator. The car is 4 years old with only 30,000 miles on it. I was concerned when first told about this. However, now I am reading multiple complaints regarding this same issue. With so many complaints on the electrical system, why isn't Honda forced to do something such as a mandatory recall??

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #34

Dec 112015


  • 50,000 miles


My 7 months pregnant wife got stranded 200 miles from home when her alternator decided to die on her resulting in a dead battery. We only have 50,000 miles on this vehicle and an alternator shouldn't die on a vehicle this young in its life span. Luckily a good seminarian decided to give her car a jump start which got her to her destination safely. So since we are out of warranty and needed to have this fixed quickly, we took it to a local trusted shop in the area and the alternator had a faulty part which ended up costing us over $600 dollars to get fixed. We also have had a loud engine rattle noise that occurs on cold startups for the past year and Honda has been aware of this issue since 2008 and has not issued a recall and has not come up with a permanent fix. I believe the quality of Honda cars has been drastically declining over the past couple of years and I have lost faith in the Honda brand and will never buy another Honda again.

- Glen Allen, VA, USA

problem #33

Dec 162014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
2012 Honda CRV. Consumer requests reimbursement for a defective battery. The consumer stated on December 14, 2014, while driving, the vehicle suddenly stopped due to the battery not charging. The consumer purchased a new battery from autozone. On December 18, 2014, the consumer received a letter concerning the battery charging defect. The consumer contacted customer service and was instructed to contact the dealer and present the receipt of payment for reimbursement. The dealer denied the consumer's request for reimbursement, due to the fact the consumer did not take the vehicle to the dealer when he experienced the battery issue.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #32

Nov 242015


  • 45,000 miles
Battery keeps dying. Loses charge every once in a while even after car has been running for hours.

- Westwood, MA, USA

problem #31

Oct 202015


  • 54,000 miles


I'm the original owner and my battery dies for no reason. I turned the ignition to the 2 position and a few minutes the car battery was drained.

- Burtonsville, MD, USA

problem #30

Oct 102015


  • 17,066 miles
Starting problems. Many times the car would not start without jumping the battery. Took car to dealer, ike Honda, marion, il 62959 many times. First time, no trouble found, second time no trouble found, but when I picked the car up at the dealer CR-V would not start. Dealer kept car over night for testing and replaced the battery. Said it may have been a floating cell. Trouble continued. Next time dealer replaced the alternator. Still not fixed. After jumping car several more times, took car back to ike Honda and they did a product update 14-071, 12-17-14. Never received a recall notice from Honda. Still not fixed. Had trouble a couple more times, jumped car ok. Last time I took car in,10-10-15 no trouble found again. Battery checked out good, no draws on electrical system. Software up to date. In all cases car was parked overnight in our garage when it would not start. No lights, or anything else left on. Once battery is jumped, car starts without any problems for quite sometime before having problems again. Driving habits, mileage same as previous two SUV's. never had a problem with either of them starting. I believe that the ike service department has made sincere attempts at resolving this issue and providing me with detailed information on what they have tried to do, what they found/didn't find. However, the starting problem continues.

- Marion, IL, USA

problem #29

Apr 012012


  • 3,600 miles
Shortly after purchasing vehicle brand-new the car would not start. No lights had been on. Had vehicle towed to the dealership for a "fix." Now this has happened again- battery completely dead without warning leaving me and my young children stranded for hours. I just had the vehicle serviced at the end of may (about 5 weeks ago) and everything passed inspection then. Also like other reports I see, my engine sometimes makes a loud grinding sound when starting. My dealership said that "this just sometimes happens." I'm not convinced- I've driven some very old cars that don't even do this! this was my first brand new car and I'm not pleased.

- Waukesha, WI, USA

problem #28

Jun 052015


  • 36,306 miles
Loud metallic rattle noise on cold start-up. Honda dealer found Honda service bulletin 09-010 issued, but no fix for this problem has been issued to date.

- Santa Clara, CA, USA

problem #27

Nov 012013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 500 miles


This CR-V sometimes hesitates to crank. It will crank after the 2nd try. It also has a very high pitch sound at 55 mph that is very annoying.

- Sylacauga, AL, USA

problem #26

Apr 122012


  • 3,666 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Honda CR-V. the contact stated after jumpstarting the vehicle, it resumed normal operation. The failure recurred numerous times. The manufacturer issued a voluntary recall related to the battery management system. The vehicle was serviced under the recall; however, the failure persisted. The vehicle was not repaired for the most recent failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The recall number was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 3,666.

- Pewaukwe, WI, USA

problem #25

Feb 182015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
Window switch on drivers side for front passenger window stopped working. The vehicle is only to drive to and from work and the window is hardly used.

- Piscataway, NJ, USA

problem #24

Feb 012015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 29,512 miles
Battery failure.

- Leesburg, FL, USA

problem #23

Jan 012015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 49,000 miles
Software update for battery. Heater/defroster blower motor (subassembly motor). Dead battery. Software was supposed to read battery voltage and wasn't working correctly so Honda required software update. Had that done at dealer on 01/01/15. At that time asked about the heater/defroster noise and the fact that it didn't always work. Was informed by dealership the subassembly motor needed to be replaced. Repair estimate is $1200. On Wednesday 01/07/15 went out to start car and battery was dead. Had to replace with new battery. Car was purchased April 2012, less than three years old. Out of warranty due to mileage. Software update didn't work in sensing voltage since I came out to a dead battery 1 week after "update". subassembly motor part not something that is a mileage wear and tear issue. Can be a safety issue if defroster not functioning properly subsequently leading to poor visibility through windshield.

- Yardley, PA, USA

problem #22

Oct 022014


  • 27,000 miles
The heater in this car blows cold air and it is nearly impossible to warm up during long commutes even when the fan and heat adjustments are on high. It has not improved during the past three months of cold weather and it doesn't do any good to purchase an AWD vehicle when the heat doesn't even work.

- Monroe, OH, USA

problem #21

Nov 242014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 25,000 miles
Engine cranked but vehicle would not start. Towed to service station. Analyzed and fixed by shorting battery cables. I was told that there was a Honda service bulletin on this. I was also told that no repair was possible to prevent this from happening again. Called a "glitch" in the computer system. My concern is that if this engine failure happened in traffic, a rear end collision could have happened. I do not know what other systems on the car like airbags etc. Were inoperative because of this problem.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #20

Nov 032014


  • miles
With the cooler weather upon us, we began using the heat recently. As a couple others have also noted, the driver side "heat" is blowing cool/cold air. The engine is warming up and the passenger side heat is working as expected.

- Duluth, MN, USA

problem #19

Sep 082014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 39,000 miles
Driver side does not blow hot air, the car blows hot air on the passenger side but cold air on the driver side, its difficult to drive car in cold weather conditions due to this issue, as legs and hands become numb due to cold air blow on drivers side, which will potentially lead to pull over many times while driving or may lead T crash in the future, many 2012 CRV models have this issue. A recall should be called and the issue fixed immediately, thanks

- Newark, DE, USA

problem #18

Sep 152014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
Car wouldn't start required jump.

- Calabasas, CA, USA

Read the next 17 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?