Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Mercedes-Benz vehicles may come with an "Attention Assistant" to alert you if you fall asleep behind the wheel, but the 2015 Honda CR-V has a different approach: just shake the heck out of you so you never fall asleep in the first place.

Owners have complained that the popular SUV shakes violently both while idling and while driving. Buyer beware.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
2,048 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Honda CR-V drivetrain problems

drivetrain problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #32

Dec 152014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 20 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The car has a vibration at low speeds, 15 - 20 mph. When accelerating from 35 - 40 mph the car shudders. The dealer said mine was the forth car the had seen with this problem and there is no fix at this time. They took computer snapshots that were sent to Honda. The Honda regional rep told me that Honda knows there is a problem. I have had no communication from Honda since Feb. 27 2015. I don't know if it is safe to drive this vehicle at freeway speeds. My case number with Honda is [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Hillsboro, OR, USA

problem #31

Mar 242015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 50 miles
I bought Honda 2015 CRV-LX at Mar 23 2015, and I noticed a terrible vibration when I drove to home after the car is warm and stop at stop-sigh in D gear. You can see the vibration in open windows, seats, etc and anything in the car. I went back to the dealership at Mar 24 and the service guy drove another new CRV to compare with mine and also got the totally same problem and then he said it is manufacturer problem so that they can't fix it. And then went back to ask the sales, sales said all CRV has such problem and this purchase was done already so they can't do anything for me even this is a really super annoying problem for me and all the CRV's owner.

- Cupertino, CA, USA

problem #30

Apr 102015

CR-V

  • 200 miles
There is an issue with the 2015 Honda CR-V where the car vibrates and rattles significantly when idling in drive with brake depressed. The RPM seems to drop down to 600 and the engine starts making noise and vibrating. At the present time it is only an inconvenience and irritating but I feel that if this continues them we may be looking at premature wear and tear of parts just due to the excess vibrations. Consumers may be in for huge spends to replace parts that were worn out over the years due to excessive vibrations in the car.

- Rocky Hill, CT, USA

problem #29

Mar 182015

CR-V

  • 14 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

A strong vibration when vehicle is stopped and in drive. The vibration rattles the whole car- you can see the vibration in open windows, the passenger seat, the gear shift. Uncomfortable drive and lack of confidence in the safety of my vehicle. Scared to drive my car on long distances. First Honda- probably last.

- Roslindale, MA, USA

problem #28

Apr 102015

CR-V

  • 200 miles
Took delivery of 2015 CRV exl on 04-09-15. Found pronounced drive train shudder while operating vehicle at speeds from idle to 30mph at 1000-1250 RPM. Returned veh. To lia Honda in northampton mass. Where technician was able to duplicate and document complaint. Service writer states that Honda is aware of issue but has no fix. My 2011 CRV ran smooth as glass. Honda has been the benchmark for quality vehicles but has really dropped the ball on the 2015 CRV. If a machine shudders or vibrates when in operation there is an indication that it was mis-designed, something is broken or will break in the near future. Real shame that Honda released this vehicle with this known problem. Will certainly become a safety issue if something comes apart in the powertrain while the vehicle is at speed.

- Williamsburg, MA, USA

problem #27

Mar 262015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 25 miles
Extreme vibrations at idle speed, moderate vibrations when accelerating Honda is aware of the problem, but still selling these cars. Unknown cause - possible safety issue - year : 2015 make : Honda model : CR-V number of open recalls: 1 last updated: Mar 03, 2015 NHTSA recall number: Awaiting# mfr campaign id: JP3 recall date: 02/26/2015 recall status: Recall incomplete. Remedy not yet available. Summary: American Honda motor co., Inc. (Honda) is recalling certain model year 2015 Honda CR-V vehicles. During assembly of the short block, it is possible that not all of the connecting rod bolts were torqued to the specification. Safety risk: If a connecting rod bolt was not torqued correctly, the engine may rattle/knock, leak oil, or lose power, increasing the risk of a crash. Remedy: Honda will notify owners, and dealers will replace the engine short block, free of charge. Notification to customers about this recall is expected to begin March 27, 2015. Owners may contact the Honda automobile customer service at 888-234-2138. Honda's campaign number for this recall is JP2.

- Melville, NY, USA

problem #26

Mar 112015

CR-V

  • 800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Honda CR-V vibrates at idle while in gear at approximately 500-600 rpms. It also vibrates while accelerating at all speeds under approximately 2100-2200 rpms. This can't be good for the longevity of the engine and is distracting, hence a safety concern.

