CarComplaints.com Notes: Mercedes-Benz vehicles may come with an "Attention Assistant" to alert you if you fall asleep behind the wheel, but the 2015 Honda CR-V has a different approach: just shake the heck out of you so you never fall asleep in the first place.

Owners have complained that the popular SUV shakes violently both while idling and while driving. Buyer beware.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
1,972 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Honda CR-V drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #76

Jan 072016

CR-V

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When car is on idle with drive gear, the car gets vibrate and it gets worse when air condition is turn on. After the repair of service bulletin 15-046, the issue is vibrating and it gets worse when turn ac on. The first service was on 1/7/16 with 136 milages and the second service was on 1/19/16 with 678 milages with no resolution. When I drive to work, the vibration and shaking cause my body get nauseated and headaches.

- Sachse, TX, USA

problem #75

Dec 112015

CR-V

  • 6,547 miles
Intermittent vibration while at idle or 2200 RPM while driving. Taken to dealership for resolution 3-4 times but the problem persists. Was advised by dealership where vehicle was bought to seek help from another dealership. Manufacturer software upgrade did not address the issue, we were even advised the software update decrease fuel efficiency by 20%. brand new car running like a worn-out vehicle. Honda says it is not a safety issue, firmly disagree, eventually consistent vibrations will cause parts to loosen. Do we have to wait for accidents to happen before Honda and the government to address this issue" when will consumer safety protection come first before profits and reputation" it is plain disgraceful...

- Marysville, WA, USA

problem #74

Jan 062016

CR-V

  • 2,612 miles
Bought a Honda CRV-LX 2015 two months ago only to have a vibration problem after three weeks. Hondas fix was to put new head rest with shorter post and bushings under radiator, rear tail gate, transmission and engine so as to mask vibration problem. After doing this the steering became hard not like it was when we first got the vehicle, the steering goes from very easy to almost manual I consider this a safety problem. Unfortunately Honda of America will not acknowledge that it was a design flaw and the car should not be sold. It vibrated at a stop very bad then it feels like you have studded snow tires on at 40 to 50 miles an hour which they claim is a software fix there is a class action law suit in California against Honda for these problems.

- Newburgh, NY, USA

problem #73

Apr 282015

CR-V

  • 150 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Honda CR-V. while driving 25 mph, the vehicle vibrated severely. The failure occurred constantly. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed, but the cause of the failure was not determined. The contact mentioned that the vehicle's software was updated, but the failure recurred. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 150.

- Grants Pass, OR, USA

problem #72

Oct 132015

CR-V

  • 4,000 miles
We bought our 2015 Honda CRV within a few months and less than 4,000 miles it started vibrating excessively looking online this seems to be a manufacturers problem. When we called the dealer they played dumb to any issues yet the amount of complaints our horrendous.

- Fairhope, AL, USA

problem #71

Sep 302015

CR-V

  • 5 miles
The car is vibrating like crazy. We bought it brand new and I called the sales person after purchasing and he told me there are complaints about the vibration but nothing is wrong and that it is normal. The vibration is getting worse and am getting sick of driving a $30,000 car with vibration.

- Lynnwood, WA, USA

problem #70

May 012015

CR-V

  • 400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Shake out of the seat vibration when stopped in drive and all accessories and lights off. Transmission vibration at takeoff up to 30 mph, or 1,500rpm. The issue is constant, and Honda dealer states it is a known problem.

- Chittenengo, NY, USA

problem #69

May 252015

CR-V

  • miles
Getting vibration from transmission/power train. Very noticeable between 20 mph and 40 mph. Can feel the vibration I the steering wheel. And also in the seats.

- Barrington, RI, USA

problem #68

Oct 022015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 3,700 miles
At a full stop with brake pedal applied, excessive vibration occurs from engine. Both passengers in front and rear can feel it along with driver. Rpms drop below 600. Feels like the vehicle is going to stall. Only occurs at full stop when warmed up with brake pedal applied. Seems like low RPM problem. Will bring back to dealer this week. It seems many others here are experiencing same problem. This vehicle has less than 4000 miles on it and was purchased new. Manufacture date was 02/15. Wondering if this is problem associated with the current recall. Please address. Thank you.

- Haminton, NJ, USA

problem #67

Nov 082015

CR-V

  • 2 miles
Noticed vibration on the way home from the dealer. Vibration happens at ~60-70mph. Vibration is sometimes stronger or weaker and makes me dizzy a bit. Very annoying.

- San Leandro, CA, USA

problem #66

Feb 282015

CR-V

  • 300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased the 2015 CRV in February 2015. Approximately a week after making the purchase, the vehicle began extensively vibrating while stopped at a stop light or stop sign, with the vehicle engaged in the drive position and the brake pedal was pressed. I immediately noticed that the RPM's dropped below 600. The vibration is felt in both the drivers and passengers seats, but moreso in the drivers seat. It feels as though the vehicle is going to stall out. I do not feel safe driving this vehicle as I have the constant fear that it is going to stall out at any given time. I have taken it in to the dealership service center on four occasions, but they state they cannot reproduce the problem so they have been of no help. This is a known problem by Honda, but it appears as though they are merely brushing it off in hopes that the complaints will stop.

