Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

8.0

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,127 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2014 Honda CR-V wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2014 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Sep 302014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 550 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The tire pressure monitoring system (TPMS) light has come on three times when the tires are properly inflated. Honda has not provided a fix for this known safety issue with this vehicle.

- Wellington, FL, USA

problem #18

Feb 102014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 446 miles
I have had constant issues with the tire pressure monitoring (TPMS) system on my new CRV. The light illuminates randomly when my tire pressure is fine. It sometimes does not illuminate when my tire pressure is not fine. It has been in for repairs 6 or 7 times and there is no fix identified yet. I am left not knowing whether my tires are properly inflated or not. Honda is aware of the safety issue but not able to correct (or willing to refund).

- Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #17

May 142014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 1,500 miles
To add to the tire pressure monitor list. 2014 CRV purchased in April, 2014. TPMS monitor has come on several times. Usually occurs at highway speeds. We have been assured that the problem has been fixed this time (@5800 miles). This will be TPMS complaint 35 of a total of 65 complaints. I guess it doesn't happen to everyone, but it does seem to happen much too often. Suspect nys lemon law is my next option.

- Gardiner, NY, USA

problem #16

Aug 192014

CR-V

  • 14,675 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Leaving for 4 hour vacation drive; as we were about 60 miles from home the TPMS (tire pressure monitoring system) low-tire light illuminated. We proceeded to pull off at a safe spot, examine the tires, check the tire pressure and found nothing wrong. The vacation ended there as we turned around and came home because we can no longer trust this vehicle. The TPMS light has been coming on since day one! originally I suspected the pre-delivery tire check and calibration was missed so I performed it myself. The light came on again and I took it to Honda who found no problems and acknowledged the condition stating we are working on a re-programming of the computer 12/2013. The light continued to illuminate until I couldn't take it any more and called Honda usa again who magically said we have a fix. Back to dealer who installed a vsa modulator control unit software update for different driving conditions 6/2014. Light illuminated again 8/19/2014 as stated above. Called Honda usa, took to dealer today for vsa repair kit fit usa 13-040. This seems fishy as it is a repair kit for a Honda fit not specifically for a CRV. Time will tell but we can not trust this vehicle as I am handicapped!

- Somers, NY, USA

problem #15

May 272014

CR-V

  • 386 miles
Since May 27th the tire pressure light comes on every 4-5 days a week. The first time it occurred I utilized the manual to calibrate the system, but then it came on again. I took it to the nearest Honda dealership and they checked all of the tires, calibrated the system, and stated that everything seemed okay. Another 5 days later the light came on again and I took it back to the dealer, the ran a check through the entire computer tire system and test drove it, so they say, but while heading home the light came back on for the fourth time. I am so sick of this. Its very annoying. This malfunction can be safety concern in the long run. After a while, how does the owner determine whether the system is accurately or falsely reporting a problem with the vehicles tires. My CRV currently has 1800 miles on it. I will take it to the dealer again for the 3rd time and ask that the sensor be replaced.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #14

May 172014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 8,664 miles
Tire pressure monitor systemp (TPMS) light come on every few miles. We had reseted it 50 time by now. All speed & temperatures. Dealers serviced this problem 3 times so far. Checked everything out ok. Customer forum mentioned a vehicle stability control firmware "vsa/ABS software update" & "sb#14-006 update". dealer applied firmware update May 8. but TPMS lights still came on. Problem not fixed by the firmware update.

- Yorktown Heights, NY, USA

problem #13

Jan 202014

CR-V

  • 5,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2014 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the TPMS light continuously illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who balanced the wheels but the failure continued. The manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 5,000.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #12

Sep 042013

CR-V

  • 50 miles
The day after purchase, the TPMS (tire pressure monitoring system) warning light came on indicating a low tire pressure condition. I checked the tire pressure, and recalibrated the system per the owners manual (tire pressure was high from the dealer (@37psi), and was reset to the 30psi factory spec). The light activated again within several days. I took the vehicle to the dealer, and they basically did the same - tire pressure check and system calibration. We have had this issue now for 6 months. After each system calibration and reset, the light will again activate anywhere from 1 day to approximately 10 days - each time the tire pressure has been within the factory specification. The vehicle has been to the dealer about six times for this issue, with no fix. (we were told Honda will have a fix by February, 2014).. the (dealer) service advisor manager can't give us any definitive answer on the problem, or solving the problem. My understanding is the low tire pressure monitoring system is a safety mandated feature, and this is an issue with most 2014 Honda CR-V's.

