Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Mercedes-Benz vehicles may come with an "Attention Assistant" to alert you if you fall asleep behind the wheel, but the 2015 Honda CR-V has a different approach: just shake the heck out of you so you never fall asleep in the first place.

Owners have complained that the popular SUV shakes violently both while idling and while driving. Buyer beware.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
1,832 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Honda CR-V engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 6 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #34

Apr 102015

CR-V

  • 200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Took delivery of 2015 CRV exl on 04-09-15. Found pronounced drive train shudder while operating vehicle at speeds from idle to 30mph at 1000-1250 RPM. Returned veh. To lia Honda in northampton mass. Where technician was able to duplicate and document complaint. Service writer states that Honda is aware of issue but has no fix. My 2011 CRV ran smooth as glass. Honda has been the benchmark for quality vehicles but has really dropped the ball on the 2015 CRV. If a machine shudders or vibrates when in operation there is an indication that it was mis-designed, something is broken or will break in the near future. Real shame that Honda released this vehicle with this known problem. Will certainly become a safety issue if something comes apart in the powertrain while the vehicle is at speed.

- Williamsburg, MA, USA

problem #33

Mar 202015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 3,500 miles
My 2015 Honda CR-V touring model vibrates intermittently. It is worse when at idle such as at a stop sign or red light. It does happen, dangerously so while driving down the highway at speeds of 65-76 mph. Honda call this a "characteristic of the car" "an annoyance". it is more than this. It is a safety issue. Sow one is going to be seriously injured or worse.

- Grand Junction, CO, USA

problem #32

Apr 162015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 2,500 miles
My brand new Honda after driven for 15-20 minutes begins to shake/vibrate when idling, sitting at a light or at low speeds. The steering wheel and the seats visibly shake. When easing off of the gas pedal the car lunges slightly. I am afraid this will get worse and was disappointed to hear from my dealer that there currently are no fixes for the problem.

- Northville, MI, USA

problem #31

Jan 082015

CR-V

  • 100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

New 2015 Honda CR-V is experiencing strong vibrations in idle. Felt in seat, passenger seat, steering wheel, gas pedal, middle console, etc. I also feel vibrations through the steering wheel, gas pedal, and car itself while driving at lower speeds. I can even see the passenger-seat back shaking when in idle. Honda acknowledges it's a problem, but do not have a timeframe of when fix will happen. Not sure what damage is being done to car during these high frequency vibrations. How can anything that affects the driveability of car not be a safety concern? hard on the hands to hold on to vibrating steering wheel. Please investigate, these needs to be recalled and fixed asap.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #30

Apr 012015

CR-V

  • 350 miles
I have bought 2015 Honda cr V on 29th March 2015. I have feel vibration and shudder in driver as well as passenger seat while idling at traffic light or speeding from 20 miles to 50 miles. It is very annoying and distracting while driving. It can be safety concern while driving also.

- Reading, MA, USA

problem #29

Mar 052015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 400 miles
There is a pronounced vibration when the car is stopped and also when the RPM are at 1200. It makes steering the car difficult and the ride feel unstable. The steering wheels shakes violently. Also when you shift the car or put in park the vehicle continues to roll slightly or does not react quickly to the changing of the gear.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #28

Feb 282015

CR-V

  • 9 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a brand new 2015 Honda CR-V the morning of February 28th, 2015.as soon as I drove it off the lot I noticed a vibration coming from the engine. Everyday it gets worse and it is now happening every time I drive it. I called my service advisor and told him about it and that I wanted to bring it in. He said don't bother to bring it in. It would be a waste of time. Told me that Honda of America is aware of the problem and they are working on fixing it. I took the car in any way and was told the same thing. This is inexcusable. This vehicle came out last summer and so far they haven't done a thing.

