Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 1
Average Mileage:
5,513 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Honda CR-V electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #6

Oct 142013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 143 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a new 2014 Honda CR-V AWD ex-L with navigation from ray price in East stroudsburg on Oct. 12, 2013 for $31,000. Two days after purchase had car into clinton Honda in annandale, NJ for tire pressure light. (mileage 143). Clinton Honda found all tire pressures good and reset light. Low tire pressure light keeps coming on about 3 times weekly even though tire pressures were good. Went to ray price 12/28/13 (mileage 5027) and explained situation. Ray price ran codes, which all came up clear and they reset the tire pressure light again. Next day, the tire pressure light came on again. 1/4/14 back to ray price, tire pressure light on again. Ran codes again and checked tire pressure again, both were good. The tech said it must be a rf signal and nothing could be done about it. I contacted american Honda 1/30/14 and 1/31/14 about issue. American Honda stated that they are awaiting a software update for this issue. Software update should be released by end of February, but no guarantees. The light has been on close to 90% of the time since we have owned the car. Once the light comes on it needs to be reset because it will not go out on its own. Having the tire pressure coming on falsely constantly is a major safety issue. Ray price contacted me on 2/12/14 stating that the software update was available and made an appointment to bring the car in on 2/14/14. After receiving the car from the appointment I checked the tire pressure and the tires were overinflated by the dealer to 35 psi instead of the manufactures recommended 30 psi. I believe this to be their quick fix for the issue and not an acceptable resolution. Overinflated tires make your vehicle ride harshly, are more prone to road hazards, wear unevenly. This is right out of Honda owners manual. My mechanic also says that this also increases the chances of hydroplaning.

- Mount Bethel, PA, USA

problem #5

Jan 152014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 850 miles
I bought my 2014 Honda CR-V directly from Continental group anchorage Alaska, around November 2013, this is a brand new car, on January 2014 the tire low pressure light went on I took it to the dealer and they said because of the cold weather they needed to adjust the pressure and nothing is wrong, around 2 weeks later the light went on again and I took it to the dealer again they said the pressure was normal and when I insisted there is something wrong they said there is a manufacture issue and Honda is aware of that, I think this is a serious issue, why as a customer I weren't informed about that from the beginning, also can't just ignore the light how to know if there were really an issue with the tires, I think this is really misleading and frustrating for a customer who decided to go and buy a new car and a brand supposed to be one of the safest cars available.

- Anchorage , AK, USA

problem #4

Dec 062013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
I purchased the car in November, 2013. Since December, while driving on the freeway, the low pressure sensor light for the tires keeps coming on (the sensor has come on over ten times). This has now happened on three different trips between southern and northern California and it seems to come on about every 200 miles. I have gotten off the freeway and had the tires checked and they are all ok. I have taken the car back to the dealer three times and they tell me that Honda is aware of the problem. I purchased a Honda for its safety rating. This is a serious safety issue as I was told by the dealer to "ignore the sensor light" until they get this fixed. What if the tire pressure really is low? Honda needs to make the fix for this situation a priority!!!

- Corrlitos, CA, USA

problem #3

Nov 012013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 239 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2014 Honda CRV was delivered with 233 miles on odometer. Within 6 miles of leaving the dealership the tire pressure monitoring (tpm) light had come on indicating one or more of the tires was low on air. Our salesperson had already warned us about this during the walk through at the dealership telling us there is no need for us to pull over because more than likely there is no problem. Being an informed consumer we were already aware that Honda has a serious problem with their tpm system on the 2014 model. It simple does not work. It cries wolf and can not be trusted. After resetting the light it will continually return and have to be reset within 50 miles or less of in town driving. Alternately we reset it before a 240 miles round trip hwy drive and the tpm light did not come on during the entire hwy trip. The purpose of the government mandating tpm in all new cars was two fold. First for fuel economy, second for safety. Since the tpm light provides false alarms every week, it does not accomplish either goal. We have had no formal response from Honda acknowledging there is a problem or that they are working on a fix. There is a forum with 200 posts on the 2014 problems at this direct address: www.crvownersclub.com/forums/14-problems-issues/27802-2014-tpm-problems.html.

- Springfield, IL, USA

problem #2

Nov 142013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 300 miles
The tire pressure monitoring system (TPMS) warning light came on while driving on freeway. Took car to dealer who checked tires and did not find a problem. Dealer reset/recalibrated TPMS by pressing button. Drove car for another 300 miles and TPMS warning light came on again. Personally checked pressure in all tires with a manual tire pressure gauge. All four tire pressures were within spec at 33 psi. I reset/recalibrated the TPMS by pressing button. Read on the internet that other 2014 Honda CR-V owners are having the same problem. Honda does not have a fix for this problem. The TPMS warning can not be relied on because it gives false indications. I understand that the TPMS on the 2014 Honda CR-V is an indirect system. There are no actual pressure sensors. It uses the wheel speed/rotation sensors to determine when there is a tire pressure problem. The computer indicates a problem based on different speeds/rotation of the wheels. I don't know if the sensors are the problem or if it is the computer software.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #1

Nov 092013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 10 miles
Tire pressure monitoring system is inoperative as warning light stays lit constantly. Warning light came on immediately upon drive home from dealer with brand new car. No adjustments or re-setting will prevent light from going on. Returned to dealer twice (dch Honda old bridge NJ) to no avail. Notified by service manager--[xxx] that Honda engineering was contacted but they had no fix for this problem. American Honda was contacted but was also of no help. We bought this car for my young daughter who is now driving a vehicle with a clear safety issue. Can you help? information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Matawan, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?