Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Mercedes-Benz vehicles may come with an "Attention Assistant" to alert you if you fall asleep behind the wheel, but the 2015 Honda CR-V has a different approach: just shake the heck out of you so you never fall asleep in the first place.

Owners have complained that the popular SUV shakes violently both while idling and while driving. Buyer beware.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
1,915 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Honda CR-V engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 6 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #40

Feb 232015

CR-V

  • 2,800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Just like all the other complaints for the 2015 Honda CR-V, while sitting at a red light, idling, the car shakes so much that I feel like I'm getting massaged. I have always loved Honda and this is ridiculous for a brand new Honda. I have older vehicles than this and it runs smoother. My Honda dealer states they contacted Honda and they are aware of this issue but nothing has been done yet!

- Daly City, CA, USA

problem #39

Mar 242015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 50 miles
I bought Honda 2015 CRV-LX at Mar 23 2015, and I noticed a terrible vibration when I drove to home after the car is warm and stop at stop-sigh in D gear. You can see the vibration in open windows, seats, etc and anything in the car. I went back to the dealership at Mar 24 and the service guy drove another new CRV to compare with mine and also got the totally same problem and then he said it is manufacturer problem so that they can't fix it. And then went back to ask the sales, sales said all CRV has such problem and this purchase was done already so they can't do anything for me even this is a really super annoying problem for me and all the CRV's owner.

- Cupertino, CA, USA

problem #38

Apr 102015

CR-V

  • 200 miles
There is an issue with the 2015 Honda CR-V where the car vibrates and rattles significantly when idling in drive with brake depressed. The RPM seems to drop down to 600 and the engine starts making noise and vibrating. At the present time it is only an inconvenience and irritating but I feel that if this continues them we may be looking at premature wear and tear of parts just due to the excess vibrations. Consumers may be in for huge spends to replace parts that were worn out over the years due to excessive vibrations in the car.

- Rocky Hill, CT, USA

problem #37

Nov 052014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Shortly after purchasing this vehicle we noticed that it has an extreme vibration problem. For us, the problem is most pronounced when the car is warmed up, and it is idling. Under particular electrical load conditions the car will shake violently. The vibration is the worst when the car is idling in the 500-600 RPM range. Several people have ridden in the car and asked us if something is wrong, and why is the car shaking like that. Even my five-year-old asked why the car shakes so bad. The vibration is so strong, and the idle so bad, that at times it feels like the engine is about to die. Honda needs to address this issue immediately. It is an unacceptable problem that must be fixed.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #36

Mar 182015

CR-V

  • 14 miles
A strong vibration when vehicle is stopped and in drive. The vibration rattles the whole car- you can see the vibration in open windows, the passenger seat, the gear shift. Uncomfortable drive and lack of confidence in the safety of my vehicle. Scared to drive my car on long distances. First Honda- probably last.

- Roslindale, MA, USA

problem #35

Nov 052014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 10 miles
Shortly after I bought my 2015 CRV touring I noticed severe shaking while idling. I contacted the dealership and was told that it was a normal occurrence for a 4 cylinder vehicle and since I had traded in a V8 I was just not used to it. I took his word for it and have unfortunately become accustom to it but in the last month it has gotten much worse. Now it is shaking violently enough to where if you were driving instead of idling you may lose control of the vehicle. This has also not been my only safety issue with this vehicle. My other complaint is that on certain road types the car is extremely unstable. The first time I experienced this issue I actually pulled over and called my husband to let him know what was going on. I immediately took it into the dealership and was told that it was happening because the tires were new and were grabbing the lines in the road and that it shouldn't last long. Well, here it is five months and 4000 miles later and it's actually getting worse! the car veers to the right and to the left uncontrollably. My husband was driving when there was ice on the road and it actually pulled us and made us temporarily slide on the ice due to it jerking and he almost lost control. This is the least safe I've felt in any car that I've ever owned. I fear for my family's safety every time we ride in it and I am extremely disappointed in how Honda has handled the complaints.