- Palm Coast, FL, USA

problem #11

Feb 202014

CR-V

  • 1,000 miles
The TPMS light (low tire pressure warning) on new Honda CR-V (2014) comes on when driving at freeway speeds, when I check the tire pressures, they are all within the recommended settings. I have taken the car back to the dealer and they have recalibrated the system twice.

- Yakima, WA, USA

problem #10

Nov 042013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
We bought Honda CR-V 2014 on Oct 31st 2013. Within (first) week low tire pressure light comes on. I thought dealership didn't perform pre delivery inspection. So I went there and they says low tire pressure light triggers due to cold weather. They reset it. After few days/miles again low tire pressure light comes on (second time) and they said this time we are performing different reset procedure. I asked for $0 invoice as there attempt to fix the issue. They said we can't give you invoice if we are not charging you. Now I was like it should not come on again as they performed different reset procedure, but it comes on again (third time) after 500 or 600 miles. This time they contact american Honda and perform another reset procedure and keep car with them for a day to inspect. They also issued $0 invoice. Now I thought it should be fine, but again I was wrong. It comes on (forth time). Now they are saying it's "software issue" and american Honda is working on it. (Dec end or Jan first week) they also said Honda is requesting time frame and it should be done by the end of Jan 2014. Today is Feb 19 2014 and issue is not resolved yet. I tried follow up my dealer and Honda many times and they are keep saying same thing, we are working on it. Since the day I bought car low tire pressure light comes on more than 10 times now and all time I did tire pressure check with same dealer and it was okay all the time. Now I am tired of following up with my dealer, Honda and keep watching light (!) on. Never feel like driving new car. It's a safety issue. When I asked my dealer, who will be responsible if tire blow out while driving? they said its owner's responsibility to keep checking tire pressure. Dear Honda we didn't bought car to keep in garage. I have most of the mileage proof in pictures at the time light comes on and went to dealer for reset.

- Phillipsburg, NJ, USA

problem #9

Oct 142013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 143 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a new 2014 Honda CR-V AWD ex-L with navigation from ray price in East stroudsburg on Oct. 12, 2013 for $31,000. Two days after purchase had car into clinton Honda in annandale, NJ for tire pressure light. (mileage 143). Clinton Honda found all tire pressures good and reset light. Low tire pressure light keeps coming on about 3 times weekly even though tire pressures were good. Went to ray price 12/28/13 (mileage 5027) and explained situation. Ray price ran codes, which all came up clear and they reset the tire pressure light again. Next day, the tire pressure light came on again. 1/4/14 back to ray price, tire pressure light on again. Ran codes again and checked tire pressure again, both were good. The tech said it must be a rf signal and nothing could be done about it. I contacted american Honda 1/30/14 and 1/31/14 about issue. American Honda stated that they are awaiting a software update for this issue. Software update should be released by end of February, but no guarantees. The light has been on close to 90% of the time since we have owned the car. Once the light comes on it needs to be reset because it will not go out on its own. Having the tire pressure coming on falsely constantly is a major safety issue. Ray price contacted me on 2/12/14 stating that the software update was available and made an appointment to bring the car in on 2/14/14. After receiving the car from the appointment I checked the tire pressure and the tires were overinflated by the dealer to 35 psi instead of the manufactures recommended 30 psi. I believe this to be their quick fix for the issue and not an acceptable resolution. Overinflated tires make your vehicle ride harshly, are more prone to road hazards, wear unevenly. This is right out of Honda owners manual. My mechanic also says that this also increases the chances of hydroplaning.

- Mount Bethel, PA, USA

problem #8

Nov 212013

CR-V

  • 2,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that while driving above 65 mph, the vehicle would vibrate abnormally. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who diagnosed that all four wheels needed to be balanced. The vehicle was repaired however, the failure recurred. The mechanic then performed a dynamic balance to repair the failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 2,000.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #7

Dec 302013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 700 miles
TPMS light illuminates approximately every 700 miles. Tire pressure was checked and found to be normal each time. Car has 3400 miles now and light has illuminated 4 times and each time tire pressure was found to be normal. The last two occurrences were on wet road surfaces with puddling (may be a factor?).

