Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: Mercedes-Benz vehicles may come with an "Attention Assistant" to alert you if you fall asleep behind the wheel, but the 2015 Honda CR-V has a different approach: just shake the heck out of you so you never fall asleep in the first place.

Owners have complained that the popular SUV shakes violently both while idling and while driving. Buyer beware.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
1,929 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Honda CR-V engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 1 of 7)

problem #139

Dec 202016

CR-V

  • 760 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Engine accelerates automatically while leg on brake, which happened at stop light and then at home while parking.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #138

May 032015

CR-V

  • miles
Vibration: In December of 2014, we purchased a brand new Honda CRV 2015 model from tom wood Honda in anderson, Indiana. Shortly after purchasing the vehicle, (at around 5,000 miles driven on the vehicle), we noticed that; the vehicle vibrated when stopped (say at a stop light) when the car was in ¿drive¿. the vibration was not detected when the vehicle was stopped and in ¿park¿. the vibration at this time was slight and only a little disturbing. The vehicle was taken to penske Honda (on the North side of indianapolis) at around 28,000 miles or so, where a ¿16-053 CRV update¿ was applied. The vibration problem was made much worse, not better. Immediately after driving the car off of penske's lot, it vibrated so badly that it was extremely disturbing. Follow a few frustrating conversations with penske Honda about this problem, the vehicle was taken to fisher's Honda. Fisher's Honda performed update 15-046 for vibration at idle, which ameliorated the problem, however, the vehicle still vibrates quite noticeably when engaged in drive and stopped at a stop light for example. The idle speed drops to around 550 RPM when stopped and in drive. The entire car shakes. The steering wheel vibrates in the driver's hands. In my opinion, no one would buy a new or even used car with this problem. I certainly wouldn¿T. we took the 2015 Honda CRV to tom wood Honda. One of their top technicians drove the car with us in it. He acknowledged the problem, but stated that there was nothing more he could do to fix the problem than what had already been done, and that the problem had something to do with the engine and drive train pairing. Since that time, the vibration phenomenon when the car is stopped and engaged in drive has worsened. In addition, the car vibrates when driving the car at 35 to 45 miles per hour and the rpms are around 1,100 RPM or so.

- Pendleton, IN, USA

problem #137

Dec 032016

CR-V

  • 20 miles
Honda CR-V vibrates on acceleration from stop to turning right on city street causing driver to rattle/panic and cause the accident.needs help to complain to Honda, any legal advice?

- Lawndale, CA, USA

problem #136

Mar 102015

CR-V

  • 800 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that while driving at various speeds, when the brake pedal was depressed, the vehicle shook and vibrated abnormally. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times, but they were not able to provide a permanent remedy for the condition. The dealer test drove the vehicle and indicated that the failure was associated with the newly designed engine and transmission/power train. The contact stated that the condition continued to progress with no solution to repair the vehicle. The manufacturer provided no permanent remedy. The failure mileage was 800.

- Peoria, AZ, USA

problem #135

Dec 012016

CR-V

  • 21,000 miles
While driving at 80 mph on a highway, the check engine light appeared and the vehicle decreased in speed to 50 mph on its own, although I never removed pressure from the accelerator pedal. The vehicle began to stall and pull back as if it were going to die. The vehicle did not respond when I depressed the accelerator pedal and did not increase speed. I exited the highway, applied the brakes, and came to a complete stop, but when I depressed the accelerator pedal once the traffic light turned green, the vehicle would not accelerate more than 20 mph. The check engine light remained on the entire time. I drove the vehicle to the nearest Honda dealership. The dealership advised that the vehicle was giving misfire codes and they want to keep it overnight to run tests on it. The service advisor said that the vehicle may have gone into "limp" mode, what that is. This happened while the vehicle was in motion on a highway at 80 mph.

- Kutztown, PA, USA

problem #134

Sep 202016

CR-V

  • miles
My Honda CR-V 2015 power suddenly turns off, car stalls, red oil light comes, car is still in reverse gear as I was backing out of garage. It had moved about 8 feet. After a moment or two engine light comes on. There is absolutely no power. To restart car I shift to park and proceed. All systems restart and no problem lights turn on. After three occurrences over about two months. I took car to Honda service 08/22/2016. They noted they checked "car stops when going in reverse" and could nor get it to fail. They stated they made a system update "16-053 per bulletin pgm-fi sofware." They did not acknowledge any other safety recalls matching my problem. On 09/18/2016 I experienced the same problem. It was Sunday and ray laks, Honda was closed. I spent time looking up recalls and found your letter nvs-215sm to Honda dealers dated 03/9/2015 which denotes the same problem I had - "loss of engine power while in motion." It would appear to be similar problem. Perhaps ray laks, Honda dealer, 3590 southwestern blvd., orchard park, NY 14127, 716-824-6300 did not double check my car for that update.

- Hamburg, NY, USA

problem #133

Aug 232016

CR-V

  • 20,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car vibrates horribly at rest while in gear at a stop light, shakes so bad I have to put it in neutral. Something rattles under my tail gate, I had it looked at, they said its a partial recall that hasn't been fixed yet. When I back up and put it in drive, my transmission gargles and my car shakes before it goes. It constantly shakes on the highway, ive had it realigned and tires balanced twice in 3 months. This car is awful.