- Jackson, NJ, USA

problem #25

Mar 022015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 50 miles
A few days after purchasing the vehicle I began to notice a vibration on the front end, mostly at highway speeds and most severe at 60-70 mph range. I took the vehicle in for service 3 times in March. The first time they balanced all the tires, the second time they put two new tires in the front. I drove it on a trip (about 600 miles total) and it was extremely irritating the whole time I was on the highway. The third visit to the dealer and I drove it with the service manager and was told it was normal. We then drove another new 2015 CRV and it drove the same way. His best suggestion was to invest in michelins to reduce the road noise. He called back about a week later to let me know there were "some known issues" and he let me know it they found a fix. I then searched NHTSA only to discover similar problems listed, so here I am, posting my complaint to add to the list. Honda has also posted to announce they'll be recalling certain vehicles to replace the engine block but yet to receive a letter at this point for mine. I also experience the vibration at idling, which is also annoying, but it was noted on consumer reports when I researched before buying the car so there ya go. At this point the main fix needs to be the vibration at driving speed, and I they need to address the idling issue too. I should mention the service manager has kept in contact with me and said he is determined to remedy the situation.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #24

Feb 242015

CR-V

  • 6 miles
Car has significant vibrations when rpms are in low end of range. I brought in for them to look with 1169 miles on odometer on March 18 and was told it is "consistent" with other crvs. I stated that vibrations were in the range of 1500-2000 rpms. As of April 14, issue has gotten worse, with vibrations ranging from 600-2500. I now feel slippage during acceleration. Very unnerving. I worry the vibrations will continue to get worse.

- Yonkers, NY, USA

problem #23

Apr 132015

CR-V

  • 55 miles
Engine RPM drops at idle in drive creating very strong vibration. Honda is aware of problem but does not have a fix yet. This car is brand new.

- Danville, CA, USA

problem #22

Apr 012015

CR-V

  • 350 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have bought 2015 Honda cr V on 29th March 2015. I have feel vibration and shudder in driver as well as passenger seat while idling at traffic light or speeding from 20 miles to 50 miles. It is very annoying and distracting while driving. It can be safety concern while driving also.

- Reading, MA, USA

problem #21

Mar 052015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 400 miles
There is a pronounced vibration when the car is stopped and also when the RPM are at 1200. It makes steering the car difficult and the ride feel unstable. The steering wheels shakes violently. Also when you shift the car or put in park the vehicle continues to roll slightly or does not react quickly to the changing of the gear.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #20

Feb 182015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 225 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Honda CR-V. while driving at various speeds, the vehicle jerked. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the continuously variable transmission (cvt) needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 225. Updated 5/20/15

- Longs, SC, USA

problem #19

Mar 162015

CR-V

  • 300 miles
Severe distracting vibration of power train, when idling at stoplight, in drive, with foot on brake. Also vibrates at low speed, under power, in the 1000-2000 RPM range. Very annoying and distracting in traffic. The power train sometimes even shudders as though going over a rumble strip, particularly when under load, transitioning through the 2000 RPM range. Not sure if it is engine, or transmission, or both. Makes me fell very insecure while driving. Will probably have to get rid of vehicle.

- Zanesville, OH, USA

problem #18

Jan 302015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 123 miles
Soon after purchase, I noticed a distinct vibration throughout the car during idle and moderate acceleration at nearly all speeds when RPM was at 1800-2200. Dealer service people did not know the cause, indicated a number of other customer complaints, guessed it originated in computers associated with the transmission or differential, could not fix it, claimed it is not a safety matter, advised to contact Honda customer service, said it is a priority at Honda, and mentioned numerous reports and complaints on blogs and tv (7 on your side wjla, Feb 25, 2015) the vibration is unpleasant, annoying and distracting. Over time the shuddering may develop into a safety matter. Please put pressure on Honda to research the problem and make a fix or restitution as soon as they can and certainly before injuries and deaths occur because of it.

