Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

6.7

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
9,916 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Honda CR-V drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Honda CR-V Owner Comments

problem #15

Oct 262016

CR-V

  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

First drive of the day the transmission is ragged. Earlier 2014 CRV had recall. Mine did not. I had software updated and transmission fluid changed as recommended for earlier versions. Problem went away. Honda should recall the later 2014's as well.

- Adirondack, NY, USA

problem #14

Apr 042016

CR-V

  • miles
Every 14-15 days, I am having to get a jump because the car would not start. I had the battery checked and was told that there is not problem with the battery. When driving the car, the car "shudders" when approaching 20 mph and 40mph.

- Port Wentworth, GA, USA

problem #13

Apr 012016

CR-V

  • 17,412 miles
Vehicle jerks at gear change while driving. Automatic transmission.

- Independence Township, NJ, USA

problem #12

Apr 012016

CR-V

  • 17,412 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle jerks while shifting the gear lever from parking into any gear with brakes applied. Automatic transmission.

- Independence Township, NJ, USA

problem #11

Mar 032015

CR-V

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Honda CR-V. the contact stated when the vehicle jerked after a complete stop and during acceleration the vehicle hesitated then jerked. In addition, the contact stated that vehicle's alarm activated and failed to deactivate. As a result, the vehicle was towed to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the alarm module needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred. The technician could not determine the failure of the vehicle jerking. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 15,000. Updated 04/20/16

- La Mirada, CA, USA

problem #10

Feb 182014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,209 miles
There seems to be a low speed stall. I've reported to the dealer but they claim its a gearing problem. When you are at a stop or making a low speed turn the gas pedal doesn't engage in order for the car to move. This could be dangerous in that you may be in harms way with no way of getting out of the situation. I did take my vehicle into the dealer after I first experienced the problem but they have no recalls or fixes for the problem. Updated 09/09/15.....updated 09/11/15 the consumer stated within the last few days, the vehicle stalled again at a stop light. When the accelerator was applied, it took at least 10 seconds for a response. Honda stated the failure occurred when the vehicle was in economy mode. However, the consumer stated it also happened when the vehicle was not in economy mode. Updated 10/28/15.

- Montrose, CO, USA

problem #9

Jul 172014

CR-V

  • 25 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Previous submission ntsb number: 10670827. Purchased new 2014 Honda CR-V ex-L from sheehy Honda, richmond highway, alexandria Virginia. Vehicle was returned three times for significant vibrations throughout the vehicle when at highway speeds. Sheehy failed to correct the problem, I notified Honda corporate, who transferred my case(number: [xxx]) to pohanka Honda, capital heights Maryland. Pohanka researched the problem and identified the drive shaft as the problem (part number 2191A8 - propeller shaft). Drive shaft was replaced 21 January 2015. Problem has subsided but continues at a lower threshold. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #8

Feb 052014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 7,278 miles
The AWD on the 2014 Honda CRV fails when the outside temperature falls below zero, the all wheel drive vehicle then is just a front wheel drive vehicle. We live in the northern part of the usa and often deal with snow packed roads. Without the AWD working this leads to difficult and dangerous driving condition and at times loss of control. The dealership has had the vehicle in 4 times and has been unable to fix the problem and at this time has not offered and solution to the situation, only that the tech/engineers will look into the issue. At this time can not even get the vehicle up the hill of our snow packed driveway without a tow.

- Maple, WI, USA

problem #7

Aug 022014

CR-V

  • 14,000 miles
1. 2014 power train -rear passenger wheel jumping/skipping on acceleration. Dealer brought a loaner, took car and replaced rear differential..seems ok since....had 2013 CRV w/front passenger side axle jumping..traded back after 9 months 2. 2014 engine- grinding sound on start up. Recorded sound on video and mechanic identified as vtc actuator but said Honda has no fix. Said no harm will occur w/repetition...had 2013 CRV w/same problem in addition to front axle issues..as noted above traded back after 9 months.

- Huntersville, NC, USA

problem #6

Aug 192014

CR-V

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Honda CR-V. while driving various speeds, the shifter would independently shift out of gear. In addition, the tire pressure warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 1,000.

- Ellcot City, MD, USA

problem #5

Aug 202014

CR-V

  • 3,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that while in drive the vehicle erroneously reversed. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician was unable to find a failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 3,000.

- Huntington , WV, USA

problem #4

Jun 042014

CR-V

  • 2,000 miles
Raining went to doctor, came out started car and turned left on road to freeway at 10/15mph code D3 came on. Transmission wouldn't shift out of 3rd gear, could not drive faster than 30/40 mph. Could not drive on freeway.taking back roads home and parking car 15/20 minutes later started car and code was off.called service dept and was told car fixed it self, this is a safety hazard because this should not happen at all, everytime it rains is it going to stick in 3rd gear like it did. Needs corrected now.

- Dayton, OH, USA

problem #3

Jan 202014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 700 miles
2014 CRV AWD ex with 700 miles vibration in steering wheel and thrumming noise between 50 and 70 mph. Dealership put over 100 miles on vehicle for testing. Drive shaft replaced and still vibrates. Dealership removed drive shaft and no vibration. Was told only 2 crvs in the state have vibration problems. TPMS lights came on 5 times with no explanation from dealership. Sensors checked. Fan motor made low, loud growling noise when turned on in 15 degree temperature. Was told that is normal. Ran through car wash with sun shade open and glass panel closed. Water dripped in. Told it was normal.

- Brunswick, OH, USA

problem #2

Sep 282013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,200 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that he would lose control of the vehicle when shifting into third gear. Once the vehicle would reach third gear, it would not decelerate and would only accelerate independently. The contact took the vehicle to be diagnosed where the dealer stated that there was no defect with the vehicle. The manufacture was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 2,200. Updated 5/19/14 updated 05/28/2014

- Pullman, WA, USA

problem #1

Dec 242013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 7,500 miles
I bought at 2014 CRV end of Sept/Oct of 2013. Upon the first snow fall I drove the vehicle and had immediate problems. The car was not getting any traction, it was sliding around going down hills and upon trying to drive up hills it would stop without even trying to go up. It would stop and wheels would spin, the rear end spun to the side and I could not get anywhere. The amber AWD lights came on and flashed, combination of both scenarios. I finally got it into the dealership as the problem got worse. The rear differential has been deemed defective (overheating issue to point of almost glowing and fluid overheated). The other problem I have had is that if the car was put into 1st or 2nd gear to aid slowing down on a hill, even from a stopped position, it would not respond. The car sped up going down the hill in first gear to approximately 40mph even with the brake on, which would not engage and the anti-lock brakes were engaging and not even trying to stop the vehicle. The car behaved the same even if on flat ground that had even a dusting of snow or even a little gravel. The dealership gave me a courtesy 2014 same year as mine, it drove much better and much safer than mine performed after the first 2 days. I feel the car has more issues than just the differential and is a major safety hazard as the last 1-2 weeks the car has had no control in anything other than dry roads. It has almost wrecked more than once due to these issues. This vehicle is 3.5 months old and had under 10,000 miles on it and all of this has gone wrong since the beginning.

- Bremen, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?