Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Mercedes-Benz vehicles may come with an "Attention Assistant" to alert you if you fall asleep behind the wheel, but the 2015 Honda CR-V has a different approach: just shake the heck out of you so you never fall asleep in the first place.

Owners have complained that the popular SUV shakes violently both while idling and while driving. Buyer beware.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
1,832 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Honda CR-V engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 7 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #14

Dec 092014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 145 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There is very noticeable vibrations when vehicle stops at stop light. If vehicle is 'd' and 0 speed it vibrates and RPM needle is not Sable. Also, vibrations are at 60 and higher speed. Engine is not smooth at all and feel/sound like engine is stressed. Called Honda multiple times but they are not acknowledging the issue. Dealership also says all the 2015 CRV has the issue so its normal!! please discuss with Honda as all the new Honda 2015 CRV has vibration issue. This is a major defect and Honda needs to face up to the issue with their new engine cvt design.

- Holly Springs, NC, USA

problem #13

Feb 172015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 446 miles
After ten days of owning this car today is the first time that experienced engine vibration at idle while at a stop light. The vibration is felt through the cabin and the driver seat. This is totally unacceptable. The engine vibration is noticed around 550 600 RPM. If the ac is turned on the RPM increase and the vibration goes away. Switching the ac off the RPM drop to around 550 600 and the vibration return. I hope Honda is doing something about this. I will be taking the car back to the dealer for analysis.

- Yorba Linda, CA, USA

problem #12

Oct 172014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Honda CR-V. the contact stated while driving down a hill, it felt as though he was loosing control of the vehicle, as the RPM revved high., the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 3,000. Updated 4/15/15 the consumer stated the mechanic could not replicate the problem. The vehicle ran rough.. updated 04/2/15

- Binghamton, NY, USA

problem #11

Jan 172015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 1,036 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My brand new 2015 Honda CRV for first 2 days it feels wonderful. From day 3rd car is vibrating like a message chair on stop light. And dealer or Honda doesn't have any solution! I am real not fill safe while the driving this car and even I didn't get any response from Honda and my dealership. Honda dealer and America Honda are aware of this issue. Just google for the issue and you will know. My brand new 2015 Honda żż CRV is vibrating like a message chair on stop light (ideal) and drive D. Honda seems they are not considering me a good customer but how can I forget that I spent 25K+ on the car which is just a headache to drive, not safe and get it fixed. It is vibrating really worst and engine make so noise which is not as usual. Honda and dealership are not take any action for that I went over there two times but they don't have any solution. Does this car is safe to drive? even I am not getting any appropriate answer from them. Please need your help..

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #10

Dec 312014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 60 miles
Hello, I bought 2015 Honda CR-V LX on 12/30/2014, and on the next day, I noted the whole car vibrates whenever idling in drive, at 600 RPM. This happens every time I stop at the red lights. So, on 1/12/2015, I took it to Honda cars of mckinney, tx, and they said the strange explanation; "when compared to other manufacturer's cars, it does vibrate more. But, when compared to other 2015 Cr-vs, they all vibrate. So, this is why it is not the problem in 2015 Cr-vs." When I searched online, the vibration problem on 2015 Honda Cr-vs is across the us, not just in Texas. Everyone has the same exact issue, and their Honda service depts say the same comment; "you are the first one to report the problem. No one else has complained. There is no problem on the new 2015 Cr-vs." Currently, my CR-V is at 1000 miles, and the car still keeps vibrating at every red lights or in traffic. My family suffers from headaches and nausea because of the vibration. 2015 CR-V is definitely not the safe car. Additionally, I believe this is also the classic example of deceptive business practice, and this needs to be corrected promptly because there would be more victims. Please help us and have Honda fix this vibration problem on 2015 Cr-vs. Regards,

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #9

Jan 222015

CR-V

  • 3 miles
I purchased new 2015 Honda CRV ex-L 01/21/2015. Only 3 mile on it. Immediately after purchased, the vehicle exhibited severe vibration when the car fully stop and on "D" position. Idle is very low, around 550 RPM, and vehicle just shakes and passenger seat vibrates. Vibrations can be felt through the steering wheel, and create a distraction during driving. Brought it in dealership for checking, they said everything is normal"?". this is abnormal compare to others new car. I trust the "Honda" name, but now make me disappointed. I should buy the Toyota rav4 rather than buying this CRV. Honda needs to fix this problem asap.

- Renton , WA, USA

problem #8

Nov 102014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 186 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Purchased new 2015 Honda CRV on November 8th, 2014. Immediately after purchase, vehicle exhibited severe vibration and shuddering during idle, when accelerating, and at highway speeds. After vehicle is warmed up idle is very low, around 550 RPM, and vehicle just shakes and passenger seat vibrates. Vibrations can be felt through the steering wheel, and create a distraction during driving. Honda's response is that the vehicle is within parameters and this is a characteristic. An engine or transmission should not shudder or vibrate this much during driving. Honda needs to acknowledge this and immediately correct it.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #7