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #27

Mar 202015

CR-V

  • 3,450 miles
My first road trip in my new CR-V. driving at approx. 65 miles an hour it started vibrating violently. It was difficult to steer and maintain control. When I stopped at a red light still in drive but in idle the vibration continued. This went off and on for no apparent reason for 758 miles. Then the adaptive cruise control stopped working. I would get a message acc off. This was also intermittent through out the trip. On the way back home driving the 758 miles I had the same problems. This is potentially a dangerous situation as it is very difficult to maintain control while driving. A side issue, not dangerous, the sunroof leaks when going through a power wash. Hondas solution... don't go through a power wash.

- Grand Junction, CO, USA

problem #26

Mar 182015

CR-V

  • 20 miles
I purchased my 2015 Honda-CRV ex-L on March 17th 2015 from livermore Honda in California and my new car driver and passenger seats start vibrating in idle, stop and driving mode with speed more than 60mph after driving for more than 45 minutes and that causing me back pain and headache and this will cause health hazards in the future and this is a serious safety and health issues. I took my car to Honda livermore on March 24th and service advisor informed me this is the characteristic of Honda crv2015.

- Pittsburg, CA, USA

problem #25

Jan 302015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 123 miles
Soon after purchase, I noticed a distinct vibration throughout the car during idle and moderate acceleration at nearly all speeds when RPM was at 1800-2200. Dealer service people did not know the cause, indicated a number of other customer complaints, guessed it originated in computers associated with the transmission or differential, could not fix it, claimed it is not a safety matter, advised to contact Honda customer service, said it is a priority at Honda, and mentioned numerous reports and complaints on blogs and tv (7 on your side wjla, Feb 25, 2015) the vibration is unpleasant, annoying and distracting. Over time the shuddering may develop into a safety matter. Please put pressure on Honda to research the problem and make a fix or restitution as soon as they can and certainly before injuries and deaths occur because of it.

- Gainesville, VA, USA

problem #24

Dec 292014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 10 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When vehicle a stop, the passenger seat is shaking (vibration). Took the car to Honda dealer to demo and the tech manager agreed the passenger chair is shaking ( vibration) at idle.call Honda regional manager to report the issue, they call Honda dealer to verified. After that Honda manager called me back and said no fixed for this. This is unacceptable. Please let Honda know this is safety issue. Thank you.

- Washougal, WA, USA

problem #23

Jan 222015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 875 miles
This 2015 Honda CRV ex model when idling at a stop sign or in traffic it vibrates terribly. If I sit idle at a stop sign or traffic light for sometime the vibration becomes so annoying I need to shut the vehicle off. The other issue is between 1000 and 2000 RPM and between 20 mph and 30 mph there is a significant vibration which makes me feel very uneasy that the car is shifting properly and that it is safe to take on a highway. It took me a while to realize that it was a problem and now I have 2000 miles on the vehicle and contacted Honda. I also looked online and have noticed approximately 80,000 people that I've had this issue. I spoke to the service manager over at sloan Honda located in philadelphia Pennsylvania about this issue and he explained that he would love to fix my vehicle as others have complained of this problem. He also explained that the dealer and his service shop makes money off of repairs. I would like to bring the vehicle in for service but there is nothing that they can do.my major concern is if I am doing 55 to 65 mph on a busy highway whether the car is going to fail because Honda doesn't know why these vibrations are occurring at idol and various speeds.

- Warminster , PA, USA

problem #22

Mar 242015

CR-V

  • 2,500 miles
I bought a 2015 CRV with 16 miles on it. From the beginning there has been shuddering when I drive at high speeds (or on any normal highway), and strong vibrations (rough idle). This is unacceptable on a 31K car.