- Gainesville, VA, USA

problem #17

Mar 032015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 525 miles
When car is first started it drives fine but once the engine reaches operating temperature at about 15mph to 30mph there is a vibration felt in the steering wheel. If I let off the accelerator pedal the vibration stops or when the transmission shifts into the next gear the vibration stops. Problem only seems to be at low speeds as car seems to drive good with no vibrations from 30 mph to 65 mph. Honda dealer salesperson told me that it was a characteristic of the new cvt transmission. I called Honda usa and they said there was no known problems with the transmission and told me to take the car to the dealer for a check. The dealer after checking the car told me that there was a problem with the car. This was on March 23, 2015. On March 24, 2015 I received a call from the Honda district representative stating that there is a problem with these new transmissions and that Honda is trying to find a fix but they don't know how long its going to take to figure what the fix is going to be. Today March 25, 2015 I received a call from Honda usa customer service saying that the symptoms that I'm experiencing in the car are a characteristic of the car. I informed her that I spoke to the dealer rep and he told me there is a problem in the transmission and she said she wasn't informed about it. I can't believe that I paid $26,000 for a car that vibrates at low speeds, that my wife won't drive because she doesn't feel safe in it, and Honda usa is telling me its normal for the car to do this. Talk about being fed a line of bull. Now lets see what if anything the government is going to do because there is a problem in these vehicles.

- Milton, NH, USA

problem #16

Mar 272014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 46 miles
1) noticeable and distracting vibrations in D, mostly at low rpms. After speeding up (which, in itself is a problem see #2), to say 35 or 40, I let off the gas a bit to turn into somewhere or slow down for a car in front of me. Once I press the gas pedal again to speed up, it's as if I am still in the higher gear and the car rumbles vibrates and protests as if it is going 30mph and I am in 5th in a manual transmission. This happens all the time when driving around town. 2) starting out. It can either jump out way too fast or "slide" up to speed growling and vibrating all the way, almost as if the emergency brake was on. I have actually checked a few times to make sure the emergency brake wasn't engaged, the drag was so noticeable. 3) at any given time the engine will rev up to 2500 - 3000 rpms for no apparent reason and drop like a stone to 1000. This will happen on a hill, up or down, or on a flat. Yesterday I could actually feel the drop from 3000 to 1000 in the drivers seat. I am not pressing on the gas pedal at these times. This is abnormal function. 4) on the highway, I slowed down behind a truck in front of me because cars were speeding by on the left. I then tried to pass the truck and the car just wouldn't go. It hesitated and almost shut down. I have not tested this again because it felt reckless to make it happen again. The biggest issue is the inconsistency of all of these issues. There was one week when the car seemed to fine for a few days. But that was it. Since then this thing seems to think it knows how to drive itself but it does not. And because of items 3 and 4, I no longer feel safe in this car.

- Colchester, CT, USA

problem #15

Mar 082015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 75 miles
When the car is in "drive" and while sitting still at a light or with the foot on the brake, the engine idle speed drops down and the entire car vibrates. Honda says that this is simply a characteristic of the car and has so far not offered any type of repair or remedy. Many of the other owners have posted the same vibration problem at several websites including the Honda owners blog sites. Please investigate to see if some remedy can be found and the issue can be resolved. I am concerned that the low idle speed while standing still will only worsen and become a safety hazard as the car ages. Thank you for your help.

- Roanoke, VA, USA

problem #14

Jan 292015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
Purchased vehicle 1/29/15 almost immediately noticed when you accelerate the vehicle vibrates, let it go thinking new car needs to get broken in. 1400 miles later, the car is still doing it, actually I think it's worse. Took to dealer and they confirmed there is a vibration when you accelerate and continues while you're driving. Dealer said Honda is aware of the issue but doesn't have a fix for it yet. In fact, the mechanic at the dealership said about eight (8) other customers with the same issue. I contacted Honda, only to be told this is a "condition" they are aware of and are investigating, however, since they don't feel there is a safety concern, they could not commit to when a repair procedure would be instituted. This is not acceptable. How can your car vibrating while you're driving not be a safety concern, how can anything that affects the driveability of your vehicle not be a safety concern. I can't even rid of it, what dealer is not going to question that vibrating. Honda should be required to find a fix for this issue or replace the affected vehicles before someone gets killed.

- Wernersville, PA, USA

problem #13

Dec 102014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 500 miles
I came to a stop and the vehicle started shaking violently. This happened at 2 stop lights. The vehicle had 500 miles on it. Subsequently there are various levels of vibration while at stops along with a rough ride. The seats shake along with the entire vehicle. Can't get a straight story from Honda. Everything from working on a fix to it doesn't exist. 2 dealers have acknowledged the issue exists. Unfortunately mechanics say it's a huge transmission problem. The vehicle now has 2450 miles on it and I'm afraid to drive it.

- Laguna, CA, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?