Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,953 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2012 Honda CR-V steering problems

steering problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2012 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2012 Honda CR-V Owner Comments

problem #15

Oct 012016


  • 87,900 miles


Power steering failed while in motion ~25mph on a city street. Indicator light intermittently flashed 2-3 times after power steering was lost. Collision was narrowly avoided.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #14

Aug 102016


  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Honda CR-V. while driving at any speed, the steering wheel seized and the steering wheel warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the vehicle stability actuator (vsa) failed. It was unknown if the vehicle was repaired. The dealer and manufacturer stated there was no failure. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Waveland, MS, USA

problem #13

Oct 312015


  • 45,000 miles
My daughter was turning right after being stopped at a light along with other cars. Upon starting her right turn, she could not increase the turn rate - the steering wheel became unresponsive. She hit the brakes when she realized she couldn't turn and hit two other vehicles in the left turn lane before the car stopped. Other vehicles had minor damage to rear quarter panel and medium damage to front of 2nd other car.

- Lake Barrington, IL, USA

problem #12

Oct 212015


  • 33,000 miles


When I "cold" start my car (mornings, after 6 hours of nonuse) there is a loud grinding/screeching noise that lasts a few seconds ( The schaumburg (il) dealership says Honda is aware of this problem and has not provided a solution to them yet. I contacted them on March 13, 2015, regarding this. They provided the same answer today...while the problem/noise persists. I am hoping this complaint will help force Honda develop a (vtc actuator?) solution and provide it to Honda drivers.

- Arlington Heights, IL, USA

problem #11

Jan 232014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 9,000 miles
I bought the 2012 CRV ex in Dec 2012. There have been multiple failures in my car ac died, vibrations, battery died while driving. The following is the major incident which occurred in my car. While driving at around 40 miles, the steering of the car stopped responding and started responding after few sec and then went bad. I stopped my car cautiously, missed hitting the car in front of me. Took on the side of the street and tried to move back and forth. After 10 mins and lot of honks from other car it started responding. While this thing was going on my wife took the video. Took it to the dealership slowly driving and the dealer said there is no issue in the car and I can take this away. Scared to death, I asked dealer that I will not take the car back and sent him the video of my car by uploading it on you tube. As soon as they saw the video, as usual it became a safety concerns and he then did not want me to take the car back. They found some issue and fixed it after keeping the car for two days. No issues with the steering since then but my ac died suddenly now. I took my car over 15 times to dealership in 1 year of new purchase. Opened a case with Honda customer service and they said "this is what warranty is for". good going Honda. I am never going to buy any car in future from them. They believe their product is bery good and so they do not deal properly with any problem they have in the cars. I still have the youtube video, I can share that if it is of some use to anyone else.

- Cypress, CA, USA

problem #10

Aug 272014


  • 22,200 miles
While driving less than 30 mph, the power steering failed on two occasions with my 2012 Honda CRV. It became very difficult to turn the wheel and the power steering indicator light was on, and the only thing I could really do is stop in the middle of the street. When I turned off the vehicle and restarted it, the steering worked fine again. The same thing happened again about one week later. I took it to my Honda dealer in inver grove heights, mn, to have it checked. They could see from the two codes that something happened but could not find anything wrong. They contacted Honda, who indicated it could have something to do with the battery connection so they checked/replaced the grounding wire to the battery and also checked all of the connections. I previously had problems with the battery about 6 months after getting the new vehicle. I had trouble with the vehicle starting even in the garage. I had it into the dealership at least three different times when they determined I had a bad battery. After they replace the battery, I did not have any problems with it starting again. It makes me wonder if the previous battery issue and the steering issue could be related I have only been driving it a few days, but it has not happened again as yet. If it happens again, I will take the vehicle to my Honda dealer and update this complaint. Having steering failure is obviously a very serious safety issue, which I am very concerned about.