- Thornton, CO, USA

problem #21

Feb 102015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 750 miles
Brand new 5 miles on it when I got it. Shakes when idles. Took to dealer they signed invoice stating aware of shaking and felt the shaking. Told me to call Honda open a case. Got case #. closed in 3 hrs. There is no solution to issue. Per Honda. They don't know if its mechanical, electrical or computer. As miles increase the shaking is getting worse. I am starting to feel it in steering wheel & gear shifter. I am very concerned if there is a loss of control of car I'll be in a car accident. The price I paid for CRV exl & these issues with 1800 miles are totally unacceptable & if Honda knew there was an error in the assembly lineof these cars & still released these cars to be sold there is liability on the part of Honda. I want my 1996 corolla back it had 199,000 miles and did not shake like this 2015 CRV!! I am seriously considering getting another car. Honda better take the concerns of these consumer complaints seriously. Honda is losing their quality workmanship reputation. I am so disappointed. I bought this based on Honda's quality, value, research, overall reputation, and re-sale value, looks like I was misguided.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #20

Jan 142015

CR-V

  • miles
My brand new 2015 Honda CR-V is experiencing strong vibrations both in idle or in drive. I can feel the vibrations in drive seat, steering wheel, gas paddle. I can even see the shaking of passenger-seat back when it is idle. I am afraid such high frequency vibration will loosen screws, break parts and result in safety issue. Honda needs to investigate and provide a solution. Please help. Regards.

- Acton, MA, USA

problem #19

Feb 182015

CR-V

  • miles
I bought my Honda CR-V 2015 touring model December 15,2014 with 2 miles on it. On my way to work in February I was driving on the highway at about 70mph when all of a sudden I felt a jerk on my car, (I thought it was just wind since we were supposed to have some bad winter weather come through) I looked down and my check engine light came on and the speedometer was going down. I pulled over to the shoulder and put my car in park and turned it off and waited a few minutes, it restarted and everything was fine. It has since happened to me two more times.

- Tuttle, OK, USA

problem #18

Jan 012015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
My brand new 2015 Honda CR-V is experiencing strong vibrations in idle when in drive. I can feel the vibrations in my seat as I am in idle, but it is most noticeable when the passenger seat is empty as it shakes aggressively from the vibrations. It's annoying and its distracting when driving. There are many complaints on the internet on this issue but Honda is calling it a "characteristic" of the car. I've called the dealership twice now but they have no fix so they are basically telling me I am out of luck at this time and to wait it out. I've also made a phone call to Honda America and awaiting a call back on my case. A brand new car with this price tag should not have vibrations when in idle. Many consumers are worried about the long term effects of this vibration to the car.

- Brighton, MA, USA

problem #17

Oct 282014

CR-V

  • 50 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that there was a strong vibration from the engine. The contact mentioned that when driving over 60 mph, the engine RPM's did not read accurately and the vehicle veered left and right. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was not able to be replicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure milage was 50.

- Waunakee, WI, USA

problem #16

Nov 282014

CR-V

  • 200 miles
I have been experiencing same problem with vibration since purchasing new crv2015 with AWD. When sitting at a stoplight, engine RPM drops below 1000 and vibration starts to occur. As soon as car starts moving, vibrations disappear. They are quite pronounced at these lower RPM's. I also own a Jeep compass with cvt and this never happened with that engine/transmission. Have not taken to dealer yet due to bad weather conditions in area but intend to do so shortly. Since so many are experiencing this problem, Honda needs to investigate and provide a solution.

- Walnutport, PA, USA

problem #15

Feb 122015

CR-V

  • 350 miles
My vehicle is a 2015honda CRV exl when you are at 30-45 mph and you try to increase speed slightly the vehicle vibrates like the transmission is shuddering and slipping or is not getting enough power not sure but it seems to be related to the RPM setting at times it shudders quit bad. Took it in to Honda service and they said it is a characteristic of the vehicle and the cvt transmission and at that time nothing they could do but submit it to Honda engineering. I am afraid that this will cause a major engine or transmission failure in the future if it is not addressed. I am not sure how this could be a characteristic of the cvt transmission because I have a family member who owns a 2014 Honda Accord with the same cvt and powertrain and the issue does not exist. Please help me get this fixed as soon as possible.

- Lees Summit, MO, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?