Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety. Notes: Mercedes-Benz vehicles may come with an "Attention Assistant" to alert you if you fall asleep behind the wheel, but the 2015 Honda CR-V has a different approach: just shake the heck out of you so you never fall asleep in the first place.

Owners have complained that the popular SUV shakes violently both while idling and while driving. Buyer beware.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
1,832 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2015 Honda CR-V engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2015 Honda CR-V Owner Comments (Page 1 of 7)

problem #134

Sep 202016


  • miles


My Honda CR-V 2015 power suddenly turns off, car stalls, red oil light comes, car is still in reverse gear as I was backing out of garage. It had moved about 8 feet. After a moment or two engine light comes on. There is absolutely no power. To restart car I shift to park and proceed. All systems restart and no problem lights turn on. After three occurrences over about two months. I took car to Honda service 08/22/2016. They noted they checked "car stops when going in reverse" and could nor get it to fail. They stated they made a system update "16-053 per bulletin pgm-fi sofware." They did not acknowledge any other safety recalls matching my problem. On 09/18/2016 I experienced the same problem. It was Sunday and ray laks, Honda was closed. I spent time looking up recalls and found your letter nvs-215sm to Honda dealers dated 03/9/2015 which denotes the same problem I had - "loss of engine power while in motion." It would appear to be similar problem. Perhaps ray laks, Honda dealer, 3590 southwestern blvd., orchard park, NY 14127, 716-824-6300 did not double check my car for that update.

- Hamburg, NY, USA

problem #133

Aug 232016


  • 20,000 miles
My car vibrates horribly at rest while in gear at a stop light, shakes so bad I have to put it in neutral. Something rattles under my tail gate, I had it looked at, they said its a partial recall that hasn't been fixed yet. When I back up and put it in drive, my transmission gargles and my car shakes before it goes. It constantly shakes on the highway, ive had it realigned and tires balanced twice in 3 months. This car is awful.

- Throop, PA, USA

problem #132

Nov 152015


  • miles
Car R block or D block, the steering wheel and seats shake.

- Alhambra, CA, USA

problem #131

Aug 072016


  • 25,000 miles


When backing up out of the garage engine stalls. Have to restart vehicle to keep backing up. Vehicle has 25,000 miles. No check engine light, Honda dealer thinks it's normal because it can't recreated.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #130

Jun 262016


  • 6,000 miles
Engine stalls occasionally during the period of first ten minutes after it is turned on.

- Laguna Woods, CA, USA

problem #129

Jun 092016


  • 12,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Honda CR-V. while driving 30 mph, the vehicle stalled and all the warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, but the technician was unable to duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 12,000.

- Alhambra, CA, USA

problem #128

Mar 152016


  • 3,000 miles


Vehicle stopped and idling while in gear, vibration felt throughout the cabin. To the point where it is immediately observable, distracting, and could possibly give me a headache on longer stop-and-go trips. Contacted Honda Consumer Affairs and they had dealer perform the applicable fixes but issue remains. Dealer claims they can't feel the vibration, however, they aren't in the car as long as I am (or are trying to cover the problem). Honda claims they can do nothing else but they will inform me of any fixes in the future. Also mentioned that I should report this issue elsewhere as they can no longer help me at this time. Per their suggestion, I'm reporting this here.

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #127

Sep 302015


  • 511 miles
I purchase a new CRV on 9/28/15, the first week driving it I notice a vibration on the front seat while the car stop at red lights, sometimes it got really bad, I was very dissapointed to have a brand new car with this annoying problem, I brought it back to dealer on 11/06/15. They tried to tell me that it was nothing, they work on it for 13 days, they toll me that it was a sofware problem and the fuel economy might get impacted by the repair. The problem is back, the vibration gets very annoying and I am afraid that with time safety will be an issue. The goverment should act in a proactive way before deaths start happening. I believe the engine is seating in a weak support and Honda does not want to accept they have a defective problem with this CRV. While taking a trip in highway I noticed the vibration felt worse, I change gear to neutral while waiting on red light to change and the vibration stopped.

- Larchmont, NY, USA

problem #126

Sep 102015


  • 400 miles
This vehicle has a 4 cyl. Engine which may have something to do with this and the noise. When going up steep hill (all the time)/ takes long time to shift into 2nd gear, and, if let up, will shift but drops back down---must really go to get to 3rd gear. And it is noisy. Engine and tire noise are loud on this new vehicle. Will talk to service but may be due to first sentince"???"

- Steubenville, OH, USA

problem #125

Sep 152015


  • 400 miles
Other complaints on this. When at light or when idle in parking lot with engine on, there is a definite vibration seems to be coming from engine; sometimes runs length of vehicle, and, is minor to moderate. When put in gear it pretty much disappears, but is a constant vibration and does not go away under the above circumstances. Very annoying and bothersome for a new vehicle. Have not talked to service about it, but will.