- Strongsville, OH, USA

problem #65

Oct 022015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 4,900 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Honda CR-V. while idling, the vehicle vibrated. The failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but could not be diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 4,900. Updated 01/27/16 the consumer stated as of 12-15-15 the vibration issue had worsened and there was also a loss of power. Updated 04/05/16.

- Greenville, NC, USA

problem #64

Oct 302015

CR-V

  • 287 miles
Vibrationatidleandnoisewhiledriving.

- Fortpayne,Al., AL, USA

problem #63

Feb 162015

CR-V

  • 500 miles
The 2015 Honda CR-V has a problem with a vibration while the car is stopped idle and in drive at slow speeds the idling occurs at every stop light, and in heavy highway bumper to bumper traffic. The vibrations are experienced in the front passenger and driver seats and center console. Drivers and passengers experience motion sickness including headaches, nausea. Any new passenger in my vehicle is startled by the vibrations. Every new passenger comments about the startling vibrations. Some passengers even scream due to the startling vibrations. All of this is extremely distracting to the driver who is trying to pay attention to the traffic. The car feels like it is hesitating and will stall when the gas petal is depressed. This has not happened yet, but the issue is getting worse not better. Honda admits to this issue, but offers no resolution and calls this merely an annoyance. This issue is getting worse and the manufacturer has been given a chance to fix the issue. I am not certain if the issue is the motor, transmission, or fuel injection system. It could be any of those systems. The attempt to make the CR-V more fuel efficient by using the Honda Accord's engine has been a failure and resulted in a major safety issue with the cars.

- Norwood, MA, USA

problem #62

Sep 252015

CR-V

  • 14,000 miles
Vibrations upon acceleration between 10-50 mph. I can hear and feel the vibration and it occurs every time I slow down below 30 and then accelerate again and every time I pull off from a complete stop. I took it to the dealership today and they said they were aware for the past few months of this issue and that Honda is working on a fix for the issue but as much as Honda engineers make, a month should be more than enough time to figure it out. I feel the issue will not fix itself and will get worse with time. My family uses this vehicle and being broke down on the side of the road seems unsafe to me especially with a new $30,000 vehicle.

- Eden, NC, USA

problem #61

Jun 162015

CR-V

  • 5,000 miles
Vibration felt at 20-25 mph and at higher speeds through the steering wheel and by sound with the vibration becoming stronger as the mileage increases. Discussions with the Honda dealership concerning a refund have not been fruitful. I am concerned that the problem may result in a crash; but Honda is very slow to resolve the issue.

- Winchester, VA, USA

problem #60

Mar 042015

CR-V

  • 3,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Honda CR-V. while idling, the vehicle vibrated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 3,000. The VIN was not available.

- Fishkill, NY, USA

problem #59

Oct 032015

CR-V

  • miles
I purchased a 2015 CR-V. on October 1st noticing significant vibrations at idle which became more pronounced under way especially between 60 and 70 miles / hour. Brought the vehicle, to the dealer, on October 3rd to determine what the cause of the vibration might be. The vibrations were confirmed by the mechanic during a test drive. The front wheel alignment and balance were checked and found to be within specs. A service bulletin was found instructing the mechanic to perform a software update. A second test drive showed no improvement. Honda technicians were called who acknowledged that they were aware of the issue and that Honda was working on it (apparently since 2014). The technicians indicated that the issue was thought to be related to "harmonic distortions" associated with the use of the drive train, found in the Honda Accord, in the 2015 CR-V. the Honda technicians offered assurances that there were no safety issues. I then took the vehicle to a different dealer who checked the same mechanical parameters including the software update with no improvement. The matter has been further acknowledged, by Honda, as evidenced in a youtube video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?V=vej45wx9yci). A cursory search of the web shows quite a number of reports of the issue. Apart from the effect on driveability and no resolution in sight, my concerns are the potential long term effects on the vehicle especially with regard to the drive train and other possible safety related effects.

- Medfield, MA, USA

problem #58

Sep 202015

CR-V

  • 210 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Honda CR-V. while at a stop, the vehicle began to vibrate. In addition, while driving at various speeds, the vehicle, seats, and steering wheel vibrated. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to a dealer who was unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 210.

- Elmsford, NY, USA

problem #57

Sep 122015

CR-V

  • 500 miles
I purchased my Honda CR-V touring 2015 on August 29, 2015, approximately five weeks ago. It has a vibration when stopped while in drive (like at a stop light or stop sign) it also has an intermittent strong vibration in the steering wheel on highways. I am very unhappy with my purchase and as I searched this problem on the internet, I've seen a lot of people are experiencing this problem. They all say when they take it back to the dealer it does not get repaired and apparently Honda is acknowledging that there is a problem now. Being that I work, I do not have time to go back to the dealer and sit there knowing (from other people's experiences) that it will not get corrected.

- Bensalem, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?