- Apple Valley, MN, USA

problem #9

Jun 052013


  • 16,400 miles


The contact owns a 2012 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the vehicle would not start and would also stall intermittently. The steering wheel was difficult to turn and the contact had to apply force in order to turn the steering wheel. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who replaced the battery four times and the alternator however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 16,400.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #8

Apr 092014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 33,714 miles
On 4/9/14 I was driving my vehicle in heavy traffic during rush hour (stop and go) traffic. Suddenly eps indicator light came on, the vehicles steering became difficult to maneuver. I was unable to turn steering wheel without extreme effort, was a very dangerous situation. Upon arrival home, I turned off vehicle and restarted immediately, issue disappeared, vehicle's steering was normal.. on 4/12/14 vehicle taken to burns Honda, marlton, NJ for an inspection of the vehicle steering issue as recommended by Honda America. Honda dealer inspected vehicle for which they indicated that diagnosis of vehicle computer showed eps code came on previously, but all codes are clear and no fault present at time. On 4/14/14 while driving vehicle to work in the early hours of the morning, eps light indicator came on at 8:13 a.M., same situation, heavy traffic, stop and go traffic. Eps (electronic power steering) light indicator returned, I pulled over (as referenced in the manual) turned engine off engine, then re-started, system seemed to reset itself. A few minutes later eps light came on again, steering wheel very difficult to navigate as previously stated. I pulled over, turned engine off and restarted. The same problem/issue continued to persist approx. Eight more times; I was slowly capable to guide vehicle directly to the same dealer (burns Honda). Honda America has been notified of this problem from the first incident of 4/9/14 and most recent incident today 4/14/14. Awaiting response of service procedure from dealer and Honda America to address problem, this is a serious safety issue. Eps system failure.

- Sicklerville, , NJ, USA

problem #7

Sep 192013


  • 15,000 miles
While driving my car from Maryland to New York in extremely rainy conditions on the I95, the SUV steering wheel locked after a loud noise. I thought I had a flat tire, but this was not the case. The brakes pedal also did not move. The car buckled and rocked from side to side. (no warning lights came on--why didn't it?) this situation could have been deadly if other vehicles around me were not alert. I read through the comments and realize I am not the only person this has happened to. Is Honda waiting for someone to die. I told my family to sue them if it happens to me. I have started driving with my ipad video camera on. This is my black box to prove that the Honda CRV 2012 is faulty. Since this has happened, the gas and brake pedals vibrate when driving after 2-3hrs. I took the car into Honda, long island, NY. They checked the brakes and said it is fine. But, the car does not drive smooth on the road. You can feel the difference in the steering wheel while driving. Honda needs to fix this unsafe problem of the steering and brakes locking while the car is in motion.

- Valley Stream, NY, USA

problem #6

Oct 012012


  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2012 Honda CRV. The contact stated that the steering wheel seized while driving at an unknown speed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who advised that the steering wire was loose and caused the steering wheel to lock. The vehicle was repaired but the failure recurred later as the contact was driving 60 mph. The failure was experienced several times. The vehicle was towed to the dealer. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 1,000 and the approximate current mileage was 4,000. The VIN was not available.

- New Albany , OH, USA

problem #5

Jun 292013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 18,000 miles


Driver reported hearing loud pop from right side (assumed to be front tire blowout). She described steering locked up and was unable to turn wheel. Lost control of vehicle on a curving 2 lane road. She describes braking was ineffective, and her vehicle right front corner hit a vehicle in opposite lane, both vehicles spun 180 and CRV ended up upright in a ditch off the road. Right front wheel and suspension was completely disconnected from vehicle. Rear right wheel broke from suspension. Car airbags deployed properly, and driver was just bruised and scraped up. This vehicle has had 2 issues with TPMS (tire-pressure monitor system). Vehicle was returned to dealer for service after two days after purchase when TPMS indicator came on 10 minutes away from dealership after purchase (service dept was closed the next day). Second time was 3 days after service, technician reported that "previous tech didn't adjust the spare tire TPMS. That's what caused the errors". months later tires appeared to be low, but TPMS system didn't indicate anything, driver wondered if the service techs disabled the TPMS system completely? car was at dealer Jan 12, 2013 for door lock recall. Described TPMS issues to tech, nothing reported. Car was due to go back to shop a month or two after the accident for 1 year check-up. Driver states she will not buy another Honda.. this one just had too many problems from the start.