- Greeley, CO, USA

problem #34

Apr 102015

CR-V

  • 200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Took delivery of 2015 CRV exl on 04-09-15. Found pronounced drive train shudder while operating vehicle at speeds from idle to 30mph at 1000-1250 RPM. Returned veh. To lia Honda in northampton mass. Where technician was able to duplicate and document complaint. Service writer states that Honda is aware of issue but has no fix. My 2011 CRV ran smooth as glass. Honda has been the benchmark for quality vehicles but has really dropped the ball on the 2015 CRV. If a machine shudders or vibrates when in operation there is an indication that it was mis-designed, something is broken or will break in the near future. Real shame that Honda released this vehicle with this known problem. Will certainly become a safety issue if something comes apart in the powertrain while the vehicle is at speed.

- Williamsburg, MA, USA

problem #33

Mar 202015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 3,500 miles
My 2015 Honda CR-V touring model vibrates intermittently. It is worse when at idle such as at a stop sign or red light. It does happen, dangerously so while driving down the highway at speeds of 65-76 mph. Honda call this a "characteristic of the car" "an annoyance". it is more than this. It is a safety issue. Sow one is going to be seriously injured or worse.

- Grand Junction, CO, USA

problem #32

Apr 162015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 2,500 miles
My brand new Honda after driven for 15-20 minutes begins to shake/vibrate when idling, sitting at a light or at low speeds. The steering wheel and the seats visibly shake. When easing off of the gas pedal the car lunges slightly. I am afraid this will get worse and was disappointed to hear from my dealer that there currently are no fixes for the problem.

- Northville, MI, USA

problem #31

Jan 082015

CR-V

  • 100 miles
New 2015 Honda CR-V is experiencing strong vibrations in idle. Felt in seat, passenger seat, steering wheel, gas pedal, middle console, etc. I also feel vibrations through the steering wheel, gas pedal, and car itself while driving at lower speeds. I can even see the passenger-seat back shaking when in idle. Honda acknowledges it's a problem, but do not have a timeframe of when fix will happen. Not sure what damage is being done to car during these high frequency vibrations. How can anything that affects the driveability of car not be a safety concern? hard on the hands to hold on to vibrating steering wheel. Please investigate, these needs to be recalled and fixed asap.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #30

Apr 012015

CR-V

  • 350 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have bought 2015 Honda cr V on 29th March 2015. I have feel vibration and shudder in driver as well as passenger seat while idling at traffic light or speeding from 20 miles to 50 miles. It is very annoying and distracting while driving. It can be safety concern while driving also.

- Reading, MA, USA

problem #29

Mar 052015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 400 miles
There is a pronounced vibration when the car is stopped and also when the RPM are at 1200. It makes steering the car difficult and the ride feel unstable. The steering wheels shakes violently. Also when you shift the car or put in park the vehicle continues to roll slightly or does not react quickly to the changing of the gear.

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #28

Feb 282015

CR-V

  • 9 miles
I purchased a brand new 2015 Honda CR-V the morning of February 28th, 2015.as soon as I drove it off the lot I noticed a vibration coming from the engine. Everyday it gets worse and it is now happening every time I drive it. I called my service advisor and told him about it and that I wanted to bring it in. He said don't bother to bring it in. It would be a waste of time. Told me that Honda of America is aware of the problem and they are working on fixing it. I took the car in any way and was told the same thing. This is inexcusable. This vehicle came out last summer and so far they haven't done a thing.

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #27

Mar 202015

CR-V

  • 3,450 miles
My first road trip in my new CR-V. driving at approx. 65 miles an hour it started vibrating violently. It was difficult to steer and maintain control. When I stopped at a red light still in drive but in idle the vibration continued. This went off and on for no apparent reason for 758 miles. Then the adaptive cruise control stopped working. I would get a message acc off. This was also intermittent through out the trip. On the way back home driving the 758 miles I had the same problems. This is potentially a dangerous situation as it is very difficult to maintain control while driving. A side issue, not dangerous, the sunroof leaks when going through a power wash. Hondas solution... don't go through a power wash.