Jan 172015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 75 miles
Brand new vehicle on the third trip from home. The hesitation/vibration problem is noticeable (intermittent shuddering as if a wheel is out of alignment and/or the vehicle has just hit a patch of black ice, but related to the newly designed CRV transmission, a problem common to all CRV 2015 that does not yet have a fix) but what really stunned me was a sudden extremely high rev when going down a small hill. I was braking lightly at the time. (service told me that the transmission downshifts on hills, so, using the brake caused this. ??!!) it didn't last long, but the engine raced so completely out of control that the vehicle did not feel safe, and one had the sense that motion had seized up, although it kept moving. The noise was incredible. It didn't happen for a while, and I assumed it was due to using the brake on a hill (!!??). I stopped using the brake on hills and noticed that the transmission didn't always downshift, sometimes it shifted up as the vehicle gained speed! what to do... I brought the vehicle in to service about the vibration issue, on the 28th Jan, and was told that all CRV 2015 have this issue and there's no fix yet. I left cheerfully enough, and driving home, the surge/rev happened again, going up a hill, with no use of the brake. I called my salesman, and the next morning returned the vehicle to the dealership and asked for my money back, because the car is not safe to drive. He wouldn't give my money back until this problem is proven by a Honda Canada engineer on this or on another CRV 2015 vehicle. I left the car there. Canadians-- I need your help if you have this problem! see the CRV list and find me there. I owned it for 20 days, a little over 1000K (50 miles). The surge/rev problem only occurred twice, on winding hilly roads. The vibration/hesitation problem happens anywhere, but is more pronounced on winding hilly rds.

- Victoria, Bc V8w3r7, AK, USA

problem #6

Jan 012015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 100 miles
Brand new Honda CRV touring 2015. Passenger and driver seat is getting vibration when stop at D position. RPM is way to low (500-550). Bring the car to Honda dealer and they're confirmed, but not sure how to fix it. Called Honda customer service, open the case. Week later, the case manager said the car is normal operation. No fix. This is not acceptable.

- Washougal, WA, USA

problem #5

Dec 172014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 50 miles
Brand new 2015 Honda CRV vibrates during idle. When the car stops at the traffic light, the RPM drops down below 700 then the vibration start, the lower RPM the stronger vibration. It happens every time the car is idle but the shift in D mode. Contact Honda dealer and Honda America then find out all the new Honda 2015 CRV have the same vibration problem. This problem not only causes annoyance but also distracts driver. Please stop Honda for selling defected car.

- Murphy, TX, USA

problem #4

Jan 172015

CR-V

  • 2,900 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2015 Honda CRV touring had surged during initial start the past few days. I thought my foot hit both brake and accelerator during start up. It happened again today. I put the car in reverse and backed out of the garage when the surging stopped. I shut the car down and waited for my spouse to arrive. When I started the car again it surged to 4000 RPM then stopped. I shut the car down wondering what was going on. I again started the car to put it back into the garage rpms normal, shifted into drive and the car leaped forward a couple of feet before I could stop it and put it in park. The car was at this time surging and pulsing around 4000 RPM and would not stop. I shut the car down and had it towed to my Honda dealer since I could not drive it.

- Arvada, CO, USA

problem #3

Nov 152014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 800 miles
There are several ongoing problems caused by defects with this vehicle. There is a vibration when the car is in "drive" and completely stopped at an intersection. The RPM's drop, sometimes as low as 550 which causes a vibration as if the vehicle is about to stall. The lower the RPM's, the worse the vibration. On at least two occasions I have had to put the car in neutral at a stop light because the rpms dropped so low. There is another vibration or shudder in the transmission between 1800 and 2000 rpms when accelerating. Sometimes I smell gasoline in my car shortly after ignition. Sometimes following deceleration, the cvt transmission cannot catch up, and when I need to accelerate again, I put the "pedal to the metal;" but the car is barely accelerating and not thrusting forward like it should. This occurred on a highway merge at I-83 and I-695 on December 19, 2014 (a tricky and dangerous merge area). Twice since 1/1/15 I have heard a frightening engine noise when decelerating on a windy downhill road. The noise sounds like a small plane is overhead, and I was shocked the car ws still running, as I was looking for check engine lights or some indication what was wrong. It is not a normal engine noise. Honda is aware of the vibrations when stopped and at 1800-2000 rpms and does not know if/when a fix may be available. I am not the only owner with this issue - there are a number of complaints on the various review boards, and Honda has acknowledged it is widespread. Honda will not provide their position to me in writing when asked. The dealer has been unable to duplicate the other problems which are more intermittent, and it will be back at the dealer next week to address the frightening engine noise and document that problem. I do not feel safe driving this car and I am concerned that it will fail, resulting in an accident.

- Forest Hill, MD, USA

problem #2

Dec 312014

CR-V

  • 10 miles
Test drove ten (10) 2015 crvs ( LX, ex and exls) and they all vibrate when in drive mode and one's foot on the brake as when stopped in traffic or waiting at a traffic light. ( fan, ac must be off) when RPM increases due to engine load on the alternator ( turning fan on, ac, etc) and the RPM increases the issue goes away. Asked the service manager if the idle RPM could be increased to resolve the issue, however that is not possible. Needless to say, did not purchase any of the vehicles.

- Douglasssville, PA, USA

problem #1

Dec 152014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 200 miles
The idle speed for the vehicle is too low. With the engine warmed up, you can step on the brake (as is typical at a red light) and the car will vibrate a lot and the driver will feel an uncomfortable vibration. At times, it seems like the engine might shut off. When the brake pedal is released and the engine RPM increase a little bit, the vibration stops. A quick search on the internet will reveal that this is a very common problem.

- Easton, PA, USA

Not what you are looking for?