- Throop, PA, USA

problem #132

Nov 152015

CR-V

  • miles
Car R block or D block, the steering wheel and seats shake.

- Alhambra, CA, USA

problem #131

Aug 072016

CR-V

  • 25,000 miles
When backing up out of the garage engine stalls. Have to restart vehicle to keep backing up. Vehicle has 25,000 miles. No check engine light, Honda dealer thinks it's normal because it can't recreated.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #130

Jun 262016

CR-V

  • 6,000 miles
Engine stalls occasionally during the period of first ten minutes after it is turned on.

- Laguna Woods, CA, USA

problem #129

Jun 092016

CR-V

  • 12,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2015 Honda CR-V. while driving 30 mph, the vehicle stalled and all the warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, but the technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 12,000.

- Alhambra, CA, USA

problem #128

Mar 152016

CR-V

  • 3,000 miles
Vehicle stopped and idling while in gear, vibration felt throughout the cabin. To the point where it is immediately observable, distracting, and could possibly give me a headache on longer stop-and-go trips. Contacted Honda Consumer Affairs and they had dealer perform the applicable fixes but issue remains. Dealer claims they can't feel the vibration, however, they aren't in the car as long as I am (or are trying to cover the problem). Honda claims they can do nothing else but they will inform me of any fixes in the future. Also mentioned that I should report this issue elsewhere as they can no longer help me at this time. Per their suggestion, I'm reporting this here.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #127

Sep 302015

CR-V

  • 511 miles
I purchase a new CRV on 9/28/15, the first week driving it I notice a vibration on the front seat while the car stop at red lights, sometimes it got really bad, I was very dissapointed to have a brand new car with this annoying problem, I brought it back to dealer on 11/06/15. They tried to tell me that it was nothing, they work on it for 13 days, they toll me that it was a sofware problem and the fuel economy might get impacted by the repair. The problem is back, the vibration gets very annoying and I am afraid that with time safety will be an issue. The goverment should act in a proactive way before deaths start happening. I believe the engine is seating in a weak support and Honda does not want to accept they have a defective problem with this CRV. While taking a trip in highway I noticed the vibration felt worse, I change gear to neutral while waiting on red light to change and the vibration stopped.

- Larchmont, NY, USA

problem #126

Sep 102015

CR-V

  • 400 miles
This vehicle has a 4 cyl. Engine which may have something to do with this and the noise. When going up steep hill (all the time)/ takes long time to shift into 2nd gear, and, if let up, will shift but drops back down---must really go to get to 3rd gear. And it is noisy. Engine and tire noise are loud on this new vehicle. Will talk to service but may be due to first sentince"???"

- Steubenville, OH, USA

problem #125

Sep 152015

CR-V

  • 400 miles
Other complaints on this. When at light or when idle in parking lot with engine on, there is a definite vibration seems to be coming from engine; sometimes runs length of vehicle, and, is minor to moderate. When put in gear it pretty much disappears, but is a constant vibration and does not go away under the above circumstances. Very annoying and bothersome for a new vehicle. Have not talked to service about it, but will.

- Steubenville, OH, USA

problem #124

May 192015

CR-V

  • 5 miles
Strong engine vibrations: Purchased vehicle May 2015 and after I drove the vehicle a few days a strong vibration was felt from the engine while stopped and in drive. Vibration is also felt while in park. Honda has acknowledge the defect on web site but refuses to alert the customers via wide alert. Honda issued a bulletin for a three mode "fix" that did not fix the problem. Two different Honda dealers have tried the procures provided in the bulletin with no avail. I repeatedly take it back to the Honda dealer but now they will not open a service ticket stating " we've done all we can do" had I known of this problem I would have not purchased. What am I to do now with this vehicle that I can't even trade in because other dealers know about this issue with the 2015 Honda CRV.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #123

May 052016

CR-V

  • 12,000 miles
This car vibrates at low idle. The vibration begins to get worse as the car warms up. Stopping at lights while driving through town is embarrassing, especially when I have other people in the car with me. I usually switch the gear into neutral to avoid the shaking but I'm afraid I'll get rear-ended one day if I fail to start driving fast enough

- Mt. Angel, OR, USA

problem #122

Nov 192015

CR-V

  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Honda CR-V. while driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle stalled, decelerated, and lost power. The failure occurred without warning. When the contact depressed the accelerator numerous times, the vehicle operated normally. The failure was intermittent. The failure occurred seven times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 8,000.

- Vetura, CA, USA

problem #121

May 032016

CR-V

  • 3,400 miles
The car vibrates while sitting a a stop sign. It is very obvious and annoying.

- Greenfield, WI, USA

problem #120

Apr 012016

CR-V

  • 20,000 miles
On a number occasions, I made a sudden sharp turn, & the engine stalled for a few seconds, this loss of power nearly caused me to either get hit in the rear, or being struck by an on coming vehicle. Dealers said they've heard this complaint a number of times, but thet don't have a solution as Honda has not put out a service bulletin. These CRV's seem to have this and vibration problems, but either Honda denies it, or has no solution. A car stalling when making a turn is dangerous.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?