- Grand Junction, CO, USA

problem #26

Mar 182015

CR-V

  • 20 miles
I purchased my 2015 Honda-CRV ex-L on March 17th 2015 from livermore Honda in California and my new car driver and passenger seats start vibrating in idle, stop and driving mode with speed more than 60mph after driving for more than 45 minutes and that causing me back pain and headache and this will cause health hazards in the future and this is a serious safety and health issues. I took my car to Honda livermore on March 24th and service advisor informed me this is the characteristic of Honda crv2015.

- Pittsburg, CA, USA

problem #25

Jan 302015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 123 miles
Soon after purchase, I noticed a distinct vibration throughout the car during idle and moderate acceleration at nearly all speeds when RPM was at 1800-2200. Dealer service people did not know the cause, indicated a number of other customer complaints, guessed it originated in computers associated with the transmission or differential, could not fix it, claimed it is not a safety matter, advised to contact Honda customer service, said it is a priority at Honda, and mentioned numerous reports and complaints on blogs and tv (7 on your side wjla, Feb 25, 2015) the vibration is unpleasant, annoying and distracting. Over time the shuddering may develop into a safety matter. Please put pressure on Honda to research the problem and make a fix or restitution as soon as they can and certainly before injuries and deaths occur because of it.

- Gainesville, VA, USA

problem #24

Dec 292014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 10 miles
When vehicle a stop, the passenger seat is shaking (vibration). Took the car to Honda dealer to demo and the tech manager agreed the passenger chair is shaking ( vibration) at idle.call Honda regional manager to report the issue, they call Honda dealer to verified. After that Honda manager called me back and said no fixed for this. This is unacceptable. Please let Honda know this is safety issue. Thank you.

- Washougal, WA, USA

problem #23

Jan 222015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 875 miles
This 2015 Honda CRV ex model when idling at a stop sign or in traffic it vibrates terribly. If I sit idle at a stop sign or traffic light for sometime the vibration becomes so annoying I need to shut the vehicle off. The other issue is between 1000 and 2000 RPM and between 20 mph and 30 mph there is a significant vibration which makes me feel very uneasy that the car is shifting properly and that it is safe to take on a highway. It took me a while to realize that it was a problem and now I have 2000 miles on the vehicle and contacted Honda. I also looked online and have noticed approximately 80,000 people that I've had this issue. I spoke to the service manager over at sloan Honda located in philadelphia Pennsylvania about this issue and he explained that he would love to fix my vehicle as others have complained of this problem. He also explained that the dealer and his service shop makes money off of repairs. I would like to bring the vehicle in for service but there is nothing that they can do.my major concern is if I am doing 55 to 65 mph on a busy highway whether the car is going to fail because Honda doesn't know why these vibrations are occurring at idol and various speeds.

- Warminster , PA, USA

problem #22

Mar 242015

CR-V

  • 2,500 miles
I bought a 2015 CRV with 16 miles on it. From the beginning there has been shuddering when I drive at high speeds (or on any normal highway), and strong vibrations (rough idle). This is unacceptable on a 31K car.

- Thornton, CO, USA

problem #21

Feb 102015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 750 miles
Brand new 5 miles on it when I got it. Shakes when idles. Took to dealer they signed invoice stating aware of shaking and felt the shaking. Told me to call Honda open a case. Got case #. closed in 3 hrs. There is no solution to issue. Per Honda. They don't know if its mechanical, electrical or computer. As miles increase the shaking is getting worse. I am starting to feel it in steering wheel & gear shifter. I am very concerned if there is a loss of control of car I'll be in a car accident. The price I paid for CRV exl & these issues with 1800 miles are totally unacceptable & if Honda knew there was an error in the assembly lineof these cars & still released these cars to be sold there is liability on the part of Honda. I want my 1996 corolla back it had 199,000 miles and did not shake like this 2015 CRV!! I am seriously considering getting another car. Honda better take the concerns of these consumer complaints seriously. Honda is losing their quality workmanship reputation. I am so disappointed. I bought this based on Honda's quality, value, research, overall reputation, and re-sale value, looks like I was misguided.

- Miami, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?