- Waxhaw, NC, USA

problem #6

Jan 152014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 850 miles
I bought my 2014 Honda CR-V directly from Continental group anchorage Alaska, around November 2013, this is a brand new car, on January 2014 the tire low pressure light went on I took it to the dealer and they said because of the cold weather they needed to adjust the pressure and nothing is wrong, around 2 weeks later the light went on again and I took it to the dealer again they said the pressure was normal and when I insisted there is something wrong they said there is a manufacture issue and Honda is aware of that, I think this is a serious issue, why as a customer I weren't informed about that from the beginning, also can't just ignore the light how to know if there were really an issue with the tires, I think this is really misleading and frustrating for a customer who decided to go and buy a new car and a brand supposed to be one of the safest cars available.

- Anchorage , AK, USA

problem #5

Dec 032013

CR-V

  • 75 miles
The tire pressure monitoring sensor is constantly appearing on the dashboard. The car has less then 1,000 miles and the dashboard TPMS has come on over a dozen times. I have had the car tires checked five times and the pressure is fine. There is something wrong with the TPMS system. I have called Honda customer services and have been told by a case manager that there is something wrong and the engineers are working on a software fix. No time for this fix has been advertised. It is very disconcerting to be driving with this light on and not knowing whether it's a true tire pressure issue. I hope that this is resolved quickly.

- Rockville Centre, NY, USA

problem #4

Dec 242013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 200 miles
Accelerating up to travel speed on a highway the wheels start shimming we could not control the car. Talking to the dealer who said that they where aware of this and that snow & ice can pack into the rims causing the wheels to be unbalanced. I am 70 years old and do not think its safe for me to get out of the car on the highway to clean the wheels.

- Marshalltown, IA, USA

problem #3

Nov 012013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 239 miles
2014 Honda CRV was delivered with 233 miles on odometer. Within 6 miles of leaving the dealership the tire pressure monitoring (tpm) light had come on indicating one or more of the tires was low on air. Our salesperson had already warned us about this during the walk through at the dealership telling us there is no need for us to pull over because more than likely there is no problem. Being an informed consumer we were already aware that Honda has a serious problem with their tpm system on the 2014 model. It simple does not work. It cries wolf and can not be trusted. After resetting the light it will continually return and have to be reset within 50 miles or less of in town driving. Alternately we reset it before a 240 miles round trip hwy drive and the tpm light did not come on during the entire hwy trip. The purpose of the government mandating tpm in all new cars was two fold. First for fuel economy, second for safety. Since the tpm light provides false alarms every week, it does not accomplish either goal. We have had no formal response from Honda acknowledging there is a problem or that they are working on a fix. There is a forum with 200 posts on the 2014 problems at this direct address: www.crvownersclub.com/forums/14-problems-issues/27802-2014-tpm-problems.html.

- Springfield, IL, USA

problem #2

Nov 142013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 300 miles
The tire pressure monitoring system (TPMS) warning light came on while driving on freeway. Took car to dealer who checked tires and did not find a problem. Dealer reset/recalibrated TPMS by pressing button. Drove car for another 300 miles and TPMS warning light came on again. Personally checked pressure in all tires with a manual tire pressure gauge. All four tire pressures were within spec at 33 psi. I reset/recalibrated the TPMS by pressing button. Read on the internet that other 2014 Honda CR-V owners are having the same problem. Honda does not have a fix for this problem. The TPMS warning can not be relied on because it gives false indications. I understand that the TPMS on the 2014 Honda CR-V is an indirect system. There are no actual pressure sensors. It uses the wheel speed/rotation sensors to determine when there is a tire pressure problem. The computer indicates a problem based on different speeds/rotation of the wheels. I don't know if the sensors are the problem or if it is the computer software.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #1

Nov 092013

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 10 miles
Tire pressure monitoring system is inoperative as warning light stays lit constantly. Warning light came on immediately upon drive home from dealer with brand new car. No adjustments or re-setting will prevent light from going on. Returned to dealer twice (dch Honda old bridge NJ) to no avail. Notified by service manager--[xxx] that Honda engineering was contacted but they had no fix for this problem. American Honda was contacted but was also of no help. We bought this car for my young daughter who is now driving a vehicle with a clear safety issue. Can you help? information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Matawan, NJ, USA

Not what you are looking for?