- Rancho Cucamonga, CA, USA

problem #4

May 202013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 4,780 miles
My 2012 Honda CR-V (AWD, ex trim) has, on 5 separate occasions, locked up the electric power steering (eps) system while driving in neighborhood streets (<25 mph) or parking lots. I am lucky this has not happened to me while driving on a city street or highway, but I fear it may happen at any moment. On today's occasion (the 5th out of 5, at 6372 miles), my car was sitting in bright sun all day, and when I drove it a few miles and parked in front of a store, I lost power steering right as I turned to park. The steering tended to harden up as I drove through the parking lot to find my spot. The eps indicator on the dash did not illuminate at all, even though my steering was lost. I had to wait 5 minutes before I was able to maneuver the vehicle into position. On page 355 of the owner's manual, a notice states that: "if you repeatedly turn the steering wheel at an extremely low speed, or hold the steering wheel on the full left or right position for a while, the system heats up. The system goes into a protective mode, and limits its performance. The steering wheel becomes harder and harder to operate. Once the system cools down, eps is restored. Repeated operation under these conditions can eventually damage the system." What kind of steering is this? you tend to use your steering most when in parking lots or tight neighborhood streets. In conclusion, normal driving habits will "eventually damage the system." I demand Honda to fully reimburse me for the remaining negative equity of the vehicle lease, and provide me a safe, paid-in-full rental vehicle (non-Honda please) to drive until my new MINIcountryman arrives from europe in a few weeks. I find it appalling that a company known for "reliability" and "durability" would skimp on the most important aspect of driving: The steering.

- Dublin, OH, USA

problem #3

Oct 102012


  • 2,500 miles
2012 Honda CRV - power steering intermittently goes out while driving and power steering failure light on dash illuminates. Once vehicle is turned off after an occurrence the power steering again works fine for days or weeks until the next occurrence. While the dealership acknowledges that when this occurs the vehicle is unsafe to drive, the vehicle is currently at the dealership for the third time to attempt repair for this dangerous problem. Note this is the first model year to use Honda's new motion-adaptive electric power steering (eps).

- Eureka, MO, USA

problem #2

Aug 242012

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 9,000 miles
The power steering system (eps) shuts down making the vehicle difficult to maneuver. It has happened several times, many times while turning at low speed (the very purpose of power steering). One failure occurred in a parking garage and nearly caused a head-on collision. The failure is intermittent and sometimes includes illumination of the eps warning light on the dash but not always, and the light has never sealed-in. The symptoms are similar to what is described in complaints against the Honda fit that led to service bulletin 09-043 that applied to both the fit and the civic hybrid (see the eps system is newly installed in the CR-V in the 2012 model. Because there is no record of this problem for the CR-V, Honda dealers (we have contacted more than one) are requiring that the failure occur while they drive the vehicle before they will fix anything. The vehicle has been taken to the dealer twice with the same complaint most recently the week of 9/24 and left with the dealer overnight. This complaint is being logged to ensure this failure is on record. Based on the fact that the failure is virtually identical to that described for a similar component in earlier fit and civic vehicles, it only seems reasonable to apply the same fix without the need for diagnosis and replication of the symptom.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #1

Jul 232012

CR-V 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,795 miles
The contact owns 2012 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that while driving 15 mph, the steering wheel became stiff and could not be turned left or right. There were no warning lights illuminated. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or repair shop for inspection or repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileages were 1,795. Updated 8/24/12

- Manchester , NH, USA

Not what you are looking for?