- Steubenville, OH, USA

problem #124

May 192015


  • 5 miles


Strong engine vibrations: Purchased vehicle May 2015 and after I drove the vehicle a few days a strong vibration was felt from the engine while stopped and in drive. Vibration is also felt while in park. Honda has acknowledge the defect on web site but refuses to alert the customers via wide alert. Honda issued a bulletin for a three mode "fix" that did not fix the problem. Two different Honda dealers have tried the procures provided in the bulletin with no avail. I repeatedly take it back to the Honda dealer but now they will not open a service ticket stating " we've done all we can do" had I known of this problem I would have not purchased. What am I to do now with this vehicle that I can't even trade in because other dealers know about this issue with the 2015 Honda CRV.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #123

May 052016


  • 12,000 miles
This car vibrates at low idle. The vibration begins to get worse as the car warms up. Stopping at lights while driving through town is embarrassing, especially when I have other people in the car with me. I usually switch the gear into neutral to avoid the shaking but I'm afraid I'll get rear-ended one day if I fail to start driving fast enough

- Mt. Angel, OR, USA

problem #122

Nov 192015


  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2015 Honda CR-V. while driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle stalled, decelerated, and lost power. The failure occurred without warning. When the contact depressed the accelerator numerous times, the vehicle operated normally. The failure was intermittent. The failure occurred seven times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 8,000.

- Vetura, CA, USA

problem #121

May 032016


  • 3,400 miles
The car vibrates while sitting a a stop sign. It is very obvious and annoying.

- Greenfield, WI, USA

problem #120

Apr 012016


  • 20,000 miles
On a number occasions, I made a sudden sharp turn, & the engine stalled for a few seconds, this loss of power nearly caused me to either get hit in the rear, or being struck by an on coming vehicle. Dealers said they've heard this complaint a number of times, but thet don't have a solution as Honda has not put out a service bulletin. These CRV's seem to have this and vibration problems, but either Honda denies it, or has no solution. A car stalling when making a turn is dangerous.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #119

Apr 222016


  • 5,600 miles
I purchased this 2015 Honda CR-V brand new. I have taken it to the dealer who stated they have heard of this problem but no bulletin has been formally issued yet. The problem consists of two things but both are engine related. When at a stop after about 5-10 seconds the engine gets a rough idle almost like you think at first it's going to die, but it doesn't it's just annoying. However, here is a real problem. When driving down the road, or after pulling out, changing lanes (really no set pattern) the engine (and acceleration) are gone. It's like you just are without go power. Finally it catches up but if you have this happen at the wrong time it could be bad. I have changed lanes and had plenty of space but if your CR-V happens to do this in the process the closing rate is major. The car behind you is on your bumper and fast because it's like you just stop accelerating. This has happened on normal streets, pulling away from stop sign and going down the interstate. Needless to say it's really bad if it happens at the wrong place and at the wrong time. I have contacted the dealer again. And, again I am told we do not show anything (bulletin/recall) on it to have a fix/repair in place. I believe Honda needs to recognize the issue and find a fix. Being the dealer has heard this complaint before at least I know I'm not alone. This is not a problem to be dismissed because a major wreck could be the outcome if it continues. As for when it's happened?? it's happened many times but so far I've been fortunate to not to get hit when my car just decides to go into this serious "sleep" mode. Note below I have checked the last date of the occurrence but not to be confused or taken as it's the only time it's occurred.

- Fort Smith, AR, USA

problem #118

Oct 122015


  • 7,000 miles
Honda CR-V 2015 vibration. Last year I purchased a 2015 Honda CR-V and as with most other owners, it has a bad vibration issue while at a stop in drive mode with foot on the brakes. I also vibrates at low speeds between 40 -50 mph and around 70 mph. I has been in the shop 4 times but still vibrates while stopped in the drive mode (in gear with foot on brake). I have filed a complaint with Honda Corp and they said even with the 4 suggested repairs which has already been preformed on my car by the local Honda service center, this will not stop the vibration issue and that Honda has no other known fix to stop the vibration issue and that they will not replace the car. The local Honda service center verbally acknowledges the vibration issue but refused to put it on the service report that there is still a vibration issue. I see all the post from other owners with the same issue. This a distraction and I consider it a safety issue as one, time while I was setting at a red light, it started vibrating and while I was distracted by the seat and car vibrating, the truck behind me blew his loud horn and I almost ran the red light that had changed while I was distracted. I know there was a class action law suit but I do not know the status of it. They had to know about the problem prior to sending the 2015 Honda CR-V to the dealers, but nobody informed the buyers of this issue.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #117

Nov 122015


  • 4,800 miles
My current and 2012 Honda CRV along with my granddaughters 2012 civic loses engine power while in a turn. It feels like the engine is failing for a brief moment. I have reported this to Honda but they didn't seem too concerned. I believe it could be a safety issue to me and other drivers. These events have been going on for many months.

- Pineville, NC, USA

problem #116

Dec 152015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
I purchased a year 2015 Honda CRV on May 8, 2015. I have just one complaint (concern) and that is the engine vibration at idle speed (while sitting at a traffic light). It's an intermittent occurrence but there most of the time. I read about the recently filed class action law suit case no. 2:15-md-2661 dated January 19, 2016 and I want to go on record about my vehicle. Thank you

- Hudson, MA, USA

problem #115

Apr 012015


  • 500 miles
When at a stop and in idle the car vibrates as if there is not enough RPM's to keep it running properly. Also vibrates when driving slowly or at a lower RPM. Waiting for a recall as Honda has admitted that there is something wrong with the car due to the transmission and engine combination.

- Chicago, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?